(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font color="0077aa">Luvv</font>

thanks ah!! can claim must claim ah.... past few months not been working so... this baby poos frequently enough to burn a hole in my pocket. some more i read the vaccine shots are like $400.. and becos i hiao buy so many clothes for her, man yue people also give clothes, i need to get a new wardrobe.

*sings* money money money... is so funny... in a rich mom's world!

<font color="0077aa">wendyg</font>

oh... tats why combi dont make gadgets to hang bags huh... i see... oops have been cursing up the wrong tree! haha

Babe, my mil and maid is helping me. My elder girl is already P1 this year 2nd child is going to 3 yrs old this coming Jun. My 3rd child birth weight is 3.47kg and 49 cm long. He is born at 36 weeks and 2 days.

Babe, I found that my supply start to increase liao. For this past one week, I only pump in the morning when I wake up, then latch on all the way only give him EBM and FM if I feel that he has not enough milk after latching on. Now I pump can see the increase.

maureen, when u initially pump, how much u getting? I trying to persist now with the pumping I start yesterday. I think ur ms shld be good, ur boy growing so well with the weight and growth in length. Any #2 mommies got experience like me with bb not growing v much? Hope I dun stunt his development with my insistence of tbf.

Babe, starting I pump only 60-70ml and very difficult to get let down. Now even 1.5-2hr I will feel that milk going to flow out.

I want to tbf, but my son jaundice is too long liao and quite high in the beginning. So I give him FM twice a day and water to help to bring down.

I have just forward some articles regarding Breastfeeding to Steph, meien and Windy. Anyone interest email to me [email protected] so that I can forward to you.

maureen thks...Now if I pump straight after latch get 10-30ml only. I shall cont n c how it goes. Yes, difficult to get letdown by pumping for me too. Sometimes can feel nipple pain but not full breast.

Maureen,
What do you mean by "stop to pump"? Which pump are u using? One side pump and one side latch on. I find it quite "siong" on my hands.

kitsune,
hope you're feeling better now

windy,
yes must claim if you can claim, don't need to save money for govt :p

maureen,
can you send to me at [email protected] thanks!

how far in the extent do u let your maid handle your children? i realise that my maid is more interested in doing the housework, she'll respond to my girl's crying but will always try to make her sleep even though my girl don't want to sleep so that she can go back to her other chores. I had already told her that baby is the 1st priority, the other things never do nevermind, but a lot of things i say fallen on deaf ears. Till now i don't dare to leave my girl alone with her for long hours.

sorry to intrude, but can i find out does any of you have effective massage lady to recommend , those tat can make tummy flat and figure back ?

Hi, mummies.

Wonder if any of you have idea how to slim down the tummy. Any method or cream to apply?

Coz it is nearly a month &amp; I have done my post natal massage (7 sessions). It was quite effective as my tummy is alot smaller than when I discharged from hospital. But as I had rashes after the massage, I did not ask for additional massage sessions. So now have to look for other possible ways to make tummy smaller.

I still got a good 5 inches to go back to my pre-pregnant waistline.

krystle
my massage lady told me to just contract stomach muscles all the time, ie suck in tummy. She said this will help to reduce the flab wor. Coz i'm c-sect, not recommended to exercise until months later.

wendyg,

Thanks for your advice. I will try that out. I am also applying Clarins Body Treatment Oil every night to massage. The counter lady told me that the oil also can be used after post delivery for firming tummy.

lynn
sorry didnt c ur msg earlier, scrolled back to read then see....yah dat time i super high tide, baby crying super loud, me alone in bedroom, so i carried her but buay tahan, had to go or i'll pee in the room, so i went into my bathroom and pee lo, while holding her, then use one hand to wipe and then wash that hand lo.

babe
yah lo...seems to be very fast, but to me, its kinda slow liao...u know dat time i was crying and crying. I really bu se de Spore and the support group here one...everything familiar, ask only, can go out and buy. But over there, back to square one, any remedy also dunno where to get. Ur frens buy nursing cover from where?? I also wan a gathering...even a small one between us is fine!
Anyone really up for it?

Verene
Yup, gonna be a housewife there in HK.

Luvv/Windy
How to claim maternity pay if self employed cos me too self employed here....but i read from CPF website must submit proof of lost of income while on maternity leave. Dunno how to do dat cos me own a nail spa but i'm not one of the manicurists. Actually kinda sad too cos after much consideration, will be selling the business cos dont think can handle it liao.

wendy
yah my gynae is the one who told me young infants better for traveling, makes sense to me altho i have no experience. I can TOTALLY imagine your situation of your boy when u described it.

Ayyyy...anyone wans to go HK, must come look for me ah...think sassymum planning one date not confirm...dat time was it Lynn or Luvv say also planning ah?

mylife....I'm sure we can meet up somehow...anyone care to openhse? Easier when wanna nurse bb or some tea at not so noisy plc..btw, I might b going HK or Taiwan for a break in the next few mth. First trip with my hb n 2yr toddler overseas n all the more, bb...heehee....
I not sure where she bought. Mayb nu ren jie...she sent me as gift..

Jeslyn, Wendy,

Thanks for info. Coz very confused by the way kkh staff in handling. Apparently got diff in private and subsidized rate but they also not sure like that.

Does your pd recommend you the pneumococcal and rotavirus jab as well?

Windy, yup the combi basket below very small, you think I can buy those hooks and hang just light stuff? I also got the maclaren but then its a quite bulky for me to manage alone. Whereas the combi weight is good for me. My girl cried today when put her on the stroller, but car seat she ok. DUH.

Mylife, I also got the nursing cover today. Nice
. Now going to try figure out how to use outside only. You wear nursing tops or normal tops? Imagine normal tops a bit difficult to manage le.

Hi kitsune,
Hope you're feeling better now.

Me also have hives during my confinement and got to stop all the heaty confinement food. WEnt to see Eu Yan Sang n few GP but didnt recover and finally one of the GP I saw gave me anti biotics then I recovered. Must take good care okie

Luvv and Blackbatz, I have sent to both of you.

Actually I don't have bed just mattress on the platform, so my leg is on the floor. One side carry him latch on, the other side pump using my tight use a support.

Luvv, I didn't let the maid handle my baby. I started to employ maid when I gave birth to my 2nd child. Also the same I never let her handle. I look after them myself. The other 2 already big liao so the maid can handle. But come to making milk for them wedo ourselves.

Blackbatz, everyday I only pump once in the morning. Whole day latch on till next day morning. Only pumpif he sleep. I am using Avent manual pump. Thinking of getting ameda dual pump.

rotavirus vaccine is taken orally, not a jab.
as for pneumoc jab, just fyi that the younger the baby, the more jabs required. Can't remember what's the youngest cut off age.. but baby needs 3 jabs. If u wait until kid is abv 2yo, only 1 jab needed. Each jab is $170. Actually if the child isn't going to childcare, there's lower chance of contracting the sickness so no need to jab.

Is anyone seeing the PD at Paediatric Centre @ Hougang Mall? How's the doctor?? I'm thinking of switching PD since I'm staying in Hougang so everytime bring my boy back to TMC quite inconvenient.

Hi babe,

it will good to have a gathering. had mention to hubby abt the gathering open house. he says we can provide the place provided that everyone is ok with dogs and the venue, my place is in sengkang. as for dogs, they are kept in the balcony, locked. not allowed to roam around the house for the time being as my bb sleeps in the living room in the afternoon.

RE: pneumococcal and rotavirus jab

I saw the price list for these 2 jabs at my boy's PD clinic. they are very costly. think both cost more than 150 each...cant remember how much, one of them cost almost 200 plus consultation. I just took a quick glance.

Do you think it is necessary? My friend signed up for the full package...6 in 1 and for these 2..cost her 1000+ at TMC PD.

Don't know is it kana urine infection or what. Mine flow until now still haven't stop although using panty liner will do. But already 5 weeks. Last thur gynae gave me 1 week of antibotics to clear.

verene
rotavirus vaccine is taken orally, not a jab. It's abt $90 per dose.. needs 2 doses.
Pneumococ jab.. each jab is abt $170. The younger the child, the more jabs required. Abv 2YO only 1 jab needed. If your kid dun go childcare, no need to jab coz less chance of getting it.

if sengkang... i'll try to make it! i'm at punggol

Maureen,
Thanks. Received it liao.
One hand latch, the other hand using manual pump. Really must kow tow to you. Not an easy feat.

When I feel like it, will use my Medela Dual Electric. Most times, I would use Avent Manual. Like you, I'm considering getting Ameda. Even thinking of PIS is my hubby approves. Going to be second month soon, it's kind of "boh hua" to buy PIS.

blackbatz
if u going for #3, then buy la.

mylife
mothercare got sale (up to 50%) @ pkway &amp; centrepoint.. for autumn/winter clothes. Just nice for your return to HK.

Wendyg,
Don't think I want a #3 liao. BTW, how long do we have to take the fenugeek?

Totally agree with you that travelling with younger baby is easier. When I brought my son to Sdyney for his first trip at 15 mth, it was like bring half the house. He had a luggage of his own packed with a lot of things. My mum even brought a slow cooker to cook porridge for him cos he was a fussy eater.

full month celebration- praying to "Bed Goddess"

Need your advice regarding full month. For those who have celebrated or are celebrating baby's full month, did you pray to the "Bed Goddess" aka "Chuang2 Mu3"??? Does it mean we have to pray till the child turns 16 years old? Anyone heard of such sayings?

Blackbatz, I was thinking of getting ameda too. Next month going back to work so I want to save time on expressing before I leave the house for work. If you intend to bf long, then it is ok to invest. How long do you plan to bf?

Itok, yes I did pray chuang mu for all my kids. Full month, CNY eve etc.

Hi Maureen,

So when u prayed to Chuang Mu for full month, did you continue to pray every month as I heard have to pray till child turns 16 years old??

Or u just pray once and that's it?

Maureen,
I plan to BF till July. Me only back to work in July. Based on my previous experience, the minute I go back to work. Hard to express. Milk also not tasty. #1 rejected my BM.

Thot maybe with a "better" machine, can try to express in the night or morning.

Now BB getting heavier, latching is a bit difficult. Today, my arms were aching from all the carrying. Must paste salon pas.

Hihi, everyone

Lynn, Elmo, Thanks, I'm much better now. Really scary to be itching all over. Hope I'll never have to experience that again. I'm back to BF today, though BB's DD still more than SS. Sigh.

Itok, I'm doing full month for BB tomorrow. Celebration at my ILs place, ordering from Fu Kwee, hope the food is good cos CL said I can eat the food except for curry &amp; seafood. Hee.

Never heard of Chuangmu leh. But my CL said BB &amp; I must bathe with flower water, BB must cut hair and fingernails. Must ask her about Chuang Mu.

WendyG, Blackbatz, me very gian to travel leh esp now that got Natas fair but very difficult to match hubby's timing cos must choose school hols.

Mylife, if I go HK, will sure look for you. Hubby and I went to pray before where there is a big goddess of Mercy by the water (don't even know if is it called qian sui wan cos it was part of city tour?) to wish for a child. So, must go back and 'huan yuan' one day.

Just finished celebrating my baby's full month just now. A bit tired and sleepy now. But still must pump milk. Thank goodness it's weekend, I am getting my hb to help me bottle feed my baby while I pump milk.

Night feeding...
For those of you who are bottle feeding your baby, how often does your baby demand for milk? I am trying to "stretch" his feeding time from 2.5/3hr (normal daytime demand feeding timing) to 4hrs last night. So last night, if he doesn't cry for milk, I don't wake him up. Is this ok? I read about something like this in Gina Ford's book about trying to feed the baby most of his daily demand from 7am to 11pm, so that he will wake up less often at night for milk. Anyone doing something like this?

Ah Chapp,
Should be ok. For my BB, if his last feed is at 10 plus. Most likely, can tong until 3 plus 4 am (but I latch on). If lucky, can stretch till 4 plus.

Kitsune,
Hope the hives' nightmare is overall liao. Teachers got constrain la.. As for me, die..die will go for holidays this May.