(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi gals, saw some nice buttons Karmy PJ at the Plaza Sing John Little 2 weeks ago selling for 9.90 oni. Material very comfy, not sure if still on sale there.

hi all!
sorry to burst into your thread..

i;m from the aug 07 thread.

my confinement lady, zhen jie, is currently looking for assignments around this time so i'd like to help her with it.

she's a nice lady and very dedicated. Took great care of me and my boy during confinement. she's very responsible and experienced and super pro-breast-feeding. she washed and sterilised my pump 8-12 times a day and encouraged me when i felt my supply wasnt good enough. even in the wee hrs of the morning when i woke up to pump, everything was already washed, sterilsed and placed neatly in a box for me to use.

My friend who also had the same CL during her confinement wants me to mention that she even took pains to feed her premature daughter every drop of precious colostrum using a spoon for an hour at a time!

and a plus is her yummy cooking! we enjoyed every bit of our confinement!

if you're looking for a CL we would like to highly recommend her. can PM me your number n i'll pass your contact to her. her usual rate is 2K but CNY period will be 3K.

Perinum Masssage: Hmm didnt do it last round. Not intendin to this round. Cos most likely gnae will make an incision too to avoid tear. For those doing the massage, will u be advising gyane not to "cut"?

Water Bag: When i delivered my 1st child, I was admitted when 4cm dilated. But water bag didnt burst yet. Gynae burst it in the labour ward & induced to make me dilate faster.

Shaving: TMC shaves. But guess this round will let them shave again cos no courage to go for waxing.

Hi all, may i check is it necessary to attend the prenatal classes? i'm delivering in TMC. haven't sign up any class. is it too late now?

Morning ladies

am on MC today. been feeling giddy for the past few days and yesterday almost fainted on the road. seems like my morning sickness is coming back too, vomiting n no mood to eat..

I still have 11 more weeks to go...

Godsent,

I ddint attend any prenatal class. My friends told me its not necessary, but I guess it depends on individual.
But will be going for the Avent Joyful Parenting event this sat. Anyone else going for the Joyful Parenting event?

mylife
i dun really like to use milk bags to store ebm coz transfer here & there scared to spill.
where to buy milk bags: kiddy palace or any other mummy/baby store.
where to buy bottles to store ebm: u can get glass bottles FOC from hospital nursery, or buy fr stores. it's actually milk bottles, just pop on a teat and can feed bb fr there.

chaye
i thaw frozen ebm by placing in normal fridge compartment overnight. To warm up the cold ebm, i use an electric warmer. U can also use the old fashioned method of soaking the bottle in hot water, but since i hv the warmer may as well use it.

goodbabyb
how to seal bottles for freezing? erm, i screw on the cap. or maybe i dun understand your qstn.

fern
it's precisely to prepare for normal birth that our pubic (not public) hair will be shaved. We're considering to go waxing beforehand to escape the miserable shaving ritual.
Waters burst initial gush i think only a pail can contain the amt of amnio fluid. But thereafter still got trickles, so can wear pad to tahan.
Signs of labour are not always painful. I thought u read Supernatural Childbirth. Contractions are only muscles clenching, the pain is brought about by fear.

kitsune
i kena shaved double: morning shaved pubic hair to prepare for normal birth. Nighttime shaved tummy (altho not much hair there) after decided to c-sect. *sianz*

godsent
some people think necessary, some not. For me, to prepare for every new event, i gather as much knowledge as possible, that includes attending classes, reading up, research, interviews etc.
Call up TMC Parentcraft and ask for available slots lor.. dun wait too long coz some deliver earlier than EDD & miss the final few lessons.

hi, i came back from my gynae visit yesterday.

Had some good news....at least to me.

I actually had some light spotting on sunday...a bit worried but at least much calmer as compared to the first time. So i didnt go hospital but choose to monitor instead...

yesterday gynae say my placenta seems to have moved up slightly higher liao...as long as 3cm away from cervix can go for natural birth liao.
think mine now is abt 5cm away

baby at 1.4kg at 29 weeks 4 days. I am satisfied but gynae say its slightly below the 50% percentile.

Yesterday also can see his heart very well...can see the chambers very clearly....so i am happy happy

eRnMun good news to u .... and of cos to us oso .... here all mummies wish all mummies n their baby healthy

hi morning all (",)

babe,
more pics & closeup of the "Teeny Weeny" PJs "free size"
1059608.jpg

1059609.jpg

These PJs can be found at CK dept store. If u really keen, i can buy for u...but i not sure whether which design u want & avail. u PM me yr mobile# & if i passby the shop, i will let u know.

goodbabyb
i dun really know.. if u want airtight/ watertight/ tight tight, i guess u can use Tupperware. I'm sure <font color="ff0000">mei</font> would be most glad to help u obtain what u need.

hi kitsune,

Nice meeting u & yr hubby yesterday! My hubby say U both looked very young parents to be

We had our dinner at West Coast for Korean BBQ. Raffles City parking charges was too ex & we wanna get out of that area b4 rush/peak hour!

Yup, my hubby couldn't wait...we put up the wall tiles with blue tag...
1059645.jpg

hello... been a long time since i came in here. glad to see everyone's doing well

my advice on what milkbags to buy is the lansinoh ones. they are good, strong quality and are cheaper than gerber bags! there's usually a BP goin on in the overseas spree section so just go there and take a look.

with my 1st boy, i used milk bottles from the hospitals to store the ebm in the fridge. but for freezin i find the milkbags better cos i tried freezing in glass bottle before n it cracked!

about ML - we've been doing it up until last fews wks cos scared will induce labour leh. is it really safe to continue all the way till 9 mths? i dont want my girl to come out early!

brazilian waxing sounds really painful. dont think i can go thro that :p u mean when TMC shave for u, they do it all the way to the skin? i delivered at gleneagles last yr and they shaved me too, but not all the way to the skin, so no ingrown hair or whatever. mebbe different hospi do it differently...

i dunno what is the procedure here in australia. guess i will only find out on the actual day... hmm..

QQ,
Nowadays most of the PJs are free size, quite big cutting esp for the short sleeves dresses. Try Karmy brand that Mom2nat & kitsune recommend

eRnMum,
Good for u that placenta have moved up! Now, u can go for natural delivery

michelle
yes they used disposable razor and shaved me to the skin *sob*
and yes it's safe to continue all the way until delivery.

steph
I think the PJs shd at least have sleeves or long sleeves leh cos Jan period will be raining seasons and can be quite cold ? We shd not catch cold during confinement leh.

get a mixture of long/ short/ sleeveless so that can wear according to weather, or daytime/ nighttime?
unless u're the guai guai type that no matter what, MUST wear long sleeves & socks covered fr head to toe.
I perspire quite easily, will be wearing as little as possible
Sometimes i wish i were alone in the house so that i dun hv to wear anything.

Chaye,
sleeveless tops & 3/4pants PJs for day time wear bah. Only during night time need to wear long sleeve (add a cardigan to short sleeves PJs) & long pants (cotton type) to prevent wind. If u ask me to wear long sleeve top & pants at home all day without proper bathing plus no fan/air-con, i cannot tahan le!

cheryl,
the PJs i bought can fit up to D cup bah. Dresses PJ got more bust space! Do measurement of the bust for the PJs before buying!

babe...sent u a PM liao.

Mom2nat...my upper half body is slim but i got a super big butt and upper thigh...pear-shaped la. Dats why my hubby saying hopefully my big butt will finally be put to "good usage" this time ie smooth delivery cos i've always been complaining about my big butt since day one. Hahahaha.

eRNMum...congrats on your good news. Can talk to your placenta also and hope it'll go up further so u can have normal delivery.

Wendy/michelle
Hmmm...then how? shud i go for bags or bottles? My fren also recommend me to get bottles from hospital...but since u said it'll cracked when frozen...then how? I cant really participate in the BP section cos am not in Spore now...are the lansinoh bags not available locally in Sg off the shelves?

Steph...i love the wall tiles u have....where do i buy it? So cute!

Just came back from the GTT. Forget to ask the nurse when the result will be out, anyway have any idea?

Fortunately, the Glucose drink is orange Flavoured and a bit gasy like fanta orange. but still feel a bit Neusea cos drink on empty stomach. Pray hard the result is ok. :D

mylife,
for the PJ, is there any which comes with pants?

hi icy
Have....this Ladies Market got dresses (long and short sleeves) and pants (long and short sleeves as well). U looking for long pants or knee-level pants?

Thanks wendy!

mylife
unfortunately lansinoh milkbags not available in spore retail shops , that's y i keep having to get it thro the BP too. if u decide to go with milkbags, try to get those that come with a zipper at the top as it's easier to seal. the avent ones are cheap but dont have zipper, so u still gotta look for something to seal them up with. i know some pple use rubberbands, but personally i dont like the idea. also, i find the avent quality not as good too. or you can try what wendyg said - dont seal too tightly till its frozen then probably it wont crack. but i lazy lah - like that means u have to keep monitoring the freezing process!

michelle
avent liners are actually not like milk bags, they're not meant for freezing like lasinoh/ pigeon/ gerber milk bags, hence diffrnce in price. Avent liners more flimsy. I used some 2 yrs back, i sealed with masking tape. hahaha. Or also can use plastic sealing clips fr ikea. they work just as well as the clips that avent provides.

oh - another advantage of using milkbags is that you can save a lot of storage space cos it flattens out, not like bottles which are rigid and occupy more space. this is what i had at one stage. and dont forget this is the entire freezer (cos i dont cook at home so can use the entire space to store milk haha)

1059948.jpg

wendyg
oh.. ok.. no wonder the avent quality was so different from the gerber ones! hee.. didnt know. and i thought it was cos it was cheap so they stinge on the qlty haha :p yeah i know the ikea clips too cos i tried them too! hee hee

masking tape?!? *faint* ;)

michelle
haha smthg in common.. freezer stocked full of ebm. mine was full of Via cups- stackable also. But now most of my freezer space is occupied with (raw) food for my #1's meals. Guess i can't freeze so much, gotto keep giving him fresh milk. Hope 2nd time round BM supply is better.

no lah.. this was when i delivered my boy last year in sep. i had so much cos i was expressing it 100%! boy refused to latch on directly lor.. so i just keep pumping n pumping to make sure got enough for him. in the end, got too much then throw/donate :p when u express 100% its very difficult to balance the supply n demand

this time around, i want to latch my girl on! dont want to go thro all the pain of having to express 100% again.. so scared of the pump!

bebe: Yes

michelle
i did a search in Sg Yahoo for "lansinoh milk bags" & saw some on Yahoo Auction. Now that i've noticed this brand, it's much cheaper than Pigeon/ Gerber ones, which cost S$1 per piece. Lansinoh ones only abt S$0.60.
I din discard any of my excess ebm. Donated when ran out of space. Thank God for the mummies who didn't mind.. o'wise really wasted.

michelle
not bad leh. can have so much milk supply even by just expressing ! I din let my #1 latch on but express also. But I find the milk supply getting lesser and lesser by expressing. Anyway I do not have a lot supply to start with

Any special food that u took during confinement to increase the supply ?

hey michelle, u're gonna deliver in australia? Wow... any help when baby's home, your folks flying over or anything?

wendyg
yah - its cheaper. b4 i discovered lansinoh, i was stupidly buying the gerber bags! then once i tried lansinoh i never look back liao. some more lansinoh got double zip and qlty is even better. didnt know they have it on yahoo auctions. that's gd then maybe mylife can get it fr there?

wonderful that u donated too! i threw away some cos i didnt realise other pple would want our BM.. then i came across a thread that was asking for BM donation and that's when i started donating too

chaye
i was on fenugreek at the beginning. i felt it really help to boost the supply. after a while, when your ss is established, then dont need to take the supplement oredi. but i heard fenugreek works differently for different pple - some experience increase in ss but some say no diff. u also express 100%? not easy rite, but i think we both did a great job! hee.. a pat on the back for u! ;)

wendyg
yup - delivering down under.. luckily i have my inlaws here with me so they will be the only help i have. here no confinement lady one leh. dont even have those malay lady to do the post-natal massage for me. so sad