(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa">golden pig, sorry ah. wanna know estimate how many glass bottles needed??? and where to get the cap (where is Cheng Choon?), and how to sterilise it (just boil in hot water?)?

sorry so many ques</font>

1002776.jpg

screw cap & sealing disc.

but i buy fr Cheong Choon, they sell in sets of 10. Cheaper than NUK.

mei
1. usually the nursery will only give 8-10 bottles, if they hv any. I dunno how many u need.. depends how much BM u hv excess for storage.
2. Cheong Choon - search the forum. the addy & tel are broadcast in most MTB threads.
3. sterilise - same as how u settle your pump.

Mei, I also need to get spare parts....wanna go get the petal..u going there soon ah?

I heard not too good to use glassbottles especially if freezing coz may crack.

Golden pig, so no problem with reusing avent cups ya? U bought the adapter to pump straight into cups? Wanna use then pour out appropriate amt into milk bottles ah?

Anyone used the AVent IQ Uno before? Pls give some feedback.

<font color="aa00aa">thanks! oh meaning I can just place inside the avent steriliser...no nid boil. yeh. oh 8-10 bottles...then have to go cheong choon to get the caps. so must get in advance...i see. tks!!

babe, a..dun think so I'm gg down that fast....maybe next mth or dec.</font>

babe
yeah the adaptor came with the cups. and yes i find it much easier to transfer from VIA Cups than milk bags - everytime spill & waste precious ebm.

actually i only started on the VIA when my ML over. I was wondering how to transport my EBM from work to home & i din hv enuf Avent bottles. Tried the VIA which i can directly store in freezer without pouring here & there, furthermore it's reuseable & stackable & saves space. Very happy with it

oh we tried & found that the suction not too good.. bb took longer than normal to finish the milk. So transferred into bottle for milk feeds.

but i still dun dare to use more than 5 times....as instructed....dunno whether the plastic will wear out after that...tot there must be a reason

Can I chk with those who has bot clothes from carrano, do they sell low waist pants or shorts ?

ernmum
dat's why i asked an Avent saleslady.

i also think - of course they will ask users to discard asap & buy new ones ma. kekekeke

Re: Carrano,
Mrs. Piggy, I just went yesterday. But rest assured they have nice work pants and 3/4 jeans or khakis.

Re: Baby Gender
Hubby and I were also hoping for a girl. Maybe it's because I came from a family whereby there're more girls in my generation and my mum only has my sister and me. Girls, in most cases, are more inclined to be closer to mothers. Though now I know we're having a boy, I was a little disappointed in the beginning but I told myself it's my baby after all, as long as he's happy and healthy, it's all I wish for.
My parents in law also the same kind like most of yours. The evening after my detailed scan, we went out for dinner. First thing they asked was:

Father in Law: It's a boy right?
Hubby: (being a bit annoyed) No, it's a girl.
Immediately, disappointment flashed across both Father and Mother in law's faces.
Father in Law: *looking at me* It's a girl ar? (disappointed tone)
Me: (don't want to lie, then later sure kanna in trouble) No lah, it's a boy.
Father in Law: (Immediately brightens up) Told you it's a boy! I got sixth sense!
Mother in Law: Our family usually all boys de.
Me: *rolls my eyes*

Cannot stand it also, that they are so old fashioned about this gender issue. Does it mean, if we're having a girl, she'll be despised or be biased against? I was telling my hubby, if really it's a girl and they are not happy, then at most I won't bring baby over to their place. I won't allow them to subject my child to that kind of unfair treatment. Ugh.
Even though now it's a boy, my MIL also doesn't even bother to boil any tonics for me or asked about my well being and this is her 1st grandchild. It's such a sad comparison as my mother, my sister, my aunts and even my uncles at least bother to boil bird nest or tonics for me.

aiya violetlce
dun be sad la. they dun boil tonic then dun boil lor. we boil it ourselves la ! my mil also din boil for me for my #1 girl and now #2 boy. and I also dun like my mum's birds nests :p:p:p cos it's very sweet !!!!!!! when i tell her it's too sweet she will argue and said where got sweet ?!?!? *faint* so i rather do it to my own taste ! but my mum & mil bot me bird nest, cordycep and hasma la. so i boil on my own lor. To me.. No big deal

Chaye,
They do have low waist pants and shorts, above knee length types but different outlets might have different things. I went to the Toa Payoh branch.

Mrs Piggy,
Pants about $27.90 or lesser. I bought a dress at $29.90. Can wear for wedding dinner type if you're not very particular.

Mei,
Nope, not staying with them. If not, definitely will have conflicts. =( Why leh?

violetice did u manage to get anything from yeepee? I am kinda pissed off loh .... cos i place the order 1st then she ask me some size dun have wanna change i say ok ... then after that she go outstation already ... when she is back she tell me OSS liao .... she never give to 1st come 1st serve

Re: gender issues

Have been reading the threads today and there are so many views on having a boy. Even though I am having a boy, I still feel that the most important is that the baby is strong and healthy. Gender should be the last thing on everyone's mind.

Violetice, I agree with you. If anyone despise the fact that it is a baby gal, I will not bring my baby to their place. and like what chaye said, the most boil tonic ourselves!

QQ,
Not yet also. I am also a bit annoyed because she never catch my order correctly. When I PM her, she asked me to email her my orders and still never reply me till now.

violetlce and QQ, I also sama sama like u. Even though this time boy also not much good stuff. Have to tell my hb to ask his mum to get stuff..haha...so far haven't eaten much tonic.

Jennifera,
Exactly! When I told my mum how I felt, she said I'm being rude coz most parents in law will want daughters in law to have boys so as to carry on the family line. *shakes her head*
I also rather buy tonics/bird nest myself, at least don't owe them anything. I'm very bad hor.

<font color="aa00aa">violetIce, haiz...haven got my hands on it. i called up popular, dun have. i went down to bras basah one, also dun have.

then i found it at national library BUT it was loan out...haiz...no luck!!</font>

Aiyah, Mei, tell you what, I'll make photo copy for you over the weekend. Then I'll try to mail out by next week. How does that sounds?

<font color="aa00aa">violetIce, thanks very much but i waiting for national library to call me. they are supposed to call me next week. if I dun hear from them next week, then it means my book is not available. then I let u know again??</font>

violetice, my mum also same as your mum! you know what, after the detailed scan that im having a boy, my mum asked if I told my in-laws. I said yes. then my mum asked me, how accurate is the detailed scan? scarli the scan says it is a boy then i end up giving birth to a gal then my in-laws side will be disappointed??!!I donno, but I am just so pissed. Pregnancy is also so tough, with so many sacrifices on us mummies, gender issues is the LAST thing on my mind man!

Re: BB Gender
Agreed to what you all have commented. Health is most impt no matter is gal or boy. Juz to share, after my fnd's hubby knowing her expecting another gal for #2, immediately tell her to try #3 for boy!! And he is not kidding at all. <faint> She is already 35 this yr & really felt so sorry for her, no matter how MIL or Parents or relatives' comment is not that as hurtful as hubby's comment. So dun bother what other says, as long as our hubby is supportive to us rite ; )

Finally is weekend !!! Knocking off soon !!! Hav a nice wkend to all ; )

haha violetice .... me oso buy myself and some is by my mum loh ... she lagi cute tat time ask me dun tell my in laws abt the baby gender hahahaha .... she scare they not happy

Re: Gender of bb
I was rather mean, I said v loudly to my hb, in front of mil... "must have boy meh, you have how much legacy left behind for me if I have a boy"!!! Hahaha... My hb oso agreed, but I guess old folks always hope have a boy.

Hi, Mei.

This is not Doraemon land. It is just that there will be an event to commemoralize Doraemon's movie (coming up in Mar 2008 in Japan). The event is from 01.08.2007 to 01.06.2008 and is held at a natural park.

Address of natural park:
Forrest and Lake Amusement Park
Yamanashi Prefecture, Town of Fujikawaguchiko.

Hi, Mei.

Forgot to add that I have never been to Yamanashi Prefecture before. But by shinkansen from Tokyo, it will take approx 3 hours.

Haha, so interesting to read everyone's comments about having a boy or a girl. Actually my in laws are ok, but they thought my hubby was disappointed, turned around to console him instead. My MIL said "Girl good, no need to do NS". My own mum was more disappointed cos she guessed it was a boy, cos they say can't see my tummy from the back so must be a boy. :p

As for tonics, we very "buay paiseh". We usually go to MIL place to have dinner once a week. Told hubby my BB need tonics liao cos now 2nd trimester. Asked me to ask MIL whether there are any 'soup' to drink when he called back about dinner. When we went for dinner, my MIL made herbal soup with kampong chicken. hee.

kitsune
You lucky your mil will prepare. Mine will say wat and wat I should eat. But din buy any for me!! All the bird's nest and herbal soup my mom buys and prepares hor. Even for #1, my mom will send the stuffs to me, my mil only know how to say wat to buy!

Haha, ya, she even prepare bird nest and bring over. We stay very near each other, only 5 mins walk away. But today, when we went over for dinner, no special soup, only egg soup cos my FIL prepare dinner. But she also say what and what not to eat which got me quite upset in the beginning but now she don't say already. Heng ah.

Hi, Mei.

There is no doraemon land in Japan. There used to have a special doraemon train running from Aomori to Hokkaido (Northern Japan) and you can ride the train to access to a doraemon exhibition.

But I checked and it seems like this event is no longer available.

I must count myself lucky. I think I am the one giving myself stress. I was so worried, coz my bb is a gal and that hubby side will be unhappy coz its the first grandchild. But luckily, they say first one gal better, easier to look after then if next one really boy then at least I not so stress. If first one is boy, as a new mother I will be stressed up.

My galfren whose hubby's family are christians were so unhappy that she was expecting a gal, coz her MIL commented that all her grandchildren were sons, she is the only exceptional. My galfren so mad.

Babe: When freezing using glass bottles, don screw the cap tightly, wait till the milk has frozen then u tighten the cap, cos when milk freeze, it expands that y sometimes the glass may crack. So far I had no prob.

Carrano: Beside Bt Timah & TPY, any other outlets?

Quite a load of interesting msgs going on. Was dead tired yesterday at work. My stamina is really going down. The fact that I need to walk a lot doesn't help me. So yesterday, I just sit down while supervising my vendors at work.

Hi 3Rascals,
I remember there is an outlet at Bencoolen Square (or is it Court?) and Ang Mok Kio. But the silly bag which comes along with my purchase doesn't have the addresses.

Re: Carrano
Dear violetice has answered questions about the pants and dress. Thank you. =)

Re: Boy or Girl
Even before I was pregnant, we have already given our future baby a nickname and also call the spare room "his" room. I am not too particular about boy or girl, as long as he is healthy. But since we have already talked about "his" bedroom, I kinda have this feeling that my first baby will be a boy.

Anyway, I am happy that my first child is a boy. Because since young, I have always wanted a elder brother as I am the eldest in the family. So now means my future children will have a big bro to look up upon.

I don't really get to see my in laws often so I don't really know what was their reaction like when they know that I am carrying a boy. I was telling my hubby, wow, our dear boy is going to be the first male grandchild to carry on the family surname. N then he said, "chay, u think got inheritance to share meh" =S

My MIL is very nice to me. She will cook Bird's Nest for me once every 2 to 3 weeks, as my mum is out of town since I am pregnant. My hubby will go to her house and collect it for me. I didn't know that Bird's nest can be so expensive, as I don't get to enjoy such luxury in life normally. =P But we gave back some money to my MIL for the bird's nest as she is no longer working. Not nice to use their money.

As to people's reactions, those who know that I am carrying a boy are more excited than me! *LOL* Their reactions are like "wah, very good" (why, I was thinking, girls not good ah??) or congratulate me as if I have won the lottery. My mum, who was "tormented" by her own MIL for carrying me (a female grandchild), also congraulated me for carrying a boy. But really, I am just happy that my baby is healthy. Boy or girl, both my hubby and I will still be very happy =)

N please don't be bothered by what others said about you carrying a boy or girl. Too many things to worry about during our pregnancy already. Please stay positive and happy ok.

Re: Happy
Btw, I feel that my pregnancy makes me a very happy woman. =) Even my colleagues notice that I become much more cheerful and I notice that I laugh out loud a lot. <-- must be some happy genes blossomed inside me =P

Morning Ahcapp!
You wake up really early huh...
Hope your stamina will build up soon and that the yoga session you hve signed up really helps you as well

Like you, many people also commented saying wow! so lucky, first child and its a boy! Hmm.. Makes me think... its gal that bad meh?... Health still matters no matter how.. think of those who yearn to have and cant..Whatever it is, we should feel blessed that our babies are well and good
Though actually I like gals as can dress them up.. and perhaps gals might be closer to mummy like me am also closer to my mum
But also heard of friends who are sons and yet mummy's boys too
heh

Re MIL,
YOu've got very nice MIL. Really fortunate huh!For me, she doesnt cook birds next for me..cos am asmatic so too liang for me.. But she does cook for me Fish soup which builds up my body on a weekly basis. Also cooks dinner and does all laudry which I am also appreciative

Re Happy,
I also feel that pregnancy makes me a happier person too. Especially having Elias brings me much anticipated joy and I've learnt to grow up and be more understanding in things too. Heard from my hubby that his another colleague wife miscarried. bb only 1 month plus and it died in the womb and till now they dun even know the cause of it. Its really very sad. Thats why when I heard the news. I really am so thankful that Elias is growing well each day.. Just hope we all will continue to be happy during preganancy and our babies will also be

Oh ya, will also be seeing you later at the antenatal class. Do sms me to let me know what you be wearing.. haha
See ya:p

My BB is also the first grandchild of the family so MIL and FIL both quite excited. Luckily, they are not disappointed it's a gal. Yesterday, they were talking about buying a cot to put in the living room cos I have asked them to look after BB when I go back to work.

My HB's older bro quite poor thing though, he'll be 36 next year and got no gf, since MIL found out I'm expecting, she's been nagging him. She said she got her first wish now that we'll be having a baby, now second wish is for BIL to quickly get married and start a family too. :p

thank you all for all your kind condolences. It is truly hard to accept a sudden departure like dat, particularly right now when i'm carrying wat is to be the 1st grandchild of my family...sadly he will not get to see her and it depresses me to tink of it. People have been telling me to cheer up for the sake of baby, move on, let go, time will heal etc...but it jus do not feel right.

I will refrain from coming in here as i'm currently in a depressed mood now....no point bringing in unhappy feelings and tots to such a happy and full of excitement thread...well, jus in case some of u wondering my whereabouts.

Will be flying to HK on wed morning and back in Sg to prep for delivery in Dec. Now i dunno how i shd be feeling when my baby is born...i shud be happy...but i'm afraid to feel guilty feeling happy when my dad has jus passed away..he was such a lonely man....and i am the most unfilial daughter.