(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

verene
vernon is oso wearing c4/5, i tot how come so small... cos i have fren son wearing c8/9, somemore same age as vernon....

i have a problem here. hope u all can advise.
these few days, javier has been touching his private area and cry abit.... does it means he is in pain? shld i bring him to the doc or monitor first?

Jess,

Did you take a look at his KKB? If the problem still persist betta bring him to see doctor.

Odes your child throw temper easily? Eg: Crying w/o much tear just merely shouting on top of his voice, stamping his legs.... I just can't stand Javin cranky behaviour these few days. Carry him still wanna climb on my tum tum. Just cannot imagine wen my tum tum is really big. How to carry him... Also his intake if porriage seems to decrease liao. Always cannot finish.
Argh.....This boy cano really make me insane!!! Cannot imagine in Oct going to deliver #2!!!

Hi Kam,

Went to my check up last week. Gynae says 99% gal!!! This time round bb open the legs wide open for the doctor to scan!!! Now i am at 24 weeks. So gonna wait till the next check up if still gal, then i will go and buy girlie stuff!!! Whoooo whooo....

jacelyn
i checked. and everything looks normal. last time when he was 2 weeks old, he went for hernia op though.

re: temper
ya, javier also throw temper easily nowadays. must get wat he wants...

Icy, huh, your cousin so young got diabetes..

Kam/pixie, how much is the good mao shan wang? 717 stall near yck mrt? Can bargain till what price?

Jess,
Javier's 18 month jab and check-up should be due soon right? If you don't see any obvious signs of infection or anything like that, perhaps can wait until the 18-month check-up?

Also a question for mummies with boys - Does your boy(s) explore their genitals during bath time or diaper changing time? I know it's normal but my boy always "go for it" when I change him and his KKB will harden and stand-up. Ehhh...do I have to start teaching him on the dos and don'ts of touching himself at this tender age???

tongtong
now MSW is quite ex leh, he said $18 per kg, but i dunno how much can bargain until, coz we bargain the whole price of all the durians combined after we finished eating

mylife,
Tomorrow's timing?? If icy and mom2nat can only make it in the afternoon then why not we confirm 1.30pm at Ikea restaurant??

I might be there earlier for lunch
. Mummies who are early can come find us first.

Jacelyn,

Congrates! Ya, you can start to buy girlie stuff already :)

I went to see gynae on Saturday, baby has turned to head down position. Baby weighs 1.69kg. Can even see her little toes :)

Jess,

Does Javier develop any fever? He cried when he touches or when he pees? If cries when pees, then quickly bring him to see doc, cos it's a sign of UTI.

Verene/tongtong,

Currently mao shan wang is at $18 per kg. That day the one we got we only pay $15 for it, cos it has only few seed (think only 5-6 in total). So we bargain to for $15 per kg, then I told him no need to weight lah, just take it as 1kg. Sometime I am very good in bargaining also :)

Wait till this weekend, price should drop cos supply increase. Must chiong durians this weekend....... see you guys at the 717 stall :)

my son yest also touched his arm and cry leh. we tried searching, no blue black, no lacerations, nothing wrong leh...but on/off he will touch his arm and cry and give me expression of pain...

sighs. hope everything is ok and its jus a passing phase

yvonne,
15mth MMR i have not let him jab yet as doc advise to delay till maybe 18mths..
so 18mths got another job huh? haiz.. i quite worried...
there is no infection nor anything.....

Jess, he crys when touching? Think betta see doc? Huh why he got hernia op?

Jacelyn, my son doesn’t seem to be interested with porridge these days too. but I will still persists and run around the house holding the porridge. I got to occupy him with something to play then he will guai guai take porridge. Saturday I let him play with soaked mushroom/black fungus, then I quickly feed him porridge. He likes to scoop objects with spoon in and out from one bowl to another. That’s his favourite toy. But for milk he usually very cooperative wor.

yvonne, during diaper change my boy will touch his genital, but i will tell him dont touch, so he doesnt touch often though. cuz changing diaper very quick ma. At most, he touched once and I completed the task liao. but usually when changing it doesnt stand up and harden. only when he is sleeping it does! there were a few times i changed his diaper when he was sleeping and it happened. my mum and me kept laughing haha.
yea i will tell him no, the hands will get dirty to touch there cuz got sheeh sheeh ma.

yvonne
my son touches his private parts too during diaper change/shower. i let him explore. i just think if the more i stop, the more he wants to touch. let him touch until sian liao he will stop touching one lah heehee

then he likes to touch his belly button too.

nowadays we dont diaper my boy at home, to prepare him for toilet training, his KKB will be hardened when he "lun" the pee after a long time. die die oso dun want to sit and pee into potty.

aiyah who is diaper training your child now ah? how issit?

i think cries when he pees... so he touches them... so young will have UTI???
shld bring him to PD or the doc that did the hernia op for him???

pixie,
I also let him explore cos it's part of his body but didn't realise they will have "reaction" at this age...heehee. I'm a bit paranoid cos my aunt who used to work in a cc told me a boy in K1 or K2 had this habit of playing with his genitals during nap time. So I'm worried if this will develop into a habit. I don't really want to tell him "cannot touch" cos same as your thinking, the more we say cannot do it, the more they want to do it!

Jess,
If he cries when peeing, it might be Urinary Tract Infection (UTI) as per what Kam has said. Better bring him to PD.

pixie,
Wah, you start potty-training already. I'm still "waiting"...hahaha! My boy doesn't seem to feel uncomfortable with poo poo stuck to his buttocks so don't think he's ready. But we will ask him to pee during bath time and usually he will do it. Poo poo is a bigger challenge.

yvonne
hmmmm yup i think should be an exploration stage nia. i read somewhere kids this age likes to touch their body. grow up liao then can teach them identify the parts of the body.

my hb keep telling my boy cannot touch his bellybutton, but i always roll my eyes coz the more you say no, the more they want to do.
let them explore if there's no danger involved lor, rite? my hb is super kancheong

yvonne
i only start to get him off diapers, so that when he need to pee, he will come to tell us. even if he pee onto the floor, its ok for me. coz at least i know he is willing to let go of the pee and not only to pee when he is being diapered.
he only pee-ed once into the potty (not i go and catch the stream kind). not very successful but just let him be diaper-less at home everyday lor. last week was the 1st week.
i havent even think about poo ley

Jacelyn,
Congrats on having a girl! Since gynae said 99% confirmed, I think you can shop for girly stuff now.

Kam,
Your baby has turned down already? Now you should be 31 or 32 weeks right? Good timing.

I just went for gynae's visit last sat. Baby's head is still up. But since now is 28 weeks, gynae said ok. But should be start turning down @ the next visit (32 weeks). I am worried as I don't want c-sect. So asking baby to be cooperative and turn down soon.

My baby is huge!!! @ 24 weeks, he was 750g (above avg liao), and now @ 28 weeks, his weight double to 1500g!!! I think the gynae was shocked and I nearly fainted too. His size is like a 30th week baby loh. But my total weight gain is 8Kg so I guess baby is absorbing the nutrients well bah. Gynae never advised me to go on diet. Hahahah.

Jess,

My friend's son got UTI when he was barely 6 months old. UTI can happen anytime, but usually accompanied by sudden high fever though. Think if he still cries while pees, better bring him to see a PD rather than delaying it.

Yvonne,

Ya, my boy also has "reaction", we saw "it" harden many times, and my naughty hubby even took a pix of it :) We don't stop him, just let him explore like his any other body part. Only tell him that's used for "sh sh" (pee pee).

Pixie,

I haven't started the potty training. Cos his teachers said don't need to rush. If you want less stress, only start when he starts to talk, easy for parents and easy for the kid. But my boy now has this tendency to pee whenever we took out his diaper, creating more work for me, grrrr!!!

but he dun have fever lei.
okie, i will take urgent leave tmr to bring him go.

gosh.. i am so worried now. but my hubby keep saying it shld be diaper...

krsytle,

Ya, no need to worry. My girl also hasn't turned when she was 28th week. Then I felt some very strong movement on 29th week, I knew she has turned :) Baby can still turn till 34th week. And, yes, quite a big baby you have, when mine was at 28th, she was 1.11kg, but then yours a boy lah, so maybe a bit heavier than girl? My blood count a bit lower than normal (same for my 1st pregnancy, and also happened even when I am not pregnant) so started iron tablets. And my checkup now it's every 2 weeks, feel like so close to THE DAY already. You take good care!

Pixie, but how come will cry and show pain when touch? Why not check with doc?
Oh no diaper at home, can ah? There were few times I took off his diaper and he straight peed on the floor!! Don’t think I can let him diaperless cuz he drink lots of water and pee a lot everyday. So not ready to toilet train yet. The nanny is training him to sit in potty but he doesn’t want. Bobian lor. Got to wash his butt with poo everyday in cloth nappy, very jialat for her. :p

Pixie, if he poos without diaper will be inside the pant also lor?

Jess, mmr jab I haven’t given yet, will delay till he started to go childcare. Yea young can have UTI too. There was one feb mum boy kena UTI months ago. Then got so much medicines leh, so you better bring him to see doc quick

Yvonne, 18 months is what jab?

pixie,
But if you let him go diaper-less, he won't poo poo??

Hey, when are you going to AMK Macs for breakfast with grumpus? If it's on a weekday (except fridays lah) let me know ok, I can join too.

jacelyn: congrats! enjoy shopping, there is reali alot to buy for bb girl eh... from hairclips, hats all the way to leggings ...keke

he havent poo without diaper leh. his poo times are all very regular. wake up once, and/or after lunch once. these timing i have diaper on him...
without diaper, my boy dont want to pee. i think he is too reliant on diaper, cant blame him. so i let him pee onto the floor to give him the idea that it is OK to pee out of the diaper, slowly introduce the potty lah. he dont like to sit on potty too, but i always engage him with the leappad ; hoping he will release his pee while bz with toys etc..hits and misses lah

tongtong
i asked my mil to monitor lor, if he still touches his left arm and cry in pain, then maybe bring him see doc. maybe twist a "gen" or something?

yvonne
im going with grumpus next monday. onz liao. you onz too rite since its not friday?

mei, i want.

but i will only enrol him after his lessons at gymboree...haha

and if he go childcare next year, will enrol him there cos the CC has kindermusik...heehee

LOL kam, thats a good one...
sounds like some conspiracy theory
you going back to 717 anytime soon? im going there after work...hopefully next week

Kam,

Your blood count is lower? Then got to take the iron tablets dutifully. I also got the feeling that "the day" is coming soon. Now really got to force myself to start packing. Haiz. As for me, everything is ok and normal. But during #1, I got high BP from 37 weeks onwards and was told to rest until delivery. That time, #1's head also waited until last min (36 weeks) then turned down. So I sort of suspected that the same things will happen for #2 too.

I think those who had at least 2 pregnancies can tell that some sypmhtons will be the same bah. Coz is our own bodies and they will react the same bah. I got a friend whose #1 is premature due to waterbag burst @ 32weeks and true enough, her #2 is also premature @ 28 weeks due to waterbag burst too.

Jess,
Don't worry. If it's UTI, a course of antibiotics will clear it.

pixie,
Next monday what time?? It's the Macs opposite the library right.

Talking about 5-in-1 jab @ 18 mths... can mummies advise if this is necessary? Coz my #1 opted for 6-in-1 jabs so I thought already finished all jabs. Then during last week when I brought her for chickenpox jab, doc say even taken 6-in-1, still need 5-in-1 jab @ 18 mths. I don't understand why leh... Can anyone help to explain?

krystle,
Even if taken 6-in-1 will still need another 5-in-1 booster jab at 18 months. You can look at the health booklet. After this, no more jabs unless you opt for chickenpox, etc.

yvonne
yes, its the macs opp the lib
im meeting grumpus at a NEL station, maybe serangoon or kovan or what. meet me there lah, then grumpus will drive us down to macs.

aiyah helpppp
my wardrobe's drawer got lock and key, but cannot open the lock no matter what. i think something stuck. maybe the bolt, or what, coz never use the lock for 4yrs...then suddenly using it

if i ask the locksmith to open, they will hack open the lock? then my wardrobe will be kena smashed up? or he will do the thief way i.e. pick the lock?

anyone with locksmith knowledge to share? sobbbbb

Yvonne,

Oh, still need it as a booster jab.. I see. But the funny thing is that the doc issued a cert for my #1, stating that she has completed all necessary jabs. So if don't take this booster jab, is it ok? Then hoh, the doc also scared of my #1 coz she cried like hell everytime she sees him. Just imagine the doc asked me not to come and see him again. I very paiseh leh. Now got to find another doc liao...