(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Dear icy,

You are right is just with the lid (Cover Only) fro the 66pcs, but very convinence The 82 refill only, the box u can get it from Kiddy palace.

Hi steph

Can you confirm which model of playpen u actually bought? Is it the picture you post??
Cos i just bought the pic of the playpen u shown at aprisin for $269. I call up and enquire and they say its not possible Taka selling that cheap cos its their company who wholesale the playpen to them.

Will go check out in Taka also cos if really that cheap, their company will refund the difference! Can you check if ur model number is 9885 or 9351?? Thanks in advance

Cherynn,

yes the picture i post, i bought the Graco 9885 model at $199 during Taka bb fair. U try call Taka bb/children dept & check out on their current promo on the Graco playpen (model 9885 & blue one) i am very sure either one of them is selling for $159.

verene,

Not the same, mine is Dr Ben Neo. Is this your first baby? Did you book the single or twin-bed? C-section or natural? Im kind of scared to do natural, not sure if im able to take the pain. Before preggy, my threshold for pain was very high but now the slightest cut will make me scream like hell...

icy,
You can call Mt E @ 6731 2133. I enrolled last month when I was back in SG for checkup. My December class is starting 27th November

why u all think C section not pain ah. it's only the PAINKILLERS that make u numb for the time being. C sect is MAJOR op with plenty more risks than natural. Dun opt for it unless u hv to.

wendyg,

i do understand that c-sec is a major op. but im just afraid that if natural fails and i will need to do emergency c-sec. the pain will be 2x more.

sassy
what makes u think that natural will fail? Did doc mention baby is breech or u got narrow hips or smthg.
my first time, induce failed & had to go c-sect. Now all my subsequent pregnancies hv only 70% success rate for natural, and CANNOT induce. If bb needs to come out early, it's straightaway c-sect. I wish someone told me this earlier, so that i can insist to wait for my cervix to dilate rather than take gynae's suggestion "no point waiting"
scared of pain, take epidural or injection or gas etc. Overcome the pain by going for hypnobirthing classes that are so popular nowadays. Think abt it, it's just muscles contracting.. not meant to be painful. It's the FEAR that causes the pain.

icy
Ah, behanve better I dunno hor, cos mine is a tyrant!!! Teacher even had a naughty corner for her, cos she used to hit pple. Actually her teachers v nice, dun complain, but I probe then realised it. Cos they say common for tat age group lor. But they say she v good in class liao, somehow at home, errr... bullies my maid and us!! So ah, more guai, I dun think so ah. hahaha...

sassy/ wendyg
My fren had c sec for her #1, but for her #2 and #3, she go natural. She thinks it is ther #1's gynae. Hmmm...
My #1 was late, then I went for pelvic scan, doc say my baby a bit big, and my pelvic not big, but tat doesn't warrant for a C sec, Cos in other ctys, C sec is not advised. Where I was, if you wan Csec, tat is if really really emergency, or you already had history of 2 Csec. My fren went thru 45 hours of labour, somehow pain, but dun dilate, still not allowed c sec. Then for her #2, she gave birth in less than 2 hours, not even in time for epidural.
If can natural, I v scared of tat epidural jab liao. But oso scared of labour pain... sigh, this time ard, oso dunno wan epi or not.

Starry,
Medela mini electric is very noisy. When using it to express, always start from low. Relax, massage the breast plus below armpit area..Once letdown comes in, then slowly increase to high. That's when you feel the suction and feel like a cow..

Hi SassyMum,

I havent booked the ward, but will get the A1 - one bedded ward. My gynae strongly suggest natural, he mentioned if can natural birth, why not...don't do c-sect if not neccessary. The most, take epidural if pain is really an issue. Most prob, I will settle for natural with epidural, I have pain tolerance but as this is my first time giving birth, I do not know that degree of pain and the fear of it when I heard the experience from other mummies, I rather take the epidural then to experience the pain. This is just my opinion.

How many weeks are you in now?

wendyg/mom2nat,

i was hospitalised twice 2 months ago due to placenta abruption. (2 diff hospitals) Gynae #1 could not diagnosed the cause so my DH's frd recommended another gynae #2. The contractions were unbearable and i had very bad backache (those that req jab for relief). Gynae #2 found a huge blood clot near the placenta and i was told to CRIB as there might be a chance that i will lose the baby. The bleeding which was as bad as menses lasted for 3 weeks. Thank god my baby girl is doing well till now and the bleeding stopped.

My gynae #1 recommended me to go for a detailed growth scan with gynae #3 (he deals w high-risked pregnancies), was then recommended by gynae #3 that i should do a c-sec to get the baby out during my 34weeks. And i was given 2 steriods jab to mature my baby's lungs. Isn't this confusing as 3 gynaes give different opinions. They are all from different hospitals.

Maybe becos of what i went thru b4, ive phobia. My sis gave birth naturally to 2 w/o epi and her babies are huge, 4.2kg and 3.8kg respectively but my SIL tried natural, didn't make it and went for emerg. C-sec...

sigh... up till now im seeing 2 gynaes.

Steph/Blackbatz

Tks for info, however i really hear or feel no difference when i switch from min to max suction..ops, hmm, can't be that i so insensitive right. Should be quite obvious is it. Does the suction actually hold on to your breast?

me also going for natural epidural. (I noe i noe, nobody ask me but i wan to share) :D

I'm 34weeks. EDD 02 Jan 08.. oh no, seems like i'm going to pop before ur..

Sassymum mine 1st edd oso 22 jan so gynae oso base on that wor am 31 weeks oso but lately my eed change again wor

My EDD is on 21 Jan, but hope bb will arrives 2 weeks earlier to avoid confinement during CNY. My gynae mentioned normally 1st birth will be 2 weeks earlier. I am in my 31st week too.

verene,
my usual gynae also Dr Kowa but for this pregnancy i took another gynae fm TMC clinic cos i don't wanna give birth in Mt E. Dr Kowa is a nice and gentle gynae...

can u email me the list of diapers tabulation too pls? [email protected]

i jus checked wif my fren, she always buy pigeon wipes in John Little during their sale.. it's cheap cos a big pack of 6 refill packs cos S$18.50 wif 20% disc.. so after calculation, it's abt $2.45 per pack.. they jus had their sale. worth considering...

qq,

So when is your latest EDD?

verene,

ya, i know... cant imagine our confinement during CNY. are you gonna have any CL and post natal massage? my gynae booked the room for me in Mt E months ago (very kiasu rite), as his nurse said that must do it early if not no more A1 ward left. you might wanna check with your gynae again to avoid disappointment.

SassyMum,

My mum is coming over to my MIL's place to do my confinement. I will check with my gynae next week during my appt regarding the A1 ward.

for those who are giving birth in TMC, did u sign up for the First Birth Incentive Card (FBI card)?
I wanted to order cakes from the sweetest moments, they are offering 10% for FBI card holders.

Starry,
Don't try on your breast anymore, wait stimulate contractions..
Suction will hold on to your breast. It's not like vacuum cleaner.. Most importantly, when expressing or breast feeding, you must be in a relax mood. Medela single electric takes time..

re: graco playpen

i bought that graco playpen @ Taka for $269.... *jaws drop* did the price really drop to $159?????????????????????

sassymum, at the moment they r not having sale cos i jus went JL last sat. i'm waiting for their sale too den i'll buy... will keep u informed if i c one..

i'm waiting for JL, Robinsons or Isetan sale on Pigeon products, den ill buy Pigeon's latest 3-in-1 sterilizer.. more worth it cos everywhere is selling at S$159, with their 20% sale, only S$127.20 and further 5% or 10% disc if u r cardmember and pay by Robinson's or Isetan card respectively... I tink sure have sale during X'mas or post X'mas...

sassy
MInd sharing who are your gynaes? I changed gynaes oso. Cos I din feel comfy with gynae #1 and his explanations lor, even though I paid $500 for part of his package liao.
If there is a need or you have some phobia, and your really want Csec, then go for it. When my anaestatics told me my epidural failed to be administered, I almost fainted. In my mind, I tot of Csec!Luckily last try and it got in.

sassymum, at the moment they r not having sale cos i jus went JL last sat. i'm waiting for their sale too den i'll buy... will keep u informed if i c one..

i'm waiting for JL, Robinsons or Isetan sale on Pigeon products, den ill buy Pigeon's latest 3-in-1 sterilizer.. more worth it cos everywhere is selling at S$159, with their 20% sale, only S$127.20 and further 5% or 10% disc if u r cardmember and pay by Robinson's or Isetan card respectively... I tink sure have sale during X'mas or post X'mas...

qq,

sad to say that grace is not available till jan 08. by then it will be too late to confirm post natal massage. will share my experience with mdm nadia with ur tomorrow.

Just went for my checkup this afternoon. Baby finally turned head down and his buttocks are sticking into my ribs. Couldn't get his weight measure becos of his position. But gynae said my baby's weight is definitely above average. I only put on 1 kg during the past 4 weeks so gynae said my baby is naturally big size since I'm not over-eating. My EDD is 20 Jan and he said baby may arrive anytime after 10 Jan...7 weeks from now...