(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendgy,

Agreed. I don't like the female Dr Ang (I can never remember which Ang is which Ang, cos my hero is Dr Keoy :)) We went to her once, and after that, both me and my hubby also said never come back to her again, and we never did.

oh ya..I saw some mummies discussin abt cordyceps while cathcing up with the postings.

Yes, cordyceps is supposed to build up their immunity..but for chinese herb, it takes a longer period to see the effect so u must be very patient.

My girls were on cordyceps every week for a year. Recently changed to every 2 weeks.. wah..pocket burn big holes...but honestly I can see the effect of it lor...but like I said, u must be patient as the result is not overnight..

My chinese sinseh said cordyceps are “中性" type of med so if u can afford it, can eat everyday one...haha...of cuz I cant la...once a week alr very siong on my pockets liao..

cadaly
i had childhood asthma, my mom boiled cordyceps with crocodile meat/pork tiwce a week for 1 yr.
after that no more asthma liao. i took that in...sec 1 i think

hths

cad&aly
the 1st PD we brought him... kept asking us to go back every week/ fortnight for review.. sold us all sorts of inhaler puffs, eqpmt.. still the situation din improve. And the clinic assts quite rude also.. like everyday PMS. Wonder why i'm a paying customer still hv to be polite and treat them like king. PD suggested he might be allergic to dust mites (since young), so for the longest time we been taking extra care to clean his room. Never once did she suggest to rent the nebuliser machine or to refer us to a clinic that has machines for rental. i think she also dun hv the eqpmt for the poky tests..
got fed up, changed PD.. Ang Poon Liat said STOP INHALER, rented us the machine for 2 wks, gave diffrnt medicine (and increased dosage too). Cleared the infection in order to prep the body for the poky test. We could've saved ourselves many vomitting nights if we'd gone to see AngPL right fr the start. (btw, isaac is NOT allergic to dust mites!!!)

pixie,
so u r very pro in the baby carrier liao. hee
yalor, very tempting but duno whether suitable for my skin anot, so must choose carefully. have u tried kelvin or nu er's product yet?

grumpus,
my boy usually sits more on stroller, but i was thinking if i want to bring him out alone, i hope to use the bb carrier which is more user frenly than the stroller, and he'll b cranky if sit on stroller for too long.

wendy,
sounds like a really complicated process to find out wat Isaac is allergic to leh. not easy!

Kam
maybe now u can request that they do the same as infant care since now that u complain?

Cadaly,

regarding that cordyceps are “中性". I had it once when i was pregnant, i remember me turing red and gasping for breath...so i kinda scare this. My MIL just boil it with pork loin and some wolfberries.

Btw, how do u feed the cordyceps, u ground it into powder and put a bit into her mouth issit?

pixie,

no lah, won't complain to MCYS, cos I think it's more of lack of communication problem, not the root problem of the centre.

Cheryl,

They change the booklet to another type. Very very super the simple one. Just 3 boxes for the teachers to tick if my boy has had breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. They didn't tell me when and what my boy eats anymore, like when he was in the infant class. Milk feed also not noted. You take note of this okay, don't let this happen to your boy. When my boy was on trial for playgroup, it was okay, cos they still note down everthing in the booklet.

Wendy, thanks, I saw the BP before I went to overseas spree but don't have Islander. Not even for pre order so bo bian went back to overseas spree lor. :p

Poor HaoRe. No wonder you feel guilty. I would too cos a lot of things we can't prevent but we will never allow our kids to go to bed hungry if we know about it. Ya, you should complain but chances are, it's trhey slipped up on communication during handover (from infant class to playgroup). But actually I don't understand, since Haore attends whole day playgroup and yours is a childcare centre. How can they omit his dinner? By the time, parents pick up their kids, it's easily 7pm. If last snack is 3+pm, the poor kid will be starving. :p

RaeAnne is going through a terrible 2/teething? stage too. Very difficult to put to sleep, wake up to shriek. Sigh. Don't know what's wrong. Already applying teething gel for her every night but still like that. She has some rashes on the back of her neck, and even around her mouth last night. I suspect it's allergy but asked ILs a few times and they said she ate nothing new. Saw them feeding chocolate chip cookie which I didn't know about. Wondered if that's the trigger but they said already given to her before, no problem. :p So heart pain to see her scratching all over and can't sleep. Also worry if there's some hidden pain/health issue that we don't know about.

luca
i bought 1 from spree (kelvin's makeup), but havent arrive. use liao then i review to you ok heehee
yah, agreed sling is more convenient than stroller. my stroller at home no use...

luca,
yup when i go out alone i also never bring stroller, my girl dun sit long in it and waste my effort lugging the stroller around, i just tuck the sarong in my diaper bag and let her walk or sling her when needed...sometimes i dun give her a choice, if i need to buy groceries or ta bao food or wat then i just trap her in the sarong, so much easier to do stuff

luca
to find out, it's just to poke poke him. it's the infection that refused to clear.. coz the 1st PD not experienced enuf?? Her kids maybe pri sch, whereas Dr Ang PL looks like a granddaddy already. He made us promise to avoid some forbidden foods, no aircon & no sports for isaac as long as he has infection.. had to adjust our lifestyles a bit.

Kam,
Poor Hao Re without his dinner. That infant centre should explain why did not give him dinner. But what I don't understand is that if change to Playgroup, why no dinner? Still under the childcare system right? Yes, you should demand an explanation from them.

That time my MIL also did not feed my girl dinner until 8pm++ and never tell us. My hubby typically hit the roof and my face was super black loh. So angry then. Then my girl so young don't know how to say mah.

kitsune
offroad nice also ma. i ordered ready stock offroad.

krystle
infant care and playgroup $$$ fees diffrnt. so no dinner.

Duh, until now, I don't know how to use my MIM sling. It's cotton (hand me down from ex colleague) so very warm. Also, everytime, I try to put her in at home, she'll struggle after 1 minute so I'll take her out. I used to use Baby Bjorn until she outgrew it so now I've got no sling. Can only carry her when she doesn't want to walk. :p

I also agree that Ang PL is very good. I feel that Ang Ai Tin really cannot make it or she is always out to earn more money? always give antibotics etc.

Kam, usually childcare dont serve dinner one. I guess this is a mis-communication between the school and u ba. When I sent my gal to childcare, i had to adjust her milk feed and meal times to suit the childcare timing. They dont feed as and when the kids are asked milk. They have a standard timing where all kids drink milk at the same time.

wendy, hubby don't like offroad cos too 'clog' like and casual so no difference from his flip flops. He only compromised and allowed me to buy cos Islander looks a bit more smart casual. :p

Wendyg,

Oh different $$$ so no dinner? Coz I thought the child is still put in whole day CC (although in between got playgroup) so they should take care of his meals, nevertherless.

kitsune/krsytle,

Yes, as wendyg mentioned, playgroup fees different. No dinner provided. BUT no one tells me about it till I find out. The centre actually does provide dinner on request, by topping up a bit, but my problem is, no one told me, how on earth would I know? I am ok with no dinner provided as long as they keep me informed about it.

pixel.. hmmm so u think its the cordycep, croc meat or both that cure ur asthma?

wendyg, my current PD is quite careful in using neubrilizer cuz she said one of the med (pulmicort) used is actually steriods..so must be very careful. In fact, if she really want use to use neb, she usually reccommend alternate use with saline solution, eg 1st administer use pulmicort, 4 hrs later use saline...

which was why she want us to use puffs instead. apparently the inhaled steriods is very much lower.. i guess different PDs will hv different approach.. really hope you will find a solution to it.. then no more headache liao.

kellie, hmmm..I am not sure abt the effects of preggy ladies taking cordyceps wor.. but like ur MIL, my mum double-boiled the cordyceps wth loin meat and wolfberries.. And do you know u can actually eat the cordyceps? In fact, the chinese doc said no matter hw many times one boil or re-boil, only half of the essence is in the soup, the rest will remain in the "worms"..so he recommend that we eat it as well..not so bad la..

Kam, wa, must do serious review with the school liao.. hope Hao Re recover fast fast!!

Kitsune
also like Professional.
my prev MIM also cotton. it's ok la.. only his butt was in the sling (i carried sitting up position). Miss my sling. Isaac hit 8kg and i kena backache liao. Only used abt 3 times for Tobey coz seldom brought him out on my own.

shannonbaby,

Ya, it's because of lack of communication. But as you said, the teacher should have discussed with parents during this transition period on how to help my boy to adjust, right? How can they think that my boy can automatically adjust to the older toddlers' schedule just like that, he is only 18 months old leh, and he cannot speak yet. They also cut 1 milk feed without letting me know.

kitsune
mine also cotton leh...not the sateen (cooler one). my boy sweats in that, but i'll let him sweat. get used to the singapore weather lor muahahaha

last time when xandall still nb, evening colicky time i always sling him. wins hands down. carry, rock, stroller, whoever bao oso no use. once i sling him, he will quieten down

kitsune,
mine also cotton. i don't use at home cos at home she sure dun want to be trapped inside one.
for a period of time after my girl just started to walk she also refuse to stay in the sling, always struggle to get out...but now she's ok again already cos she knows what it is to get tired from walking...

cadaly
i hated the meat anyway but my mom always said it works well together (croc meat & cordyceps, or pork & cordyceps). she always ask me to chew out the meat and spit it out coz i need to drink the soup, not to eat the meat...
after few hours of double boiling, essence all in the liquid liao mah

kam, i agree the teachers shld inform u before hand. For my case, cos i m in this line thus i adjust my girl's nap n mealtimes before she attend school. Still she comes home crying for the first week cos dinner too late for her.
How many milk feed is Hao Re during in school? My girl's childcare still give her 2 milk feed, one before nap and one at 4pm. Then she has tea break at 3pm also. I also bring extra food in her bag and ask the teacher to give her in case she cries for food at 6pm cos sometimes i fetch her quite late.

Wendy, professional still looks like clogs, think he won't like it. Anyway, hope he starts liking crocs if the islander doesn't disappoint lor. He prefers thin soled flip flops or shoes that fit well for driving purposes. ;P

Duh, that's why until now I don't dare to throw/sell away my MIM sling, thinking maybe one day I'll learn how to use it. No. 2? :p

shannonbaby,

Thanks for sharing. Only 1 milk feed now, before nap. I will ask them to give another milk feed at 5pm. And good suggestion - I will make sure to put some food in his bag also in case he is hungry, esp if I pick him up late.

Oh and also, I don't quite like this teacher. She is new, and young, like in early 20s. The previous teacher decided to be a SAHM. But I will observe for a couple more weeks, if I really can't click with her, then yes, I seriously think of change my son to another centre. I like those aunties with years of experience.

Actually I asked this young lady on Wed night, that if my son was eating well (cos he is taking rice now, no more porridge). She said yes. Then I said how come my son seemed to be hungry when he reached home. At that point, she didn't tell me cos my boy didn't have dinner. But she blamed on me and said something "oh, kids are like that lor, they will eat whatever you give him, so as a parent, you must limit what to give him lor". So duh right, and only Thurs night I found out he didn't have dinner.

Okay okay. Enough complaining. Say no more.

wendy,

my #1 next visit to Kidslink is next wed. his cough still there on/off. at least 3 times a week wor. duno wat my ILs gave him. claimed that they din give anything but can tell my "yr son insist on eating <ma> so i gave him lor" ya ya ... kids always insist on eating lots of things mah. but i made it a point that this visit, i will not allow my MIL to go with me! she only hinders haha

mylvera
stop kidslink &amp; try APL..? reach TMC morning 9am, no need to wait v long.

APL's view is that... temper tantrum won't cause allergic reaction/ cough/ phlegm, but giving the child the forbidden food will definitely cause it. So just ignore the child. My dad cannot do it one lor. Wonder when he got so soft hearted.

pixie,
ya pls, thanks.

grumpus,
i hope my boy likes being "trapped" :p
i wana learn to use the carrier from u n pixie too leh.

cadaly,
where do u usually buy cordyceps? i scared being con to buy fake 1s.

luca,
can...u come out and meet us lor...hehe

i only started using the sling when my girl was a bit older, abt 5-6 months...before that i tried but cannot make it, cos she was so soft and so small that i could hardly find her in the folds of the cloth :p

grumpus
i get what you mean. lexie should be very small when she = nb; so naturally very difficult to sling her.
whereas xandall is big. so nb i oredi started slinging him liao. confinement sling him go out shopping w my mom hurhur

pixel, apparently not so leh. The sinseh said half the essence remain..but I also dunno why..

luca, my mum always buy from the chinese medical hall "Fu Hua"..

pixie,
wah u win...
next time i want a big(ger) bb :p

luca,
if just me and pixie won't ask u go tampines lah...we more north/northeast ppl..

eh pixie,
when want to go amk macs breakfast? the play area is the playground climb around type...

my prev company i remembered once.. everyone low morale coz v busy until cannot breathe.. the boss ordered 1 truck of liulian, park @ loading/unloading bay, and whole offc took turns to enjoy 15min liulian gorging session during staggered break times. Also hv mangosteen/ rambutan for non liulian lovers.
shiok shiok. next day all sore throat take mc hahahaha.

blackbatz
yupz. so big biz hor. everynight see the boss's son count $$ inside the shop haha

grumpus
i think im off on next next monday. morning eat mac bfast?

cadaly
issit? my mom just ask me chew to suck out the liquid and then spit out the meat. coz i make faces all the time when she say the concoction is done...doesnt taste bad really

Luca, what food to avoid when tods having cough ?

Wendy, aiyo, poor Isaac. If issac couldn’t take all milk, what about oatmilk? It’s made from oats. Not sure whether oatmilk contains protein casein though. So if he avoid all these allergen then he wont have cough liao issit? Does pd say ok if not taking any milk?

Wendy, my sister bf’s company also ordering 2 trucks of durians for the company staff leh! and good liulian some more. Heard company spent RM 30k for the durian alone haha.

Shannonbaby/wendy: I don’t like Dr AAT too!! cuz she is super kiasi and wanted to admit my son to hospital.i think is because of $$$!! Duh, now I felt frustrated again talking about her. I already banned her ever since that incident.

Cad&amp;aly, what do you mix with cordyceps for the brewing?

Kam, my son woke up for night feed for 3 nights ! dunno what happened, think must be teething and growth spurt .. aiyo poor hao re after reading what you wrote! For me I also complain! And for few days!! Aiyo!! Maybe the playgroup teacher not as good as the infant care teacher liao. So that means they don’t provide dinner for playgroup kids?

Pauline, chocholate chip cookie contains nut? If got rashes around mouth might be food allergy. Pauline, high5, I also dunno how to use my MIM sling :p someone must teach me how!! LOL

Re: no dinner at childcare
If no dinner provided, we got to rush home to cook ah? So leceh meh?

Cheryl, you mean all the while Vernon only eats snack at 5pm? Then go home you cook his dinner ah?

grumpus,
haha thanks.

can Claudia and Xandall play on their own in the macs playground?

tongtong,
citrus fruits like orange, kiwi, grapes etc , cold food and drinks.

kam
yeah it sure did.. at least for me =)

tongtong
doc said no need milk. if want him to gain weight, shld make him eat more solids, which is 300% more (mass?) than milk, which is liquid, ie mostly water, which bluffs the stomach into thinking it's full.

luca/tongtong,

Dr Keoy also said no citrus fruits when cough.

Yes, no dinner for playgroup. For now till maybe 2 years old, I will ask teacher to give him milk at about 5.30pm, the give him some snacks when reach home. Later (after my #2 is out), will have to work out something how to settle his dinner. Cannot let him eat too much outside food.

luca,
claudia = mummy, lexie = bb
of cos claudia can play on her own in the macs playground :p

eh we haven't tried yet, but for sure my girl will try to climb on her own...

grumpus
muahahahaha u like to play macs playground ah. lexie has to keep close watch in case u fall down muahahahaha