(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

yvonne

its a long long story... will u be attending tomorrow's gathering? update u more tomorrow if u going...

a brief run thru on my 3 gynaes:

mt E - socialite, wife is also a doctor and MP

camden - nephew of late Dr S.S. Ratnam who, in 1982, produced the first test-tube baby in Asia. smallest bb ever delivered with his hands is only 650grams...

kkh - Senior Consultant & Chairman, Division of O&G

steph

my DH's frd was the one tat intro us to prof tee at kkh. hrd tat he is very well-known for complicated pregnancies.

mylife

sure, np. pls drive safely... see ya

qq

u can call me too, i'll be joining them for shopping 1st... hehe

mommies
sorry...stupid question from me again:
Re: washing of baby stuffs
Do we need to wash the baby bibs? If i'm washing the baby stuffs using washing machine, can i put in the baby bibs as well? how about the botties and mittens? Can mix or have to wash separately?

mylife,

since this is the initial load of baby stuff u r washing, just pack everything into the laundry bag and dump it into the machine la...

mylife,
Since u using machine to wash, can dump everything inside to wash together. Btw, y wash bib so early? Bib only use when she starts having solid. No??

btw...after washing, how do u all hang ah? must we get the baby plastic hangers first? After dat, do we need to iron the baby clothes ah? Sorry...very cheong hei

val
i tot bibs also use when u feed her EBM via bottle? Or after feeding when u burp baby...? i also dunno shrug Inexperience mommy!

mcfluffy,
Osim packs - haha maybe I also bad at using microwave.. All along I used boiling water, that was my first time using microwave and it broke. Sigh.

mei,
Did u use TaMoBi service before? My hubby not so interested leh.
For coins if buy piggy then surely is 2007 for the year.. Not relevant at all.

Re: Baby's Chinese Names
Violetice, Dun think we will be calculating. My bro is a life example, calculate liaos still so rebelious, study still so bad.. *sigh*

Chaye,
Contraction = mense cramp? I very worried leh, the cramps is getting more frequent these days, very uncomfortable. today me pain for like 20 mins before it stop.

babyshannon,
Some say can start drinking coconut 1 mth before EDD, so ard 36th weeks.

Re: Weight gain,
Me put on 5.5kg. Lost 1kg because of my diet control.. I crave for durain but cant eat.. sianz.

fishia and QQ,
yah, if I calculate my EDD is on 28th Jan. Doc says 20th Jan.. so I let it be, else doc would have think my BB big becos of my GD. :p

Mylife,
3pm is fine with me. Thanks. :D

I wash everything for bb, never separate them.. haha no time already.

Blackdatz
Thanks for the info. Hey I also have my C-section 4 yrs ago. But I cant rem when I started my massage liao.

eRnMum
Is it normal to feel menses cramp/contraction ? My gynae very kan cheong leh. ask me take med if not bb will come out.

QQ
y only 2 kg. Record leh. Water bag, placenta also hv weight leh.

mylife,
No need lah. Juz put a hanky will do. If not u very bo eng putting on and removing it. For hanging of bb clothes, hope this helps. This thingy very useful cos its vertical and not horizontal. So doesnt occupy space.
1117713.jpg

I only iron those that wear "go out". Home wear, never iron.

mylife,
can use hanky when feeding bb, just position at the neckline there bah. I think we will need a lot of hanky.

I havent iron anything, very lazy lah.. hahaha.. maybe will iron the go out ones.. when I have the mood.

Sassy,
My gynae was very kan cheong. When I had problems at my second trimester for #1, saw her every week. My case was very complicated. So she made all the arrangements for me to be admitted to SGH, handled by the head there. Usually, they would transfer the complicated cases to the head of dept.

This round also very kan cheong, been seeing her on a weekly basis since 32nd week.Had to deliver 2 weeks earlier cos she doesn't want my uterus to rupture.

The only problem with docs at KKH is that they may not want to say things that will jeopardise their reputation.

Go for check up this Thursday. Tell him your fears and get him to monitor you weekly. Worst case scenario, ask gynae to help keep it till 36th week (which is considered mature baby).

Chaye I dunno wor .... the weight no gain at all ... 1st trimester still lost weight although I no MS wor ..... only 2kg leh ....

mylife I hang baby clothings on normal bamboo wor and the mitten hanky all these I use those pegs hang ard one whole round type I did iron baby clothing heehee

Hi, Babe. No need deposit for post natal massage leh, she also never ask me for it.

My KKH gynae is not bad but she's leaving for pte practice. A lot of female gynaes do that because of heavy workload and family commitment.

Haven't washed my bb's clothes/socks/mittens/booties too. Asked hubby to do it since I can't squat & handwash anymore and now he's thinking of bringing them to his mum to wash. Faint, man.

QQ & Mylife,

I did exactly what QQ did for my baby stuff washing. For bibs, i have washed them already as couldn't fill up 1 loadful. Didn't bother with baby clothing ironing or get baby hangers. I got quite a few 'in-tray' baskets to place into the wardrobe, to segragate the baby stuff. Just fold or roll them up like sausage and place them into the baskets.

Kitsune,

My gynae used be from KKH too. =)

U have booked your post natal massage already ah? Sorry but kinda lost in this thread. Who did u book with may I ask?

AhCapp, I booked with Grace. She's fully booked now but luckily she managed to squeeze me in cos I asked her after my pre natal massage on 4 Dec.

kitsune,

u booked grace for the post natal massage already? when is yr EDD? my 1st prenatal session w her would be on 14 dec. dunno if she can still squeeze me in for post natal anot?

Sassy, My EDD is 1 Feb 08. Don't know leh, in her business thread, she posted that she's fully booked for Jan, Feb & Mar 08. She doesn't do during the first week of CNY either so I can only start on 19 Feb onwards though.

oh tmr .... who wanna earn credit card point settle the bill for dinner then we pay cash kekeke .... who wanna earn?

Hi ladies !
Pls enjoy your sumptuous food tomorrow !!! Eat my share as I will not be there

QQ
U very lucky leh ! put on only 2kg ! haha .. really a record !

hi sassy how heavy is ur ger now? i think we are in the same boat..my boy was much below average weight too...weighin only 1.66kg at 35weeks...i've went to see 2 gynae and both of them suggested the same suggestion for me to deliver this month...as the heart beat of baby might stop anytime if we drag on...

seriously i rather have a premature baby den a dead one..*touch wood*...anyway i might be delivering this weekend or lastest on coming monday by c-sect..currently at 36weeks baby is abt 1.9kg

this is what both gynae explain to me...usually by 40weeks bb will start to absorb lesser and lesser from the mummy till it totally absorb nothing..so gynae usually will get mummy to deliver by 40weeks..but ffor my case..this seem to be starting earlier at 33weeks where my baby start to absorb lesser food and the blood flow from mummy to bb is dropping..the gynae will not be able to tell when it will totally go to 0% so is like racing against time....

they want me to deliver early at least deliver le baby will gain weight faster by feeding and we are sure he is eating well..but my gynae is targetting to deliver near 37weeks to play safe

Hi split
Now u already in 36wks tat means you will deliver next week le ! Ya it's better to bring the bb out to feed if it's not feeding himself inside u.

But how did the gynae manage to find out that he is getting enuf nutrients ? Is it by the weight of the bb ? not growing ?

split in this case dun wait anymore wor .... since both gynae said that ..... God bless .... will be ok de ..... pls take care

actually there's a few reasons for bb to be underweight..one of which is under nutrient..but cant confirm if is because of that..baby is still active now which is a gd sign and one i should monitor daily...he is still growing but very very slow...i've did a few scan..all the result actually show that baby is still healthy bllood flow and water bag are normal..but like i said the gynae cant confirm when the baby might stop absorbing..

QQ

thanks..now trying to settle with a date for my c-sect...haiz..my mil keep wanting to choose a gd date..but the gynae cant make it..now my mil like saying becuz of us keep choosing date...we tried to explain to her gotta depend on gynae and also the available of operating theather but she like so dun trust us...

everything she also wanna interfer...now baby is like so dangerous all she care is the date...

split,

seems like we are on the same boat... my girl weighs 1.38+++ kg at 32 weeks. now 34 weeks liao, not sure abt the weight until my next visit to the gynae on thursday. were u having any complications during yr 1st and 2nd trimester? i had heavy bleeding during my 2nd trimester and it lasted for 3 weeks. gynae found a huge blood clot in my uterus. may i know which 2 gynaes did u see? at which hospital?

split,

at least the 2 gynaes tat you visited advise u to deliver early. for me, they all gave me different advise.
make me so confused *sigh*

re: iron bb clothes
i dun even iron my own clothes.. nor husband's. I dun hv iron in my home.

re: bb hangers
i saw the Lucky Baby ones! $3 for 10 pcs. Bundles of pink, green blue.

hey split
all the best to u huh! First mom to pop. Pray that your bb would've exceeded 2kg so that can discharge with u.

Kitsune, grace asked me for deposit lehz...she says otherwise no priority if there are others who had paid her deposit around that time. So if I dun wan put deposit, I will just have to call her and arrange when give birth subject to her arrangements...how about u?

Heehee...I also never iron clothes one...unless those linen kind which is crumpled.

split
i totally agree with u on the preemie rather than a not healthy baby inside u...CHOY CHOY...dont say dead lah! Seems that u're going to be the 1st among us to pop!! Will wait eagerly for your story!!

sassy
u dont worry so much. Rest more and eat well.

split,

I know it is easy to say "don't worry, don't think too much etc" when we are not the one experiencing what you are experiencing. But I think right now, you should just try and stay positive and trust your gynae. My husband's colleague delivered prematurely at 7 months so her baby was even smaller. However, after feeding him well and all, he is now a very active, healthy and chubby 1 year old.

Split,

Everything will be fine for you. Dun worry so much. It will only stress ur BB. Take ur gynea advise as he has more experience than us. Take care wor....

Our delivery dates are drawing near... So how are you all feeling now? Excited or scared??? I am feeling kinda scared cos my pain tolerance is very low!!!!

So sad today can't join you all for the gathering.

spilt u bring ur mill to see ur gynae since she dun trust u abt the slot .... sigh ....why in laws always dun believe what we say! so pissed!

for me that time i iron baby clothes cos i feel is my precious 's clothing hahaha i must iron myself hahaha but ironing job all is done by my pt maid muahaah i hate ironing!

Sassy,
I'm not going for tonight's dinner.

Your gynae all "big names" hor...but if they are giving different opinions then something is wrong somewhere right? At least you still get some reassurance if all give the same diagnosis. Guess you really have to make the decision during your upcoming checkup.

<font color="aa00aa">zhao!! are u ready for tonite!?? hee...

QQ, me leh, I wanna chalk up credit card pts leh but too bad, I not staying for dinner. sob sob...soooo wasted. haha...

Icy, I used another service for the hair-brush. Tonite I show to you the flyer + discount coupon.

re: Shopping
wah ur go shopping prior dinner ah? dun shop till forget time hor. boh lang giving me a lift at? I carry heavy bag leh...all for the mummies tonite...hee</font>

<font color="ff0000">Gathering #2</font> - MEETING INSIDE OR OUTSIDE RESTAURANT???
<font color="0000ff">Date: 12-Dec-07 Weds TODAY!!</font>
<font color="0000ff">Time: Dinner 7pm</font>
<font color="0000ff">Venue: Pearl River Palace Cantonese Restaurant @ Suntec</font>
<font color="0000ff">Reservation made under: January-08 (Ms S Yeo)</font>
01) kitsune + Hubby
02) violetIce + Hubby
03) icy
04) Lynn78
05) yen2007 + Hubby
06) QQ
07) Valencia
08) mom2nat
09) babe
10) Mrs Piggy
11) babyshannon