(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Steph
For me, i think terry cloth is also towel-like material...just softer only. I bought mine (6 in a packet) from Bumps to Babes in HK. Dunno where to find it in Spore. Came across it, packaging written "Terry Wash Cloth" so i buy lo. Intend to use it to wash baby's face and whole body while bathing her one. The towel u bought from Mrs Wong's class shud be to towel-dry baby AFTER bathing her la.

Btw, i missed Mrs Wong's lessons on childcare...how can i buy that white towel she selling ah?

<font color="aa00aa">i thot cotton ball is used to clean baby's eyes and clean baby's bottom??? haha...we all come up with different versions...haha

steph, u asked me welcome bag. simi welcome bag???

QQ, i wanna eat Bedok Kueh leh from ur blog...craving for it!</font>

mei heehee .... hmmmm 12 i am working leh if not i can go buy liao then bring to u during the gathering...... let me see any chance to go anot heehee

steph
did a google image search

terry (material)
1104273.jpg

hankies
1104274.jpg

washcloths
1104275.jpg

Those that i bought look like these
1104276.jpg

but they're not dishcloths la. Not to wipe dishes.. to wipe face/ baby's body.

ahh, now i know they're called wash cloths. In my home, we call them hankies or face towels.
Coz neither my husband nor i use hankies.

QQ,
i also bought the Avent moisturising nipple cream from Toys R Us at $20.40 nett. No discount at BHG & kiddy palace.

mylife,
yes u can buy the towel at $9/each from Parentcraft. Do call to enquire stock first. I wanna buy the swaddle cloth but was out of stock during her lessons at that time.

wendyg,
thks for the pics...so it all depends on the parents...how we wanna clean/handle/wipe the baby bah.

hee...mei, no la...
maybe i confuse u...i thot u mentioned abt some little gift for those who turn up for gathering #2? Did u?

QQ,
member card i borrowed from colleague & i check kiddy palace jurong point outlet, no discount for nett item wor.

<font color="aa00aa">haha...oh steph, that one ah. that is called welcome bag ah? haha...got lah. SMALL bag. but not many gifts this time round. haha...

talking abt kiddy palace card, i paid to be member. end up i din even use it ONCE! waste my $</font>

pinkstars,
hehe, i'm also 1.58m. And that's called petite? hee.. I never thought I'm petite. Now should be called chubby liao, with me gaining all the extra weight!

mylife, can buy the cloth at Parentcraft. However, I find that the cloth is just like normal towel? And the swaddle cloth fluffs according to my mother when she was washing it! Hmmm...

By the way, Mrs Wong also introduced to us to use a Hair and Body wash for baby by avent. Is the bottle supposed to be transparent or opaque? Coz i found this Avent Body and Hair Wash for babies and it's opaque but I kinda rem Mrs Wong showing us a transparent container?

really ah mcfluffy? the swaddle cloth fluffs??Wow...must feedback to Mrs Wong then cos she guarantee it wont! How much does the swaddle cloth cost? thks.

Mrs Wong introduced the Johnson's Baby Top To Toe Washing 500ml pump action dispenser & Avent bb moisturising lotion.

mcfluffy
the baby hair & body wash by avent comes in 2 types of containers if i'm not wrong. The one with larger capacity is in opaque container (white) & stands upright. The smaller capacity one stands upside down.
the liquid soap is gold.

Michelle,
Didnt get to catch you on msn. Do let me know if your friend managed to bring over the herbs for bathing for you
Still can't find them yet over my side. Thanks!

have you all heard of any good parenting book out there?

btw, anyone considering Rustic Nirvana for post-natal massage?

steph,myfluffy
thanks...will enquire parentcraft when i'm back in town. Somehow becos i missed the 2 important lessons of childcare (how to bathe/swaddle babies) and breastfeeding of Mrs Wong's classes (due to my father's funeral then)...i feel really panicky like how how how? How to bathe baby? how to swaddle? Wonder if they'll teach me when i give birth at TMC?

Question for experienced mommies:
Err...since we talking about poo...i read in the birth stories hor...before labour, the nurses will give u enema to make u discharge your bowels rite? Do they insert it for u or they just give u the bottle and u gao dim yourself ah? Feel damn paiseh leh if they insert for u, means u have to go all fours and stuck the butt out for them to insert into your anus ah?
If like dat, really like wat my fren say, go labour only, all dignity leave outside hospital liao kekeke

<font color="aa00aa">mylife, u can ask the nurse to show u how to bath ur baby in the nursey before u discharge. ask if it's ok</font>

mylife

i think the nurse will do it for u, and i dun think we are able to reach and insert it ourself unless hb do it for us.

mylife
TMC has ongoing classes on how to bathe baby. Ask the nurse for schedule after u pop.
as for the enema, i think the nurses do for u, but i think we just lie on the side can liao.

steph
oops i think packaging changed

cheryl
oic...then no choice lo...so after they insert for u, immediately will go toilet one ah? Then baby come out in toilet how? hehe

mei
yah, dats wat i was thinking too. I called Parentcraft liao..they say can let me go for the 2 classes in early Jan when i'm back in town...but i scared leh..by then so near by edd liao.

mylife
the enema will make the poo very very soft, like lao sai. So u dun hv to strain at all. Just try to tahan 10min before going toilet to bomb. I could only tahan 8min.

mylife

when i m young, my grandma used me insert this thing for me to make me shit. duno is it the same kind as the hospital use... it is some liquid thing, when insert inside within few seconds u will have the feeling liao.... u dun even need to use strength auto everything come out...

maybe any 2nd time mummy can tell us hw is it like???

cheryl/wendy
i think that's the one la...i know wat enema is cos i helped my mom before when she went for a piles removal surgery. I jus dunno how it's going to be like while our cervix dilated, in the middle of contractions and all...still gotta go bomb toilet!

cheryl
yes it's exactly how u describe. but they will ask u to tahan 10min for full effect. The longest 10 min of my life....

mei,
I already got the case. :D BHG baby sales until 7 dec.. Going to see more this friday.

pinkstar,
How much does jerger cost? Clarin quite ex, although, the result seemed better than palmer but now like use what also will have those marks.

Bebe,
pigeon hard cover can use the 88 refill pack and doesnt dried up so easily.

QQ,
white towels as mentioned just now is better, in case bb allergy to those coloured dye in towels.

yen,
yes, I heard before Lactacyd. Friend use for her bb, said it is good becos her BB skin very sensitive. Think Ocean at People park there should have very good pricing.

cheryl
oh yes... 10min is the target. I still remember the feeling.. my ass burning so hot by 5min, i still tahan but until 8min i couldn't take it liao, so scared the shit leak out

im back from kkh. the doppler test states tat the bb size is slightly below average (still acceptable)and the umbilical cord is delivering enough oxygen and nutrients to the baby. baby's position still breeched at 33 weeks. gynae never say much, i asked if i can deliver naturally but no fixed answer only told me very vaguely "maybe" and we'll see how during the next appt. do all the gynaes give vague answers to protect themselves so tat they can cover their own ass in the event being sued for misrepresentation???

if everything goes on smoothly, my girl will be a jan 08 girl if not i will need to join the dec 07 thread liao... if shes a jan 08 girl, hope tat i can be within the top 10 list lol

mylife
they dont give u the enema when ur contraction starts lah. its way before that! at least for me it was lah. i remmeber i was admitted past 12 midnite (cos induced mah) and then sometime around 2am i think the nurse came. she asked me to lie on the side n 'tong' as long as possible before goin to poo . i think i only manage to hold for less than 5 min hee...

andrea
sure - i'll keep u posted abt the herbal bath stuff

michelle
my imagination is jus running wild lo...what if u're warded in the middle of some contractions for active labour...then how? I read some birth stories like after enema, like 30mins later give birth liao (those lucky women). Why the need to hold as long as possible?

oh mine!!! I was reading the thread while having dinner now. Imagine with all the poo poo. Yucksssssssss....... :p

Michelle,
I started training my son gg to sleep on his own last wk. Made it after the 2nd atttempt. I am very proud of myself. Thinking it back, y am I so chicken to take the first step out? Should hv started long ago. Hehe...Now I can watch my hk drama serial while he gg to sleep.

mylife,
For induction, the contraction is v intense and it comes immediately the moment the water bag has been broken. So, if its kinda "natural" birth, suggest C section better. LOL~

valencia
no ley, for me, waterbag was burst abt 11am. I din feel any pain until they put me on the "drip" with the drug to speed up the contractions, which was 1pm after i finished my fried rice lunch. yummm

mummies my tummy so painful jus now i got a shocked thought I got contraction already and hubby not ard ..... i am alone ... scary

valencia
wahhhhhhh *salute* u make it sound so easy putting your kid to sleep leh...made it on 2nd attempt! *clap clap* I heard some of my frens who STILL cannot make it leh...how u do it ah?

itok
i'm also delivering in TMC. I got put my own list of things to pack for my hospital bag in my blog. www.miraclebabyrylee.blogspot.com

itok
besides the items on TMC list, i also packed my breast pump & a plastic container large enuf to place the pump in, plus sterilising tablets. And nipple cream & breast pads in case i got a lot of milk?!?!?! Hope la.
and my entire pre-natal file containing all the receipts from gynae and pre-admission letter, cord blood letter etc

oya
and abdominal binder, in case mine is a c-sect again. Gotto dig it out to wash b4 i can pack it in! betta do it now...

mylife
no need to bring disp diapers for bb... TMC will provide. They will also give a hooded towel for u to swaddle bb upon discharge, but if u want to use your own, also can la.

wendy
i know TMC provide clothes for our babies too...but hor, the Daddy wants her to get swaddled out with the blanket and clothes he bought. Hehe.

We must buy our own binder if we do c-sect one ah? then if emergency c-sect how ah?

mine was unplanned c-sect the first time round. My gynae that time didn't recommend me anything, but my first visitor brought me her old binder to use.
My fren say shld actually hand the binder to the midwife to place on the operating table, so that immed after being stitched up, they can help us wrap the binder. She experienced liao, twice opted for c-sect.

if yours in emergency c-sect, dunno if u can still hv that frame of mind to ask the midwives to bring a binder into the OT for u. They will charge it to your hosp bill.

icy: jus bght last mth from bbcouture. they happen to hv free delivery. I transfer funds over & they deliver to my hse. U can try checking with them.

Verene: Can i hv the diaper prices too.Thanx [email protected]

Steph: bb face cloth is to wash the body during bath. Face use cotton balls. The white towel u bgth is to wrap & dry bb after bath.

Mylife: U can purchase from TMC parentcraft centre. 3rd floor.they conduct classes after yr delivery. Don worry.

Swaddlecloth: Agrees it fluffs after washing. after many times of washing will become harder like normal cloth not so soft. But still like to bring it along when I bring my toddler for swim cos its thinner than towel more compact. Tik its 2 for $13 or $15. cant rem. Will use it to swaddle bb during 1st mth then use s bath towel. Easier to wash & dry.

valencia
eh share how u get your boy to sleep on his own leh? i'm gonna start next wk! hope i'll be as successful as u. last nite again he woke up at 3am for milk.. then again at 7am and he's up for the day :p like that where got enuf sleep rite? and for the whole of y'day he only napped 1 hr!?!