(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Am I the only who is wilting under the hot weather these few days?? Kept on drinking cold water/ juices as I can't stop feeling thristy. =S I know i know, I shouldn't be drinking too much cold drinks, but can't help it ah =(

I went to the Carrano (TPY) after one of you gave the TPY branch address. Many thanks! Bought 2 sleeve-less polo T-like maternity tops (T-shirt material). Very happy as they are very cooling. $19.90 each. Definately can drop by to take a look wor. =)

Hi Fern,

Great meeting u yesterday. =) The class was fun. Hehehhe.. looking forward to the next one.

Hi Mylife,

Take good care of yourself, especially in HK. Pls do not stay away from us just because of this period of time. U are always welcome to come back and join us. =) Meanwhile, pls allow time to heal everything.

*many hugs*

Hi Kitsune,

Will u be taking the full 3 months maternity leave like me? I was told that we can spilt up the 3rd month and use it bit by bit.

Re: HOT Weather
AhCapp, dont fret. I am just like you, complaining about the hot weather everyday. Especially so during weekends as weekdays, most of the time is spent in the cool, air-con office. I also kept drinking cold water to cool me down.

Mylife, take care ya. I am very sorry to hear about your loss.. don't pressure urself to feel sad about ur dad or feel happy about being pregnant. Just slowly take your feelings as they come.

angelsky
girl easier to look after? Not in every case.... a lot boils down to the bb's temperament. I know a few bb girls who are picky eaters & can't sit still to finish a meal & stress the parents that they're not getting enuf nutrition.

hi mylife
hopefully getting busy settling down in HK will take your mind off the unhappy things.

re: hot hot hot
for the past 2 wks, every weekday morning i've been drinking abt 1.5l of water just from 8.30am - 12noon. and i'm also complaining my offc aircon not cold enuf, even tho i'm wearing spag top. I've ditched the jacket hahaha.
i've been drinking LOTS of water. Thank God i'm the type that enjoys plain water, o'wise i think i'll easily get sore throat or suffer fr dehydration

Ah Capp,
Yah.. It was great meeting you yesterday. I also had fun at MRs WOng class and looking forward to the next one soon! HOpe we can chat more too the next time we meet:p

My Life,
DO continue sharing with us your tots and feelings.We are with you and we understand how you feel on the demise of your Dad. BE strong for all your loved ones.. Sure even your Dad wants you to be brave and strong during this period

RE- Small like pimples on tighs and back of arms.
I realise that I have small pimply stuff around those area. Used to have before but seems to get worst leh.. ANy of you the same?
Any recommmeded cream to use huh? like camomille or something that can be of help?

hi ladies, sorry to interrupt. i am from the nov mtb thread, i have 5 brand new pigeon items to sell.

market price is $40 in all but i am selling at $30. self collection. if you are interested, please send an email to: [email protected]

1 tongs
1 bottle & nipple brush
1 breast care gel
1 120 ml bottle
1 240 ml bottle

It's been a busy weekend as my close friend just came back from overseas for a short trip and I've to accompany and entertain her whilst she's in Singapore.

Re: Rashes, pimple-like dots
I've started having small pimple-like dots/rashes around my tummy area. I wonder if it'll become stretch marks? I don't know what to apply thus never apply anything. Anyone knows why is that so?

Re: Moisturizer
I remembered some MTBs commented on a Clarins moisturizer, is it really good? I have combination skin but the sides of my face has been rather dry lately and it's a little flaky. Which brand should I buy and that is safe for preggies like us?
kao_confused.gif

Bought the Taurus Cot and Capella Stroller from Baby Kingdom yesterday.
Finally left with car seat only for big items. Do you gals think a bouncer is necessary? Saw a Fisher-Price bouncer quite interesting with massage.

Ah Capp,
Glad you like Carrano, you never buy any work pants?

Nikon DSLR Camera D40x

Anyone has any information on the above camera? Hubby is thinking of investing in a DSLR camera as he wants to take good pictures of baby. DSLR can capture baby's expressions quickly, 3 in 1 seconds. Anyone got lobang?

voiletice,
Not sure if that camera is good, I also thinking of a good camera, but more in between at the prosumer range. Like canon G9.

Actually I waiting for the Sitex IT Fair on 29 Nov 07. :D

Hi, Ah Capp. Yes, I should be taking full 3 months maternity. My company HR not very flexible leh. Heard from someone who gave birth that we are not allowed to split our 3rd month ML by working part-time in 3rd and 4th month. Plus there's a major company-wide audit in April 08 so I'm not keen to go back early. Hee.

I've been having lots of gas and loose stools these few days, went toilet more than 3 times today. Don't know why. Used to have constipation at beginning of 2nd trimester. The phase ended and now this. :/

I'm always feeling thirsty too, it's like no matter how much I drink it's not enough. But when I drink too much, I keep going to toilet, if not stomach will feel very bloated. Don't like drinking plain water too so been taking cold drinks but I usually try and have it with less ice or no ice at all.

Kitsune, I also feel thirsty all the time. I can drink many many cups of water and still feel very thirsty. Lips still very dry, sometimes crack. My friends always ask if I did not drink water, but the fact is I am drinking like a water gallon

I also feel sometimes when I eat certain food that I used to take last time, but now I feel thirsty also after eating them.

Hi Golden Pig,
I remembered you introducing us to the strawberry webbie that supposedly sells cosmetics at a cheaper $. Me intend to get some products from there. Have you or anybody bought from there before? Understand its foc shipping but am wondering if is reliable. After making payment, will we recive item?

Adivse pls?
Fern

kitsune_sg

same. i oso have more gas nowadays. i fart alot... den today oso shyt like 3-4 times liao.... and very thirsty oso

Ya, I eat out many times a week. Wonder if it's because of MSG and outside food that my stomach always have problem plus thirsty. But even when I eat my mum's place also like that. But I don't perspire a lot leh, don't know why always thirsty. Was wondering if I could be diabetic but so far urine test ok leh. My favourite thirst quencher is lemon sugar cane juice. So nice and refreshing. Too bad can only get from hawker centre. Wish I can have a glass of it now.

Kitsune, me too I also love the lemon sugar cane, funny thing is that drinking it will help me quench my thirst. hahaha. When I eat home food, I also feel thirsty. End up, I also run to the toilet many many times a day. I know its bad to drink water before I sleep, but I also cannot control, end up at night must always wake up go toilet, else the stomach feel very hard. I also dont perspire alot.

So far, my urine test also okay, but I also worry, coz I tend to take a lot of fruit juice, sugar cane juice, logan juice, ice kachang. Cant help it.

fern
so far i always tompang my friends who hv account with them. Will rcv within 2wks upon placing order. No problms so far... hv used them regularly for abt 1-2yr liao. It's a Hong Kong site.

Hammies & Jacelyn: did u gals went for e fri evening class at Mt.A? i was there wif my hubby and enjoyed e class..

Had backache, i tink is due to doing e housework yest...

Hi, morning to all. Stomach still no good plus gastric pain so I went to see doctor just now. On MC today.

Angelsky, ya me too. Always drink a lot a night, don't know why. Day time like not so thirsty leh.

VioletIce, I'm still debating between Maclaren XT and Capella. My 2 mummy colleagues recommends Maclaren XT but I think it's very expensive $367. Also, since I intend to leave baby with ILs after ML, we'll need to buy 2 prams. So wondering if I should save cost and buy Capella cos 2 Capella strollers s217 (w/o reversible handle) equal the price of 1 Maclaren. By the way, I saw on this website, the prices for Capella quite cheap. They selling S217 for $165 (kiddy palace $181) & Capella S705 for $265.
http://kiddybee.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=1_36

Hi Fern,

The website is good. I think it is strawberrynet or something coz my sister orders from there and sometimes I piggyback on her order as well. So far no problem, the website is reliable and our orders all came in after making payment.

Hi Jenniferna/Golden Pig.
Thanks for assuring me that the strawberry net is reliable. I shall place some orders and hope eveything will be in good condition and order

can i check with you. what brand of milk bottles do u use/have bought? coz i read that avent is the best but my fren gave me 2 new pigeon bottles that she had- is it ok to use pigeon? (So far, my fren said no problems)

personally i find that NUK teats resemble our nipple the most if you intend to bf.

after baby latch off, you will notice that your nipple got a shape....and i find NUK most similar

jennifera
why would u think it's not ok to use Pigeon bottles? Do bbs fall sick after drinking milk from pigeon bottles? Then bf is the best la...
where u read that Avent is the best? These guys will disagree strongly. http://www.bisphenolafree.org/
excerpt fr the site:
"The group tested five popular baby bottle brands -- Avent, Dr. Brown's, Evenflo, Gerber and Playtex -- all five of which leached bisphenol A at levels "found to cause harm in numerous laboratory animal studies," Gibson said."
http://www.foxreno.com/news/11126871/detail.html#

golden pig,

no, it was because i have read a lot about avent bottles being the best coz it reduces colic. and a lot of mummies seem to buy avent. but at the same time, i also seen a lot of mummies using pigeon and so far no problems at all. so i am asking, since pigeon doesn't specifically state that it reduces colic, how have the mummies who have used pigeon brand rate it?

I've been using avent bottles for #1 since she is a bb. I've tried pigeon bottle before to save costs but I always have prob putting in the milk powder cos the opening of the bottle is too small compared to avent. Imagine u wake up early morning with bb crying for milk and u clumsily pour the milk powder all over the table :p:p:p ... I'm like tat lor. So I stick back to avent after tat. Pigeon has also came out with a wide bottle series these recent yrs perhaps those who like pigeon can also try them ?

Re milk bottles.
Being a first time mum, I really do not know what bottles are the best. But I head NUK is good for bb as its like mummy's nipple feel. But again, I have got many Pigeon bottles from the Taka fair. as freebies.. and those are wide neck kind. so I will just make use of those and not waste them. I only got a fav milk bottle from precious mmet.. really cute so couldnt resist just getting one

Perhaps, can wait till bb born and can then see what are their prefernce cos diff bb have diff likings.. so no point sticking to one particular brand now right? 2 time mummy? can share views now?

violetlce,
i think bouncer can wait till baby's full month, if nobody bought that as a gift, then can proceed to buy. won't waste money if someone else bought that.

Hi Kitsune,
Initially, my hubby also preferred the MacClaren XT because it's quite well-rated by a lot of people but we realized they do not have the safety bar in front to prevent baby from falling off. Of course, they have seat belts but judging from my nieces and nephews who're less than 1 year old, they tend to lean forward due to curiousity and thus I find the safety bar quite important, which is also one of the main reason why we bought Capella. Also, MacClaren is heavier than Capella and I don't think I can easily carry it out with baby alone. You should go try both models in terms of opening and closing with one hand since we also need to carry baby.

violetlce, for Maclaren, you can get the cross bar separately. I think those baby hypermart do sell. Personally I like maclaren coz it's sturdy.
Used to have that till I sold it off to get quinny. Not too impressed with quinny though after using it.

Thanks VioletIce. I'll try to test using 1 hand when I go to Baby Kingdom next time.

Ya, I think I should buy one that's portable and lightweight first cos ILs got no car and they may need to push BB around too. If not suitable, I can always buy another more heavy duty one for myself. I will probably need to buy 2 cots too cos MIL said the rooms too hot (western sun) so can't let BB sleep on the existing bed. Sigh, everything X2, very siong.

I have a wishlist on my blog too and I know I've got a few colleagues & close friends reading it. I even more buay paiseh. Hahaha.
http://www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

afternoon ladies...pretty bz at work as usual. Now taking a break and was reading through some of the messages. Hmm, I also notice that a lot of parents seem to use MacClaren prams. Seems like it's quite popular too huh...lightweight I thought? But anyway, for me and hubby, we decided to get the Capella brand. Kitsune, guess u should try out the models to decide.

Btw, how far in advance do u all book those massage ladies for after birth?? Can recommend?? Thanks.

Saw your thread about Maclaren. Yes, it's heavier but very lasting and comes in very handy when you go overseas where the pavements are very "rugged" (unlike Singapore's). The safety bars are available at Baby Hypermart for about $29.00. Must ask the salesman.
Kitsune : I only bought 1 cot. As for my own house, I used the playpen converted to cot. Just buy an additional mattress from Baby Hypermart.

<font color="aa00aa">pain...the thin-line area between my breasts and stomach is giving me pain and discomfort...even when i lie down to rest...pain...

me using maclaren techno XT for my #1. it's heavier i agree, but it's also stable/steady.

pain...</font>

Hi Lynn,
I was at MtA last Friday too. Yup, I think it was a pretty useful session on nutrition. Guess next 2 lessons will be some exercising and breathing ya? But my hubby cannot make it for the 3rd lesson..sigh...thinking of getting my mum to go with me in case need some help...

mei,
I used to have pain like urs, between my breasts and stomach. Seemed like becos the uterus is expanding. Now I had worse pain at below the tummy and above the public area, I cant turn around when I lying on bed.
I hope it wasn't Symphysis Pubis Dysfunction (SPD). Only can consult my gynae again in 3 weeks time.

Kitsune,
It's quite tough to buy everytime in double. I agreed with BlackBatz, maybe you can consider buying a normal play pen with mattress for either your IL's place or your own, depending on where baby sleeps more often. I bought a playpen for my friend's baby from Baby Kingdom, $109 with 2 inches mattress. They have a few designs there, so you can choose. If you want a better matress, then buy those play pen without matress so no need to have extra or can request to see if can top up?

Hi Babe,
Thanks for the info, but for me, I like reversible handle for flexibility, plus the Capella also can remove the bar so to change diaper whenever necessary if no nursing room or diaper changing table in malls. Quite expensive hor, the bar, $29.90. Hmm.

AngelSky,
I still eat bak kwa but not a lot. Kuay Chap I also eat but not the pigs' insides like intestines, so only eat like duck meat, beancurd, tau pok etc.

Hi, blackbatz & VioletIce. Thanks for advice. Ya, think I'll check out the playpen for my ILs place since BB will only be sleeping in the day.

Any MTBs have piles? I just realised that I have it, don't know if it was triggered by my stomach upset these few days? Any way to reduce it? :p

Hi VioletIce,

I wear jeans to work. =) Currently, I am surviving on my maternity jeans bought from Old Navy and Nike yoga pants. But I did bought 2 pairs of capris from Carrano for weekend wear. Need to tahan 3months plus and hopefully I can shelf them away. =P

Re: Milk bottles
My CL told me to get NUK, but too bad I bought Avent bottles after recommendation from 2 friends who are both mums of 2. Another friend is using Pigeon and has no complains. Guess it's really up to individual =)

Re: Thirsty
Oh my, I love lemon sugar cane too. I have stocked up my fridge with orange juice, cranberry juice, grape juice etc etc. Very bad, but well, I even prefer green tea to plain water. =P

Re: Kiddy Palace at TPY
Call me country pumpkin but last Sat, I went to Kiddy Palace at TPY HDB Hub for my first time. Very big and spacious. Definately worth dropping by to take a look =)

Icy,
Didn't know of the term 'Symphysis Pubis Dysfunction' till you mentioned. I also have very bad pain ard the pelvic-groin area near the thigh.... Hurts when I stand and worst when I lie down and turn....
Have been having it for abt 2 weeks liao but thot its the stretching of ligaments :eek:(

Re: SPD
I asked my gynae about the pain last saturday, he also said perhaps it is due to the stretching of the ligaments that joins our uterus to our pelvis bone area. So I guess it's like what MomMe has mentioned. For me, I experience the pain if i exert too much energy when i bend down, eg. when vacumming the floor etc. then after 2 days, it will lessen or go away.

AhCapp,
I went to the Kiddy Palace last fri and it was my first time also. The place is really big. But is it true that all brands are controlled price? As in, for eg Pigeon brand wet wipes are all the same price be it in KP, Isetan, Metro, Baby Kingdom etc etc.

Re: Baby Kingdom
Yes, I believe they are open on saturdays. You can call them to check 65471677

Oops, forgot to check with you all. Is there any particular brand of cloth diapers that is good? Or all brands are the same?