(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

pixie,

yesterday i had Lo Hei lunch with sales dept (boss treat) at Ah Yat Seafood (The Village) next to jurong bird park. Today is supplier treat...gosh...my pant/skirt is getting tighter:p

wahhh bubble tea again *envy* which outlet so ex at $3.50/cup? the new outlet u mentioned at bedok? pai seh i forgot the name liow.

yvonne,
i wanna ask this silly question for a very long time liow...i heard pple said that A+ & B+ couple can have O+ baby...so is really true! So is only this combination that can produce O+ baby?

wah my hb won $ at IR

today's ST's article about this mother who starved her 1yr old boy to death coz the boy didnt say "amen" at the appropriate time.
she and her mother (i think?) belongs to a religious cult and thinks that god speaks through her mother and when her boy did not say "amen", her mother told her to starve the boy.

pixie,
got! I told him got recoup & win abit, gotta stop liow. He went with his 猪朋狗友:p He said Texas Hold'em & 3 CardP table games win & loss very fast ah.

Sigh, just want to rant. Very upset with ILs. Brought about 10 bottles of frozen EBM 2 days ago to deposit at their freezer (cos mine ran out of space). Hubby told FIL to mix about 50-60ml into RaeAnne's FM to help clear stock. We have been doing that for 1 month plus liao. But since RaeAnne is there in the daytime, I can clear my frozen stock faster if they help to mix in the EBM as well.

Then tonight he asked MIL if RaeAnne has been drinking the frozen EBM and she said no, don't want to give. I told her we have been mixing it for 1 month plus already, not that we just started it. And she just replied don't want again. No explanation, nothing. Hubby just looked at me and don't dare to say anything. I was damn upset but cannot confront them directly since hubby chose not to say anything. When I have a quiet moment with him, he told me bring the bottles back lor. His parents are not advocates of BF, what to do? :p Told hubby that's why I dislike having them to look after RaeAnne cos they never respect the decisions made by me as a mother. Worse reject my decision with no explanation at all.

Think I will start bringing RaeAnne home from school liao. If kenna blocked ducts cos no time to latch and pump then see TMC LC with baby n toddler in tow. If maid can't cope and no time to cook then order tingkat. Worse come to worse, pay my mum $ to come Mon, Wed n Fri to help. Will take one step at a time. As long as it's something $ can solve. There's no way I can communicate to them if they are being so backward and opininated. :/

Pauline: understand your point. My ILs also another kind. They want to help me to look after J here, but when they come, they complained no strength, now too old, it's hard to play with an active toddler. ;-(( Then as a DIL, who wants right? It's not that I want my Ils to help me coz I try to minimize the conflicts between us. Then we told them that I can manage 2 kids by myself, then they say, I am so proud, don't need their help. I really FAINT.
Dont know how to please them??

Steph,
Both my parents are B+ and my sis and I are B+ but my bro is O+ leh. So not necessary only A+ and B+ can produce O+?? Do I make sense? Think we need Kam to explain since she's the biologist here...heehee.

Kitsune/blessedbaby,
It's always a losing war for us DILs. Most hubby would prefer to keep their mouths shut so we gotta fend for ourselves but if we don't want to have direct conflict with in-laws then we just have to "ren" lor. Whatever we do/say they also got something to comment lah so now I just keep my mouth shut and try not to hear what they say...haha.

hello hello!!! I'm back to the island :) haven't had time to read all the old posts yet. but i can certainly answer your questions about the blood group.

<font color="ff0000">RE: BLOOD GROUP</font>,
Any combination can "produce" a O blood group baby, EXCEPT parent (either parent) with AB blood group. It has got to do with the dominant (A and B) and recessive (O).

Bloodgroup
Hb: O+
Me: O+
Bb: A+

This according to the doctor is impossible!! Ask me got take wrong baby home or not.... hee... We took blood test again to confirm... Then finally my gynae called a haemoglobin expert to explain to us.

If you guys noticed, the new IC no more blood group, cos blood group can change!!! Depending on which is dominant tat your bone marrow is producing!!! Wah piang!

Mom2nat,
Wah, yours is really a very rare case, but yes, it could happen. From the genetic point of views, actually it's more than just ABO, it's a lot more complex. But the ABO can explain for almost all cases, except some very rare ones, like yours :) but don't think the blood can just change like that wor.

Kam
When at the hosp, the PD who attended to Elliot can't explain to me, din bother to get back to me!! I ask my PD he oso v shock by the blood type. So i ask gynae, who oso puzzled... and after finding out the answer, he still tell me he learn something new. Hahaha...

kitsune &amp; vereneting,
I had post some of her pix in my facebook. But now she is less chubby after discharge. Plus she is having jaundice now.

Here a photo of her at Day 1
3675659.jpg

Hi, everyone. My DS is jan 2008 baby and he absolutely loves the swing. Anyone knows is there is any playround with the swing? I've been looking for one especially with the bucket kind of seat for infant/toddler.
Anyone has suggestion where is a nice playground for toddlers?

Morning all!!!

<font color="0000ff">Icy - Congrates! What a beautiful darling you have!</font>

Back to work today. Will be a busy week for me.

Both kids settling well to the routine, thanks goodness.

Yesterday evening, HR surprised us by asking 2 "WHY". The first why we couldn't really understand what he wanted to ask. The second why, he was asking why our neighbour didn't turn on the light. That's when we walked pass our neighbour's, he stopped at their door, and said, "喔,为什么关灯?". So cute, and we are hoping for more to come today. He was so happy spending the last 2 weeks back in Malaysia, and his speech has improved tremendously as there were many people (whom he is comfortable with) around to speak to him. Our boy grows up simply too fast!!!

While for my girl, she was the centre of attention everywhere we went. She is generally okay, happy and all. But started to reject bottle last few days, luckily I still latch her, so she was not starve. Hope the nanny can get her to drink from the bottle again.

Morning

Kam,
welcome back to SIN!
thanks for the explanation about the blood group, interesting!

wah Mom2nat, yours really rare...if i were to have a O+ baby which could happen, my hubby will sure look at me with doubt:p

Icy,
pretty Cystal...does she resemble X ?

Mandy, for blending, try grapes, apple , blueberries and strawberry, add pineapple if you have. Really yummy.

Verene, both me and hub non smoker/drinker

Pauline, don’t keep your blender and juicer! They really make healthy diet for your whole family wor. Ok, to motivate you, I made apple+carrot+beetroot via juicer on Saturday, apple+strawberry+Korean pear+plums via blender. Yummy yummy.

Steph, if ur hubby doesn’t smoke , will he still have the cigar smell ?? R fake measles = roseola?

Re: smoking.
What is really so nice about smoking?? The smell really makes me faint.

Kam, welcome back, 2 weeks holiday is really a luxury hor!!

steph &amp; tongtong,
Thanks! Yes, very nice holiday. But think my hubby will be getting stress up very soon again :-(

tongtong,
I also made ABC (apple+carrot+beetroot via juicer) last Sat. Yup, it's nice and feeling very healthy :)

A lot of people started smoking to release stress or out of curiousity. I remember during my A-level, our top student smokes even at school (illegally), and he said because he was very stress up.

Both me and hubby are non-smoker/drinker also.

tongtong.

yes hb will have a cigar smell on his working shirts but not strong/pungent type. I've got sensitive sense, if he smokes...he can't lie to me cos i will sure be able to tell. So far, he's honest to admit to me whenever i asked...he will always try to clear his breath by sucking a mint sweet or try not to puff an hr before heading home to us/kids. At work, he can't avoid it totally cos most of his colls smoke &amp; also due to peer pressure bah, he knows smoking is no good &amp; trying to cut down/quit if possible.
And i dun like cigar smell too, makes me cough &amp; rub eyes...luckily govt banned smoking in most air-con places/pubs/disco

ya fake measles = roseola, another name for it. Why?

tongtong, kam,

Where can we buy beetroot? NTUC available? Is it eaten as a veg or fruits? What is the chinese name for it? If taken beetroot on its own, how does it taste? sweet? pardon my questions ah cos nvr try beetroot before.
3677707.jpg

Yesterday R finally pooed after 3 days! His stools is semi soft but very thick...like an adult stools! hiyo...we concluded that he is of heaty body constitute as we monitor his stools pattern, texture &amp; his diet. He needs to drink barley water &amp; lin yang with dong gua in order to poo without being constipated!

steph,
Yup, I got the beefroot from NTUC. Wet market also have. I don't know its name in Chinese though. Can use beefroot to cook soup also. On its own, it doesn't really have any taste, a bit like raddish? The Brits have their way of eating the beefroot, but I forgot how liao, last time they taught me, but my memory fails me :-(

Re: Red eye
Remember last week I went to see doc, no MC. My left eye is still swollen and red leh. Going to see doc again , hopefully he gives me MC!!! :p

Kam, you mean ur hubby stress cuz got to take care of the kids ah?

Steph, your hubby is in sales line? You can get beetroot from NTUC or any supermarket, it is eaten as veg ( shredded as salad) or boil in soup, cant be eaten as fruit that way cuz it’s very hard, unless you get the canned one which is already soften and sweetened. So the best way to consume beetroot is either mix it with salad or juice it. the Chinese name is tian2 cai4 gen1 ( sweet veggie root) yea it’s sweet. I learned to eat beetroot when I was studying in Australia.

Tongtong,
no not the kids. His work. He has been a very good daddy and enjoys playing with the kids.

I wanted to ask you which m'sia uni you went to. So now i know, you are oz grad :)

Kam welcome back!

I'm also using the phillips juicer. For mummies who make juice, do you drink the juice immediately or juice a bit bottle and keep in the fridge to drink for 2-3 days?

Hubby likes his juice cold, so he doesn't take them immediately but i heard that it's better to drink immediately cos the good properties will erode over time. Is that true?

re smoking
both hubby and I are non smokers.

Kam, I never have chance to go Msia uni cuz I din attend form 6:p But luckily I got scholarship to attend real Uni in Aus, else I would have completed my twinning programme in KL.

Luvv, for fresh juice, don’t keep for 2 to 3 days cuz not fresh anymore. Best is to consume within few hours if you wanna keep it cool in fridge. For kids, better consume once out from the juicer. If your hubby likes cold juices, put in ice cubes? Or keep his portion in fridge. Hehe.

Blessedbaby, fruit juice – diy, why not? Hehe

kam, tongtong,
tks for the info on beetroot

tongtong,
eye swollen &amp; red no joke leh, hopefully doc will give u MC
Are u wearing contact lenses?
nope, my hb not in sales line, he is under operation.

blessedbaby, wow you still remember that i plan to go sydney in april!! hehe. might have changes because my hubby hasnt found new job yet! so probably we are delaying the trip till he gets to break before starting new job.

As for juice, actually you can juice any fruits/veg ( which you think you dont wanna eat the fibre kind ). usually i only use certain types of fruits for juicing (Apple, celery, carrot, beetroot, pineapple)while certain types of fruits for blending (Apple, plum, strawberry, blueberry, kiwi, prunes, banana, papaya, watermelon). Blending fruits will become smoothie, you can add yoghurt /ice to it.

steph, i'm still in queue for doc, so come back to office first hehe. yeh dunno whether he will give or not leh, seems like very stingy with MC. Yea i'm wearing contact lenses, but only 1 eye kena wor

tongtong: ;-)) I will have to buy a juicer first before I can juice any fruit. ;-) Actually I have few items in my wishlist, and hinted to my hubby to buy. ;-) But he said he doesn't want a juicer coz he knows I will stuff him with juice in the morning, lunch and evening. ;-))) He has enough vegie juice when we was in singapore so now he scares.

May i know who is Edelynn Lam in FB? Saw a few of u are her friends.

Re: Childcare

Mummies, can i also know how did the teacher bathe our kids in CC, is it one at a time? If our todd can't self-feed, the teacher will help?

Luvv and blessedbaby,

Luvv,
Yup, no good to leave the juice too long. Goodies like Vitamine C deplete within hour, and iron becomes oxidised within hour also, among other stuff. I usually drink immediately.

Blessedbaby,
The one that I make most frequent is blending avocado + honey, my hub's favourite.

Tongtong,
OIC. So you studied in one of those colleges that offers twinning programs?

Thanks blessedbaby, Yvonne. I feel better Liao cos yesterday hubby thaw the frozen ebm when we went over to ils place n mix with ebm to give to raeanne. Also we finally started yoga class at nearby cc yesterday.

but I started bringing Raeanne home today. Going to start toilet training too. Bo bian cos she keeps asking us to take out her diaper at night before sleeping. She napped on her own without crying at 2pm, 1 hr after her milk feed cos she peed n pooed after that. :p

Kam, welcome back

Tongtong, hehe, but nowadays my fridge seldom have fruits leh cos full of vegetables for cooking. :p

Going to get a separate freezer for EBM, but don't think it will help much cos the pull out vegetable drawer of my mitsubishi fridge is quite small. :p

kitsune,
Thanks. You are so hardworking at BFing. Lucky RA and RL to have you as their mummy.

Talking about toilet training. HR was diaper-free during the day for the past 2 weeks. He only wet his pants a few times only, which we think is very good already, giving that no prior toile training before this. But he didn't tell us when he wanted to poo, so did his big business on his pants, and I have to do the cleaniing. Never mind, at least he wanted to poo without the diaper, considered an achievement also, right. But now going cc again, can only continue to train him on weekends, which is difficult cos we were always on the run. Slowly bah.

tongtong,
Yup. I was an UM grad.

Kam, good that HR is diaper free during the day already. Don’t worry, there will be one day he will tell you before he wanna do his business hehe. now S doesn’t even want me to look at him pooing, he will ask me to wait outside the toilet and close the door!! Hey, CC cannot let him diaperless meh??? I dunno when I should let him diaperless when we go outside also. Cuz scared he forgot :p