(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

angelsky,
wa, u stop working since u r 5wks pregnant? if u don't mind, wat were u doing before huh? how come stop after 5wks pregnant leh? sometimes i oso have same feeling as u, worry too much... if my gal nvr moves, i would tink if she's ok, if she moves too much, don't really like the feeling. but now oredi got used to it liao. every day i just try to occupy my time until hubby back fm work in the evening...

mom2nat,
yup, i'm staying at Pasir Ris, opp the HDB town council. U are not the only one. my PIL oso nvr buy, boil, etc etc anything for me since i'm pregnant. anyway, i'm not hard'up for their stuff... my mom is the one keep boiling birdnest soup for me and "dun" all the tonic soups. own mother is always the BEST!!!

codyceps
dat day my mom n i went to the medical hall whom we have been purchasing for many many years to buy all these tonic for confinement usage. the lady said codyceps are super expensive nw and recommended codyceps powder form. she said it works the same as the actual stuff, only thing is that they have blended it into powder form. perhaps u can try this instead? but i don't seems to be able to take codyceps, everytime i take it, i got sore throat.. i tink too "bu" for me liao.

If you intend to stock up on expensive herbs like cordyceps and birds' nest, do make sure you have some form of control of such things during confinement period.

I have heard of cases where CL helped themselves to a few pieces of bird's nest, chicken essence etc.

Wow..u gals very pu lehz...I haven't been eating much tonic stuff. Once in a blue moon got birdnest and sometimes chicken soup. Complaining to hb I want more of those stuff.

Mom2nat, my CL didn't tell me what herbs to buy. Can post your herb list for reference?

Jiat liat, I am feeling so lazy all the time and don't really wanna pack up the room and baby stuff. Heehee....have to go dig out all the no.1 stuff and see if no.2 can wear...

babe
me too like u... not been eating any 'pu' stuff for #2! sometimes feel like i shortchange #2 ilke dat :p cos for #1 i ate lots of tonics

i oso lazy to dig out all the #1 clothes hee hee. yours both same gender? mine 1 boy 1 girl... lagi headache

Thanks, blackbatz. Will check with Grace. Actually wanted to change my appt on 8 Dec, 4:30pm just realised hubby has book signing at Popular on that day but no other slot to change to. Even 3-4 Dec (on leave), Grace also fully booked.

Feel like a zombie today. Woke up at 2am, 5am, 7:30am. The first 2 times, wake up to pee, the 3rd time woke up cos of leg cramps. Sigh. I usually wake up at 8am. Sunday night already woke up a few times, so tired. No more MC left so can't even see dr and take MC. Wish I don't have to work.

<font color="ff0000">Gathering #2</font>
ok gathering is ONZ on 12-12 Dec Weds hor. venue to be at Pearl River Palace 7pm, reserved by Steph.

I assume ALL mummies below are coming. Any mummies wanna remove/add in spouses?
01) Meihua + Hubby
02) kitsune + Hubby
03) janBB
04) violetIce
05) icy
06) chaye
07) fishia
08) Jacelyn
09) Lynn
10) yen2007
11) QQ
12) Valencia
13) mom2nat
14) steph
15) babe
16) Mrs Piggy
17) babyshannon
18) mylife
19) higherlove
20) wildcherry
21) superbee

<font color="0000ff">So any small gift exchange for the newborn?</font>

Godsent
I live behind the police station/ CC. Another MTB in this thread oso lives here.
I prob wont buy cordyceps, so exp. I oso dunno the benefits leh. Anyway the other day my mom say got somemore. NOt much, she say in total got 1 liang or so only. So prob conserve. Or maybe ask my uncle still got free ones or not! hahah... his comes from Tibet.

Babe
My CL hor, ask me to write the list while she recite. MY chinese ah, can't make it, so I put in my own han yu pin ying ah! hahaha...

kitsune
Take hospitalisation leave. I oso think ah, if I need to wake up 7am to woke everyday and night time can't sleep well, I sure peng san.

Blackbatz
Hmmm... then maybe I ask CL to "dun" these things only on weekends, then my mom can pass the herbs to her... and count the quantity!!

Yes, we do. But some drs don't like to issue HL, don't know if mine will. Thought of taking half day leave, go back to sleep but already got 2 colleagues on MC so quite difficult to tell my boss also. :/

mei, i anything with the gift exchange will go with majority

am on mc for 2 days, today n tmr .... my cough makes me headache ......

Haha, thanks Mom2nat and Michelle. Hearing your advice makes me laugh and feel less tired.
Still got something urgent to complete so can't take MC or HL. Think I'll eat in and rest at the staff lounge, then dong for another 4-5 hours. Jia you jia you!

thanks for responding Blackbatz and Mom2nat. Still a bit worried though...yah, think i will call Ikea and ask.

Re: Tonic for baby
I didnt really drink much tonic either...just chicken essence and birds nest. Cos me in HK, no one here to take care of me. But before i relocate, my mom did "dun" the "13 tai bao". But she said cannot eat too much, only 3-4 times thru out entire pregnancy. She kept telling me she will dun the tonic only during my confinement. Wat other tonic soups can we drink for baby now?

mom2nat
we are not teaching her bad! i think it's extremely impt to get enuf rest. pregnancy is not an easy thing (pple who hv never been thro it will never know of course) so if really need to rest, then must rest! and since bosses in spore are all so not understanding type, too bad have to 'geng' to rest lor.

kitsune
its just bad luck that your boss is not supportive of your pregnancy. however, u must take gd care of yourself and your health is #1 priority. work never finish never mind - your bb inside u is more impt. i mean, think of it this way, if u work until so tired n bb is weak, will your boss feel bad? i dont think so! at the end, it is u who will regret giving so much to the co at the expense of your own family. even u put in so much hard work, is your boss going to appreciate u more? i dont think so! he will just think its "ying gai" one :p

in australia, its very different. pple are more understanding and they realise that family is more impt. so if u r sick, they ask u go home straightaway - cos work can be done later!

mylife
the "13 tai bao" cannot drink too early in pregnancy rite? i think that's wat my MIL was saying. anyway now we all in 3rd tri oredi i think shd be ok lah.

at least u still got birds nest n chicken essence. the only thing i hv is coke and orange juice!

michelle
But I see some pple hor, can work till the last day, walk so fast, can go gym... but some puke 9 months, so lethargic... I think individual. For me, cos since before preg with #1, I already stopped working, so end up pampered with tat lifestyle liao. NOw need to juggle my work(though flexi) and #1, I already v tired. So for these few months, I declare to hb I not gg to work, gg to stay at home stone, or bring #1 out! Haha...

So now you in Aust, life prob v relaxing hor... In france, maternity leave is 4 months and it starts ard 36 weeks. And they v pro family, so women can always take longer leave. From 6 mths preg onwards, all checkups and delivery, hosp, all free. Every month govt oso give you $$ for your bb's expenses. Ard S$150 to S$200, right up until the child goes pri sch I think. so ah, wat sg offer really quite peanuts compared to many ctys. and dun expect employers to be kind and understanding lor.

bebe
i drink the coke in moderation lah. like mom2nat, i oso drink tea, coffee, etc.. but evrything little bit only :p i dunno why, when i was carrying #1, i super strict with myself - NO coffee, tea, coke, etc... AT ALL! now with #2 kinda slacken a bit. very bad hor. hope she will be ok though :p

mom2nat
yeah france and a lot of the european countries all very pro family one. even compare australia n spore, aus oso win! my job here is much less demanding than in spore - i get to go home on time at 5.30pm everyday. go for gynae checkups oso can claim partial fr the govt. go for GTT, blood test, etc.. all covered by govt. if u not working, or family income below a certain level, u can apply to govt for allowance. all vaccinations here are free for babies, up till 18 mths old, ie hep b, chickenpox, DPT, MMR, pneumococcal, etc... and for each bb u deliver, u get about AUD4k+.

so u see... spore falls far far back in terms of pro-family policies!

Re: Tonic
I also never take any bu ping till now...don't like birds nest and chicken essence, mum and mil also never make anything bu for me. Actually my chinese sinseh told me not necessary to take bu ping, it is more important to ensure that our daily diet consist of nutritous food. No point eat alot of junk food then take bu ping...will not be effective lor.

My mum doing confinement for me...she only ask me to drink DOM everyday becos I don't like chicken essence...hehe. The rest of the food will be liver, sesame oil chicken, pig's trotters, etc...nothing very herbal or bu also...

Like some of you here, I also seldom eat any "bu" stuffs. I've been taking bird nest only, about bi-monthly and mainly bec it's nice and I like it. Haha. Hopefully, baby will benefit from having better skin. What is tong cong cao for?

yen,
can start now huh? how many weeks are you? I'm 31 weeks, can starting drinking also? I heard that it helps to prevent jaundice in baby??

michelle, same here 1 gal then now boy. Have to sort out the clothes...arghhh..

Mom2nat, u post the list translated for us loh..heehee...

So anyone taking those concentrate birdnests? Which brand good?

Someone was saying got lobang for pigeon wipes. Who ya?

Dun mind gift exchange for bb during gathering but muz know early to go shopping..heehee..

Thanks, Michelle. But actually my boss not that bad lar. When I was first pregnant in June, gynae gave me 2 weeks MC to rest, my boss had to cancel her own leave because we are short handed. I guess until now I'm quite paiseh about it. The 2 colleagues who are already on MC, one had 2 weeks hospitalisation leave cos of surgery and the other went to A&E on Sun night, 2 days MC. Both more serious than me. So, I also didn't tell her I want to take pm off. Just try to dong lor. :p

Yvonne, I am 33+ week..I think once a week is ok ba. I am not drinking it everyday. My mum said cannot drink too much, too "cold". Take barley also helps to prevent jaundice. Are u feeling heaty now? If yes, you have to start drinking barley hor... If mummy too heaty, baby will have jaundice gor..

oh ok.. doesnt sound too bad lah. but i guess wat i'm really trying to say is, if u need to take off, even when everyone else is not around, u should lor. i know it sounds irresponsible, but we have to look out for our own health first rite?
anyway hope u feel better!

n u dun hv to feel paiseh about that 2 wk MC. this kind of thing bo bian one. with my 1st preg, i oso had 2 wk hospi leave in the 1st tri.

yen,
i feel heaty lor...then probably I will also start drinking once a week. I take sugar cane juice and barley also but not often lah. But the thought of coconut juice very appealing to me leh...hehe.

my aunt say can start drink coconut already wor ..... she say she had 3 times a week when she is abt 31 weeks

michelle of cos can ..... my mil oso bought me 6 big bottles .... heheeh she say Now is the rite time to BU wor

<font color="aa00aa">a....the dinner for gathering got buffet birds nest boh? hee...

babe, for the lobang on pigeon wipes, i think it's mrs piggy. think so.</font>

yen...really ah, take barley can prevent jaundice?

When exactly can we start drinkg coconut juice ah? me craving for it....everytime see my hubby and sis drink....

Me 32 weeks now...read somewhere from 32 weeks onwards, uphill journey. Feeling it oredi....breathless, giddy all coming back. Yday night cant sleep rite. Tossed and turned and felt so breathless even when i was lying down. Like someone blocked my oxygen pipe lah....

mylife, my mum and sis told me now can start taking cooling drink, like barley, coconut juice, longan...etc to prevent jaundice. If you afraid it is too "cold", then take once a week first...
Me also feeling breathless...baby always parking wrongly.

mom2nat,
ya, i've not been working since last wk of aug... so everyday jus try to find something to do... like reading, surfing net, go shopping, go for drinks, cook, watch cable tv, go visit my parents, etc... oh ya, slp until shiok shiok den wake up (i mean 12 - 1pm kind!) hahaha... sorry to those working moms - for saying all dis "supposedly luxurious lifestyle". sometimes, i pity all the mummies who got to work esp dos 9 to 5 kinda job... i dunno how u can push urself up for work when at times we hardly can slp well/properly...

bebe yan,
jaundice is a medical condition with yellowing of the skin or whites of the eye, arising from the pigment of the biliribin and typically caused by the obstruction of the bile duct, by liver disease, or by excessive breakdown of red blood cells. In babies, if i'm not mistaken, it's becos their liver is not fully developed or functioning, dat's why caused jaundice and it's esp common in Asian babies cos we lack of certain nutrients compared to the caucasians. if v bad cases, the babies need to go under UV light (special blue lighting) or under the sun to convert the red blood cells for certain days until the reading level for jaundice is stablised. I hope this helps...

Mylife,
I am also in my 32wk. Me also having difficulty breathing at times when bb starts turning. I am experiencing pain on my pelvis recently. It is causing me bad aches when I walk.....Anybody experiencing the same?