(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

thanks wendyg and steph,
i've only seen the white bottle around in 2 sizes, but never open to see what colour liquid is inside. shall open up and check.. hehe. did you buy this too?
i acutally already bought sebamed bubble bath (coz bubble bath sounded so fun so i bought it..) but my SIL said no good.. too much foam. bleah. so have to wait until bb is older than i'll use.

michelle,
gee.. guess i'm not the only one figuring out what's the difference between all the terms...

to my knowledge (after looking through many products online and offline),
receiving blankets can come in either hooded or not hooded. but i dun think they should be in towel form coz it's basically acts like a swaddle or blanket.

whereas towels can also come in hooded or unhooded to dry the baby.

binder:
if c-sect must use binder? what is the purpose of it? to keep the stitches more intact?

which type of binder did you all get? guardian one can?

Hey MyLife, I read on your blog you bought maternity disposable undies. Where did you get that from? The rest of the mummies...do you know? It's not those normal disposable undies is it?

hammies I bought disposable undies too .... i bought mine at OG still getiing maternity disposable undies cos i scare lata give birth liao still will have tummy so buy bigger one to be more comfy heehee
Bought this cos no one will wash undies for me leh ..... so buy disposable one use liao throw easy

mylife,
TMC will provide the binder...so no need to buy in advance.

Although I intend to go for natural birth but I still bought a binder/corset for use after birth since I'm not getting any post-natal massages. I'm putting all my hopes of getting back my pre-pregnancy figure on it...haha!

oh ya i wanna donate out baby cord blood leh sorry can I have the webbie again har? I misplace it wor

mcfluffy,
My aunt told me the binder is used to keep the stitches in place as well as to "contract" our abdominal muscles. During pregnancy, our abdominal muscles are stretched apart to accommodate our growing uterus, so the binder will push it back into the original state. My aunt got back into her pre-pregnancy shape and weight within a month just by using the binder 24/7 and without any post-natal massages. So I'm going to follow her method as well.

QQ,
The website is http://www.scbb.com.sg/
Actually you can send them a email directly to arrange for a meeting. Email is [email protected]

I wanted to donate also but they rejected me after the telephone pre-screening because of the radioactive iodine treatment which I had in 2005 for my thyriod condition. They say not safe leh unless the treatment was more than 5 years ago.

Morning ladies...

QQ,
I also donate bb's cord blood. Already called them and arranged to meet up this Wed.
Yvonne,
They asked a lotz of question hor...I kept saying "no no no"...I went tried chinese accupunture a year plus ago to improve blood circulation, they questioned a lot on this, afraid the needles are not disposable one.

QQ
re: sterilising tablet
for me it's a must. For some mums, they just bring their steriliser everywhere, so dun need. Or just use hot water to rinse, so no need.

re: binder
TMC may provide, but i dun like their charges, everything so expensive. so this time i bring my own.
It's really good support esp after c-sect, coz after bb is out, tummy tends to sag a bit before retracting back to shape, and this little bit of sagging will cause pain due to location of stitches. In addition hold your tummy for more support when u cough or laugh.

re: maternity disposable undies
they're larger in size than regular ladies disposable undies. Some can stretch up to 42 inches.

re: scbb
imagine, if the public bank which is FOC rejects u due to iodine radiation etc, what if u sign up with a private bank who will make u pay thousands. Will they also reject u saying your cord blood not suitable?

yen
during the meetup u gotto answer more "no no" qstns. hahaha.
they also quite concerned coz i pierced my ears in Sept 07. Asked where i did it, what instrument they used etc.
All for good reason la, coz it's a donation ma.. also dowan the receipient to kena some disease from the CB.
Blood donation questionnaire also v lengthy, ask abt AIDS, sex habits, whether u lived in UK/ Africa etc... But this CB donation they also ask abt family history.

Good morning ladies,

If u see me logging on in the daytime, that means I am home again. Goosh, my bachache was pretty bad last night. While I standing in the train last night, the sudden jerk of the train movement causes this sharp pain down from my right lower back to my right thigh area. Now I understand how people with backaches must be suffering. =( I thought I can never make it to my parents' place after the train ride as I need to cross the overhead bridge. Going down the stairs is a killer. When I reached my parents' place, I was basically panting and silently cursing the pain. Went to see GP today. He said it's due to my tummy is exerting force on my back, so the only way is to eat panadol if I can't tahan. *sigh*

Yesterday a bit emotional too. Burst into tears twice. First was in the morning when I couldn't even get up properly (with the pain) and then leg cramps come along, not once or twice! I felt so bad that I have to depend on my poor hb that I just burst into tears non-stop. The 2nd time was when I was bascially limping home after dinner and finally sat down to rest my poor back. Couldn't help it but cried again. *sigh* That's why took a day off today to rest my poor back and soul... =S

Hi Steph,

The towels we got from Mrs Wong's class is for drying our babies after bathing. The other one (texture like the cloth which comes with our spectacle casing to wipe our specs) is for swaddling our babies. =)

QQ
any brand can la.. Pureen, Pigeon, Boots etc. Any supermarket's baby section or Kiddy Palace will have. U're near Parkway right? Sure can find from Giant.

hi Yvonne,

Izit a simple procedure to donate to SCBB ? I heard that a blood test for pre-screening is necessary from the mother b4 any cord blood donation. Is this true?

wendyg,
More questions!!?... no wonder they said the meetup need ard 45mins la.

icy,
BHG having sales? Is it storewide sales? I want to buy a thermal flask (Tiger/Thermos brand) one. Dun know got discount or not.

Disposbable panties & maternity sanitary pads...
I went to Mothercare last night. Disposable panties is those non-cotton material. I worry will be uncomfortable. Also for maternity sanitary pads, Mothercare has 2 kinds (1 is thick thick one, the other is slim wing kind but needs 2 packs). I also saw this brand Pureen at JL yesterday. The sanitary pads is a BIG pack, didn't dare to get it. Sorry ladies, but can any kind souls pls kindly re-cap where to get the above? Thank you so much!

QQ
me need to have the tablets cos after confinement, i'm going to ship my steriliser to HK one week prior to me flying with baby...so during that time, i will be using the tablets lo.

AhCapp
Seems like we all same-same. Me too very emotional these days, Been crying a lot...over trivial things, picking fights with hubby sometimes, just very overwhelmed.

QQ,
You also won't pass since they told me must be after 5 years. I'm not doing anything else. Was thinking if I bank with Cordlife or Stemcord, will they just accept becos I'm paying a fee even though my baby's cord blood may not be "usable" in future due to our treatment?? Then i pay for nothing right??

Steph,
I'm not sure if a blood test is required...1st round telephone screening already kana rejected...haha.

yen
i just look v hurried and try to rush along. Coz the parking charges ticking by the minute ma. And husband v bored. The lady talk v slow and seemed like want to explain more to me, but i told her i already made up my mind, dun need to persuade me or anything, i quickly answered NO NO NO NO, initial on all the pages, then she advised me to pass letter to midwives upon admission then i run liao.

ahcapp
there has been a discussion on maternity pads...think lots of mommies getting the Pureen (yes the big one) from kiddy palace. I heard get one pack enough to last u for the 1st 2 weeks bah...thereafter, we can use those night normal pads (those for thicker flow one) for menses liao.

QQ
refer to others list and improvise one on your own based on your own needs and lifestyle la...like wat will make u feel more comfy and at ease and soothe u. Writing it down will make it a tad more clearer for u.

ah capp
try Giant/ Carrefour or Kiddy Palace. Any brand can la.

QQ
once u start packing, u'll find more and more things to include. haha.

Hi mylife,

Just went over to your blog. Will take some time out to read it. I love the pics =) N I envy u still look so good while pregnant. I am 1 BIG mess right now. *LOL*

Yes, I am feeling better already. I feel bad and like half crippled like that when I have to depend on my hb for most of the stuff. I also pity myself when I have hold onto the car door frame just to get out of the car. *sigh*

Looks like u have already packed your hospital bag. I think I better work harder this time. =)

hmmmmmm Yvonne true ... i ask my frd giving birth at this mth that did she use any cord blood banking or donate she say she do nothing ..... just throw after tat ... i wanna help others but too bad we have radio iodine since they dun accept sigh.

mylife ok .... abit lost wor

Ok ladies, will check out the Pureen brand of maternity pads later on when I hit IMM. Pardon me for being dumb, but the Pureen pack is really really HUGE! *LOL*

morning ladies,

talking abt maternity pads,
which one is more comfortable, the Pureen one from kiddy palace or the kotex maternity pad? we only need it for the first 2 weeks rite?? after that, can we use the normal pads??

ok wendyg, i'll call scbb to find out more. thks. Anyway, my hubby hates lengthy questionnaire! Want to donate also troublesome...

Re: maternity pads
I bought normal sanitary pads (Whisper) suitable for extra heavy flow & night use with wings & longer, shld be ok bah. Not necessary to use maternity pads! right?

Anyone considering brazilian wax b4 delivery ? Wanna try honeycomb or strip but scare of pain & scare trigger pre-term labor. I think need to ask gynae approval b4 doing brazilian.

steph
yes it's troublesome, but think of it - just a little bit longer than the one for donating blood. And it's for a good cause. Can save lives, instd of just discarding.

steph,

i have lots of the Whisper extra heavy flow & night use with wings one at home now too. bought 6 months supply before i realised that i am pregnant. hehe..now all sitting in my cupboard.

Child-care arrangement after birth...

I will be taking 3 full months maternity leave after my delivery. I do intend to let my mum take care of my baby when I return to work. But don't know why, but I kinda feel that she is kinda reluctant like that. She didn't really say she doesn't want to look after, she just said she is worried she can't cope. My dad was asking if will I be tired out if I want to bring baby home every night after work. I said yes, I want him to be in his own home every night. Or else, he might not recognise who is his parents and who is his grandparents.

We stay very close to my parents, only 4 bus-stops away. So I thought that is the most logical plan to have. My MIL is currently staying with my hb's elder sis, help looking after my 2 nieces. N since they live in the east and I live in the west, it will be difficult for us to drop off baby before work and pick him up after work.

My mum asked if I consider getting my MIL to come over stay with us full time and look after baby. I said no, difference in life-style and a baby will make my life complicated for sure. Also with my MIL, my FIL will come along. I really can't cope with a baby and my inlaws inthe same house.

I can't help but worry what will happen if things don't work out. But the thought of passing my little precious to a maid or a nanny to look after full time makes me worry. I was brought up by my maternal grandma, so I thought it will be wonderful if my mother can look after my baby too. Think I am getting emotional again here.

Have all of u plan out childcare arrangement already?

Brazillian wax...

No Steph, not me here. I wonder how painful will be it be =P I am a "virgin" when it comes to waxing. Not sure if I will faint or not. Maybe I should check out with my gynae this sat too.

Yes the pureen maternity packs are huge, I only bringing 3 to the hospital, hope its enough, else I think I will use the normal pads but heavy duty ones.

As to corset, if I wanna get now before I deliver, what should I be buying and in terms of size, since now also cannot try?

Sassy, I also have the poo poo problem as u, sometimes the poo poo will be stuck at the anus, then its very frustrating coz the feeling is terrible, neither here nor there like that.

Backside pain, yes, I also have, cant wait to go for massage again, strain my shoulder also when i slide off the toilet to pee last night.

Mood swings, in a terrible mood, sometimes feel like crying and sulking for no reason. My poor hubbie got to pacify me by phone long distance. hahaha.

I've already started packing my bag and getting baby's stuff ready, but just have this feeling that still will panic when the time comes.

Re: Maternity dispoable undies
AhCapp/Wendyg..do u know where to get the maternity disposable undies?

As for maternity pads..i bought kotex one leh..also intend to co-use with normal heavy flow pads like Whisper brand or others...

AhCapp,

I have the same problem too!
My mum is still working while my MIL claims that she cant handle babies and doing housework at the same time. Suggest employing a maid for her, then she gives me excuse that she will feel very restricted with a maid at home. Then she tells me that all her friends also never look after their grandchildren, says very restricted and cant go out with a baby at home. She suggests sending my baby gal to nanny or infant care.

In the end, I decided to send my baby gal to infant care after my maternity leave. Dont want to argue further with her!

hammies
any supermarket. i bought mine from Giant.

shannon
your MIL is modern type har. Has her own social life.

baby movement,
A bit worried, cos I realised my bb movement not so active yesterday, then last night also don;t have strong kicks or tickle that i used to feel.. *sigh* dunno if I am being paranoid or what.

3rascals,
BB couture provide free delivery, my area off the city and they wanna charge me $10 for delivery.. so I guess I will go United square and buy.

hammies03,
I brought from BHG becos of the sale, 4.50 for pack of 5, quite cotton kind. They will state the disposable panty for maternity instead of for lady. I buy 1 mth supply so that I wont have to wash the panty on my own during confinement.

bebe_yan,
Must see the refilled pack (other brand of wipes) and fit in the plastic box or not.

Yen,
It is not store width, just for baby and children dept.

Re: maternity disposable undies

I bought mine from kiddy palace "max-kool" 5pcs for $4.90 100% cotton & washable. Size 28" to 42".
BHG also selling cotton maternity disposable undies 5pcs for $4.00