(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

pixie,
oh then u go back ur own home after patting ur boy to sleep? is it far from ur own place? can er ren world at nite. wow.

mei,
My boy poo everyday once every morning. Someimes 2x a day. recently I give him pure cord liver oil and he poo 3x.. I had to stop it and see if that is the reason for the LS.

I got tried Nan for my boy before but dun like it cos the poo very greenish.

icy,
got supplier recommended in forum? where? hee... interested to see lei....

pixie
ya, i understand how u feel. if dun see ah boy really feel very uncomfortable. i also hardly go out with friends nw. if go, i will drag my boy along.

mei,
so far no prob lei. Javier has drank a few brands of milk b4 (get free samples), all not bad.

my own home is sengkang, i consider it far from JE lor...
last time before KPE opens, i go PIE, CTE, TPE
now i can go PIE, KPE, TPE, shorter trip, faster...
so everynight around 8pm, i say goodbye to my boy, sometimes stay longer till 8.30pm (he sleeps at 8.30pm), then go home. usually reach home will be 9pm or later liao
then must express, clear some housework, blah blah oredi 11pm+
shag life
but no time to shag my hb hahahah

mei, u super slow leh, oredi announce the world i stay SK liao, long time ago oredi know u stay PG liao lehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
yah he sleep ard 8.30pm, sometimes earlier, sometimes later but always ard 8.30pm

jess, harnor, my hb meet me at JE lor, then we go home, he drives. last trip still can sit his car, else its public transport all the way...

Jan Mummies WTG

PIXIEPIXEL is giving away:-
1) complemenraty spa/facial voucher @ Rustic Nirvana, valid till 27Mar09, sorry pic a bit blur, 1st mummy to say aye aye i will give her...just pay me local postage for mail
2054623.jpg

2054624.jpg

icy
the contact looks different.
but nvm, we shall see how.

pixie
u r so hardworking lei. i cant imagine if i were u... my life is practically stucked in bedok. cos our house (stay with in laws) at chai chee, work at bedok south, my parents stay bedok south....

jess, bo bian, my previous job and this job, both company re-locate to ulu places.
previous company from town to keppel distripark
currect from town to technopark
just very suay, and also live far away from mil lor...for my son, i do anything man

my hubby go reservist liao. so i put javier and maid with my dad instead. i just called home and he told me Javier slpt from 10.30 - 1.30 just nw.. and nw slping again... so power...

at my in law's place everyday, his total nap less than 2 hours .... i wonder wat they do to him.... haha...

ya lor.. i am quite shocked...
but like tat i also scared tonite he cant slp then want to play... i will faintz.. haha

i wonder if he knws daddy is away. so many days nt going to see him, wat will his first reaction be when he see him..

jess
kids concept of time v poor one.. only know that long long time didn't see the person, will forget.

wendyg WTB cheaply
- Huggies Dry L or XL (budget $0.20 per pc)
- Fitti Basic L (budget $0.18 per pc)
- Pigeon Breastpads (budget $7 per box of 36+6)
- Braun Ear Thermometer (budget less than S$100?)

mei
no one answer your CNY qstns ley... too many la.

pixie,
haha. aiyo sometimes i miss post mah. i not slow lah. i BLUR. haha.

wendy,
nvm. no one ans nvm. u ans my cny ques. haha.

Enfagrow

I got all the Enfa from JB since Hao Re at birth, so all FM made in Malaysia. I know some of you very particular to only let your kids have milk made in The Netherland. But it's okay for me, cos we are Malaysian, so I want my son to drink FM made in Malaysia :) Just for your info, I bought Enfagrow at RM82 for 1.7kg (not 1.8kg, cos in M'sia, they didn't increase the price, but reduced the content). So even the cheapest in Sg, won't beat the price in JB. Okay lah, I stick to Made in Malaysia Enfa then.

kam
some food for thought re extra DHA via FM/ supplements
Some mommies hv opinion that nutrients are best fr natural sources, eg breastmilk, organic food etc, so they would rather give their child salmon/ veggies/ other food rich in nutrients than rely on additives from FM. Also, overloading with extra nutrients like DHA may not hv any effect, as the child's body can only absorb so much.. the rest is passed out as waste anyway.

Sometimes FM companies resort to "gimmicks" to entice parents to buy. Parents want the best for their child, better safe than sorry etc.. I remembered many years back, Abbott kena big time for misleading public that Gain IQ can make the child smarter coz of the "IQ" word they used. They defended saying their "IQ" was never meant to be Intelligence Quotient (it stands for Intestinal Quality - good for digestion). But the courts deemed that public would perceive "IQ" to mean Intelligence Quotient and so it's misleading. Now all the Gain IQ spell in full... their IQ stands for Intestinal Quality.

But still Similac and Gain IQ are one of the most popular infant formula in Sgp.. even though it's the most expensive. And a clinic asst told me that many babies on Similac & Gain hv cough & phlegm coz it's sweeter than other FM, so she advised me to choose Enfa range instd.

so... same train of thought for the Made in M'sia vs Made in Netherlands FM. Something to ponder for this evening huh.

wendyg,

To me, FM is FM. It's considered processed food product no matter it's made in Malaysia or The Netherlands. I am not very particular on the nutriets printed on the different brands of FM also, cos it's all about the same, very minor different, cos all were made to mimic breastmilk. The extra nutrients, like DHA they added in, is good, but not a must have like you said, at this stage, should let our kid absorbs the main nutrients from solid. I choose Enfa is because my nephews drank that, and so I only heard of this brand at that time, and so bought this and Hao Re is fine with Enfa. Hoh, all this IQ thingy, nope, I won't buy in their idea.

Okay, okay, do more thinking tonight, now rushing home already!!!

Personally I think, after china milk scare, We have to be conscious of the origins of anything our baby is having. Again, I am not pinpointing at any other countries except China.

Wendy, shucks, looks like I'm one of those mummy duped by the IQ thing. Was telling hubby better switch from Friso to Gain IQ cos after I stop BF, she'll not have DHA from my BM, better find an artificial source with more DHA. So, just sent a postcard for a sample tin. Both my cousins' children taking that though. :p

Sigh, RaeAnne's fever spike up again just now. After coming back from clinic, ILs let her nap, after wake up eat tow huay, then between 1pm - 230pm, trying to make her take the fever med, only succeeded at 230pm. FIL went into a defensive mode when I commented to hubby that she missed her morning dose, that's why fever go up again.

Talk so loudly that it's so difficult to 'pian' her to take medicine, and that he hadn't had a single grain of rice for lunch. Of course, we know it's difficult to feed medicine. As if it was easy for us to feed her medicine at night and through the night. Hubby and I also hadn't had lunch at 230pm what cos we hardly slept last night so after back from PD, I pumped then had a nap then go over liao, no time to eat lunch also. :/

Kitsune,
Which fever medicine did PD prescribed to RaeAnne? Zach will reject the Panadol brand fever syrup. He will fight with me. However, if it's the other type of pink paracetamol by Drug Houses of Ausralia (DHA), he is ok.

Steph
Mylife here answering your page...will check and let u know here ok!!

Kam
Hehe. U very contradicting leh. U said mah, u upgraded to Enfagrow Stage 3 mainly cos of the DHA, which is crucial for the brain development cos their brains grow so fast at this stage, then u said u dont buy into these IQ stuffs. Actually, a PD in HK told me that within the industry, these FM companies promote their FMs like it's good for brain lah, and they claim that they have DHA lah, and all the abbreviations in their advertisements that's supposedly in breast milk. But truth be told, NO FM can replicate the contents of BM. They can only claim. FM is more for calcium and the basic vitamins, the only difference of drinking which brand is more for which one your baby prefer and can tolerate (cases of constipation, heatiness, LS, etc) and also to fill their tummy. NONE of them make ANY difference in the development of the baby, esp the brain. Your baby's brain development is au naturel. Which FM u feed him provides no difference. So what wendy is trying to point out to u also means whether it's made in Msia or not also no difference. Cos u were saying earlier u're Malaysian thats why want to have Made in Msia FM mah
Haha. Alamak...who said earlier u super relax mum ah? Hehehehehehehe

kitsune
refer to my msg to Kam above. Actually over here in HK, the La Leche group told me, if u have BF ur baby past 1 year and would like to wean her, not necessarily wean her to FM. Can wean to cow's milk (f no allergy). The LLL told me dunno why Asians in particular like to wean babies to FM after 1st year when there's NO NEED to. Becos after 1st year, milk is no longer the main nutrients resource for the baby. A mommy here told me, she'd rather wean her baby to fresh milk than FM cos aft milk scandal, she said she doesnt trust processed food liao. A bit extreme lah...but can understand her fear cos we're all in the same boat. Come to think of it, after this milk scandal, on deeper thoughts, quite scary to know in our world relies so much on canned food, processed food and we dunno what they manufacturer put inside. But bo pian. Unless we be farmers ourselves! Hey, BIG HUGZ for u..must be tough taking care of RaeAnne while being sick yourself. Take care yah.

hi verene,

the pics are nice

japan
even agnes b bag there are more ex now cos of the exchange rate

travelling
mother and baby fair in feb 27 to 1st of march,concides with natas fair

<font color="0000ff">Verene,</font>

Javier looked so adorable!

<font color="0000ff">Kitsune,</font>

You must be having a tough time but do take care of yourself too! Poor RaeAnne, hope all of you feel better quickly and soon!

Verene
The pics v nice!!! Your boy v cooperative!!

re: milk powder
Try going to Europe and see their shelves of milk for kids. Very few only. IN sg, parents KS, must have wat DHA, AHA blah blah...
Tat day my frens and I were chatting abt this, and she said "aiya, look at the 3 of us, no take wat DHA or fish oil, oso go University wat!" Hahah....

photobook
But ah, I in a rush, the prog can hang a few times and my photos can all of a sudden din load and I had to redo!!! Sob

Mom2nat,

He only smile once and the photographer quickly snap snap...so the last 2 pics is continuous shots. Beginning, he cried and my mum and me and also the photographer got get him to smile and stay still. He threw and kick the oranges (fake ones) all over the place. but the results worth the tough time.

Thanks, mummies. Fighting with RaeAnne tonight. She usually latch on or suckle to sleep so it's very tough for her cos she's very tired but can't suckle. Also, she can't sleep cos of the pain, hear her cry until hoarse, very heart pain

Kam, how did you make Haore more comfortable when he has HFMD? We kept feeding her cold drinks which she loves but the effect doesn't last long enough for us to make her sleep. End up she has to scream for almost one hour until she's so tired and knock out.

Blackbatz, it's the pink type but it's sticky so she still doesn't like it. Put in the fridge so that it's cold but still need to use syringe to force feed it down.

Mom2nat,
Ya..very sianz..I also have the same problem when I did it with Pixart, the Malaysian company..Final product resolution no good le..So now thinking of trying HP.

Can give me the weblink of the photobook..would like to explore...Zach's photos all stored on HDD and CD..No hard copy

Mom2nat
Hahahha. U veli funny...Btw, what's this photobook u using. Order to print? I also want...can recommend bor?

Kitsune
Aiyoh...I read oredi also can imagine n feel how heartbreaking it is for u. Try asking hubby to sling her (or any other carrier) and rock her to sleep? I think Kam's hao re that time likenot so jialat leh. And he seems to recover quite fast leh, tio bo kam? BIG BIG hugz for kitsune and raeanne

Mylife, ya lor, very trying period for us.
I did ask him to sling her but he said if he sling her, it'll be even more uncomfortable for her. Think he also sayang her lar though his arms are also tired from the carrying and patting. And it's very fretful sleep so she'll sleep then cry then wake up then got to pat again. :p

verene
hey nice pix!! worth the $$ hor? ah the oranges are fake?!?! No wonder look so nice and PERFECT hahaha. Did Maryann take for u? Was someone holding the firecracker?

mylife
u know what, the Abbot rep who called me said that it's better for kids until 6yo to drink FM rather than fresh milk coz FM (esp THEIR FM) contains all sorts of added stuff that fresh milk dun hv. Coz i think they hv my record - that my elder boy has been drinking fresh milk since 2yo. I dowan to waste my breath (and hp airtime!) to argue with her, so i just "hor hor hor, thank u".
re: processed food
> For adults, our systems are more mature to filter the harmful stuff, compared to kids' systems. Furthermore, we shouldn't overeat any particular food item... always hv a balanced diet &amp; eat all food in moderation right? For the melamine scandal, the saddest thing is that formula milk is the ONLY THING that the babies drank... which baby has different brands of formula for day &amp; afternoon &amp; night?! (Anyway, different brands, all also kena poisoning right) The only nutrient source is also the cause of the poisoning... their kidneys still incapable of processing the poison la, whole day drinking FM, the kidneys overloaded &amp; overworked! that's why kidney failure. Very poor thing, the babies. When the scandal first broke, i felt so poor thing for all of them, i couldn't bear to look at the pictures.

gd morning all

verene
the pics are very nice. where did u get the costume? My Javier is going for his shoot on the 22nd.... heehee.. hopefully it will go well.
(just realised ur son also called Javier?) hee

wendyg
really ah? he will forget daddy? so sad lei... like tat i show him daddy's photo can? hee...
yesterday my hubby want to talk to him on the phone, but he push it away....

Verene,

Nice pix!!! Can use this pix to print CNY greeting cards and send to your families :)

Kitsune,

Whatever she is willing to take, continue to give her that, and don't bother to try other things for now. And whatever posture/way she can sleep best, then stick to that and don't worry too much about later, once she recovers, you can easily change her back to the normal routine. I remembered the PD said one of the med she gave also functions as pain-killer to soothe the mouth ulcer pain. Maybe you can check with your PD if RaeAnne really feel very uncomfortable. Fever will be up and down, even if you feed the med regularly, if feeding med is a big struggle, can ask for suppository from PD. Take good care!

When Hao Re had very bad sore throat, he refused almost everything and difficult to sleep. So I have to carry him, he's like a koala bear, cling on to me almost the whole day, he can only sleep on my body, but also not for long, woke up every hour or so. Once the ulcer is gone, he resumed to the usual diet. The HFMD that time not so bad, cos he recovered fast. The stomach flu that time worse, he was very hungry but once he drank/ate, vomitting everything out, so more hungry, and so cannot sleep well, and also cling on me almost 24 hours. It's tiring. Leave everything else behind, don't think of work, don't think of anything, everything else can wait, now just focus on RaeAnne and yourself.

Mylife,

Aiyoh, difficult to convey my message correctly lah........

I was saying I decided to switch to Stage 3 now is because Stage 3 contains more DHA and other nutritions that is more suitable for my boy now, that is when comparing with stage 2, and not comparing with breastmilk or any other brands of FM. I am sure know that breastmilk is the best and even the best FM brand (as they claim) can no way be close to replicate all the goodies in breastmilk.

I said I don't buy in the "IQ" thingy not in reference to the DHA thing, but how they advertise their brand as "IQ", as in if your kid drink this, his/her IQ will be better than other. I compared the nutritions on most of the FM brands before (okay, maybe I am not that relax after all in some instances), really not much different on nutrition value, a bit, minor difference here and there. It's a very stiff competition, so they have to use all means to advertise their product. I chose Enfa not because it's the ex FM, it's because Hao Re's cousin drinks this and it suits Hao Re, exactly like what you pointed out.

It depends on how well the kid is taking solid at this stage and what are the food we give. Enough nutrition has to be provided, if can't get most from solid, the main source of nutrient is still from FM, and thus the added nutrition in FM is still important at this stage. Just like taking multi-vit for adult. Yes, agree, development of the kid cannot be link to FM direclty, unless it's malnutrition, but nowadays in countries we live in, malnutrition is rare to see. As long as the kid receives sufficient nutrition, he/she will develop well as thier peers.

And the final statement - to let my boy drink made in malaysia FM, it's just a joke lah, and it's a silly reason to convince myself to buy FM from Malaysia cos it's way cheaper!!! I already said it's no different regardless the country of manufacture, but to some mummies, this is important.

Next time better don't say too much.... or don't want to answer Wendyg's question, Wendyg's question too "chim" for me :)

Kitsune,
Poor mummy and baby...it's very tiring to comfort a sick baby but all they want is a cuddle, why not try to let her sleep on/with you?? Sometimes they also need to cry to release their stress and uncomfort...tell her gently it's ok to cry but not so hard otherwise she'll feel even more pain. It's sounds ridiculous but she'll understand what you're telling her. If feeding medicine is a problem, try not to make it a big event and have everyone gather to hold her down or watch her swallow...she'll resist even more. Just need 1 or 2 adults if really bo bian, explain to her that she needs to take her medicine in order to recover and feel better, just need her to open her mouth a little and swallow the medicine. The adults need to stay calm then the baby will feel calm and secure as well and more likely to co-operate.

wendyg/mylife,
I'm also considering switching my boy to fresh milk...will check with my PD next week during the 12 mth check-up. I don't believe those AHA, DHA, AA, etc stuff. My concern is that formula is generally sweeter than fresh milk and also convenience lah. If he can take fresh milk then travelling would be easier since fresh milk is available everywhere, no more bottles, thermal flask, formula, etc...hooohooo!

The Abott nutritionist also told me Gain is the best formula, closest to bm and with all those "additional stuff", much better than Friso which my boy is currently drinking....duh. I also told her hor hor hor, take the sample and give to my colleague...hehe. In my mind I'm thinking all formula is the same, why should I change to a more expensive brand if my boy is happy with Friso, putting on weight and pooing everyday...hahaha.

morning.
wah why? war against enfa and gain ah? haha. anyway tried #1 on similac before. developed phlegm thus switched back to dumex and sticked to it faithfully.
why no one mentioned dumex leh? no one drinking dumex mamil gold? good. all give me your dumex mamil gold step 3 then. kam sia ah! hee.

ernmum
1yo can switch to step 3 liao.. save $$..

kam
ahhh, u notice i didn't ask any qstns in my post.

yvonne
u're referring to those UHT milk, tetra pack, for convenience. My elder boy drinks fresh milk, those in 1 litre cartons, hv to keep refrigerated, expiry within 2-3 wks.. fresher than those that hv 1 year expiry date right? Actually i'm not those fanatics.. must eat organic, cannot eat yesterday's food etc. But coz i drink HL milk, my boy also drinks those carton fresh milk lor. But he drinks the milk warmed up.. will put in Avent bottle warmer for few minutes to warm up. We prefer him to take warm food/ milk/ water etc.
But for HK trip, he drink from those UHT cartons, just stick in the straw.

morning
i see the FM posts until blur liao

mei, my nephew (5.5yo) and niece (almost 3yo)both drinking mamil gold leh, both are bright and clever kids (only their parents never teach them stuff, but then again, cannot comment much, coz not my kids. u see the way they slack sure *pengsan* one)

abt the milk, aiyah whatever milk we give never mind, as long as our babies are healthy.

yesterday night stay over at my mil place, my boy just don't want me. keep wanting my mil to hold him. when put him to sleep, just want por-por to pat him to sleep instead of me. when i held him, he was crying as though i tortured him. very sad~

kitsune, jiayou and take care of yourself too!

sorry can i ask, if i have bin tins of FM, but my mil dont want such a big tin (she say her kitchen no space. everytime bring things over keep saying her house full. yes, full of JUNK lor), can i transfer the FM into a smaller tin? err, will get contamination or not? shouldn't be right?

wendy, i'll sms u later about some stuff you wanted to buy cheaply

please, who wants my FREE spa/facial voucher?? Just take it and use coz i don't need it! Just take and go pamper yourselves!

Wendyg,

Eh..I am not sure who is Maryann..It is a lady with long hair. There is someone helping to hold the firecracker - short hair lady. The one processing the receipt seems to be the youngest girl there. Not sure, who is who. LOL.

Jess, your shoot on 22nd is the normal package? The costume I bought from BP section at $18 including postage. Saw the exact costume(diff brand though) at OG selling at $30+ and chinatown selling at $22 or so. So it is pretty worth it at buy at BP for this design. She has lots of other designs too. but there are some stalls selling this types of costume at reasonable prices. I went to shop at the pasar malam after the photo shoot that day. Our boy has the same name. He is Javier Sng.

goodbb/violetice//blackbatz/kam,
thanks for the compliments.

wendyg,

Yes, you are right. You said something to ponder for the evening, you never asked what I think hoh. Okay, lesson learnt :)

Mei,

Not war btw Enfa and gain. Discussion on the various issue of various FM.

Jan Mummies WTG

PIXIEPIXEL is giving away:-
1) complemenraty (aka FREE) spa/facial voucher @ Rustic Nirvana, valid till 27Mar09, 1st mummy to say aye aye i will give her...just pay me local postage for mail
2) ikea high chair, without the straps