(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Lynn
Oh no, positive. Then you need to prick prick everyday? Poor thing leh. SIgh... dun ta bao food so often liao. Must eat healthily I think, or else baby will be v big. Do they have a range, like you are in mild range or something?

Wendyg
You so early count down to 6pm... heee... but hor, it is more count down to the weekends, Yippee!!!

mom2nat
my weekend starts at 6pm.

split / wendyg
Heee... sian hor, counting down. Today's weather v hot, v tempted for a dip. But I just recovering from running nose and cough.

hihi afternoon ladies

Pads & panties
I use my normal whisper for heavy flow in the beginning then slowly change to regular flow. Like Wendyg my flow not so much perhaps we c-section ba.
As for panties I use disaposable ones ! Dun forget you will need to massage during confinement leh. The oil will stain your panties if u r not wearing disaposable ones.

hihi!

Mom2nat: dont kw gotta prick fingers anot becos my appt wif e dietician is next fri.. see how?!!
if gotta prick fingers, is it everyday till i giv birth ar? 3 more mths... quite a long way to go...

Just saw the diabetes doc. He said my range is actually within normal range but bec World Health Organisation has changed their standards for pregnant women so I'm considered diabetes in pregnancy, if not my range is for normal person.
Today got pricked to see sugar level, it's also within normal range. Took urine test, if over 30 range it means proteins is too high and not good, I'm only at 8 so considered very good.
However, bec of the OGTT being positive, I have to poke myself with the machine and needle 6 times a day. SIGH! Spent over $300+++ today and I chose the cheapest range. Wanted to rent the machine but they said don't have. Hai~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

hi icy!! ur dear friend here.. keke.. just kpo and saw ur post so tot i can help answer!

disposable underwear, buy 1 pack enough liao le.. best buy those cotton ones which are washable so can wear for e whole confinement period without using ur normal underwear lo! if stain too jialat can throw so not heartpain..=)

as for maternity pads, buy e "madame" by pureen ones from kiddy palace.. better than those kotex string ones.. those string ones are super uncomfortable lor! but icy, u dun buy okie?.. i pass to u.. cos use for e 1st week or so then can use normal pads liao le.. dun need so much..

Re-maternity pads and cotton disposable undies
Can I chk if normal pads are okie? What is the diff btw this and maternity pads? So think best if can the Pureen ones as recommedned? Does it has wings and also the adhesive sticker.. So that would not kena stain so esaier? Maybe will check out this brand some tday lor. Ya, I agree.. cotton undies (disposable kind) better at least can wash and also throw away.. Perhaps one pack of cotton undies and can also use our normal undies rite. Anyway, if got confinent lady, she can help wash rite? I feel a bit paiseh though..but its their job rite? Anyway.. maid can also help right?
Btw, how do you gals deal with this issue? Cos by using disposable ones will not be comfotable and also ex rite?

Re: Kodomo products.
Are Kodomodo products gd? Cos me tot of using all thse brands: Bottle feeding wash, baby bath, baby powder, laudry detergent. Btw, for laudry detergent, that detergent can be used to wash cloth nappies too rite besides bb clothes rite? No need get one specifically for washing the diapers rite?

Re: Baby powder and nappies rash cream
Can normal Kodomo bb powder be used on their butt after cleaning them up? Or must get one specifically for their butt?
Also, what rash cream is gd and effective for baby sensitive skin? I do not see any from the Kodomo brand?

Re- cot waterproof sheet.
Heard from my mil this is meant for bb to sleep on to prevent urine leakage on their bedding. Can this also be double used as a baby changing mat as well OR?

Re tooth and gum wipes.
Heard from my mil we need get some thing to apply on bb gum for hygine purpose? Me already got the bb toothbrush... What must we get to clean bb gums.. When should we start.. Newborn or 3 months onwards or?

HOpe to hear your views soon

Fern

I am the same doubts and concerns as Fern! Guess coz we are first time mummies and we are ignorant about many things yet kiasu at the same time.

Re: Kodomo products
I think should be fine? Since kodomo is a rather well established brand? I have not bought any baby bath or powder but I bought 1 box of baby detergent- Pigeon brand coz that time was on offer.

As for the other items, we will have to wait for others to share their recommendations. but what I heard from my friends are, actually most brands are ok, it is just up to individual preference

Havent heard much views yet.. hope to have more coming up....

Like what Jennifer says, being first time mummy we are indeed kiasu.. I know it depends on individual but personally I like Kodomo frangrance as really nice! But again, I wana hear views from other mummy too!

Esp for the tooth and gum wipes, I got the mini bb toothbrush... But can i know what do I use to clen bb gums with? any specail thing for that? When can start using.. definatley not the first few months right? Heared my mil says must clean so that more hygenic for them.. Saw this bb toothpaste at Kiddy palace... but say only use 3month and above. But again, wun bb hurts since he has no teeth yet? Also saw these spiffles wipes, are those what we need to get huh? Not cheap too. really hope to get and use the right thing for our darling bb. Or can just use that mini toothbrush inserted in our finger and with water.. slowly clean the gums for them after their meals? Hope I dun sound silly.... as you know lah.. first time... i am really concerned yet kiasu.

Re Pampers.
What brands are good? I am contemplating using Mummy Poko, the one with poo poo pockets for new born for gtg out or perhaps some at night since more absorbant... as I am using cloth nappies in the daytime. Is this brand better or pampers are better.. Heard many pple advising me to go with Mummy popo.. please advise.. Also, are Drypers really lousy.. Many of my friends say not gd hence so cheap comapred to other brands..

Please also advise me what nappies rash cream is good for bb tender skin and also what powder are recommened to apply on their butt.. are the normal Kodomo one good enough or is there something special for our bb butt? I saw one blue and pink tin one called bb powder by Pigeon brand... are those for their butt? Or use normal bb powder can liao?

Kindly advise me soon

Last posting. paiseh paiseh... need compile all my tots after going shopping for bb stiff yesterday.haha

Re strelizing tablets.
Do we need get this since we already have a Pigeon sterlizer? I dun think so rite since its for the same usage? What are these tablets actually for? meant to bring it during travel or something?

Re Baby wipes
ME bought Pigeon and Tollijoy bb wipes.. Is it ok to mix diffrent brand of wipes? Just some concerns here as those wipes are for cleaning bb butt for their poo poo and pee pee.. HOpe getting various brand are fine and would not cause our darlings rash or something..

Advises please?

Fern

nappy cream ... destin is good dunno spell correctly anot
me oso getting tollyjoy wipes heard from my cousin is good leh ...... i might wanna use kodomo detergents too

QQ,
Noted.. I just loved the smell of Kodomo detergent as well as the bath! Smell so nice and bbay kind.. Haha....

Re tollyjoy wipes, me just got 3 packets, and a pack of 4 of Pigeon wipes.. How many do we need get huh? think if got end year sale better get first as more worth it lor.

<font color="0000ff">teeth</font>
use damp towel and stick a finger in to wipe newborn's gums. U may also consider sterile gauze from pharmacies.

<font color="0000ff">pads</font>
as far as i know, maternity pads dun come with wings. u can use your regular Whisper, Kotex or Laurier... whichever absorbs the lochia.

<font color="0000ff">wipes</font>
dun buy too many wipes first. see how sensitive your bb's butt is. Tollyjoy, Johnson & Johnson etc brands always hv sale in supermarkets eg NTUC, Cold Storage.

<font color="0000ff">sterilising tabs</font>
i use sterilising tablets for my pumps when i'm back at work. but some mums just wash with hot water. Also good for travelling, coz no need to lug your steriliser, no need to worry abt power supply etc

<font color="0000ff">body powder</font>
1 powder can use everywhere for bb, no need to get separate one for butt/ body. but recommended dun apply powder on newborn coz of the airborn particles.

WendyG.
Re teeth
I have this newborn tooth brush for us to stick into fingers to clean bb gums. But what do we clean with? Just water? or is there aparticular toothpaste or somethimg? any brands that I need check up?

Re pads,
Maybe i will just get one maternity pack first. After that can switch to our normal ones can cos without wings me scared leakage more.. If no wings its ok but at least prefer one with adhesive. What brands are gd?

just to check,my left leg is a bit swollen at the ankle,is this considered as swollen feet?how to cure it?what may have caused it?

Hi Mom2nat,

I think u look very good in your pic. Not balloon, just fresh and glowy =)

Hi Steph77,

sorry for my late reply. Yesterday's class with Mrs Wong was very informative. I am now more "tuned" about what's going to happen during child-birth. After her slides and breathing exercise, I am not so scared after all. =) I thought the tour to the delivery wards is very informative too. Mrs Wong is indeed good!

Btw, I feel bad that u all have to wait for so long for the class. The problem is our class didn't start on-time because the previous class also over-run. N we had more questions yesterday so guess u and your classmates have to wait till nearly 7pm =( *paiseh*

Hi Fern,

Didn't see u in class yesterday =(

Re: teeth
As wendyg has mentioned, I am going to get sterile gauze from pharmacies, part of the shopping list my CL gave me. So guess they are for my little darling's teeth. =)

fern
for gums, just use water can already. I only started my boy on toothpaste when he turned 2YO.
But some mums start with toothpaste the moment they spot the first tooth sprouting, which can be anything from 4m to 9m.

healthy bbb
re: swollen ankle
does it hurt? If yes u may hv sprained it?
If u're concerned abt swollen feet as a result of water retention, my previous experience was that both my feet swelled at the same pace, and it's the feet, not ankle. Cause = too much sodium in diet, so reduce sodium & drink more water.

mom2nat
dun remind me... my boys' age gap will only be 30m... i dunno if i'm looking fwd or dreading for #2 2b born...

hi wendy,

thanks so much!it is not not painful,but itchy,the right ankle is not as swollen as the left feet,any idea how to cure the swolleness?drink more water will help??i applied lotion but in vain

Mom2nat, ur gal is really big for 3. Heehee...healthy growing kid! Hmmm..wonder if I can cope when no.2 comes. Their age gap only 21 mths..and my no.1 is getting so sticky..

Hi Ah Capp,
My husband was in camp for reservice yesterday hence couldnt go... so postponed to go today instead...luckily can.. haha:p
Ya, the third lesson was good.. saw the delivery ward too

RE tooth brush
ME got the bb tooth milk brush with bristles... Now looking for some suitable toothpaste or something, if not just clean with water can liao huh?

Re pampers
What brands are good? Hows Drypers? Me would not buy much as intend to use cloth nappies during day and nite. pamper gtg out only... as more convient for me.. haha

See you next week

Fern

I gg to get some milk bottles. But there are some latex and some silicons. So what do we get? I actually have about 3 avent ones, thinking of buying nuk too, is it too many? SHould I wait?

Is there a need for pacifier as well? Latex or silicon?

Fern, really not much of need for toothpaste till baby have teeth. Even now my gal 18 mth, my mum only brush her teeth with toothpaste once in the morning and we only started after she's on solids. If u interested, First teethtoothpaste and brush can be bought in BP from drugstore in the forum. Much much cheaper - it's like half price of what is sold off the market here in sg.

sigh.. cant sleep yesterday.. woke up every hr to pass urine.. these few days I have got this weird feeling down there, like a lot of pressure.. any girls experience the same?

for piles,, try sitting in stiz bath.. it helps alot... last time my patients do that also. I also do that now when I have piles.

wlml & good bbb & healthy bbb
re: swelling during pregnancy
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/naturalremedies/swelling/

deerdeer
for me, the urge to pee goes away when i'm sitting or lying down, unless i really need to go. O'wise when i stand up, almost always feel like peeing, so i just go lor. Anyway i drink a lot of water, so little wonder i go pee often. But not every hourly la.

i would like to work until i pop coz if i start my ML earlier, very bo hua coz many PH (late dec)

<font color="0077aa">hi morning all,

Arghhhh...another fresh start of the week.
Last week, down with heartburn, sore throat, mild fever & flu. Now, still blowing my nose away as i type...

Ah Capp,

no prob abt starting the class late cos i guess Mrs Wong lesson always over-run. Our 7-9pm session always end ard 9.30pm too!
I tried to look out for Fern that day but her earlier post say she postponed to Sunday class, no wonder i couldn't find her.
Yup, we did the labour ward tour & the new wing too. Our group was lucky to witness the nurse took the baby's weight & length while the delighted father was snapping photos! A mummy just given birth to their #2. Their baby boy (3.5kg @50cm) was crying out loud while the weight was being taken and everyone of us was like, Woahhh..so cute..
The parents happened to be Mrs Wong student when expecting #1. What a coincidence!

Re: Disposable undies
I bought the maternity cotton disposable undies from kiddy palace at $4.90 for 5pairs, one size & it fits well for M or L size pple. Those from mama shop ($4.50 for 7pairs) are not very comfy & they are normally very big cutting for L or XL size.

Re: newborn pampers
I've bought Drypers newborn (28pcs at $7.30) for standby as most hospital will also provide us (chargeable to our ward) & we can take home the remainder. Newborn normally outgrow newborn diapers very fast and proceed to S size very soon! So, don't have to buy/stock too many newborn diapers!</font>

I dont feel good about the weird sensation esp when I walk. do you girls get that? it is not wanting to pee those kind.. like alot of pressure.

deer
try a maternity support belt to support your tummy.

steph
i just bought fr Giant Tampines: $4.50 for 5pcs per pack. Haven open yet, skali cannot fit me... *hiak* Where to get for XL size? I only see 1 size for all expectant moms

hippo18,
Thanks for the info. See you back in sg real soon!!

deer,
I wear those panty with maternity belt support when I go out.. does help to "lift" the tummy a little.. so that wont feel the strain at the ligament, but then kind of tighten tummy and makes me cant eat too much. :p

Hi Steph/Ahcapp
Ya... haha.. didnt realise you guys will look out for me.. forget to infom you gals in advance that I went sunday class for this week instead lor... pasiseh.. this week not good for me.. got a really bad flu.. seems asmatic cough so sian... and hubby reservice somemore...

WIll be going to see my asmatic specialist later.. hope i will revover soon

Luckily he can pei me go doct.. by taking some time off lor.

Catch up with you gals again... I be going next Sat.. will see if can make up who Steph is then...:p

Btw, I enjoyed the class yesterday.. was fun and informative

Fern

wendyg,

I found those XL size maternity disposable undies from mama shop, the lady was kind enuff to show me a sample and it was really big, can fit hip up to 98cm wor! I think Watson oso selling cotton ones but free size, not sure how big is free size. The one i bought from kiddy palace can fit hip starting from 28". They are not tight, just nice & still can allow maximum stretch to 40"!