natural vs c-sect
besides $$ & feeling natural mother instinct & pain & pros & cons for baby etc, must always remember that c-sect is after all a major surgery, no matter how routine it's being performed. As with every surgery, there are increased risks of blood clots, complications & blah blah which we layman may not be familiar with. Dat's why in western countries, every effort is made for natural birth.
What i think is, there's always a risk of cutting people up. Some gauze being left behind in the patient? Some artery being accidentally severed etc? See, docs try to siam open heart bypass as much as they can, preferring to use angioplasty which only causes a few puncture wounds, rather than a huge cut straight down the chest.
For my 1st child, even when i was back in my ward resting, i was being hooked up to an automatic blood pressure machine which will take my reading every hour. Nurse also came in to take my temp horly. Happened for the next 8-12hr i think, even tho i felt absolutely fine. There must be some possibility of SOMETHING happening, o'wise why would they do that lor.
mylife
2nd day i din take anymore painkillers as i din want to 'affect' my bm. Getting down fr bed the first time was a killer. Walking to the loo which was 3 meters away took me 5min, i was leaning on husband for support & perspired so much even in aircon room. Walking down the entire corridor to the nursery took me... 15min? When normally 15 seconds can liao. But based on everyone's advice - the more i walked, the faster i'd recover. And also hv to walk with back straight. So within a week, i think i was sweeping the floor; within 2 wks can walk normal pace liao. but for abt 6 months was always conscious of possibility of stitches rupturing, so was very careful & slow when i walked up staircases, dun lift heavy things etc. Avoided prawns & crab for abt 12months coz people say will affect healing of scar. Things that dun hv to bother with if i had natural birth. Of course perhaps natural birth would come with its own headaches, eg piles, loose vaginal walls etc.