(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

tulippe,
THe GUG programme is 8 weeks. Depends on which programme u sign up for. Some are tiwce a week (weekdays). Weekend classes are once a week. Trial is $50.

I had the same thots as you went signing up gal up for GUG. My idea was to let her socialise a bit, coz she's the only child...a bit lonely lah...haha.

crystalz,

be glad that e fever med IS bringing her fever down each time u give her (at least u know e fever med is workg). Ok, tis is wat i learnt..if her fever is fluctuating, try to give her e strong med, say Nurofen to bring it down and then some 2-3 hrs later, give her e normal paracetamol. Using 2 types of fever med (must be in different 'family' of med) normally helps to bring it down and KEEP it down. Then some 6-8 hrs later, feed Nurofen again if e fever goes back on e high side.

It is however true that e body needs to fight off e virus and u shld also let it run its course. Just be religious in feedg her e med n she shld b fine in a couple of days.

However, do not sponge her if her body feel cold to e touch - you will only make her colder. Sponge only if her body is warm.

crystalz, fever should be gone in 2-3days for viral fever. What steffie mentioned to-dos are right. HOpe your gal would get well soon. hugs...

wow.. so much knowledge behind fever wor ... my fren's girl (2yrs) was admitted to AE last fri coz her fever went close to 40.. yesterday then discharge. Doc say virus infection, mabbe throat cos the poor girl was coughing. The doc put med through the bums, saying its the fastest way to bring fever down.. i tot it sounds terrible. But my HB told me it is so ..
Quite worried coz sr had nvr been in such situation but worried if *touch wood* really ve fever i will be totally clueless abt wat to do .. so scary

CSI fan, How long you have started the programme? From the weblink think only can find 1 course for 16 mth, is there other options?

Crystalz, Give her more water to flush out the virus. If she doesnt like water maybe barley with little bit sugar. Dilute the milk portion to avoid heatiness.

phy,
thanks for the pics... well c hw it goes this fri. fingers crossed... thot hav bassinet better esp since nite flight at least he can sleep. will let u gals noe when i'm bck.

<font color="aa00aa">crystalz,
my boy got viral fever before.
will take minimum a week to recover.
i gave him barley water every day to bring down the temp.</font>

is been a while since i come to this thread... notice a few kiddos r having fever... Do sponge her if temp hit >38.5 degree celcius.

give her more water or barley to flush out the heat...

try not to give her porridge as it will increase the metabolic rate.

gabby's mum
initially thot sign him up in appletree's playgroup from 18mths till 24mths. next Jan withdraw him from nanny and send him to full day cc in novena. but now found out appletree only take them in next Jan. sien lor..

valeriet
yah, he prescribes same programme for every bb. easier for him lah. haha..

tuilippe,
My gal haven't started on the programme yet. Only went for trial, and signed up for the new term, which starts on 25 Apr. I signed up for the Parent and Babe class (weekend). Think weekday clases are called Gifted Babes, and it incorporates mandarin.

CSI,
You're right, weekday class at GUG incorporates Mandarin. I went for a weekday trial and was impressed with the curriculum : English then Mandarin then music.

Mimeole,
Have a great flight ya
Everything will work out well
Have faith lah!

BAD mummy

Last evening I watched my son fall from the sofa. Sigh, I could not catch him in time.

He climbed onto the sofa and sat on its edge to cuddle his toy. Unfortunately, lost his balance and fell off the sofa. He landed on the side of his head and somehow did a headstand and then landed again on the back of his head. Everything seemed to happen in slow motion...

Of coz he SCREAMED...

CSI,
Got playdates for your girl right? I try to go to my friend's place for social gathering so that my only child can socialise too.

tulippe,

Ya, think CSI has already answered your questions about GUG.

I'm not sure if the promotional price for trial at Suntec is over though. You may call them to check. Number can be found at the website

thanks mummies!~

i brought her to PD today... and yes she need to fight the fever herself... just hope her anti bodies faster start working haha. PD says usually takes 3 to 5 days for her to recover. and if cough and flu comes in, i gotta bring her back for review. cos till now only fever. and i gotta give her the normal fever medicine every 4hrly (even in the middle of the nite w/ or w/o fever) and the strong medi nurofen that steffie mention to be given every 6hrly. (the GP that i went to... ask me to give normal fever medi and nurofen together! which my PD says, should be abt 1 to 2hrly apart)

so now just pray hard that she will be well soon! Oh ya.. abt the sponging part... PD says only normal temp water... and dun add ice as it will make the body hotter.

phy
my boi fell on tues nite too...had a big bump on his head and bleeding gums......aiyo, left him in his cot to play with jie jie while i make milk for him in the kitchen. Not sure how he managed to crawl out of the cot onto my bed, and from my bed to the ground.....by the time, i ran into the room when i heard his cries, he was already face down on the floor.

aiyo, phy n steffi hugs to your bois. mine slipped due to wet floor and fall and lie flat on his head/back 2wks ago. cried like there is no tomolo. lucky he's ok. i felt so guilty.

i'm still hesistant converting the cot into a bed (or getting him his own bed). Not sure whether he would roll off via the gap and land on the mattress below. Coz the cot/bed comes with the bed barrier with a gap that allows the child to climb down. I think some moms here already let their kid sleep on their own bed right? what's your take

jeelo, jr zz's on mattress on the floor at my mum's place. At home, he still zz in his cot. Luckily that cot quite big, think still can last quite a while. I don't think jr can zz on a bed on his own... sure roll onto the floor. U know, I removed his cot bumper last weekend, in the middle of the night, I keep hearing him knock onto the sides on the bed. I'm going to put the bumper back liao. On my mum's place, he'll roll across <font size="+1">3 mattresses</font>. How to zz in own bed?

I must share this.

Jr finally can walk!!! Since Mon, he's been taking small steps on his own. Yest, he managed to walk across the living room! We waited until neck long for him to walk... finally. hehehe.

phy, thanks! it was madness packing... heheh... felt like half my house is in luggage.

bluelily,
YEAH! congrats... now be prepared to go catching.

re: sleeping
arvin has always been on his own bed. bed=cot in my hs... n bed=travel cot in my mum's place... now the travel cot has been declared ttally worn out and deemed unsafe for further use. so am wondering wat to use for my mums place.

same as Jr, arvin rolls arnd the whole cot n if put on mattress he sure won't sleep. happily walk here walk thr... so unless i get like a gate to cordon round the mattress or get another cot for my mum's place... or shld i get another travel cot... but like all not cost effective. well....

mimeole, thks! No need go catching yet, now he still needs us to hold his hands outside so that he can "run" :p For sleeping, at my mum's place, we'll close the door so he can't crawl out. N switch off all the lights. So after a while of rolling ard.. he'll be bored n zz soon. :p

mimeole,
at my mum's sr zz on mattress.. sometimes she will zz on her own aft some roll and flipping.. if not my mum will pat her abit ..
my mum will b in the room with her til she zz.. sometimes my mum will pretend to zz and sr wil get bored and zz too ..
at my hse she zz on mattress too. We din ve a cot frm day1 coz used to sty at my ILs, space constraint din get one. Sr rolled off our bed a few times when we let her co-zz on our bed. So now we KIV bed idea until duno when ..

bluelily,

Yup, like mimeole says, now be prepared to run after him...haha.

My gal co-sleeps with us on our bed. So far, she didn't roll down per se, but when she's sleeping, and rolls ard, and comes to the edge, some how, she will know how to "climb down" (like climbing down from bed/sofa) on her own. Then she'll wake up, and find herself off the bed (but standing). But since it's so high that she can't climb back up, a few times in the middle of the night, we find her standing by the bed, holding on to the edge and crying (like "oei, I wanna go up...but I can't climb up. Hello? Stop sleeping you lazy bums! I'm off the bed...help me get up...") poor girl.

phy,
no leh, i never set up any playdates for my gal. maybe I shd...hmmm

wa.. so many mummies with GUG already! huh, think i should sign them up for a trial class first to check out their interest! ai yo... for me, need to X2, very siong! must make sure they like it before investing the $$, haha...

btw, one week after MMR, my boy had fever for a couple of days, followed by rashes. the rashes been around for a couple of days already and it's not getting better. anyone's baby has similar side effects after the MMR jab?

For those who are interested.

GUG course fees
Gifted babes (8 to 18 months) Weekday programme
2 times a week -> $280
3 times a week -> $396

Gifted babes weekend programme -> $168

Fees quoted are 4-week monthly rates and subject to GST. 6 Terms in a year, each term usually of 8-week duration. All fee payments are to be made for the whole term and paid in full before the start of each term.

Bluelily,
congras! I know how it feels! When Ryan started to take a few steps unaided on 23March (1dayb4 he turned 15month old), I was over the moon!

Then it's a road of no return.
Now he walks around like a drunkard wants to walk around or go for walks frequently. If my MIL refuses to take him downstairs for walks, he'll pull her hair. Very naughty.

I also have not remove the cot bumper. Reason is the keep the socket which is near the cot out of sight. Scared Ryan's curiosity will get the better of him. But hor, he tried to step on the cot bumper to climb out of his cot. So I got to be careful about it. So far so good, keeping fingers and toes crossed.

Jeelo,
Ouch! You're right, we mummies are the ones who always feel guilty when our kiddos fall and hurt themselves.

Why can't shawn continue to sleep in his cot? I've not converted the cot into toddler bed too. Fear that Ryan will toss and turn till he falls off the bed. He does alot of tossing and turning in his sleep. Always end up at different positions facing different directionsin his cot.

Steffi,
Wow, your boy climbed out of his cot? how did he manage? My boy tried to do that but I've lowered the cot to the lowest level so so far he has not succeeded in climbing out.

CSI,
Keen to form a playgroup together? Since we are all in the West
I take my boy to swim at friend's place at Hume Avenue some times

Anyone keen? Around this region lah. We can meet once a month, take turns to have sessions at our place, then pot luck lor.

Bluelily
Congrats! Like Phy said, from now on, it will be a point of no return. Be prepared to run after him / catch him. But it will be loads of fun lah.

Cot &amp; bumper
I also haven't removed the cot bumper. QJ has been stepping on it to try getting himself out. In the process, a few strings have broken. So now his bumper is loose at some parts.

Neither have we converted his cot into a toddler bed. The way QJ sleeps - he rolls around every inch of the cot - it will not be safe for him to sleep without the rails.

Chinese learning materials (board books, DVDs/CDs)
Anyone bought or knows what to buy for our kiddos? I want to start introducing Chinese to him. Went to Kiddy Palace a few times but ended up not buying anything cos I don't know what to buy. Appreciate any advice.

dodo
how do the rashes look like? my boi also has some rashes after the jab, but i am not sure if its due to the jab cos usually on-off he will have rashes coming out

phy
i am also not sure how he managed to climb out cos by the time i heard his cries and rushed into the room, he was already on the floor.

val, i'm oso quite worried abt sr's chinese coz mine sucks big time .. i'm definitely not the best person to teach her and i realised we have been speaking to her in english, even my mum.. dat she dun seems to understand chinese ..
like when we ask her where is your eye/nose etc in chinese she stared blankly ..

hee.. just to share.. haa.. shirui has started calling mama le.. haa.. after such a long long wait.. hee..
but now she cant stop calling me.. she calls mama when she's happy/unhappy/sleepy.. i.e. anytime of the day!

Val, jr does the same thing too! Step on the cot bumper and pulls it ard. Can use it to play peek-a-boo... now some strings are broken too!

Walking
Thks all! Jr have been trying to show off his walking skills this weekend. brought him to shopping center, no need to run after him yet. BUT, he dun wanna let us carry, dun wanna sit on his stroller. Only wants to walk ard.. and must have 2 person hold his hand and walk! Sometimes I let go of his hand, let daddy hold him while I look at things... he'll throw a tantrum! V naughty!

bluelily
my boi doesnt like pple to hold him/grab his wrist. he has to be the one holding our 1 finger. and only one person can be held by him at any one time, so that he can swing his other hand. very cute...

slimz, shiok rite hearing sr call mama. Jr only attemted to call mama ONCE... when he's asking for food from me. Hummpf! He can even call "bear" now. But not mama

steffi, alamak. All sorts of pattern rite? I think now cos he's still not that steady.. once his steady, he wouldn't want us to hold le. That when I'll really be chasing after him. Jr was making so much noise when I carry him that everyone looked at us. *shy* Like I kidnapped someone else's son!

bluelily
maybe..but for my gal, she never like to be held ever since she started walking...my boi macham no confidence one, need to hold to us then can walk further

bluelily congrats! But thats the begining of...more to come...especially boyz aiyo difficult to control. Don wan to let you hold..like free roaming. Wan to take this and that.. running around..Headache..I am thinking to use the harness. Doesnt look good very pitiful but better than he got lost. I saw some that has cute vest with disney pooh that can be put on toddler. Does anyone know where to get? Tried mothercare and kiddypalace, only the normal strap type..
Yesterday brought him out in the morning, walk here walk there. Try to put him in stroller to sleep doesnt want to sleep. When reach home in the noon, after bathing and meal still don want to sleep. Almost half a day walking...Only in the night sleep like a log!

My boy also went for MMR 10days ago. Today I notice there are red spots on his face too. I thot they insect bites Oh dear...after reading this thread looks like same symptom..keep my finger cross hopefully no fever.

my worst fear is my boy lying down on the floor throw tantrum. which he had done that b4 at toyrus. piang.. when picked him up he scream even louder... that's my worst experience in public!

any other kids becoming less friendly, having stranger anxiety? i'm not sure why. over wkend we went n meet up ppl and at all 3 occasions, he's least friendly to our friends/family
In school he's always ok with other kids.

Bluelily,
Congrats tat Jr can finally walk!! Be glad tat he is willing to let you hold his hands now hehe.. cos after he has mastered the act of walking, he would run and you wouldnt even be near his little fingers kekeke...

Kyrell also wants to "walk walk" all the time, sometimes on bed, gng to sleep liao then he like suddenly remembered and attempts to climb down our bed and says "walk walk"!!

Slimz,
Congrats that Sr can finally call you mama!! shiok hor :p I never get sick of hearing him calling me!!