(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

CSI,
Yes I usually cook the stock for 2 hrs.. eh, any short cut? keke...
You are right abt the fake cod fish, apparently they are oily but I dunno how to tell them apart.

Now tat I have intro chicken and pork to Kyrell, at least I can alternate between the 4 types of meat so not so siong to buy cod fish all the time :p

Usually I use chicken breasts or loin pork to brew soup or as stock. Usually meat is sweeter than bones. Will add in either veggies or herbal stuff.
I will steam their rice and fish separately. Will not give fish daily so alternately I will switch to minced beef or chicken with some marinates.
Try not to offer too much batang cos batang got no fish scales, meaning contain high mercury.

ber, i tried freezing using the ice cube tray but stopped now cos i cook her soup for dinner every morning. for the porridge (for the infant care), hubby will just use plain filtered water to cook. we'll cook the grains, then steam the fish, mince it and add the veg. i was worried about the leakage of plastic too but i guess, hard to prevent in this time and age. think ice cube tray is not so bad cos when it hardens we'll pop them into our containers but freezing using ziplock means the liquid is in contact with the plastic material till we thaw. but my mum was saying, "dirty eat dirty grow up" (in mandarin). don't have to worry so much unless it poses imminent danger. hehheh

missylan, i give susu threadfin/cod everyday. cos she's not taking meat. sigh... now cracking my head to offer her alternative.

talking abt preparing baby food, i did what bluelily did. store stock in baby food jars and freeze them. one jar for 2 meals, i cook in the AM to serve for lunch & dinner. i been using baby cubes to store vege/fruits like apples, pumpkin, sweet potatoes.. serve them with cereal.

gabby's mum
agree cod fish very er xin to handle. i actually find it fishy leh..

re: milk vs solids

do you find your baby "gian ni" after we started introduce more solids? mal mal will cry out for milk when he reaches home daily from nanny's place.. we have to quickly prepare his milk + cereal. is that normal? last nite he took 400mls before sleep (from 8.30pm to 10pm). at cereal time 7.30pm he already ate 120mls + 6-7 tbsp of cereal leh.

Alien,
Yes!! Kyrell will handsign or tell me that he wants milk if its been hours since he had it, like he missed it! Last night, he still cries after his night feed of 255ml so I gave additional 120ml, he still like not very satisfied, but I did not give him liao cos scared his tummy cant take it.

Glass jars - where do you get it from? Left over from those commercial jars right? Where else huh?

alien,
wah! that's alot of milk le somemore plus cereals?! he also ate dinner at nanny's place?! growth spurt may be?

shawn say milk milk towards the end of his dinner everyday. Think it's because he's apart from me the whole day, and just want to latch on for the sake the addiction.

cod fish - one fillet cost about $14 or so for a quite thick, medium size cod. i cut into 4 pcs, he takes a qtr of a fillet mos of the time
hadn't been preparing stock

congrats ankh!

jeelo,
L also the same....the moment I get home (regardless of time), she will make handsign for milk, and also say milk milk at the same time...think just want to latch for comfort.

Dawn, coco. jeelo, thanks! Feels terrific not to worry about Emma's milk times when she's at PIL's place! Yippee, can finally go dating with hubby guilt free!

Dawn, am giving Mamil Gold to Emma. Still wonderign if that's the most suitable cos I find it sweeter compared to other FMs and BM. But the prebiotics in it seems quite good. And Emma had soft stools for the first time since she was 6 months old!

Bluelily,
no no, don't scare me, I don't want to be preggers rite now! Maybe later, but definitely not now. Gotta enjoy my "freedom" first ;p.

CSI,
Whoa, you've been the hardworking one! I've been SAHM and latching on all this while. Re: soup stock, tho' I top up with water, but cos the stock is so concentrated, the porridge will still taste yummy. Nowadays my other shortcut is to boil the meat&/root vege first in the thermos shuttle chef container, wait a few hours then dump in all the other ingredients. Can try pork muscles, also makes for very yummy soup

Missylan,
what herbal stuff do u put in the soup?

bluelily
u r funny

I do realise that ever since i stop bf n he's on total FM, he drinks more than before. Sometimes after drinking 210ml before sleep, in middle of night will cry for more. Now cannot trick him wif water at night when he cries. Will scream. Think he's not so much of gian ni, but rather don't like my milk

it's been a long time since i last came in here. it's been mad @ work & it's still is ...

i know it's a little late ... ha! Happy New Year! May all be healthy & our bbs 'kwai kwai'.

Stock
What do you mummies use the stock for? To prepare babies' porridge? For me, I usually depend on the natural flavours and sweetness from the veg and fish to sweeten the porridge. No other flavourings.

Recently, QJ decided that he doesn't like porridge anymore. He prefers rice + soup. What a fussy pot.

wow, realised dec mummies are all gd in the kitchen! my sr eats at my mum's on wkdays i oni cook for her on wkends. 1 meal of brown rice paste another meal of porridge.. no stock involved to date wor..
when i does marketing on wkends its alwys to buy sr's porridge ingredients.. i cant cook =P but the veg r alwys sold in big portion which sr cant finish so i alwys end up either bringing over to my mum's or put in fridge. But i realised for greens, i put fridge, the next wkend i wan use they r all not nice le.. so dump..so wasteful.. =(

slimz, i usually puree n freeze the vegy! still green when we take out n warm. Like tt saves time n no waste! Though my grandma keeps nagging me tt it's not gd this way.. wahhaa

I used the stock as soup and to add into the pasta/millet/quinoa if they are too dry. Kyrell likes it.. something different from plain old water and his beloved milk!

Slimz,
I am no chef but I try to give varieties, checking out for recipes from book, website and mummies like you girls

slimz, me too! i'll batch cook for her vege to be consumed in sch. will steam and freeze during the weekends and thaw them when we need them. usually prepare about a week worth of vege.

just learnt a new soup recipe. water cress with fish stock. just dump water cress, fish bones, red dates + water and cook in slow cooker from morning. will be yummy during night time. my mum said not to just boil over fire, cos will be cooling in nature. better to simmer and cook over time. like that will be zi run.

i gave susu some organic dragon fruit (it's PURPLISH PINK in colour!) over the weekend and her poo turned purple, then grey (with lotsa seeds)! yikes! luckily this morning return to normal liao! gave mi a fright. GREY POO???!!!

tub
when u use fish bones for yr stocks, what kind do u use? any fish bones or must be some specific type? can buy from market?

jeelo
he usually have porridge at 6pm as dinner. so by the time we reach home is abt 7.30pm nia, definitely not hungry but he just cry like so poor thing wan to drink neh neh. and must prepare real quick if not he throws tantrum. and right after his 2nd dinner (7.30pm-8pm), he will drink again ard 8.30-9pm for at least 210ml and may need to top another 90ml+++ if he still not sleeping. one tin 900gm FM only last a week. very siong ah!

Alien,
Mal is really a big eater!! Keke..
Lately Kyrell also very 'tam jiat' (growth spurt?) but still cannot beat Mal lah :p

Tub,
Grey poo?? Sounds SUPER YUcky!! Can susu swallow the seeds?

Mummmies with unwanted Gain Iq sachets(1-3yr) with expiry before april, can sell me???
Need them for the trip, Dun really wanna lug ard 2 tins of powder.
Pls PM me.

mummies, need advice on going overseas with our kids.. my family's planning a trip end of March to HK..
vaguely rem some of u were there b4 or even other places.. what do you all feed them huh? i ve big problem coz sr has never had commerical jar food, not sure if she will accept them anot..
anyone tried those pigeon packed food, use hot water heat up can eat de..?

eve, i use the threadfin bones. but must sieve and be careful cos some bones may break away from the main "body". but extremely sweet la.

Slimz,
i jus check w dr tay last week on her views on "outside food".. other than oily/fast food.. she says its ok for them to feed on normal rice/veg/fish as wat we took... nothing too fanciful thou... perhaps u can try givin her some of outside food+mix a bit of jar food.. dats prob wat i will do..

slimz, i oso fed my boi with outside food liao.. (including kfc whipped potato), fish soup, chicken pie. HK sure got porridgy or soupy stuff. should be ok for SR... :p

slimz,

yea, just got to immerse e satchet in hot water..then ready to eat..BUT my girl din like e taste of it and e serving is pretty small..plus she doesnt like jar food as well..SO i fed her e congee there la..plain congee wif fish..so yummy.

if want to still feed her pigeon porridge or jar food, pls do it early to see her reaction. if all else fails, feed her more milk (i was latchg her more than usual then) n bring all sorts of cereals!

so wat's for valentine's day this year? wat will u girls b gettg ur hb or no need already? hahaha..n wat will e hb b gettg u?

jaz, congrats.

me ah..

i dunno what he'll b gettg me..even if he doesnt, it's fine (like real!)..haha..but seriously, i dun need anythg also.

i'm planning to do some sort of a redemption coupon for him..u know can b quite funny like, to be able to 'watch soccer in peace', 'longer dumping time', 'no bottle washing tonite'..somethg along this line..SINCE i'm not goin to get him anythg..i tink he will appreciate all these more..hahaha..

so i really got to start doin up e creative.

(if it doesnt materialise, at least i put some thinkg into it!) kkeke..

Steffietan, I did that last year. But till now he also didn't utilize the coupons and I told him the validity date is 1 year. Hahaha...

Steffietan,
hmmm now, you got me thinking... I dun really need anything from hubby too and am not getting for him, so maybe will hve some games to 'reward' him hehehe... hopefully I still have the energy at the end of the day :p

bbngg,

tts funny..hahah..is it ur redemptions not attractv enuff?..hahah.. for him, i intend to give him a validity of half yr..wait skully he take advantage. haha.

coco,

no kinky sex games please. tks. =p

now that emma's switched to FM, i have never washed so much milk bottles in my life! cannot imagine how some of u tahan the first few months of bottle feeds. and can anyone tell me any trick for transferring FM powder to dispenser without the powder stickign onto the table, tin, dispenser etc? didn't realise this would happen and for the first time saw 8 ants enjoying diluted FM on my damp kitchen table

slimz,
must let sr try the commercial baby foods beforehhand if you're planning to feed her that in HK. Emma REFUSED to eat them while we were on a cruise. Better still, she hated the ship's water, and only on the last day we discovered the only water she would drink was ............. EVIAN.

Steffietan, he says he wants to keep the coupon so he is bu she de to tear them in exchange for his treat.

Kekeke... better still, save my energy. lolz

steffietan, BBnGG,

I used to do that voucher/coupon thing for my hb too...a few times some more (coz I ran out of ideas what to get him). He never used any of them. hahaha. He still keeps the DIY coupons. hehs...

thanks for the tips.. hmmm .. sr has been exposed to outside foods le.. jux worried HK food not to hr liking .. shall bring milk powder for her cereals and prob like steffie, will ve to latch her more le .. oh ya, u all brought baby stroller there? hand luggage on plane?

cloverluv, i went to dr tay's today let sr get her flu jab. She said need 2 jabs, 1 month apart and the 2nd to be taken 14days before the trip.
Anyway, sr weighs 10.5kg and is 77cm now.. dr tay got no problems with sr's physical growth and the nurse who took sr's wt commented that she is the heaviest girl of all dr tay's patients =P
dr tay oso advised thou sr is doing well on her solids intake, evidenced by her wt, mux still take at least 600-800mls milk (i think, cant rem le..urgh)..
anyone got contacts for gain IQ milk? planning to supplement sr with gain ..

slimz,

yea, i brot a stroller there..more for my boy tho..cz he needs his nap. for bb, i personally found e carrier more useful cz she was fine in it and was able to sleep while being carried as well. u know e thing abt HK, it's not v childcare frenly lor..so my hb had to do alot of labourious work there of carryg e pram up/down many flights of stairs..let's say its a good experience la..haa..

Yo ladies,

Been so BZ! Hope everyone including the babies/toddlers is well and happy!

About feeding solid food, so far I've managed to refrain from feeding Ryan 'outside' food. But hor, he's getting really difficult to feed at times. He wants our food and not his porridge.

MMR jabs,
Anyone toddlers taken the jab already?

Tell you hor, Ryan's right ear infection is slowly healing! YEAH!!! Now I can see his right ear again!!! This is after two months of applying antibiotic cream, antiseptic wash.. then out of no choice, antibiotic steriod cream(for a few days). And then let him wear socks on his hands when he sleeps to prevent him from tugging his right ear in his sleep.

Hard work paying off!!!

Happy to see his ears finally about to heal completely.

Slimz,

We brought along the stroller and ergo carrier to HK. We used stroller in shopping malls and the carrier when we had to take MTR to other areas. Like what steffietan said, laborious to carry stroller up and down the flight of stairs in the MTR stations.

For food, I remember the supermart we went to at Harbour City sells baby food/cereals too.. just not too sure how they taste like. Anyway, we packed cereals and milk powder there.

Anyone's kid still crawling? My boy is turning 14 months soon but he still doesn't dare to stand up on his own and take steps unaided.

Don't know if I should worry leh esp he has a big head (worry he can't find his c.g. yet haha)

can we give fruits like strawberries, blueberries, or rather any types of berries to our kids now?

phy,
my boy only managed to walk unaided just before CNY. It happens very sudden, and all we know, within a few days' of walking and falling, he's now walking everywhere confidently. I guess once they are ready, they will start. My worry is talking cos he only knows how to say "mum mum" when he wants to eat. Not even papa or mama.