aiyo, my first part of msg went missing...
good morning
RE: DIAPER
For a start, i use pampers cos got indicator whether got urine as i need to check how many times baby poo and urine.
When things stabilised, i use pet pet for daytime and huggies at night....then he was abt one, i change to mamy poko at night.
But then please bear in mind that all babies differ, hence you got to trial and error cos one diaper suitable might not be suitable for another. =)
RE: PLACENTA
My gynae says at 32 weeks then will measure distance...but she says as long as 3cm away from cervix can go for natural liao. So, we can only wait lor...wat to do. At 26 weeks, my placenta also still low....nothing we can do lor...cos not within our control. But i heard from one mummy in forum that actually her placenta cover her cervix till one week before her edd, it shifted 5mm away from cervix.
Just make sure that we dun strain ourselves cos we have a tendency to bleed...spotting etc....gynae also advise me against sexual intercourse
RE: GD (specially for violet)
Like i mentioned, i went thru whatever you are going thru now. We just dun understand how come it can happen to us. I asked myself...i dun even like sweet stuff...then why me. From the nurses, they say if your father is a diabetes, most prob we will get it one. That time when i gotten the news...i cry and cry while i flip thru books on GD cos i super worried. Then i went thru a one day thingie at KKH teaching me how to use glucometer, see dietitian who will plan my diet etc. I did not see any diabetes doctor. For the glucometer, we are usually to prick 7 times a day (before and after breakfast, lunch and dinner and before sleep) for 3 consecutive days. Reading for before food, should be between 3.3 to 5.5. 2hrs after food will be between 5.5 to 7.0). YOu will have to strictly control diet everyday till delivery in case baby grow too big.
Cannot eat mee pok, yellow noodles etc...best to eat bee hoon soup. Fish ball a lot of flour....reading will not be good too. Rice...to cut down to half portion. Usually dietitian will ask you to eat something like this:
6am: drink a cup of low sugar soya bean
8am: two pieces of wholemeal bread plus high calcium, low fat cheese, plus egg / alternative oats
11am: one pack of wheatmeal plus cheese or soya drink
1pm: lunch (less carbo, more vege and protein plus one piece of fruits) one trick is eat yong tau fu...filling yet can control sugar level
3.30pm: same as 11am (but they will give you other alternatives)
6.30pm: Dinner (similar to lunch)
9.00pm: Same as tea breaks
The above are what i used to eat....they will give alternatives. For a start, you will not get used and might always feel hungry. I was almost on constant fainiting spell ah....you need to tell dietitian/ doctors and they will revise your diet plan for you.
YOu dun worry too much,....usually diet control will be able to do the trick. You may feel pathetic....that's how i see my pregnancy that time. But with baby in me, he just give me the strength
My baby not big at all...only 2.645kg when born.
Let me know if you want more info.