(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mom2nat: i saw a father & girl (little gal wearing blue)at e bb pool now...

can u email or pm mi ur ic no?

Lynn
Emailed liao. If you wan, I can drop my spring mat card into your letter box. U gg suntec ah? Wan Topshop or Kiddy Palace card? Heee... Help you spend $$

10 nursing bras? So many ah? I have not really bought that many yet. Waiting for my boobs size to stablise before getting.

Regarding baby clothings washing. Some mums told me must separate it out from adult clothings and 100% hand-wash. Some mums said just use the washing machine to wash, but need to seperate out from adult clothings that's all. I am not sure who is right and who is wrong too.

AhCapp
I will be washing my baby's clothes with my girl's, using baby detergent. Dun wash with adult clothes. Cos the clothes will turn greyish quite fast and oso our detergent is harsher. My girl used to have eczema, so I quite particular tat her clothes gotta be separated from ours, until now. Well, some pple handwash, but i dun bother, only do it for soiled pieces.

AhCapp,
I also went to Moo-Moo-Cow last friday. The Pumpkin Patch rompers for new born were so nice...i was so tempted to buy but i have alot of new born size clothes so had to resist lor...but i bought 2 packs of Old Navy Rompers for 6-12 mths.

Hi Mom2nat,

So it's ok to use washing machine, but must seperate from adult clothings. This is ok. I hate hand-washing. ;) Yes, for soiled pieces, will soak and wash them seperately. =) Thanks for the feedback!

Hi Yvonne,

Oh yes, the Pumpkin Patch rompers are so cute. ;)But only for new born, didn't dare to buy. Btw, do u happen to know if they have other outlets? I don't work in town, so I won't be able to drop by except for weekends. =(

mcfluffy
until now we still put our 2.5YO boy on the same place to wear diaper & after shower. The funny thing is, he never fell off from there before. But he fell off from bed before. hahaha.

re: washing bb clothes
before #1 was born, we washed all his clothes & bedlinen in washing machine separately fr adult clothing, using hot cycle & baby washing powder. Now, in preparation for #2, bo chap liao, everything cha-pa-lang in the washing machine, using SPIN washing powder. This time really lazier, or taking for granted? Coz my #1 had no skin probs except for first 1-2 months red patches on face.

re: nursing bras
during confinement, i didn't wear nursing bras coz didn't buy. I wore fitting cotton singlet and stuffed small hankies at boobies to soak leaks. After i could get out of house, i went to MomsInMind to buy 3 "aunty" types. Subsequent months bought 2 more with hard cups in preparation for 'back to work' after ML. Those saw me thru until my boy was 11m & my first bfg career ended.

being extremely busy at work and also me down with flu

btw, 2nd time mummies, are you all buying a new bath tub for your number 2?

VioletIce, if you do go to Toyogo, can you help me find out how much is the "Italian Closet 1 Model 608-1"?
I saw at their website but don't know why cannot copy the photo. :p

Ya, wendyG. It's a good way, where did you buy your chest of drawers from? My only concern is that next time my kid will be able to pull the drawers within her reach. :p

kitsune
yay...got approval from hubby to buy the bigger one with ABC at the back liao...think me also like u, buying from alien cos cheaper ma...not cheapskate la...it's called "cost effective" hahahaha..the 15mm one is too big for my HK apartment liao...so i will also go for Sweet Beat 11m one. Would very much want the Hello Kitty one, but tot can kill 2 birds with one stone since the Sweet Bear got ABC at the back...

AhCapp
Yday walked too much liao...so today stay at home to nua...initially wanted to go Causeway Bay and shop again, but then, quite tired, so better stay home.
Hope your mom have a great time here and buy lots of cute baby clothes for u!

Yday i had nightmares. Tossed and turned and kept waking up on and off thru the entire night, didnt have a good sleep at all. Perhaps got something to do with the fact dat i went to watch Beowulf. Didnt know got such scary monster so i had to close my eyes...then got a lot of big bangs sound effects, and can feel baby like tightened up...maybe she doesnt like the noise. :p

Haha, mylife, ya just went to see the BP thread and saw your post. Think you'll like Sweet Bear though it's not very big, but the ABC design really quite cute.
When my cousin came to my house, she saw the ABC back design, she asked me why I didn't take photo of the ABC side too, only take photo of 1 side. Pang san. ;P

hi all, i have the bumper mat and is still using till now.

I have the winnie the pooh one.....you can buy the play yard (fencing) later on....then you can let your child still inside there. They will hold on to the fence and learn how to walk etc.

Last time when my boy dun wan sleep in middle of night, i placed him there and i also slept inside...haha

AhCapp
Some pple handwash their kids clothes until the kids quite old leh. It is individual preference. I din do it, cos I can't touch water often, cos nails weak. Can't be asking hb to do so everyday. Anyway I bought more rompers for my girl, so can last thru more days. Maybe you see how's the load, if really little, maybe wash with baby's bath towels. But I won't like to wash with adult clothes, cos baby's skin more sensitive, for our adult clothes, I wash my undies, bra, my hb's gym clothes tog. I think not v hygenic for the bb. My own opinion lah.

Luvv
I oso change my girl on the bed. Frankly, it is quite tiring on the back. At first you sit, you tot our bump comfy ok, but later you will realise as you need to change 5 to 6 times a day, v siong on the back. Until now I still do tat, and find it straining on the back. I will prob buy the IKEA changing table, $40. Nothing fanciful, but at least waist height, easier for us.

Hi, eRnMum. Hope you are feeling better. You didn't take the free flu jab for staff?
Is your bumper mat the big one? You can sleep inside with BB somemore. How thick was your mat? Mine's 11mm, sitting on it is fine but find that it's not cushy enough for me to sleep leh. Maybe it's cos I have backache nowadays. :p Is play yard expensive? I think I saw it before at Toy R Us.

Mom2nat, good idea, the ikea changing table quite cheap, can put the diapers & stuff on the shelf too. Was thinking of getting the cheap $78 ikea cot for ILs place but it was out of stock. But maybe the stock will be in before Feb. Hee. :p

AhCapp,
I work in raffles place but last friday was the first time i went to Moo-moo-cow. I didn't even know about this shop until my colleague brought me there. Also no idea whether they have other branches or not...

goodbabyb,
the old navy rompers costs $18 for a pack of 3, they have various sizes. The pumpkin patch rompers are $5, but not sure for 1 or 2 pcs...but the designs are very cute and nice...too bad only come in new born size.

violetice & lyn,
Yes, I think anmum is causing high sugar level, I stopped drinking during breakfast and my reading dropped to 6.1 :D Quite an improvement. My lunch reading was better but still on the high side, perhaps due to the white rice and samba chili and my dinner reading was just 5.1. Phew.

ahcapp & Fern,
I just signed up for Stemcord yesterday after going for the talk. :p Both stemcord and lifecord are private cord bank.. like different company so see which u prefer.

The fee was ard $1070 (after $150 disct and plus GST) for setup and 250 for subsequence years. It is better to attend the talk to know more about it.

Icy, did they give you the kit?
Cordlife already given my kit to me, must remember to bring the stemcord kit to KK cos no spare kits there. Must pack in my hospital bag but haven't buy hospital bag yet. Got to bring so much stuff, don't know what type of bag is good. :p

kitsune_sg,
Yes, they did gave me the kit, but they told me Mt E have spare kit there. :p I also have pack my hospital bag, i thought perhaps like those tour bag even by tour agency is enough to pack.. havent really try to pack in yet. :p

icy
u signed up with Stemcord? Me gonna sign up with Cordlife when i'm back in town.

Anyone knows where to buy/find nice and cute changing mats to be placed on the changing table? Also, where to find portable changing mats to be carried around when bringing baby out? Thanks!!

Re: Toyogo

McFluffy,
I went Toyogo this afternoon and turns out it's slightly cheaper than NTUC. I saw the exact one selling at NTUC was $55.90, Toyogo selling at $48. So cheaper lor plus the variety there is also quite a bit compared to NTUC at AMK Hub.

Kitsune,
I can't find the closet you're referring to, maybe you can call and check with them. Think they'll tell you the price.

Icy,
Good to hear your reading has improved! I think stick to unpolished brown rice instead of white rice lor. Or take noodles instead of rice?

ahcapp,

I'm not signing up for the cordblood storage thingy. we tink no point lah cos we are having our 1st bb. heard dat the stemcord is only useful for siblings. moreover, it's too expensive liao..

i'm using Ikea's chest of drawers (4 drawers) to store bb's stuff. it comes in white/pink/beech colour, abt S$250+. I tink it looks nice and pretty systematic. You can also buy boxes to put inside the drawers to organise ur bb stuff. They also have 3drawers type. den u can use the top to change bb diapers.

Mom2nat
U r staying in Pasir Ris rite? I saw ur post in another page for those moms staying in the east or Pasir Ris. Me sama sama, "Paris" too... heehee.

Hey kitsune,
wat's the bumper mats thing? any pix to share.

Any moms staying ard east side and found good and reasonable PDs? I'm trying to find one leh. Heard of Dr Sim whose clinic at Elias Mall? How is he and his charges like?

For hospital bag, I'm using my large size Le Champs to put everything in. Haven't pack yet... tot of packing only after x'mas cos my EDD is 27 Jan...

finally managed to submit a post. not been able to submit anything for the past few days, can only read, cannot post.

i think i ks le, my edd 28 jan, but I already put all my stuff into the bag including bb stuff, but then her stuff not wash. haha. i will just put all the things i need to bring, consolidate into the bag and then in dec then take out to wash. need to find things to do, then time will pass. cant wait for jan to come.

hi angelsky
are u like not working now? dat's why need to find stuff to do? I'm not working now, so every day basically jus slp until shiok shiok den wake up (b4 i have sleepless nites after bb pops), nua at home or go out shopping, etc... basically thr are still a few things i haven't buy for bb like sterilizer, medical kit, etc.. waiting for sale from Robinsons or Isetan den i'll buy cos i got vouchers fm these 2 dept stores.

oh mummies,
i jus read on the small small world site abt the bumper mats. wat's ur views on this pdt? is it better den wat mini toons is selling? tot of buying one too... pls gif me some views... thks...

<font color="0000ff">re changing tables
i bot one for #1 and i think it was extremely useful! it really saved our backs cos u wont need to keep bending down to change the diapers (which is like dunno how many time a day). we got the one that opens up the top and has a baby bath tub below one, so can be used for bath time too. extremly convenient. i didnt bring that over with me when i move to australia, so i actually went n bot another one cos i find it really useful!</font>

<font color="ff6000">bumper mat
wat's the difference between bumper mat and activity gyms? both oso got big piece of padding placed on the floor rite?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">cutting hair
anyone here got long hair and thinking of cutting it real short, as in like boy style? i've been thinking about doing this for a long time, but wonder if i'll regret it :p</font>

Morning ladies........

Michelle,
I cut my hair short few months ago. I think about 10 inches were cut, from lower back up to one inch above my shoulder. I like it and it is so much easier to care. But....sometime i do hate how it looked. I look more like "aunty"
..haha. Anyway, it is just hair... it will grow back.

Re: maternity pads
Can I check which brand would u gals recommend? how many packets should we buy?

Re: disposable panties
Which is the more comfortable brand?

Godsent
Aiyo, I long long no go tat thread leh, I dun even know where to find it liao!!! Yes, I live in Pasir ris, which part you live?

I have a bumper mat. I used to have those ABC mats, then my girl bits and chews them, it is not safe leh. The bumper mat is cooling, easy to clean and looks v nice. Those from mini toons, the material oso not so good, Sterofoam kind lor. So depends on your budget. But the prob i have is the base gets damp against my wooden flooring leh. YOu can find more photos at that small small world website.

1078506.jpg

My girl goes to PD at rivervale mall, sengkang.

Hi, I've posted in here earlier and I'm coordinating the Bulk Purchase for Maternity Portraits by Foto-U.

<font color="0000ff">BP for Maternity Portraits is still available now, and closing on 30-Nov-2007!</font> There will not be any BP Maternity Portraits for at least 2 months, so take advantage of the BP price now.

Details, please refer to Foto-U thread: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/556344.html?1195437773

mom2nat,

i have the same bumper mat as you...heehee

is that your living room or your daughter's room. My house super messy cos tonnes of toys...especially cars and trains

er... can some1 tell me hw does braxton hicks feel like???
last few day i keep feeling my tummy harden on 1 side, i tot maybe is bb move, but could it be braxton hick

Hi godsent, yup me not working so sometimes can get quite restless at times also. My mum will nag at me to not run around so much, else sometimes I wanna go out, she will tag along
. If I go out too late, she will also call to check on me. kekeke. Something that has not been happening to me for a long time. Sometimes as the date draws nearer, I also start to miss my hubby a bit more, but well cannot complain la, since work is also important ma, since he is the one paying for the bills. At this time, also quite bad timing, my friends are either hotly in love and no time to entertain me, or they are busy building their careers and do not really understand when I am talking about my pregnancy, else they are nursing their newborns and have no time, or they just lost their foetus so its not a good time to talk about babies. sigh~~~~~~

steph, sorrie for the late reply I could not post for the past few days, about the infection, coz i think my skin too dry, i tend to scratch, so belly button also dry like my skin, got flaky flaky bits of skin, so i also scratch lo. kekeke. now a bit red. so doc say maybe got infection so give me cream to apply.

QQ, so 4d scan is clearer, is it like video? you did before? I wonder if I will get pictures or soft copy of the images, then my hubby can also see, since he will miss out

Breatheless - I also get once in a while, it feels like a panic attack. Then i will feel even more chuan when i think of baby pressing against me. I ask my doc before he ask me to relax le.

Baby movements - I know it sounds contradicting, if the baby does not move, I wonder if she is okay, is she breathing right, getting enough nutrients, growing well. But when she moves, I feel weird. I dont really like the sensation of her moving, especially when she is getting bigger. Instead of getting kicking movements from her, the way she moves like she is turning in my stomach. Which sometimes makes me feel a little uncomfortable.

About weight gain from babies, till now I have never been told whether my baby is underweight or overweight. I just assume that as long as the doc never ask me to do extra things or caution me, we just have to be happy and take things as they come. I used to make myself sleep on my left, but now with the stomach getting bigger and sleep sometimes difficult, as long as I can get to sleep, left or right side does not matter.

kitsune
my chest of drawers was hand-me-down from my ILs when they were shifting house. Dunno where they bought from, but the drawers quite heavy, my boy has no strength to pull out.

Hi <font color="0000ff">AhCapp,</font>

The Gap look alike, is it hooded blanket?
Is the material fleece or cotton..
Looking for cotton type...

Cos Baby closet one ard $12.90 as now bulk purchase..

Angelsky,
I am like you.. also not working currenltly and I do also feel bored and restless too... when working.. its so diffrent.. you be so overhelemed bt work until you just feel like coming home early to rest.. I only be gtg back workforce next yr after del. you? Ya.. most of my peers are eitehr dating or newly married.. none of them have their own kids yet.. I think I ma one of the earliest one amongst them? Those who have kids are much older then me lor.. Ya... and heard one of my fren also had a misccarriage so not right time to ask her anything abt it lor. I also feel sad when I heard abt it. Perhaps cos we are preggie ourselves

Re bb movement
I also feel contradicted.. when bb dun moves or is quiet sometimes.. I start to worry if all is ok and if he is well a not. And when he is super active.. I kinda of complain a bit abtt the discomforts esp sudden hard kicks. I prefer the feeling of mild movments... like somebody massaging you from inside hahahaha... Sometimes I feeel bad complaning.. But guess we are humans and are like that.

Re flu.
I have been down with blocked nose and cough very often thsese days... preggies simply take longer to recover men! HOpe I will get well soon.. REally dread taking medicine during pregancny.

You can msn be when you are bored... hahahaha

fern,

yup I feel bad complaining especially when some mothers still have to work. i have been really just spending my time doing nothing since I was about 5 weeks. So since tahan for so long already whats another 8 weeks more right. You can add me [email protected]

I was reading in the dec thread, some mtb already popped!!! Wow.

pls give me advice on which is better.. Play mat or bouncer? If bouncer, rock or cannot rock better? i prefer bouncer that can be rock. Any advice?

1078832.jpg
1078833.jpg
1078834.jpg
1078835.jpg
1078836.jpg
1078837.jpg

Bebe,
I prefer bouncer too. ANyhow I already bought the fisher price bb bouncer.. also have disney play gym.. can just putt a mattress underneath lor.. not necessary to have a play mat rite? what kind to get? NOt too ex I hope?

RE bb cloth books/plastic books?
I intend to get for my bb one of these books.. any avise what brands are good and non toxic? SInce bb puts everything in their mouths? IS plastic book adviasble- meant for playing and reading while bathing them? But plastic has a strong smell.. is that not advisable? advises pls?

the play mat/gym cost $79.90, the bouncer that can rock cost $99. So the one can rock better or the one cannot rock? THe yellow one cannot rock cos $79. The one can rock better right? COs if dun wan to rock can pull out the thing to stop it from rocking.

Angel sky..
we can catch up on msn.. FYI.. I have already added you in....Ya.. some pple popped a month earlier then due date.. so perhaps we can also expect a christmas baby or a Jan 2008 bb.. that will be sweet and nice! hahaha:p and our confinment period wun hit the new year period too! can save $$$$$. hahaahaha:p

Babe,
I got mine the rocking kind as I preferred that among all... Also... for the play mat.. that so ex! Can use a mattress as an alternative rite to be placed under the play gym hor? If not I'll just wait for end year sales and see how if I wana get the play mat.. wondering if thats really necceary. cos my disney play gym doesnt come with the mat lor.

Hi Dear mummies

sorry to interupt i am from Sept 07 thread.. Just to say I have got a brand new tube of avent nipple cream and half a pack of avent disposable breast pad.. willing to let go at 12 inc postage .. Thanks to pm me if u are interested.. mean while enjoy your pregnancy!

Babies are really a wonder and they really bring joy to our life!
U all would get to enjoy and see ur babies soon.. take care!