(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendyg,

the problem is she seldoms go out now!! she claims that she has alot of housework to do at home and FIL is not helping her..but its ok lar, I prefer infant care centre too...

bebe_yan,
I find it neccessary. Cos the pigeon refilled pack 82 pcs come with those sticker cover only, surely will dried up easily. Then those comes with hardcover lids, have less wipes (70pc) and more expensive.

Kitsune,
Just had my massage with Grace today. Read from other thread that you have an appointment with her as well.

Her skills are really that of a certified therapist and trainer, more of aromatherapy than Javanese. It's very relaxing.

Re : Maternity Disposable Undies. Can get from any lingerie dept. Cloth type (Eternity and Impression). I got mine from Carrefour. The brand is Suntex. Abt $4 plus for 5.

Steph,
I might go for waxing but not full Brazillian. Dun wan to trigger contractions. Besides, I'm prone to ingrown hair. Anyway, mine is C-section. After C-section, won't be able to do waxing for a few months.

hee AhCapp...i have never done brazilian b4 but very keen to try cos i don't like the nurse to shave for us. The re-growth will be prickly. Brazilian can last longer. Taking about shaving...i can't reach & bent over to shave throughly

Looks like some of us here are getting backaches...me too! Mine is more of the lower back..more on the right side of the butt. When I walk, it can be quite aching and I end up like can't walk properly..a bit waddling ok!

i bought at 4.90 oso the Got OG card 10% discount .... mine oso cotton can wash one... always buy that brand normal panties to go holiday oso

Dear me, I forgot about checking out the maternity disposable panties while I was BHG last Sun. Sian ah, always forget this and forget that.. =S

Hi Shannonbaby,

How young does the infant care accept babies for? 3months old can send over?

Shannon Baby,

Hospital provides you with the loop type. Very challenging to use.

Binder :
The binder was to keep the stitches in place and to help the me to move about without feeling too much of the pain post-op.

ahcapp
thanks for the compliments
Haiyah...frankly, i dont feel good at all. Felt so heavy and clumsy all the time. I can identify with your feelings 100%. To be honest, at times, felt a lot of self-pity and cry. But then, aft recovering, will chide myself for feeling so silly.I guess these are all very common with preggers bah. Hang in there. if we're not strong, worse will happen AFTER we give birth...add a wailing baby, breast engorgement and ta dah...post natal depression can come knocking at your door. So, try to cheer yourself up with little tots and take deep breath when it's overwhelming.
Hope that'll help. *LOL* I do find the maternity pads BIG too, when i was first browsing it at Kiddy Palace with my mom, i was like "WTF?? For cow ah?" kekeke

As for childcare arrangement, i'm lucky cos am going to be a SAHM full time. But i can understand your concern about your mom's reluctance. Actually, for me also, my mom will be doing the confinement for me. Initially i asked if i shud hire a full time CL to help out...she seemed to agree to it...scared she cannot cope...then, she turn around saying no need to waste money....but she kept confiding to my sisters asking them if they know whether i'll be hiring a maid to help in household when we're back in HK. She kept saying, confinement 1 month she can tahan, but after that, cannot liao. So i guess that translates to me pretty much on my own lo...dats why a bit panicky on the "taking care of baby" part after i return to HK. For you, if budget permits, perhaps u wan to xplore the option of hiring a maid to help your mom when u go back to work aft 3 mths? Can sit down and hv a discussion with ur mom on how u can help to lightened her burden...i guess maybe ur mom also feel gan cheong, worried if she can cope. U can bring the maid to your mom's house when u go to work, and then when knock off, bring maid + baby back to your home. But must ensure ur maid doesnt do 2 household domestic work cos it's against the law.

Btw, i HAVE NOT packed my hospital bag la...that's jus a list i prepared only...me still in HK, how to pack? hehe

Re: Backside pain
Lately when i get up from a sitting down position, my butt hurts like hell...dunno why...but i did hurt my tailbone before when i was young...so maybe with the additional weight of my tummy now...putting pressure?

Steph
Me definitely going for brazilian wax before my delivery. Think shd be ok cos i read lots of mommies went...just dont wan the nurses at TMC to shave me leh! :p Am going to honeypot. Bought a package there last time.

Ahcapp, if u have not done brazilian wax before, then dont try it first time when u're heavily preggie now...VERY painful ok!

wendy
in the event my baby still breeched and i need to go for c-sect, then i think i'd better go and buy a binder myself to prep since u said TMC charged very high. Where to get a good one? Wat brand?

Steph,

*LOL* Yes, I can't bend over too while in shower. I have to hold onto the glass screen in order to reach my poor feet. We are so sad. =P

What is the pain like for brazilian wax?

Hi hammies,

I always tell people that I am a penguin, with big tummy and waddle instead of walk! =D Btw, my pain/ache is around the same area as yours. Lower right back, thru my butt area n down to my right thigh

AhCapp...ok..i suppose its the pressure of the heavier baby taking a toll on our backs..gosh..it seemed to come suddenly one leh..like suddenly baby got heavier already then I felt this way. Haha...tts how 'wei da' we all are hor to go thru everything!!

Oh yeh, and I also feel very clumsy indeed...tend to drop things like butter fingers! Last night i was gg to feed my hamsters their food when I dropped their food tray and all the nuts spilled all over the floor! When I told hubby to come help me pick them up. He very funny..keep telling me it's ok...don't worry....macham I became like little kid!

Mylife,

U make me laugh when u talk about the maternity pads in such a way. I saw the ones at mothercare, already quite big a pack. Then I saw Pureen pack at JL, double the size. I don't even dare to pull it out to examine the pack. I know I am being dumb and stupid, but I am sooo used to extra slim, slim and wings for my pads. Not used to getting such big a pack lor.

Wearing high heels is painful in my dictionary. I wonder if I have the courage to go thru brazilian wax. *shake head* *LOL*

The GP I saw today told me that previous injuiry might contributes to our current backaches. So pls take good care.

Yes, will find a good time to talk to my mum about the child-care arrangement, like you suggested. Thank you =)

I wonder if Mt Alvernia will provide the binder for c-section, if I ever need to go for an emergency c-setion. Anyone has any idea?

Goosh, how come already buying so many stuff and still missing out 1 item or 2 ah? Is it just me??

Hey QQ, no need to worry....
I have my maternity bag packed : )
You can refer to
http://evelynmoh.multiply.com/journal/item/204/Full_Battle_Order
BTW have to add in a few more stuffs which i forgot but u can get to see the things necessary from my friend's reply, She's an experience mother.

Im jumping between Dec and Jan thread as my gynea have been giving me my edd from 30th Dec- 4th Jan.

Anyway can i check what are the binder you gals are referring to?
Where can i buy it from?
And I bought my disposable undies from watson. Large size. Can also be use as maternity undies right? or cannot?

wa seh, this thread moves FAST!

mcfluffy,
yes, 1.58m considered petite :p at least that's what my hubby thinks... when i am on my flats during pregnancy, i also feel "petite" when i walk among the shopping crowd lol besides, i was 45kg pre-preg, and am now 51.6kg... since gynae says that's a healthy range, i am ok lor

icy,
i got Jergens from watson's... definitely less than SGD20 per bottle... "Ultra Healing, Extra dry skin moisturizer, 295ml)... i'd tried many brands, did not like the texture of this one at first, but later on after getting rashes from different lotions and creams, happy with this brand lor

talk about butter fingers Hammies, me too! I can't agree with u more. I have been like that for the past few weeks already. I spill things everywhere, water, washing powder, food, books, small items etc etc. N the worst part is I have to bend down to pick them up. Nowadays, I just gave up and ask my hb for help. Really. Don't know what happen.

N another one which I noticed is whatever I eat, something will definately spill/ falls onto my tummy. This is despite me being extra careful already ok. My hb jokes that I need to wear an apron or a bib like a baby. I just glare at him..

Dareve,

I think those should be ok, right. I used to be able to get those 100% cotton disposable kind from Watsons for travelling use. But now like no more. =(

Ah Chapp,

Very hard to tell you the pain level for brazillian. Depends on your tolerence level. First timer usually more painful.

Hospital sells binder, but it's charged to your bill. After the op, the physiotherapist will vist you to teach you how to sit up without over exerting yourself etc

Your guys are scaring me with all your preparations. I'm still taking my own sweet time..

AhCapp,
i dun think i have butter fingers but i am definitely more careless when i am pregnant... like yesterday, mom placed 3 bowls of birds nest on the table and i flipped one over *panic* one whole bowl, on the table, on the chair, on the floor... "lucky" that one was not mine (coz mine is extra concentrated), so hubby only had a few mouthfuls... :p And hubby helped me to "destroy evidence" by cleaning up... hehe... sayang the expensive bird nest la... *guilty guilty*

DarEve, I also had the same question in mind. Coz I was considering getting the normal disposable undies from Watsons, L size. I'm wondering is the material different from the maternity disposable undies? THat is Watson more paper-like while maternity disposable is softer more cotton type??

oops, i think i'll try normal bikini wax instd of full brazilian. thought they were the same thing... *hiak*

<font color="0000ff">hey need some help here..</font>
what's the diffrnce btwn brazilian wax & biniki wax? Brazilian costs abt double a biniki wax.

AhCapp..i couldn't help laughing when I read what you wrote..hehee..i also sometimes drop some bits of food on my tummy area...I think it's because it's protruding out so we can't like go too close the table when eating or something..hahaa...

Blackbatz,

Don't worry. We are actually doing things bit by bit here, I am sure. Just take your time. =) Anyway, as I say, I feel like no matter how many stuff I am buying, I always feel missing something. So I guess I will preparing till the day I am due.

Ok, maybe I will not get the binder for now yet. =) Thank u for your feedback.

pinkstars,

My colleague said it's normal for pregnant ladies to be more clumsy than before. Don't know the real reason though =P Perhaps it's because our fingers have swell, so the relex isn't as good as before? Hmmm...

Blackbatz,

Don't worry. We are actually doing things bit by bit here, I am sure. Just take your time. =) Anyway, as I say, I feel like no matter how many stuff I am buying, I always feel something is still missing. So I guess I will preparing till the day I am due.

Ok, maybe I will not get the binder for now yet. =) Thank u for your feedback.

pinkstars,

My colleague said it's normal for pregnant ladies to be more clumsy than before. Don't know the real reason though =P Perhaps it's because our fingers have swell, so the relex isn't as good as before? Hmmm...

Wendy,
Brazillian = full stripping.
Bikini waxing is just the sides and trimming. Ranges from "X" to "XXX"..

Disposable undies :
Better to use cotton material cos need to change pads. Paper undies may tear easily.

AhCapp,

Infant care centre accepts babies from 2 months onwards, but i intend to send after 3 months old. I used to work in infant care centre, so roughly know how they handle babies.

I wish to be a SAHM!!! But cant afford it...

Blackbatz, so would u be taking Grace for postnatal massage? Heehee...so I guess ur experience with her is good? Does she help to loosen those tight knots?

Childcare
Hmmm...any mommies with no.2 would be stopping work to be SAHM to handle both? I am in such a delimma coz worry my mum can't handle two.

ahcapp

the brazilian wax pain is like...err...literally, someone ripping your hair from you lo...so depends on the skill of the person doing for u....but it happens very fast la....stinging pain immediately after she ripped the wax off. Tears can come to eyes one lo...IMHO, i think cannot compare to wearing heels, cos those kind is like aching long term, this one is like instant zap. All in all, the entire waxing session shud be about 8-10mins only. So see if u can tong or not la. I definitely will go cos between waxing 10mins pain and the ma huan-ness of having nurse shave u and then going thru 1month confinement with prickly hair growing out of your pubic area PLUS the discharge of your lochia and the mess, err...i think i'd take the former.

wendy
thanks. So i go Guardian and jus ask for binder? Is it specifically for c-sect one? We have to wear it for how long? Then the post natal malay massage will also give us binders to wear one right?

Blackbatz
Waxing can trigger contractions one meh?

Hammies
yah...my hubby also say sometimes i waddle...bo pian ma...must adjust accordingly...i rem when i went to Mrs Wong's classes i was only about 5-6 mths preggie and she was lecturing us on how some mothers waddle and i was laughing along...but now i have to waddle too...pain ah!

Woooo thanks for the reply AhCapp,
I only bought those normal one. Don't think mine is cotton type.
My colleagues were saying if i go through normal delivery, most likely i will be wearing loop only and no panties are needed. So i just bought 1 pack for stand-by.
My colleagues said wearing panties are painful and troublesome when gynea come to check on us.

blackbatz,

pardon me for asking.. what is "x" and "xxx"?

Shannonbaby,

Thanks for the feedback. =) Will drop this into my option list if I ever need to consider infant care.

Yes Hammies,

Pregant women like us are quite poor thing right. Backaches, butter fingers, cramps, clumsy, waddle like a penguin, food falls all over our tummy. Must really make our hubbies appreciate us more than ever =P

mylife
abdominal binder.. some people just wear for better contour, some people use for medical purpose, we use for c-sect lor. Wear whole day long, until the wound not so pain lor. Or like what Yvonne says, wear for whole month to help abs contract.
that time my massage lady made me wear her binder which is a long cloth wrapped round my body & tied up with little ribbons. With that, i din need my velcro abdominal binder.

ahcapp
YES YES!!! me too feel the same way...hubby also! buy buy buy so many things, make so many shopping trips, yet, ALWAYS got something else to buy...so much so, everytime i tell hubby, eh, we need to go buy....before i finished sentence only, he'll be like "What??? buy again???" hehe

Oh dear me, wearing panties also painful??

DarEve,

now u are scaring me. ;) How much more horror do we poor souls have to bear? *shake head* Btw, wearing loop sanitary pads also need to put on panties right? Very weird to go bare-bottom wor. Sorry, just wondering. =(

Mylife,

Thank u for painting a clearer pic about the brazilian wax. hehehe.. Goosh, u ladies are soo brave!

ahcapp and mylife,
Yes, maternity pad are huge!! And some of my friends can still tell me use 2 pcs at one time!!

re: maternity disposable undies
totally agree with blackbatz! Maybe cos i have super big butt size. I can never wear watson's one, even the L size like a bit small...will tear!

ah capp

same leh, i eat food, maybe tummy too big cannot go too close the table, so some food or gravy end up on my tummy. hb say u need to put something so tat wont stain ur clothes.. >.<

and ya, really walk like a penguin.. aiyo plus 1 pair of elephant legs

Ok, you ladies are scaring me (and making me laugh at the same time) with these images of huge pads and panty-less. *LOL*

Icy,

Already very thick wor. Still need 2 pads?? *LOL* How to walk like that??

mylife
I scared I go into labour with the brazalian wax pain leh... so tot ah, maybe 38 weeks then go! hahaha... later really go into labour hb sure scold me!! I can rem the pain, really stinging. My hb thinks I siao to go for such things.

I might be going for brazilian wax too but i need to check with my gynae first. Heard that some gynae don't allow leh.

Pain??? let's think on the positive side gals. We are blessed to feel the pain right. It's an enjoyment that will be ending real soon for everyone of us : )

Oh yes AhCapp, the pain is due to the episiotomy wound if i'm not wrong.
My colleague told me no need to put on panties with loop sanitary pad.

Cheryl,

Thanks for reminding me about my elephant legs. hehehe..Kinda of used them already. *LOL* I am losing memory of how "slim" they used to be already. No wonder pregnant mums are forgetful, maybe for a good reason. *LOL*

DarEve,

Oh, episiotomy. I did mentioned to my gynae that I will like to avoid it if possible. But then again, if baby too big can't come out, I also have no choice too. =S

Btw, for everyone's info. Mrs Wong (and even my gynae) did mentioned about using olive oil to apply in that area to sort of help stretch the area for childbirth. Pls don't ask me how to do it, as I have not figured it out though. =P

Wendy
Can't imagine myself having to deal with the heavy bleeding and uncomfortable ingrown hair at the same time. Besides, the lady at strip told me can't apply any of their cream to prevent ingrown hair, which was why I choose only XX strip (tidy up the area, so that the ugly hairs do not stick out)

Mon2nat,
Like you,I dare not tell my hubby when I went for it 2 weeks ago. Whether will trigger contractions or not, I really not sure (but was advised against it by doc friends). Probably the pulling part is bad.

Babe,

Haven't decided if I would take up her package for post-natal. I might just ask her to come as and when for relaxation. But there are mothers who booked her for 7 sessions. From Jan onwards, her schedule is quite packed. But she does help to relieve tight knots, which is quite soothing.