(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Hi Dylan's mum,
oh..he's become lactose intolerant all of a sudden? He didn't use to be, did he? Since he has been breastfed all these while. How did the weaning process take place? Was there a lot of screaming and crying?

Jerielle drinks Gain IQ. She actually drinks 120ml of that in the morning, afternoon and evening. But, despite having drunk that, she'd still clamour for me to feed her. Even when she wakes up in the middle of the night or immediately upon waking ,she'll tap me to feed her.

CC? Have you started work? Is Dylan at a day care now? Think it's easier to wean when you're not around. I bet Jerielle can last the whole day without me nursing her if I wasn't with her all the time.

She used to sleep through. BUt, lately she's been waking up once in the middle of the night and wakes up at 630am every morning and taps me to feed her. It's driving me nuts. Does Dylan sleep on his own now? Or does he rely on a prop to sleep?

rachel,

he ate some bacteria which caused him to poop multiple times over a few weeks (it was pretty serious). basically the experience rendered him lactose intolerant. he still on the road to recovery so no diary for him for another week or so.

well it was technically the 2nd time i tried to wean him so it wasn't that bad. Of course still got plenty of screaming and crying, only difference is that even though I felt awful, I could not bring myself to feed him. Because if I did, he would get worse. He was already so sick, pooping 13 times a day and backside so swollen already.

Basically he was on pediasure then so I had to wean him off pediasure and force him to take Friso soy, PLUS stop BF at night. After 1 full day & night, he got desperate and hungry and caved in. Just drank the soy milk, even at night. Since then, he does not expect to be breastfed although he still loves to cuddle and touch my breasts.

Did you try to increase Jerielle's feed? He started 120ml as well but steadily increased to abt 160 - 200ml per feed depending on time of the day. I realise that aft I increase his feed, he is satisfied and does not cling on to me after that.

No i've not started work, its been hard, cos dylan has been sick for weeks now. I think I will not be able to start work until he has fully settled in, PD advised that it could take 6 months before his immunity is stronger. There is just a resevior of germs at the childcare! hfmd, cold, cough, flus..etc.

Dylan co-sleeps with us but learnt how to sleep on his own already. It was pretty much though weaning him, i.e., no more latching on that he slowly learn how to doze off himself. I think the childcare also helped, they usually keep him busy until he is very tired, then feed him until he is very full... finally he will lie down quietly on his mat and drink his milk...and doze off. haha.

lynzi, i was keen on rp and nyp but hubby says rp is too far from yishun. but prob visit and see how. how's the curriculum like?

<font color="aa00aa">tub,
i know they have music and movement and also speech and drama there.
the minute details i am not too sure cos i will only go down there again next week when i'm on leave.
how come u dont consider eager beaver when u are staying in yishun?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">tub,
i dont know how u define good.
if u read previous archive, i have been to several cc around our area and with eager beaver, i found nothing special though some people were raving about it.</font>

Dylan's mum,
oh dear..how did he ingest that bacteria? Was it from the child care? Poor boy! So, you must be changing his diapers very frequently.

Hmm..I will try to give her more and see if she still wants me to feed her. You still give him milk in the middle of the night? Maybe that's why he wakes up. Could you just let him cry? How is his intake of solids now?

Now that he can sleep on his own, does he sleep in his cot? I'm trying to move Jerielle out of our bed after I've weaned her. It's going to be difficult as she now sleeps by wrapping herself around me after the bedtime routine. How you put him down to sleep now? Do you just put him on his bed and then he sleeps on his own?

rachel_wee, my sr oso still cling on to me aft feeding .. i find it veri xin tong to let her cry .. so i'm still unsuccessful in weaning ..

rachel,

not sure where he ingested the bacteria.. no idea at all
. He's better now but still not well enough to take his MMR or flu jab. gotta bring him back to PD tmr again for review.

I do try to let him cry out at night but he actually takes alot of milk at night, mainly because he isn't eating enough in the day. But i'm working on that still - there is some improvement but he still could eat more during lunch &amp; dinner. He can eat more solids already, thank goodness.

he's not sleeping on his own bed yet... Am gonna move him over soon, just bought him new Thomas &amp; friends bedsheet for his bed and he was very happy with it. Will slowly ease him into his own room soon. My hubby and I are even considering buying him a new bed that he will like in order to get him to happily move out of our bed. HAHA talk abt desperate. :p

Right now, sometimes he wants to cuddle with me to sleep but these few days, I make him lie on the bed and feed himself. after that he will roll around and after a few mins when he is tired, he will just fall asleep. PHew! i hope he will continue doing this...But i do have one problem, he will wake up in the middle of the night and look for my breast.... not to drink milk but just for comfort. He will put his hand on my breast and go back to sleep!! *faint*

dylan's mom,

i bght a thomas bed frame from aussino abt a mth ago during their 20% storewide sale! my hb set it up in max's room but we we continued to let him sleep in his cot in his own room. we thought it may be better for max to decide the time to move over when he is ready!!! haha! so he has been playing n reading on the bed but never slept on it! or he will stroke thomas face on d bed frame or talk to thomas!! haha!
finally the day came, last week after his milk, he just climb onto d bed n zzz till morning! viola! he has been sleeping in his thomas bed since then!
if you are interested, spotlight is having storewide 20% sale today n tomorrow! they also have a 11pc thomas bedroom set!

miracle,

thanks for the tip! i know which one u talking abt, have seen once. Will ask my hubby to go down tomorrow to check it out. I'm also asking one company in SG to quote me on the little tikes thomas bed. but that one is very pricey so price might be too high aft shipping

dylan's mom,

i was eyeing the little tikes too but like u said the shipping is very ex! almost $600! so i am hoping my friend will relocate back from us soon so i can tag along her container! haha!

Argghhh!!!

Stupid maid!! I bought a new milk powder dispenser, coz am preparing to send my gal to cc. My gal wanted to play with it, so I opened the packaging and told maid to wash it. I didn't tell her to sterilize it (instructions on the munchkin packaging is not to sterilize). Had expected maid to just wash with detergent and leave it at the drying rack. So I went to bathe my gal.

After that, I wanted to prepare some water for my gal to drink. Opened up the sterilizer, and OMG....the BN milk powder dispenser was inside it!! That stupid maid kay kiang go and sterilize the dispenser!! #$@$&amp;^!! Other times, tell her to do something, miss out steps. This time, never tell her to do, she go and add extra step of sterilizing the plastic dispenser. In the end...the whole plastic dispenser melted!! The milk powder dispenser was warped out of shape coz of the heat from the sterilizer. And it wasn't just the milk powder dispenser in the sterilizer. All my gal's milk bottles and teats (5 sets) were in there too...!!!

shit lah...now dunno if the bottles and teats will be affected or not. Dunno if can still use those bottles and teats? Anyone knows if it's still ok to use?

@#$%#@-ing stupid maid. Just too proud to ask and clarify. And she's been here with me for 8 mths already!! still like that. Money wasted on the BN dispenser is small thing. The biggest worry is whether the milk bottles and teats can still be used. Arrgghhh!!!! @#%$^@$ (dun mind the language...hahaha)

miracle,

i checked BDL based on box size, shipping is abt 400 plus. total abt $880 including gst and cost of the bed itself. Still very exp of course!!

CSI_fan,

aiyo, yr maid reall jia lat. I think to be safe, better not use those bottles &amp; teats right? After all the dispenser already melted, dunno what stuff was 'released' in the heat.

dylan's mom,
that's what my sis is saying also...but then now I have more thoughts....if dunno what was released in the heat, then what about the sterilizer itself? hahaha...would whatever stuff that was released be in the sterilizer too? *scratch head*...or are we just worrying too much? hahaha

CSI,

yah err, i also like u... was thinking the same thing abt yr sterilizer. If that's the case, then can't use anything right?? I don't know, also depends what type of plastic was used to make the dispenser. gosh this is turning out to be an expensive lesson if you have to replace everything!

Slimz,
Are you trying to wean too? Is sr taking FM or just BM? It's so tough to wean, sigh! WHen we were told of the benefits of BF, we were never told about the downside of it, which is the weaning process.

Dylan's mum,
Dylan is so funny. It's so cute sometimes I wonder if I should actually stop breastfeeding. Cos all our child wants is to be close to us.

I was planning to increase her feed, like you advised. But, the past 2 days, J's been drinking halfway (120ml), and then ask me to feed her without finishing it. I had to let her cry and coerced her to finish before feeding her. So, increasing the feed will not work with her. Sigh!

Talk about moving Dylan to his own bed. J sleeps with us and yet she doesn't want me to turn off the lights when she sleeps. Not sure if she's afraid of the dark or whatever the reason is.

dylan's mom,
yah lorh. anyway, hb say, take the chance to replace what we need lah. 5 sets were in the sterilizer with that non-BPA free plastic that melted, maybe we just get 4 sets. coz afterall, Louisa shd be moving on to straw/cups for her drinks soon...so just get enough for her milk feeds and 1 extra. Water, she'll just drink from straw bottle / mag mag cup. Den, since she's 17 mths already, think can stop sterlizing lah...so still not so bad...

Rachel wee,
I tried that too...increase my gal's feed so she would not want me to BF her. But...same as J. Louisa will drink no more than 120ml of her FM and then want me to feed her. She will refuse to finish up her FM. But if I'm not ard, she will guai guai drink up 180ml. so basically, I cannot be ard!! hahaha...

tub, sr gg for D'story trial in june, i not sure if got place for her anot wor.. hmmm ... coz we r tinking of assessing aft the trial and compare her current GUG with D'story lor.. anyway both r wkend classes lor.. the oni reason we tot its gd to go Pats is tat she can continue to the Pre-N, N1 - K2 clsses there straight, we no nid go register somewhere else again..
but my mum recently seems to buy the idea of moving over to my plc instead of us sending sr there everyday (theres a PCF jux at my flat..then no nid tink le, will send sr to my PCF instead then)

CSI_Fan,
It must be so frustrating when you maid does something that messes things up. But, how is it that you're still sterilizing your gal's bottles and teats? I stopped sterilizing ever since J turned one. My PD said it's not necessary. Save the trouble. Just wash and scrub with brush should suffice.

botanist, wat bed r u all getting for dylan? sr has been co-sleeping with us since day 1 and recently we 'shifted' our bed to the floor.. all 3 of us zz on the mattress on the floor coz she has been rolling herself off our bed in the middle of the nite.. so we r really clueless hw to let her zz on her own in a bed... (not cot ..)

rachel_wee, sr is on partial MB n FM.. on days when i dun pump in the day, my mum will give her FM .. she will latch-on at nite. she is ok to take FM .. but not from milk bttles, she reject milk bttles nteats since young. somedays when i'm bz to pump at work i would pump when i get home den nite feed i will give her FM. Aft the FM she would still wan to latch on to zzz lor ...
and in the nite she still will 'wake up' searching for her human pacifier ...

csi_fan, i agree! we cannot be ard! coz daytime i not ard, humand pacifier not ard.. she oso can zzzz at my mum's .. oso my mum ve no prob feeding her FM .. i give sr 120mls FM mux fite war lor .. =(

Thank you so much for lending your ears (ha, in this case, eyes lah) to me when I'm feeling low. And really appreciate all those encouragement and advice.

My older girl remembers the gatherings we had and she often asked me how are the aunties and babies doing.

tub,
I didn't know cow's milk can makes them irritable. Compared to my older girl, Kaylen's intake is much lesser. At the same age, my older girl was already taking 240ml per feed. Kaylen is still taking 150ml per feed. Anyway, maybe Kaylen been taking too much sweet stuff too.

rachel wee, slimz,

hahaha...we're still sterilizing, coz HB dun trust the maid's washing! hahaha. erm, coz he caught her a few times, either never brush properly or...never rinse off properly. So, he felt that sterilizing gives him a peace of mind. at least it gets rid of most bacteria that's left behind due to maid's carelessness. hehs...I've been telling him, go cc, also not sterilized lorh....but well, think he trusts the cc more than the maid. wahahaha....

slimz,
yah lorh. I feed Louisa FM, it's war...shouting and crying match. hahaha. with daddy in between. hehs.

hen, ur girl rem us! hee.. u can invite her to view our forum n see some of the video clips and fotos we post at times =D

csi, so ur maid's the problem.. my HB cant feed sr lar.. dey will end up playing more than eating.. my mum's good at feeding sr .. mabbe coz its in the day when me n HB not ard.. she is like a plaster nowadays when she sees me aft wk. I cant eat without her coming over to the dinning table saying 'bao'

rachel, slimz,

i can understand what you are going through. I was doing the same thing too, when dylan would drink his FM half way then give up and ask for breast. Guess they really love to be close to us right?
Only after I totally wean him off and refuse to give him breast (had to ignore his tantrums and tears) then he gave up. I think the problem is that our kids know that we are soft-hearted and will give him to them when they cry and pull long face, so they bully us... If not for the fact that he kenna this illness, I would have continue to BF him as well. So guess it turned out for better. This reminds me of what my PD said to me previously regarding weaning, he said there is no way to do it except for cold turkey. You have to cut it off before the child will have no choice but to drink FM. He said let them starve cos if they are truly hungry, they will drink. (cold hearted and practical advise indeed).

slimz,

currently i have a super single size mattress on the floor in dylan's room. That is his bed and he uses it for afternoon naps. Unfortunately he refuse to sleep in it at night (if possible). That's why we were contmplating getting him a nicer bed so he will have incentive to sleep in it at night... But price is a big deterrent so maybe just have to make do for now.

Perhaps you can sleep with SR on the mattress at night then after she sleep you leave her.. then slowly she get used to sleeping alone on the mattress? But if you are still BF-ing her at night, then very hard to get her to sleep alone cos she will always be looking for a suckle. .

Miracle said that Spotlight has some toddler beds on sale last week. Maybe u can check it out. Other toddler beds can be found at some local furniture stores or there are the little tikes type but those are really pricey. They can be found at aprisin, the distributor for little tikes.

CSI_fan,

Yah can stop sterilizing already. But I know where yr hubby is coming from. Sometimes better be safe than sorry right? Esp when areas like the kitchen are filled with germs. Then if yr maid dont wash properly, lagi worse... Speaking of sippy cups and mag mag cups, I have boughts sooo many because sometimes after buying and using, I find some not ideal as they have too many parts to wash or are prone to bacteria growth, so I have now stuck to those with silicon drinking spouts with minimal parts to wash. The worse one I have had is the Combi one. Its very nice but I've seen bacteria grow overnight on the rubber spout... so gross.

CSI_fan
Me still sterilising my 2 kids' bottles too ...heard that electrical prods will spoil if left unused for long, so hubby says might as well just continue to use it.

re: sterilising
yup we'r still sterilising the milk bottles n teats. may continue to for awhile. find it a convenient n clean place to store his bottles n teats rather than them lying arnd outside.

i'm still sterilising susu's bottles and pacifiers everyday and sometimes bowls or spoons. (about once a week)aiya... but sometimes, her paci drop onto the floor we also wash with tap water then give it back to her. so no QC la.

dylan's mom, we'll put susu on her cot 10 mins after she's fallen asleep. but she'll wake up at about 3 am or so and demand to sleep on our bed. in her half asleep mode, she'll bend her head backwards such that it points towards our bed, such a big hint...

hen, yeah some kids can get irritable or hyper due to dairy products and sweets. can try la... see if it works.

<font color="aa00aa">csi,
aiyoh..i think its better to get new bottles then.
dont know what chemical has been emitted in the meltdown.
anyway, has louisa started at lv yet?

botanist, tub,
when u gerls first sent your kids to the cc..how did u cope with the withdrawal?
did your kids cry and take quite awhile before they adjust to being alone at cc with strangers and no mummy around?</font>

tub,

yah i stop sterilising and my sterilizer cuckoo already due to lack of usage. shld have just continued to use it lor.

haha su is sooo funny. she still can hint to you in the middle of the night. hehe. so do you let her join u in bed after 3am?

lynzi,

hmm i had no withdrawal symptoms lah. heehe quite happy to have some free time. Dylan is only there for half day now, so by the time i get home after dropping my hubby off from work or errands, it can be 9plus or 10am. Gotta pick him up abt 12plus so i dont really have so much time on my hands. So hard to have withdrawal symptoms. But if he is there full day, I'm sure i'll miss him!! U putting faiq in for full or half day?

dylan still cries when we send him to cc. but usually teacher says he will stop within a min or less. He participates in the class and behaves ok so i know he is alright being with his teachers.. I dont think he is fully adjusted yet but he is coping ok.

botantist, ya.. cold turkey seems the oni way out .. shld go back ask mrs wong ... haa.. she taught us how to b successful in BF-g but din teach how to wean =P
and with sr waking up in the middle of nite asking for suckle, doubt i can let her zzz alone. if i really do let her zz on the mattress alone at nite, in the middle of the nite she mite wake up walk herself to our bed n squeeze in with us.. ?

mummies, our darling turning 18mths le.. can check if i've got the 5-in 1 tingy with polyclinics, does dat mean i shld call polyclinic, arrange a date aft sr turns 18mths for her last jab and 18mths assessment?

slimz
they should have arranged an appt the last time you went (at 12mth/15mth?). If not, then yah, you'll have to call and make an appt.

slimz,
walked past... towards e mrt... heheh... recognised u 3 frm e photos...

re:18mths jab/assessment
i think when i went for the MMR, the nurse helped me book a slot for the nxt one.. she noted it in the health bklet... n i think they do send sms reminders a wk or so b4 the appt.

alo all,
my boi coughed for last 3days, it started off really phelmgy n deep at night. yesterday coughed so hard that his breakie and dinner all came out. Today, dr said he's wheezing. So now he's on inhaler. Just wanted to let u ladies note that if you kid suddenly coughed deeply at night, better go see dr asap.

slimz,

yah, weaning is really the nightmare that we have to go thru after breastfeeding for so long.

jeeloe,

poor shawn. hope he get well soon.

jeelomeelo,
oh my... do take care.... arvin was coughing real bad a few wks back too.. brought him to doc... he say bronchitis bla bla... say need to have him breathe... i think it's ventolin.... was reallie worried tt he nds to be on it always.. but doc say no... ur inhaler is it like a permanant thing? aft e medication (lots) and all he's ok now... fingers crossed tt he doesn't hav it again... v v v scared of asthma n all... reallie hope ur son gets welll soon. n really hope he doesn't nd to be on it too long.

deerdeer,
very good. but aft tt must still mantain all e diet n all.... i ballooned again aft awhile. but generally the message is good for the body... improve blood circulation.. release toxins... wish i cld hav continued with e normal massages.

<font color="aa00aa">botanist,
yah man..i think that few hours alone on your own must have been blissful after all the months being with him...hehehe..
the lv at rp only has full day but me and hubby considering to bring him home half day fort he first few months until he is better adjusted.

jeelo,
oh dear..hope shawn gets well soon!
faiq also has been coughing but last few days he only cough occasionally.
at the advice of my fren i gave him manuka honey with UMF 12..it helps to dissolve the phlegm.
i also gave him chuan bei powder mix in his juice/ water.

deerdeer,
yup the wrap is good.
even though my massage lady only came for 1 week but i still continue using the wrap every day when i'm at home until my maternity leave ended and i had to go back to work..which means i used the wrap for 3 months..hehehe</font>

<font color="aa00aa">mimeole,
UMF is the short for unique manuka factor.
manuka honey comes in diff degrees of umf to indicate how concentrated is the manuka in it.
for kids like ours can take umf 10 or 12.
for adults can take 20 or even higher.
its supposedly good to prevent and treat cough and phlegm, etc.
i give this manuka honey to faiq thru direct consumption..1 teaspoon every morning before he takes any food.
btw, with any honey u must use plastic spoon and not metal ook..cos metal will react with the honey and cause the honey to lose all its nutrients.
chuan bei powder i bought from chinese medicine hall.
the one near my house already has it grinded and sold in small packets of around 10g.
if buy from eu yan sang, its still in solid form and they will grind for u according to how much u want.
i mix a very small bit of this powder into faiq's juice.
this is quite bitter so i dont mix into plain water cos faiq wont want to drink this.
sometimes, i also use this powder in the following recipe.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/tcm-recipe-removing-phlegm</font>