(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

My hubby: Father wanna name our baby?
MIL: Now dunno is girl or boy how to name?
ME: Confirm is a girl!
MIL: NO BAO mah ... wait name a girl name ... come out boy how?
ME: NVM if father dun wanna name we intend to find ppl to count the sheng cheng ba zi ..... to match names.

Yvonne,

I thought of keeping the placenta. But not sure how to preserve and process it! Heard that it has alot of benefits if we consume it.

Jacelyn,

During pre-natal class, there is a mummy asked same question about keeping the placenta & whether we can process & eat it? Well, Mrs Wong discourage wor...she say unless the placenta is processed in proper way (approved by AVA etc) & that the toxin is safely removed b4 consume! Placenta works like our liver function, it removes toxin & waste materials from our body so it is not very beneficial for our body!

Haha, QQ. So funny. I don't get that from my MIL thankfully but I got the same thing from my mum.

She beat about the bush and say, "Your auntie ask scan really confirm girl or not? Will change or not?"

Told her "Confirm girl ah, no extra piece of flesh, how to be a boy."

She also don't dare to say much liao, just mumbled
"Oh ya... I also told her should be confirm lar."

Hi QQ,

the dialogue u posted quite funny. MIL couldn't get convinced with the scan.Think most MIL prefer boys even though they say things like "as long as bb healthy can liao". And one more thing: I feel that when pple ask abt gender, u tell them gal, they just smile or didnt comment much. If tell them boy, they congrats u. My Hubby feels so too.

I having my gynae appt later. My little piggy is moving so actively these days. Even woke me up from sleep sometimes. dun noe whether hyper active or not.

By the way, I have collected the keys to my new house today. but cant go open door and overseas all reno..hubby got to bao everything,

I having gastric pains quite often...any gastric medication from pharmacy that we can take??

Verene, where are u moving to?

I saw someone mention sale. Is there still any sale going on in JL, robinsons or isetan or anywhere else? Wanna get my no.1 some new bottles.

I so far ok with gathering date but might be coming down from Buona Vista side that day coz going course.

hahaha .... funny hor but i cant say much cos my mum say cannot be rude .... so i can jus smile loh....

my mum on the other hand say ai ya .... why like tat girl boy oso same lah .... heehee .... think after the conversation with my MIL on fri think she feel that I am firm that is a girl liao .... she bought me 6 big bottles of birdnest .... and ask whether me gg back for dinner on sun she wanna mak chicken soup for me ....

lately i bought bao shen and put in water to drink can PU QI.

well regarding the scan i believe she is not convince of the scan loh ... like what she mention her frd's incident come out is a boy loh .... think I go for 4d scan next time must take the pte part hahah show her no birdie hahaha

Verene call ur gynae whether is it save to eat ... for me i endure dun even dare to take normal panadol ....

oh cheryl dun take so much carbo will lead to diabetic one just eat balance diet ..... i so scare actually cos suddenly i have craving for rice everytime must eat rice .... each time i have meal i have 2 bowls of rice scary leh

I am coming back soon, counting down to 10 more days.. cant wait to do shopping for BB in sg!!!

QQ,
Your MIL so funny lor.. i think my milis genuine happy no matter ger or boi.. cos she went through a lot b4 having my sil (2nd child) which is like 17 yrs apart. My mum is the one who is so happy and excited.

Dunno what happened these days, I drink cong chow last sun and my bb dance/hiccup/flip whole night and I can't sleep.. like not suitable to get additional BU, else he become hyper.

vereneting,
Yah, even tho I am having a boi.. my close friends all know I really wanna ger ger (Nvm next rd).

I really dun like those kind of "congrats", where they will just say congrats, so your parent and pil should be very happy. Always feel like having the urge to reply.. u mean ger then have to be sad meh..

I've been wearing my birks, realised that I cant really fit into my normal size cover shoes, slightly tight.

My belly also getting tighter and the green veins around also starting to look more obvious, more so at night
. Nipples also starting to get very dry and also flaky le, thinking of getting a cream to apply, coz sometimes can itch quite badly, but no idea what cream is good especially when now pregnant cannot anyhow use.

Just received bad news today. My Gestational Diabetic test came back positive.
Now they have to refer me to see a diabetic doctor. Heard have to rent the machine and buy needles to poke myself regularly.
Now, my mind in a whirl, don't know what to think. Hope it won't affect baby and hope after pregnancy, it'll go away. Still cannot believe it.
Since young, I've been the kind whose glucose in body is not enough, even was hospitalized last time due to lack of sugar. Now ... this...

<font color="0077aa">oh my...violetIce, sorry to hear that BUT don't worry too much, have to watch your diet carefully & avoid dessert or high in sugar food/drinks. If your GD is under control, baby shld be fine, doctor will monitor & make sure baby is not too big! You make me worry abt my next check up too since i crave for Oreo Mcfluffy & sugar cane drinks all the time... i always remind myself to drink lotsa water.</font>

Violetice .....sorry to hear that too .... dun eat too much carbo food ..... and avoid dessert all these like what steph say ...... but they say is quite common for preggie lady to get diabetic ...... stay positive will be fine one ....

Yvonne is BAO SHEN drank that during my trip when at resort ...... during my holidays

icy i hope my mil will KAN KAI DIAN Loh .... sigh

Hi Steph & QQ,

Thing is I've also been cutting down on sugary stuffs, especially durians for more than a few months liao. Don't know why still like this... will carbo also lead to GD? So now, only can drink plain water..

QQ,
Baby is our own flesh and blood, don't let whoever's comments disturbed you. Pregnancy should be an enjoyable experience,it's tough enough with factors like our own health and baby's health, all the more we shouldn't let anyone upset or affect our pregnancy. It's already not easy so try not to mind what your MIL say.

Oh no.. all the while i thought was tang sheng... and i've been drinking tang sheng for almost 2mths ler. Hope its not too late to change to Bao sheng.

Hi, all.

My MIL also commented something abt gender. I went to my MIL's place for dinner on sat.

ME: MIL, we got detailed scan photos. you want to see?
MIL: ok loh. So doc said is girl?
Me: Ya.. this scan is quite accurate. Confirmed girl.
MIL: But I see the way you wear skirt, it does not stick closely to your stomach.. So this means that your stomach is not round mah. This should apply to boy mah...
Me: No lah, quite confirmed is girl.
MIL:.....

Later after we left, I told my hubby.

Me: Your mum still likes boy leh. See the way she commented.
Hubby: NO lah, she is just commenting. Girl or boy she also ok.
Me:....

Angelsky,
U can use olive oil to apply on nipple. my gynae recommendation.

Violetice,
dun worry, maybe ur case not so serious? Maybe just eating medication will help.

VioletIce, don't be too worried. My colleague also had gestational diabetes, got the diabetes sugar machine and do blood test everyday. I had to help her prick initially cos she can't stand to see the blood. But she control her diet cut down on sugar and sweet stuff, after 1 month plus, blood sugar under control then no need to do it liao.

Hi, Mei. Yes, I can make it on 12 Dec. Someone suggested changing dates. Is the date confirmed? I must check if hubby is going also. Let you know again.

<font color="ff0000">BP Maternity Portraits by Foto-U</font>
<font color="aa00aa">maternity shots info posted by Foto-U. He was one of the photographer I emailed too to ask about the maternity photoshoots.

Any interested MTB, pls sign up at Foto-U thread.
Lynn, u signing up??</font>

violetice, you can talk to me....i know exactly how you feel cos i been thru this before....

dun worry...everything will turn out fine

krystle hehe think we same boat leh hahaha but i hack care as long my baby healthy can liew hehe

violetice yes what i heard from friends cut down on carbo .....

re: malay massage

hi ladies, for those who are interested to know abt mdm mona service..i got her to do a pre-natal massage during the weekend..actually find her quite experience..though i felt slight painful on my back and hand after her massage but i notice my leg wasnt as swollan the next day after her massage..and i dont get leg cramp lately at night (i usually got cramp in the middle of the night).

Dear all, SOrry MIA for long long time, yesterday went checkup. doctor estmaine 1.1kg at 25weeks. & percenta still low.. Btw do we need to book room early, Jus in case no place for me ,... Haha .. Abit KaSu..
Btw do ur gals know if we can drink chinese herb tea.. ??

Pls Include me MRS PIGGY.. i would like to JOIN..

01) Meihua + Hubby x2
02) Kitsune
03) JanBB
04) violetIce
05) icy
06) chaye
07) fishia
08) Jacelyn
09) Lynn
10) Yen
11) QQ
12) Valencia
13) Mom2nat
14) Steph
15) babe
16) Mrs Piggy

split, i call the aunt she ask me to call her back when i am abt to deliver, she say need 3 weeks then i can massage cos i had C-section. Sian..

Hi..

would like to join in the gathering too..

01) Meihua + Hubby x2
02) Kitsune
03) JanBB
04) violetIce
05) icy
06) chaye
07) fishia
08) Jacelyn
09) Lynn
10) Yen
11) QQ
12) Valencia
13) Mom2nat
14) Steph
15) babe
16) Mrs Piggy
17) Babyshannon

Anyone know where we can maternity wear for weddings? Got a wedding to attend, but cant find clothes to fit. Tried most of those at sun tec, but they look more like casual and work ones rather than evening wear type.

Hi SPilt,

How much does Auntie Mona charges for Pre natal massage and how long? Is she friendly and nice? Just wondering cos she doesnt sound very the phone lor. perhaps she is just busy.. so me just wondering?

Re-Pampers.
What brand is good huh? Went cheked out the price today and realised not cheap sia.. so think I will use cloth nappies in the day and night/gtg out then pampers. I will be getting a full time maid so washing will not be a prob. I think save quite a lot in this case. I am also very surprised to see that Drypers are really cheap compared to Pampers..Just wondering if its good a not?

Re baby laudry wash/ bottle wash.
I tot of using Kodomo brand for the for laudry, bottle and bb bath. I like the fragrance but also not that cheap compared to other brand. Is this brand best recommended for bb?

Hope to hear from you gals

Fern

Hi Angelsky,

Avent has a nipple cream which is recommended by my cousin, she used it and finds it good. I bought it also but haven't used it yet. About $20++ can find at Robinsons and other departmental stores.

As for more elaborate maternity wear suitable for attending wedding, you can try maternity exchange at Marina Square. They offer rental as well so if you don't want to waste the dress, since only wearing once/twice, then might as well consider renting. If not, they also do selling of new pieces. http://www.maternityexchange.sg/

Hi Icy, Kitsune, eRnMum, QQ and Chaye,
Thanks for the encouragement and comfort. Feeling very down today, keep wanting to tear all of a sudden but tried not to.

eRnMum,
Did you see any specialist or any particular doctor when you had GD? My gynae's assistant tried to book one for me but to no avail. I don't know if I should see a normal GP first or wait for the appointment to come. Sigh...

Feeling so down cum stress cum sad now (super mixed feeling)
Jus came back from gynea cheakup, my placenta still low at 30 wk. Baby also not heading down..
Sian.. maybe really hv to prepare for c-sec. Really hope can go through normal delivery process. This kind of feeling really uncomfortable.. Haiz...

Does anyone know how to check in this forum that how many PMs have we sent out before ? Is there any record ? I cant seems to find it.

Yvonne, dont mind me asking. You mean to say that ard 30 weeks the baby will start to turn down and stay down all the way? So by then if baby does not turn down, chances of c-section very high? My collegue's baby also turned down when she was ard 7 months, but then end up she also had to go for e c-section coz her cervix did not dilate enough. Dont worry, maybe your next visit the baby would have changed its position.

Violetlce, Avent cream for nipple? Ok, I will go check it out. Someone was telling me that if we massage the breast area, we may go into premature labour, so sometimes I also worry. But its really cracking quite badly, so I think better do something about it, else next time breast feeding will be a major issue.

My mouth cant seem to stop eating, so worried all the weight is gg to go to my baby, but then also quite worried next time cant shed all the fats.

Hi babe,

I moving within Sengkang...from Anchorvale Link to Compassvale Rd, just across 2 streets. Ha ha. My existing flat transferred back to BIL. Initially my hubby and BIL shared the flat. now we apply our own flat.

Hi angelsky,

U can try le Bloomingchic at Delfi orchard. their dresses are very nice and look unique. I dont find pple wearing the same dress as me so far unlike spring or perfect mum kind. their clothes can still wear after preggie. I got the discount card if u r interested.

Hi Fern,

Re baby laudry wash/ bottle wash.
I also like the smell of Kodomo...i bot a bottle of laundry wash for bb clothes..got to wash bb new clothes soon...bit by bit.

think Pigeon is good too bah.

Yvonne, gynae said my placenta was a bit low during my detailed scan at 5 months too but she did say 50% of placentas will move up as the womb grows. Forgot to ask her during last check up whether it's still low. :p

Oh, have we confirmed date and venue of gathering yet?

Mommies using avent pumps from no.1 preggy, wonder if the funnels also have the same problem with BPA leakage as the bottles. Do we then have to change the whole set of funnel?

ings stabilised, i use pet pet for daytime and huggies at night....then he was abt one, i change to mamy poko at night.
But then please bear in mind that all babies differ, hence you got to trial and error cos one diaper suitable might not be suitable for another. =)

RE: PLACENTA
My gynae says at 32 weeks then will measure distance...but she says as long as 3cm away from cervix can go for natural liao. So, we can only wait lor...wat to do. At 26 weeks, my placenta also still low....nothing we can do lor...cos not within our control. But i heard from one mummy in forum that actually her placenta cover her cervix till one week before her edd, it shifted 5mm away from cervix.

Just make sure that we dun strain ourselves cos we have a tendency to bleed...spotting etc....gynae also advise me against sexual intercourse

RE: GD (specially for violet)
Like i mentioned, i went thru whatever you are going thru now. We just dun understand how come it can happen to us. I asked myself...i dun even like sweet stuff...then why me. From the nurses, they say if your father is a diabetes, most prob we will get it one. That time when i gotten the news...i cry and cry while i flip thru books on GD cos i super worried. Then i went thru a one day thingie at KKH teaching me how to use glucometer, see dietitian who will plan my diet etc. I did not see any diabetes doctor. For the glucometer, we are usually to prick 7 times a day (before and after breakfast, lunch and dinner and before sleep) for 3 consecutive days. Reading for before food, should be between 3.3 to 5.5. 2hrs after food will be between 5.5 to 7.0). YOu will have to strictly control diet everyday till delivery in case baby grow too big.

Cannot eat mee pok, yellow noodles etc...best to eat bee hoon soup. Fish ball a lot of flour....reading will not be good too. Rice...to cut down to half portion. Usually dietitian will ask you to eat something like this:
6am: drink a cup of low sugar soya bean
8am: two pieces of wholemeal bread plus high calcium, low fat cheese, plus egg / alternative oats
11am: one pack of wheatmeal plus cheese or soya drink
1pm: lunch (less carbo, more vege and protein plus one piece of fruits) one trick is eat yong tau fu...filling yet can control sugar level
3.30pm: same as 11am (but they will give you other alternatives)
6.30pm: Dinner (similar to lunch)
9.00pm: Same as tea breaks

The above are what i used to eat....they will give alternatives. For a start, you will not get used and might always feel hungry. I was almost on constant fainiting spell ah....you need to tell dietitian/ doctors and they will revise your diet plan for you.

YOu dun worry too much,....usually diet control will be able to do the trick. You may feel pathetic....that's how i see my pregnancy that time. But with baby in me, he just give me the strength

My baby not big at all...only 2.645kg when born.

Let me know if you want more info.

aiyo, my first part of msg went missing...

good morning

RE: DIAPER
For a start, i use pampers cos got indicator whether got urine as i need to check how many times baby poo and urine.
When things stabilised, i use pet pet for daytime and huggies at night....then he was abt one, i change to mamy poko at night.
But then please bear in mind that all babies differ, hence you got to trial and error cos one diaper suitable might not be suitable for another. =)

RE: PLACENTA
My gynae says at 32 weeks then will measure distance...but she says as long as 3cm away from cervix can go for natural liao. So, we can only wait lor...wat to do. At 26 weeks, my placenta also still low....nothing we can do lor...cos not within our control. But i heard from one mummy in forum that actually her placenta cover her cervix till one week before her edd, it shifted 5mm away from cervix.

Just make sure that we dun strain ourselves cos we have a tendency to bleed...spotting etc....gynae also advise me against sexual intercourse

RE: GD (specially for violet)
Like i mentioned, i went thru whatever you are going thru now. We just dun understand how come it can happen to us. I asked myself...i dun even like sweet stuff...then why me. From the nurses, they say if your father is a diabetes, most prob we will get it one. That time when i gotten the news...i cry and cry while i flip thru books on GD cos i super worried. Then i went thru a one day thingie at KKH teaching me how to use glucometer, see dietitian who will plan my diet etc. I did not see any diabetes doctor. For the glucometer, we are usually to prick 7 times a day (before and after breakfast, lunch and dinner and before sleep) for 3 consecutive days. Reading for before food, should be between 3.3 to 5.5. 2hrs after food will be between 5.5 to 7.0). YOu will have to strictly control diet everyday till delivery in case baby grow too big.

Cannot eat mee pok, yellow noodles etc...best to eat bee hoon soup. Fish ball a lot of flour....reading will not be good too. Rice...to cut down to half portion. Usually dietitian will ask you to eat something like this:
6am: drink a cup of low sugar soya bean
8am: two pieces of wholemeal bread plus high calcium, low fat cheese, plus egg / alternative oats
11am: one pack of wheatmeal plus cheese or soya drink
1pm: lunch (less carbo, more vege and protein plus one piece of fruits) one trick is eat yong tau fu...filling yet can control sugar level
3.30pm: same as 11am (but they will give you other alternatives)
6.30pm: Dinner (similar to lunch)
9.00pm: Same as tea breaks

The above are what i used to eat....they will give alternatives. For a start, you will not get used and might always feel hungry. I was almost on constant fainiting spell ah....you need to tell dietitian/ doctors and they will revise your diet plan for you.

YOu dun worry too much,....usually diet control will be able to do the trick. You may feel pathetic....that's how i see my pregnancy that time. But with baby in me, he just give me the strength

My baby not big at all...only 2.645kg when born.

Let me know if you want more info.

Yvonne,
Don't worry, even if you have to go for c-section it's still ok. Health of baby is most important. Don't pressurize yourself too much if you can't have a natural birth...we cannot control these things. Try to stay happy and relaxed and maybe your baby will happily make the big "turn" too...