(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

steph .. i went ntuc cant seems to find mami poko s size wor ... wanna buy that to keep .....

superbee where u stay wor?

long time didnt post here liao

been very busy at work for the past two weeks here....walk and climb stairs like no one business...hate it but no choice

yippie, two mummies pop liao and glad that everything fine ....so happy for them.

Make me very excited too....like not much time liao too...haha

last tue went for my 34 weeks + scan. Baby at 2.4 kg...only gain 200g since two weeks ago...dunno why too....but gynae still happy with the growth. Tue going back to see her again...after that she will be on leave till Jan. So if i pop in dec, she wont be around to deliver liao

my bag more or less pack....anyway, hubby will go home, so he can still get a lot of things if i forgot anything la

baby's clothing wash and pack liao

things all purchase...so still ok

boughts toys for number one liao and in my bag too as a gift from his di di

anyway wishing all mummies and their babies well

Steph & Chaye,

Both Mdm Rokiah & Mdm Khatijah have reviews on other thread. But seem like Mdm Rokiah's feedback is more positive. Really don't know which one is good wor. *headache*

Btw, how do we know if 7 or 10 sessions is enough? Do we have to pay them upfront?

Chaye,

Will post more interesting stuff when I read more from the book. ;) Glad u enjoy it!

ahcapp

thanks for the captions. Funny how the book says it's a sconsequence for c-sect babies - <font color="0000ff">babies born that way tend to be calmer initially and less anxious than infants who experience the major adrenaline rush of a normal birth, and this trait can make them easier to look after for some time after birth."</font> Yet the sentence makes it sound like it's an advantage but why it said it's a consequence leh? Isnt it good to have a baby that's easy to look after?

Mcfluffy
i'm delivering at TMC. According to my gynae's clinic asst who gave birth last year, she also had c-sect with epi. She said by the next day, she felt no pain and can walk about with a binder on liao. So she said, perhaps really depends on the gynae doing the surgery and the stitching up...she said my gynae supposedly very good with stitching wor...maybe she's jus trying to console me cos i was more concerned with the recovery of c-sect (heard it's longer) vs natural delivery...i know natural delivery is painful, but it's pain during delivery, and then recovery is faster vs c-sect lo. Anyway, according to my gynae, only 2-3% of babies are still breeched during 34 weeks and above...so i may be the only "unlucky" one...hope yours would have turn by now

sassy
rest well yah...with enough rest shud heal faster. U good ah..still can rem to bring breast pump!!

Forgot to mention that my baby's weight is at 2.8KG at 35w + 2 days!! Gynae said "slightly" above average...hmm..maybe my girl knows she's big...so refused to turn head down in case mommy have a diffcult natural delivery giving birth to big baby like her? hehe..

mylife,

no lah... im using the hospital's commercial grade breast pump by medela. tried pumping liao, unfortunately nothing came out. need to stimulate every 3 hours. morever, i hv yet to get the adapter. i will get my DH to get it on monday and post the warranty card back to you ok?

Mylife,

Wow u ladies' babies are big. =) So jealous. I am tall, but don't know why my baby always seem to be on the smaller side. Like u said, maybe my baby also stubborn in his own way ;P

The book is actually quite interesting. They try to explain why our babies behave the way they are. If u have the chance, u can borrow it from the library too. =)

sorry to interrupt.i have a medela swing pump only use for 1 week and im selling at $100,it is in very good condition.i selling the pump coz i got medela pis from a fren so no need to have 2 pump. any1 interested can pm me or email me at [email protected]

sassy
So great to hear you made the right decision. Then now can see your darling girl liao.

Val
Bought your pump?
The mommy selling her bbsafe mattress, size not wat I wan leh. Then I go robinsons and Taka, 24" x 28" out of stock. Hmmm....

Didnt manage to log in for quite some time..feeling so stress up with my work..

Firstly, congrats to sassy and split!!

I am starting to feel nervous nw as I have not even fully prepare for my baby arrival yet. Baby room not set up and many things not buy yet. Guess its time for me to start taking leave and start preparing.

Went for my check up last thur. baby is only 2.1kg at 34weeks + 1 day. gynae says she should be able to reach 3kg by 40 weeks. so hopefully my baby will be guai guai and dont come out so fast cos her mummy is still not prepared..:p

Congrats to split and sassy. Take care and rest well. Sassy, really gald to know your baby is above 2.2kg...she'll do well and will grow fatter before you know it.

Can I ask u ladies... do u sometimes feel that the baby is like pressing against your cervix or something? I feel it for about 2 days already, hope it's because of his weight rather than early contractions...

AhCapp
I get the feeling quite a lot, esp when he stretches I think. The pain can even give me a sharp pain on my back. Contractions are regular and will get nearer, not random.

tried stimulating the 2nd time for breast milk but to no avail...
so discouraging rite??? i was advise to try it again ltr (evry 3 hrs). the nurses asked if i wanna feed my bb with FM, i hv no choice but to agree reluctantly. she was on drip since yesterday just like me... so i think better feed her with some FM before i can expressed milk from my breast. any experienced mommies here can advise wat to eat or drink to increase the breast milk supply?

natural vs c-sect
besides $$ & feeling natural mother instinct & pain & pros & cons for baby etc, must always remember that c-sect is after all a major surgery, no matter how routine it's being performed. As with every surgery, there are increased risks of blood clots, complications & blah blah which we layman may not be familiar with. Dat's why in western countries, every effort is made for natural birth.

What i think is, there's always a risk of cutting people up. Some gauze being left behind in the patient? Some artery being accidentally severed etc? See, docs try to siam open heart bypass as much as they can, preferring to use angioplasty which only causes a few puncture wounds, rather than a huge cut straight down the chest.

For my 1st child, even when i was back in my ward resting, i was being hooked up to an automatic blood pressure machine which will take my reading every hour. Nurse also came in to take my temp horly. Happened for the next 8-12hr i think, even tho i felt absolutely fine. There must be some possibility of SOMETHING happening, o'wise why would they do that lor.

mylife
2nd day i din take anymore painkillers as i din want to 'affect' my bm. Getting down fr bed the first time was a killer. Walking to the loo which was 3 meters away took me 5min, i was leaning on husband for support & perspired so much even in aircon room. Walking down the entire corridor to the nursery took me... 15min? When normally 15 seconds can liao. But based on everyone's advice - the more i walked, the faster i'd recover. And also hv to walk with back straight. So within a week, i think i was sweeping the floor; within 2 wks can walk normal pace liao. but for abt 6 months was always conscious of possibility of stitches rupturing, so was very careful & slow when i walked up staircases, dun lift heavy things etc. Avoided prawns & crab for abt 12months coz people say will affect healing of scar. Things that dun hv to bother with if i had natural birth. Of course perhaps natural birth would come with its own headaches, eg piles, loose vaginal walls etc.

mom2nat,

i was told by my MIL and SIL not to drink water. can only drink red dates tea with longan which is so heaty. think im gonna fall sick soon...
its so discouraging lor... my MIL says tat i dun drink milk tatz y no milk for bb.

sassy
BM may come in on Day 4, sometimes even later for mummies who delivered earlier. Be patient, keep at it & v soon u'll c the milk. In the meantime, wonder if u can ask the nurses to spoonfeed your girl with FM?
Green papaya & fish soup are very good to promote BM supply. Drink hot soup or hot drink just before u pump. Use hot towel to massage to 'open' the milk ducts.
Latch baby on, pump pump. Be a hardworking cow

u see all the discouraging arrows are shooting your way right from the start. U gotto be strong & dun let their accusations take root, o'wise it'll be a downward spiral: discouraged mom can't relax, can't relax = no milk = more discouraging remarks made by insensitive people.
Remember: Happy cow = more milk. Chin up.

ernMum,
you're still climbing a lot of stairs? i get breathless climbing stairs now, pei fu pei fu

AhCapp,
Thanks for the preview of the book, really enlightening. Helps in assuring me.

Sassy,
don't be discouraged, normally they say milk doesn't come in for the 1st 3 days, so you're still alright.

wendy,
appreciate and agree with the cons of c-sect that you mentioned. however, sometimes it doesn't really help mummies positively who have no choice but to go for c-sect.

I guess we have to relay on the professionalism of the gynaes who are in the better position to judge and look forward with a positive mindset. Afterall, the most important things are the safety and health of baby and mummy.

sassy
Sorry ah, but I find moms and mil always have something to say when we so called not enough milk, and they will say give FM lah.
Dun stress, it is quite natural tat Csec the milk not so easy to come in. Cos natural birth the body is prepare when the milk coming. So, just try, if no milk, give FM, then when got milk, switch lor. Dun let those old folks influence you,. My mom oso, like to say bb cry cos i not enough milk! After tat I am like a cow, 1 litre a day, but my girl oso hardly drinks!

luvv / wendyg
When I was in france, my fren went thru a 45 hour labour, her cervic just wont dilate much, but they wont csec her. unless emergency, or you already have 2 c secs b4, or else they seldom will perform on you. Even my sg doc told me C sec is afterall an operation, once on GA, brain cells die, and wont grow again. So if have a choice, try not to. But of cos no choice, then bo bian lah.

Sorry for not been here for a few days, been super busy with company's major event. Sianz.

Hi Mei,
It's ok, open the present whenever you want. Hope you'll like it.

WOW, SASSY & SPLIT!

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!
Hope you both are resting enough and do update us with your well-being.

Forgot to mention that I saw my gynae last Friday and baby is 2.8kg at 36th weeks. Nowadays feel that tummy's getting heavier and also more clumsy. Can't wait to pop. Haha. But gynae said better wait till 37th week.

Mom2Nat,
Doc said anytime after 37th wk. I prefer naturally of course but he said depending on baby's size, might need to induce, so we'll see how this coming Friday during the next appt lor.

QQ,
Thanks! But I feel tired everyday leh.

wendy
the more i read about your about your experience, the more nervous i am...did u have a epi c-sect or GA c-sect or is the aftermath all the same?? But i cant help it IF my baby still doesnt turn down rite? Si beh sian. Not that i elected c-sect myself.

violetice i oso feel tired liao lately ...... guess that the low energy level is back like my 1st trimester

ahcapp
i also feel a slight pressure on my privates. I dunno if it's cervix or wat...at one point i also scared baby coming out liao. Seems like the more i walk, the more numb it is...the feeling is like when i have too much heavy menses flow....then the vagina get numb...shit...does it mean i'm about to due soon? Like dat how?

mylife,

dun worry so much ya... some babies wont turn till they are ard 36weeks. u still gt 1 more week to go before deciding wat u wanna opt for. be it natural or c-sect, at the end of the day we just hope tat they are healthy rite...
relax and try talking to her.

QQ,

Think it's nearing the end, thus we're all feeling lethargic and lower energy levels. Whenever I walked, I feel that the tummy is going to sink further down and that it's like baby's coming out. But gynae never said baby's engaged so I don't think it's that soon. I'm hoping for a Christmas baby but doctor's fees and hospitalisation fees will be double!

Sassy,

Drink lots of red dates water. Massage breasts with warm towels. Incl. the sides near arm pits cos that's where "reservoir" is located. Cannot be "kan cheong", mind must be relax...

Walking around aids in the recovery of wound and gets rid of the dizziness.

violetice,

are u sure tat doctor's and hospitalization fees will be doubled if u wanna hv a x'mas baby? did yr gynae told u tat? ive never hrd of surcharge in hospitalization bills over the festive seasons... hehe

blackbatz,

thanks. i will try doing it tomorrow, hopefully can see some results soon... as i really hope to BF my girl.

ya violetice i never heard of that too ..... i dun think will be double lah ... not like wedding banquet time

Sassy, QQ,

I've checked with the gynae le, it's double the doctor's fees on public holiday as well as about 30% higher on hospitalisation. =(

ahcapp

I felt that too. especially when my bb move or stretch I can feel the pain down there. sometimes I feel it on my anus too.

ahcapp,
I just got my hubby to buy for me -"Child of our time", highly recommended by friends. :D My Hubby managed to come back earlier, instead of 27th Dec, he changed to 23rd Dec. So Happy.

My hb also picked my Baby name in a funny way, just see the HK drama, and heard them mentioned about the meaning of that character.. then he just like it and decided to use that character.

Sassy,
Glad to hear that Mt E Service is good, I am still considering between 1 bedder and 2 bedder since there are of the same room size. *sigh*

RE: Post-natal Massage.
I am engaging Hardial. Recommended by my cousin and 2 friends. Charging me $370 for 7 sessions including transport. She is a ex-midwife, very friendly.

Sassy,
It is normal not to have any milk for the first 3 days.. Don't worry and keep pumping. :D

Oh ya, I had a great advise from a old Aunty, when in doubt, your priority comes first, then the child, then the "elderly".

QQ,

You're right..Nowadays. No energy for anything. Can't even shop cos baby seems to be pressing my bladder. Visit the toilet very often.

Sassy,
BM supply will build up over a few days. Actually, according to medical books baby can dun go on anything for the first three days. Just a few teaspoon of fluid can liao.

But of course, our mums and MIL will say no to such things.

blackcatz ya loh sigh .. was at compass point before heading to frd's hse warming wanna walk awhile oso canT ...... very tired liao ..... but today i still manage to mop floor, change bedsheet, wash curtain

sassy u still dun wanna rest har?

hmmmmmm ....... imagine if like my frd's case she induce and cannOt ... and baby distress and emergency c sect and if is on festive season .... the amt will be so CHOR!

violetice, chaye, qq

i dun normally sleep so early... watching tv and surfing the net now.

icy,

well it depends o whether yr DH wants to stay in anot? if he wans to then you'll need a single bedder, if not i think a 2 is fine.

Sassy,
U need enough rest to do proper BF. After each BF session, you will be very thirsty and tired. Once discharged, no chance to rest at all..

Icy,
Which day are you delivering?