(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Maureen Lim,

last month i brought my baby to see doc cos she sneeze quite often and for rashes too. The doc gave me a cream for her rashes. It's works quite well. Morning apply, at night will be gone.

Sorry, i can only tell u tmr cos the medicine at home. tonight i see le let u noe. I got the medicine from clinic, dun think pharamacy have e same one. I will let u noe tmr then u go pharmacy check lo.

VioletIce,

Ian drink how much each feeding?

My Gisele drink 100ml every 3 hours. But i suppose 2months should drink 150ml each feeding but lesser time, am i right?

Ah Capp
My baby oso wake up for night feeding. Many babies do! They are still so young. last time my #1, forever wakeful. Prob slept thru the night after 1 yr old!

how are all of you ... have been MIA heehee ..... miss chatting with u gals....

re: MIM sling

i use that top bring Alyssa out on the very 1st day after her full mth. Is a bit tight but i feel she is comfy cos the moment she is being carry inside she fall asleep.

Re: Yoga

I cant access the webbie leh .... only weekday class? cos i will gg back to work on 12 mar

<font color="0000ff">AhCapp,</font>

Dr Heng is recommended by my gynae. Glad u r comfortable seeing him. He's very soft spoken person hor..keke. Anyway, I also recommended him to Janbb &amp; she like his service too. The only cons is that Kidslink charges abit ex. Maybe i will change to pioneer mall PD (my niece been seeing) once Zander reach 1yr old or complete the necessary immunisation. Did u took up the optional vaccination (Pneumococcal &amp; Rotavirus )?

<font color="ff6000">hi QQ,</font>
welcome back! Though u MIA awhile, i still read yr blog..keke. Aiyo, tong tong is so cute, she is very stable in the stroller huh, can sit upright? My boy keep fidgeting when i placed him in the MacLaren stroller.
U went rebonding too? Hairstyle looks great

I have no time to do rebonding &amp; hair color
If got extra time, i quickly catch my beauty sleep lo! My eyes b'com panda:p
I am planning to return work on 10 or 17 Mar.

bebe yan,

my gal is 7 weeks plus, also drinking 100ml per feed nw. sometimes she also unable to finish them. i also dont force her, cos she will puke!

ya lor, even if she drink it. later she sure will puke one.. there was once she puke until like fountain, scare e hell out of me.. Her expression like nothing happen. i so heartpain..

ur gal is 7wks n drink 100ml, mine is 9wks le.

Steph tats temp one ... my stlist say rest awhile b4 rebond os i dye my hair ....

No she cant sit upright yet but her neck is very sturdy liao wor

mom2nat

Gina Ford's theory is we can actually train our baby not to demand for feed at night (i.e. after midnight), even when the baby is only a few weeks old.

Anyway, I doubt mine can do without feeding at night. I checked with PD today. He said if fuel tank empty, of course need to top up mah. =P

In an ideal world, my baby will sleep thru the night with me. =)

steph

I will discuss with my hb about all the optional vaccinations. So many to choose from! I am also considering both Pneumococcal &amp; Rotavirus. I did asked Dr Heng. He sounded like Pneumococcal is quite important.

Oh yes, the fees for PD is expensive. Hmm.. my colleague told me if normal cold or flu can bring to GP right?

bebe yan
My gp said normally by 1 month old, baby can drink up to 120ml. But I think each baby is different, as long as Gisele is putting on weight than I see no need in worrying about the amount she drinks.

AhCapp
I gave Ian the rotavirus as I find it's important also. Supposed to take the oral med at 2nd month and 4th month. $95/each dosage. Do you have yesterday TODAY papers? They have a full page article on the importance of rotavirus.

<font color="0000ff">AhCapp,</font>

JanBB told me that she opt for 6in1, Pneumococcal &amp; Rotavirus - 3 to 4 times dose interval 2mths, total abt $1.3K...govt gave baby bonus, half used up for these vaccination liao.
Me &amp; hb still considering the optional vaccines but MIL strongly encourage us to take it up cos she say although is expensive but "what ifs" baby fall sick next time due to no immunisation against these infection, the number of times that bb need to c PD &amp; the $$ spend will be double lo...so i think we will opt for it
to play safe.
As for normal flu &amp; cough, my niece still c her PD at Pioneer Mall. If GP clinic also seeing babies/kids for any minor illnesses, shld be ok to c them bah.

Steph, me suppose to go back to work on 10 Mar but due to school holiday I extend one more week to 17 Mar. Now on maternity leave and yet office keep on calling me since I am doing confinement. So fed up of them.

Now my baby is drinking about 120ml. He still wait up for feed. I give him latch on. It is easier for me so that I won't feel engorge.

violetIce,

Re: Rotavirus
so if we missed the oral dosage at 2nd month, can we let baby take later ? BB next review with PD is 1st wk May (4mths later).

Maureen,

sama sama, office (my boss) also call me during my confinement, ask me to help submit monthly report?? I told him i really tired, busy bfing, taking care of bb, no time to sleep...let alone do report!

Steph
If I'm not mistaken, rotavirus must be taken when young, should be 2nd month and 4th month, my doc said, if missed out then no need to take as won't be effective. Why don't you call your doc and enquire if let baby take now, is it ok..

Pneumococcal
Anyone else besides JanBB taking the above? Am considering it too, if want to, will take when Ian is 3 months old. Nowadays babies also very "ke lian", so many injections... sighz.

My boss still ok. Only the one who cover my job keep on calling. Already wrote down the steps how to do and teach him liao. Still call me. Worse another person from the other dept also call me. Even when I want to bathe for the baby. Told her I am not free and never called her back too. Next time must reject the call liao.

bebeyan

my bb is 9 weeks old and im feeding her every 4 hrly 80ml... at times 100ml, very little rite?? i second wat violetice says... every baby is different, as long as she is putting on weight healthily i dun think u shld worry. if fed too much, danelle will puke too.

violetice

bb ian jab the rotavirus alrdy? does it cause any fever? and is it a must to jab at 2nd and 4th month???

sassy,
Rotateq, an oral vaccine in liquid form, gives immunity from four strains of the virus and is administered in three separate doses, usually to babies between the ages of six and 32 weeks.

i'm back!

re:vaccinations
i am also going for both of the optional ones: rotavirus &amp; pneumococcal. <font color="ff0000">violetice</font> My PD clinic in Sg say rotavirus is from 3rd mth onwards leh..i noted there's no vaccination in 2nd month leh.

re: intake of milk
before i left sg, had a long discussion with my PD in SBCC, TMC. he said bb intake at our bb's age is about 90-150ml. I asked cos so far i am doing direct latch and i dunno how much Rylee is drinking. I told him when i go back HK, would like to start EBM and bottle feed so dunno how much. He thinks Rylee is on the high side, big drinker based on her healthy weight gain, so prob 150. he did say AVERAGE is 120ml. So <font color="ff0000">bebeyan</font> dont worry la! It varies from bb to bb.

Re: Gina Ford
IMHO, i personally think we dont need to follow her teaching strictly by the book. We all know every babies are diff individuals, plus our asian and SG culture certainly dont allow us to follow her rules of 7pm to 7am bedtime. I think we shud play by ear and apply her methods, but to a diff timing lo. As long as we teach our babies to a routine, shud be ok bah? Another book a fren in HK recommended is Tracy Hoggs. She was also mentioned in one of the baby magazines (forgot which one liao)..also teaching about routines. I havent buy the book yet..dunno if it's good though.

Talking about routines, i dare not think about it now. Yday wanted to implement Rylee to sleep at about 9-ish..backfired! Sponge her, carry and rock, eyes bigger than mine. In the end, she still sleep at 12-ish after my last feed at 11-ish...sigh. Also think she's going thru another growth spurt, been feeding very regularly!!

AhCapp
I oso hope my baby sleep thru the night. But well, they will be babies for tat long only. Last time my girl so so sticky to me (now still lah), then I dread tat i need to carry her, esp when out. But now hor, I can hardly carry her liao, cos so heavy. So usually I ask her sit on my lap and hug her.

yvonne, ah capp
when i go back to work, here's what's gonna happen. Already rehearsed in my head liao..
> reach home 6.30pm. Bathe &amp; feed baby and get him to sleep. Then i have until 8pm to take dinner and shower. Then my elder boy will return from his walk &amp; i gotto get him started on his bedtime routine - shower, story, milk, zzzz.
If all goes well, both boys will be sound asleep &amp; i can rest by 9pm.

i also full time working mom.. work efficiently, knock off on time, go home immed so that bb can sleep as early as possible. So i dun meet frens for dinner after work, no shopping after work, no errands, no detours. <font color="ff6000">s.a.c.r.i.f.i.c.e.</font>

babe
During first week home, he slept 5hr at night. Now he wakes every 3hrly to eat. aiyo i'm so scared it'll become his habit, just like #1.

mom2nat
1yr old? u're lucky.. my elder boy still cries/ whines in his sleep. every night. Husband in same room as him, report to me every morning.

steph
i thot rota vaccine is 2 doses only. But confirm it has to be administered to babies under 6 months. Coz that time i only got to know abt it when my elder son was over 6m, so missed it for him.

re: pneumococc
>> If my elder son din hv to start childcare at 18m, i would've waited until he was 2YO, then jab once can liao. Small babies need 3 jabs, each jab $170. Kids over 2YO 1 jab enuf. Save $340!
Higher risk &amp; recommended to jab if your child is under 5YO and attending childcare.

Hi.

Anyone can recommend a good PD located at Bedok Reservoir area?

Because I gave birth at Gleneagles &amp; my gynae recommended a PD there too. But very exp &amp; inconvenient for me.

So I prefer a good PD around my house so that I can bring baby there in case of emergency.

hi mommies, anyone interested to attend the following??? i was thinking of attending this thereafter cont. with our #3 gathering.

PUBLIC FORUM
PREVENTION OF PNEUMOCOCCAL DISEASE (PD)IN CHILDREN

Value of Vaccination
How to Bring Up A "Smart Kid"

This forum is jointly organised by Singapore Paediatric Society and Wyeth Pharmaceuticals

As there's quite abit of information on the advertisement, it would be best if one could get hold of the ST copy

Date of Forum: 8th March 2008
Time: 2pm - 5pm (Eng &amp; Chinese Forums held concurrently)
Venue: Meritus Mandarin
Fee: $10 p/p (foc goodie bag)

For more info, pls call Katherine or Shoo Fern at 6733 7666 (Wyeth)

(supposed to complete reply-slip as per printed on ad n mail to Wyeth office.

Anyone's baby still fuss and cry in the evening? Only mine ah? My colicky boy will usually start fussing and crying by around 5-6pm and will only settle by 10pm. In between will cry, carry, feed, sleep a little and the cycle continues until his last feed at 10pm. This seems to be his "routine"...haha.

Anyone's baby like to poo in the middle of the night? Mine does...he usually poo 2 or 3 times a day and will always "reserve" one poo in the middle of the night. So usually after his feed at about 3pm he will start to "gek sai"...sometimes he will poo after I change his diaper somemore...driving me nuts!

yvonne, you very lucky already, my girl gek sai at every feed, she is on BM, so that means its every 2 hours she feed. Imagine, she drink halfway, mouth sucking at milk, at the same time also wanna make sound to gek sai and its very loud, then half way after gek sai, she will make a very loud "pooooooo" sound. hahaha.

If at home, she will want us to changer her pampers, then after that she will resume to finish drinking her milk. Weird habit.

Just now, brought her to the clinic, she pooo so loudly, the old lady next to me, stare at her k.

After this, I think I will bring my girl back to the PD for her injections instead of GP, my girl poo, but there was no place to change her
, and the people around so unsympathetic, my girl fuss a little and actually got people make the "tsk" sound
. This time I went with my CL, imagine next time I alone how to manage.

I will take the rotavirus and the pnuemococal one as well.

Hi, QQ, welcome back.

Ah Capp, my BB until now has no routine, wake up all times of the night. Drink a bit sleep. Daytime also like that, sometimes BF 1 side, cry like I'm trying to poison, pat her, calm her down, 1 hr later, cry for milk again, got to feed the other side. She feeds so often and always throw tantrum while feeding until my CL also bo bian. Think it's because of colic and also because she hasn't poo poo in 2 days. Sigh, last time poo too much also worry, now no poo also worry.

If I have a choice, will let her sleep at 9:30pm everyday. Got sometime to bond with her while at the same time, enough sleep if she were to go to pre-school.

WendyG, mom2nat, if it's the school hols week, I sure can make it cos hubby will be at home to look after BB. Haha, Ikea Tampines I even happier.

mylife

thanks. i brought her for vaccination 2 weeks ago, the nurse say she's growing very well. she gained 2kg within a month. Hope she can drink more. Cos it's like 50ml lesser than normal intake. Which is quite a lot.

Steph
Thanks for the article, will read it. I think I'm also quite kiasu, more than likely will let Ian take the jabs. My hubby, however, was convinced by his colleagues, saying babies take too much jabs, the toxics inside the body will not be released. Geez. Rotavirus only 2 doses as mentioned by my doc.

Sassy
Ian took the rotavirus together with the 6 in 1 jab last Saturday. His body temperature did went up but only for a day or lesser.

mylife
Is it? My friend's baby also took rotavirus in 2nd month.

bebe yan
Doc said the normal weight gain for babies at this time is 500 grams a month so your baby is gaining more than enough, don't worry.

anyone knows for non-beastfeeding mum normally the menses will come around how many month after delivery?When can we actually check again we pregrant or not pregrant?

sagittaurius,
i delivered in Jan, bf for a month in Jan &amp; my menses return yesterday! Sian
Gynae told me if the discharge is brownish, it could still be the lochia. If it's fresh red blood then it is menses.
When did u delivered? If u r not bfing &amp; no sign of menses for 3 mths or so, buy a home pregnancy kit to chk if +ve or -ve. Or chk wif yr gynae when u go for pap smear review.

seem like u all bb not drinking alot... or rather i think i m overfeeding my son...zzz... he drink 130ml every 3 hours and he is only 5weeks old leh.. piangz.. sometime 2hours plus he ask for milk liao wor

i think my menses is coming