(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendyg,

I read that at 13 months, breast milk not enough to give the toddler the necessary vitamins....Do u give supplement to your #2??? Read that u also take DHA....is it necessary?? I am not eating any.....but i am taking some fish oil supplement...is it enough???

mandy
my baby has been on semi solids since 6m old. i dun give him FM/ vitamins. No, DHA is not necessary. I think nothing is necessary except water.

thanks, again, mummies!

wendyg, ahem, thought you said want to refrain yourself from coming in to SMH and FB during working hours? Cannot tahan leh :p

BTW, really nice meeting you! Yet to try out the stroller yet, but it seems really good!

Mei, Don't think my hubby will want his precious princess to use any 2nd hand stuff (except those from gorgor). So, no, but thanks!

blessedbaby, did you meet Dr WK Tan on Thursday? Do you like her?

blessedbaby
oredi replied your email

mylife, i sms-ed you yest. dunno how you want to collect the toothpaste and how many tubes? u sure can finish this much? hurhur

mylvera, gynae scan on Friday but can't see anything yet. He said shows that I didn't remember my LMP wrongly, 4 weeks is too early. He gave me hormone pills for the spotting. Because I'm worried about ec...... pregnancy, he asked me if I want to do blood hcg to check hcg level and I said yes. Sat morning he emailed me the results and said expected level for early pregnancy, normal. Meanwhile still had spotting on and off when I wiped despite the hormone pills. So, I finally decided to ask ILs to look after RaeAnne during daytime these few days until I go back On Wed for another scan.

Kam, I busy looking at BP and WTS threads but realised there'll be very little to buy for no. 2. Even if different gender, can only buy some clothes and maybe toys when baby is older.

Wendy, I remember you sleep with no. 2 and your hubby sleeps with no. 1 right? Can you share your bedtime routine? Who sleeps first? Will one baby wake up the other? I'm trying to explore having a maid versus not having a maid when I have no. 2.

kitsune
normally tobey sleeps first. but we sleep separate room ley, so doesn't really matter =)
past 2 nights very warm, so all 4 of us crammed into 1 room. 1st night after lights out, baby was still "high" from having gorgor in the same room, he kept crawling over to disturb gorgor, but after a few times i pulled him back, he got the hint and latched on and zzzzz. ANd gorgor has to co-operate by keeping quiet after lights out. In his own room, he sings himself to sleep.

Wendy, I see, cos we don't use aircon at night so the rooms doors are usually open. I worry if one will wake up the other with the crying. Also, the aircon in the study room and baby's room (conked out due to disuse), now want to use also cannot liao. Now wondering if I should install new aircon but quite exp leh. :p

For those with 2 kids and 1 maid, does the maid sleep with 1 kids? 2 kids or not at all? Can someone share the pros and cons?

Kam, yeah. I went to see dr Tan on Thu. I quite her. she is a very calm lady, and i am impressed about the way to talk (gentle and slowly)- which I like.Unlike my ex gynae, she talks very fast. ;)

Wendyg: you didnt tell me ealrier, I was there last Thu. ;)

blessedbaby
humm... also quite hard to collect from u... i was thinking more like mylvera. but she was so secretive la..

kitsune,
You want the maid to sleep with your kid meh? No offence but personally I won't let my kid sleep with the maid. Or rather, personally I won't get a maid
. It's tough to handle kid(s) plus housework lah, if you really get maid just let her do housework only lor.

kitsune,
thou i got maid, my kids sleep with us. Like yvonne is thinking, we prefer to have them by our side at night, and its our only bonding time with them.

usually we'll close the door first, when the children falls asleep, we will open the door, so dat they wun disturb each other frm sleeping.

Pauline
will u still continue be a SAHM after giving birth to #2? if yes, then maybe just put #1 with ur in laws than daytime u take care of #2. at nite, both take care urself? for housework, weekend hire those hourly helper??

For me, I never let my boy slp with maid at nite. Unless i got something on, but when i reach home, i will carry my boy up to my room....

Yvonne, I'm reluctant to let the maid sleep with the kids too but I don't have enough rooms. The study room is cramped with 2 tables, 2 bookshelves, a clothes rack so there is no way we can fit in a bed. If i hire a maid and she doesn't sleep with the kid or kids, she will have to sleep in the service balcony. It has roller blinds lar but still got one small ventilation window at the bottom part of the wall if I can't remove. I scared MOM charge me for maid abuse leh if I do that. :p

Yvonne, you got 2 kids right? How do you settle the childcare arrangement then?

Luca, so both kids sleep with you and your hubby in the MBR? My MBR is too small, can't even put in a big cot, that's why we have to let RaeAnne sleep in the baby's room and carry her back to our squeezy 'queen size' bed when she wakes up at night to cry.

kitsune: dunwory too much, keep urself happy and bb will be safe! i tink it is best u sleep with ur kids n let the maid sleep alone.
so fast u wana buy things for no.2? he/she is such a luckybb

ther seems to be lot of bb girls this year hor, is steph the onli one whose no2 is a boy?

Jess, I did think about that. But until now, no. 1 doesn't sleep through the night and my hubby is a teacher so when he comes back, he still has a lot of work to do and he needs to wake up very early in the morning. He already gets very little sleep with no. 1, usually only 3-4 hours cos he has to do work after she sleeps so he falls sick easily. With no. 2, I'll need to latch plus pump, lagi no time. I have PT cleaner but once a month, she always got something on and can't come. Then the house is so dusty and RaeAnne has sensitive skin so little bit of dust/dirt, she has eczema and even hives.

Now, hubby say hire maid but I'm worried about the expenses also, how much do you pay for your maid? Can give me some cost estimates? Thanks.

kitsune,
sorry forgot to add, its same arrangements as wendy.

Maybe u can try our way, let ur hb sleeps with RaeAnne, and u sleep with #2 in the baby's room. Or make some arrangements to ur study room, do u really need 2 tables? I got study room too, it has a table, a glass toy cabinet fitted at 1 side of the wall, a single seater kinda sofa, but still gt space to put 1 mattress.

Luca, the study room is one working table where hubby marks, and the other table is computer table. both cannot get rid of leh. Unless we throw away the desktop then hubby can use the comp table to mark but even then, at most can squeeze a single bed. The bookshelves can't get rid of them lar cos hubby has SO MANY books, some of them are in toyogo containers on the floor cos can't fit onto the shelves anymore. Duh...

Aqua, cos I look at RaeAnne's toys (half of them are spoilt by her already even my FP grand piano, the fa is not working well liao), the clothes half of them got 'seeds' and half are 'stained' (esp. fruit stains) and I think no. 2 quite kelian if he or she has nothing new lor. But really look and look nothing much to buy. :p

Wendy, Oic, Yvonne has only 1 kid. Well, with RaeAnne, I also didn't have maid though was FTWM. But 2 kids is a different ballgame cos hubby will have to suffer along with me for at least another 2 years and I'm afraid it'll affect his work performance and health because he needs to get his markings and lesson preparations done no matter what. He can't come home early also cos he has a lot of meetings at school. :p

kitsune,
maybe its still too early to tell, by the time ur #2 arrives, ur #1 could have sleep through already, considering close to 2 yrs gap?

hmmm, more like a library then a study room..how about shifting some of the things to the living room?

Luca, haha EXACTLY!!! I nagged him about his books until I sian liao lar. Bo bian lar, MOE give them allowance to buy books and he loves books so he buy and buy lor. Plus they are open bookshelves hor, cos he didn't want glass doors to restrict his odd sized books. End up they are terribly difficult to maintain. Ya, living room is not big but can put the bookshelves I guess but moving them will be a HUGE project. Just dusting the books and bookshelves, make me want to FAINT liao.

Luca, I do hope so but I don't dare to harbour any high hopes lor. Other people's kids sleep through after 6 months. Mine never, whether BM fed or FM fed also the same. What can I say? We spoilt her lar. That's why for no. 2, I want to set the ground rules right (no rocking to sleep, no latch to sleep, no pacifier, no sarong). But I think easier said than done when need to worry about no. 1. If no. 2 cries, no 1 will wake up. End Up I think I'll still latch to sleep. :p

Wendy, hubby is a hoarder while I'm a thrower. I have no qualms about throwing or giving things away. But hubby ah, even 1 old lumpy pillow I need to give him warning for a few months before he allows me to throw away hor.

But I'm not complaining lar, it's because he is thrifty, save more than spend, his only indulgence is books and dvds, that's why I can be SAHM.

kitsune,
u got a bookworm hb hehe.. must really make some compromise lor, since RaeAnne is sensitive to dust, and still so many things...:p
or shift some books to ur inlaws's house? hehe

Not exactly spoil lar, different kids behave differently, its too early to judge #2. Remember the myth? 1 is difficult, the other will be easier? :p

kitsune
im a hoarder. my enid blytons are still packed nicely in cartons and stacked on top of each other in the storeroom. i meant to pass them to my boy when he grows up hurhur

about the lumpy pollow, i gave my hb 1 yr warning. seow rite. he grumble like crazy after that...

may i suggest you chuck the books he doesnt use much into the storeroom? my hb loves his dvds and vcds so i allow him only 2 cartons in the study room. those he usually watch will be chucked into the 2 cartons. the rest, all packed in cartons in the storeroom too.
my study room is very very small coz mine is a 4rm flat. put a tv on the floor, a small study table, and put my praying table, the cartons of dvds, then only left a small square of standing room.

hehe, luca, we were both bookworms lar, imagine we used to work at the same library (bedok library) but at different periods. But I got slack after I discovered computer games and SMF. Rather play game and surf net than read books except magazines, love them cos it keeps me updated on happendings.

ILs place no way cos FIL is A SUPER HOARDER. All the old appliances he'll try and repair and keep. But will still buy new ones to replace, my FIL's passion is electronics and home DIY stuff cos he was a technical studies teacher. All my hubby's old Hardy Boys books he still keeps them for him. No need to guess where my hubby gets his genes from. :p

pixie, but the old books full of sliverfish and dust leh at least I can see them on my hubby's books, you will still give to your boy ah?

Pixie, haha, the old pillow ah, my hubby said I must quietly throw away when he is not around. Cannot let him see wor. Alamak! machiam like throwing away his lover like that. :p

kitsune, i take good care of my book when i was young. i guess sure got dust and yellowed pages, but i secretly hope that my boy will be awed that his mummy touched and love the very pages he is flipping now.........hahahahahaaa

about the pillows hor
it was his pillow and bolster. i threw away the pillow, he grumbled like crazy. also thrown when he was not at home. i didnt dare to throw away his bolster.
then last yr, his mom asked have i thrown away his bolster and pillow, i told her only the pillow. she say throw away the bolster when i get home; she will talk to him about it.
she gave him a dressing down (yay!) about unhygienic conditions lar blah blah. he grudgingly accepted the fact must throw. so that nite i threw away...
it oredi disintegrated liao leh, shreds of fibers were coming off and i have to scrub the sheets everytime before i put them into the washing machine coz these fibers got stuck onto the bedsheet

Kitsune/wendyg,
Hey! I only have 1 boy, not girl leh...*sob sob*

Hmmm, I agree with you Kitsune...you guys spoil your girl liao. Easier said than done but you've got to manage her and not the other way round. If you let her get away with everything including not sleeping, etc...you're the ones who will suffer in the end when #2 arrives. If you don't have the heart to be firm with #1, do you think you can do it with #2?

Kitsune,
Hope you don't mind me being so straight-forward hor. If you get a maid, probably she can help with #1 but still need instructions from you mah. If she throw tantrams and you can't be firm with her, the maid can only let her have her way. In the long run also not good for your girl...will become even more spoilt. Just my 2 cents worth lah...

kitsune
ya, $170 is levy. can deduct from CPF.
ya lor, 1 shot got to pay 9 months first cos they loan from the agency to come here de mah. so we got to pay them first. after tat for the next 9 months, they only get $10.

yvonne
yeah that's what i thought... then who's the lady Yvonne Gxx in my facebook and her girl with nice hair?!

wendyg,
I think there's another Yvonne in Jan MTB thread...her nick is Gerger or something like dat?? I'm not in facebook lah, I'm a technology-idiot...don't like to download pictures, etc....hahaha!

KAM: Congrats =), now family very complete.

Wendyg, I going next Monday to TMC for my appointment,is it too late for you? I can get for you then.

Kitsune/Kam, agree for #2 less things to buy as compared to #1, I only plan to start buying the bottles and some clothes towards the end of the pregnancy and pack the room for arrival

Kitsune, have u considered letting both of them sleep on the mattress on the floor? Me and my sis used to sleep with my parents in their room on the floor. Agree with maid, sleeping is an issue. The same happened for me when I hired the confinement lady, she slept in the living room, coz I was staying with my parents then. So end up we got the move house now, but should be getting a maid nearer the end, my mum has been complaining that she cant cope and help me at the same time with two young children.

Kam,

So envy... 1 boy 1 gal!!! Factory can close liao. I wished mine also a gal.... But now is still too early to tell only 10 weeks....

wendyg,

no prob
. sure can anytime actually you want, i stay at AMK.
. I PM u my number in a while, then let me know what u need.