(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

nestle also kena? Is the nestle products in sg safe? I seem to recall my mum buys Nespray milk powder for adults b4...

Just now paranoid.. called friso.. they say their entire range of products in from holland.. so safe.. including frisocrem. Phew!

cocoangel.. ya loh. Quite ex.. n time quite short. N u know when we were going out.. I put jr down on the mat for a while to rest my arms.. then tt lady chased me out! Say they got a next class now! I say hey.. i'm only putting him down for a while.. -_-" So dao...

Alien
Wah, must be a very heart warming moment for you. I'm still waiting for my 'mama' moment.

Serena
The brand of cheese I bought for my son is 'kiri'. It comes in 6 individually wrapped portions. It is cream cheese and can be fed straight from the fridge or if you want just leave it to 'cool' a little before giving to baby. Can buy from most supermarkets.

CSI Fan
No need to warm up the yoghurt. I think babies enjoy the little cool feeling when eating it.

y china always have all kinds of nonsense thingy... they are aware of something thats not right n yet not inform others... even for SARS case also right... they kept quiet.. until the situation get worst!! haiz...

thank you all

it was really a heart warming moment for me as i kept am chio, hahaha.. this is just an another milestone. more to come!! wat's next!? papa? haha..

re: yohgurt
i gave straight from the fridge

re: yoghurt
I also gave straight from the fridge.

ytd, gabby's mum, coco and i discovered 2 more brands for baby yogurt, muller (contain sugar) and another brand i cant rem.

I'm currently in China. The milk powder scandal really scared us to death. Good thing my boy drinks Gain by Abbott, and it's 100% packed and imported from Ireland.

But everyone is grabbing imported milk powder off the shelves, so we also have to stock up in case there is a shortage.

Besides babies, this scandal affects us also lor. No milk means no ice cream, no breakfast cereal, no cappucino, no cakes..... gloom gloom gloom...

It is times like this that I really miss Singapore. There are so many things that I used to take for granted, like food safety, security etc. Over here, everything can be fake lor, even mineral water and fresh eggs!! What's next? Countefeit imported milk powder? I won't be surprised!

Eve,
Think your baby might be heaty. For heatiness, best medicine will be TCM. My Pui Pui was having dry cough, meaning w/o phlegm, sometimes cough till vomit milk. I gave him the chinese herb from Eu Yan Sang. Don't dare to go other TCM except Eu Yan Seng's unless you have trusted ones.

Food manufacture in China
I really boycott food/dessert from China even Taiwan. I think their export dept is really telok la. Many Singapore citizens complaining this and that about Singapore. But no one really go think back, Singapore has no natural disaster, strict AVA... the price to pay is our incomes taxes, GST etc... wahahahaa...

higgledy,
Hi... nice to see you here. I heard my China friend saying that even BEE HOON also got cheong one! Bee Hoon made up of PLASTIC! Really heartless... Cheong toys its ok.... how can have the heart to make cheong food?!?

re:yogurt
i dun warm up, i take out frm fridge n let it stand for abt 20mins to 'warm' up before feeding shirui ..
other brands yogurt:
i fed shirui fernleaf & yopait yogurt, she's ok to both .. hmm.. den again she eats everyting =P

gym:
ber, linda n elaine, u all gg again?? geez.. me missed out .. am sure shirui will enjoy if she's there .. i brot her to playgrd jux now and she was ultra excited and screaming wen she saw the other kiddos..

linda, the tiger jar hor .. haa.. i end up cooking my own porridge and use the thermos to keep warm leh ..
guess the tiger one i will get to use it oni wen i go travelling =D

slimz, quite fun, u shld try to go to their level 3, i met one of the smh mummies there and she told me level 3 is more fun than the one we are attending.

how how, want to go jwt trial class? i prob going gug trial class next mth.

In China, the thing I detest most is the lack of transparancy. It is said that the 1st baby died in May, but it wasn't released in the news until a few weeks ago. This is likely due to the Olympics and they do not want to affect the image of the country. And this is in expense of the health and lives of the babies.

For those who can afford imported milk powder, who would want to take China local made ones? Except those who are poor, coz the price is about double. And it is these poor folks who suffer the most.

bluelily, cocoangel,
u all went to gymboree @ tanglin mall? how's the service there? planning to bring baby to the tanglin one to try out another time before deciding if want to sign up.

linda,
is jwt similar to gymboree? i was also thinking of going but the centres all a bit inconvenient to go.

re: yogurt

dun think it's advisable to heat cos the reason why people eat yogurt is becos of the "live" bacteria or probiotic. such cultures will not survive the room temperature, much less the heat.

missylan,

they even chiong EGGS before.
wow... i mean how much more can they earn from all these?

tub,
yah lor. EGGS leh. I have asked many people about this. Apparently it is very common, and it is difficult to tell the real from the fake ones.

So we only eat eggs given by relatives who rear chickens. 100% safe.

higgledy, at least u have relatives who rear chickens! my sister was living in beijing for 2 years and we were always worried about the food she bought there. Heng she's back now. so scary hor these people... dunno where they place their conscience.

jovan ma, jwt trial class how muchie?

eve, ya.. we went to the tanglin one. Service still ok... EXCEPT when we were leaving.. 1 lady chased me out so rudely when I was just placing jr down to rest my arms. DUH...

Talking abt the milk scam, Baby Bites has been taken off the shelves liao leh.. though not detected to contain melamine yet. But I went home to check my stocks... jr had finish 1 whole box of it already.. 24 pieces.. I'm so sad!!!

bluelily ... my gal also love tat biscuit & on sun afternoon she ate 2 pcs leh

so today bringing her for check up to ensure she s ok

milk scam
my heart really bleeds for all e bbs affected. can't imagine how the parents wld feel. these unscrupulous bizmen/farmers should be severely punished. how heartless can they be??!!

mimeole, think it's the middlemen's fault if i'm not wrong. they are the ones who added the chemical to increase "protein" prior to selling to the manufacturers. the farmers are also suffering and many are on the verge of bankruptcy now as sales heads south.

i have read articles stating tt some farmers hv done so.. diluting the milk n adding e chemicals to increase e protein level.

in any case whoever they actually r, their actions hav affected so many. even those legitimate farmers are suffering.

Baby Bites
has it cnfrmd been recalled?

Gabby's mum, huh.. must bring to check up? Dun scare me.

mimeole, dunno confirmed recall anot. But think some supermarts just take down anything tt's made in china and contain milk loh. To play safe until AVA checks n confirm they are safe.

bluelily
ok. haiz.. nw really scared of any dairy product. sm even made in othr countries but mayb e raw ingredient cm frm china.. haiz..

hw r e bbs affected? is it aft prolonged exposure or if eat abit only can affect? hope e authorities can give a better update on the actual situation.

er, my girl also took quite a few baby bites from the new pack we bought.....now dun know whether eat abit have to go check up or not....sigh...

serena, so far we only intro threadfin. cod fish plan to intro when she s one hahahahaha cos of the omega benefit from cod fish

for salmon not so soon cos i scare of high content of mercury

serena, i've oni given threadfin too.
my colleague was telling me best to give fish with "a lot of scales" cos they are less susceptible to poison and mercury.

shucks la, my bb also ate like 2 baby bites biscuit on sun..somemore i just opened it cz e heinz ran out. SHIT. i wanna bring bb for chk but hb says 2 is fine n its harmful only consumed over extended period of time n in substantial volume.

gabby's mom, do keep us posted on e chkup. if my mind's still not at ease, i'll bring mine too. =(

I've also given only threadfin, cooked in porridge, up to yesterday. My mil told me she gave QJ yellow tail - fried!!! Can tell me she gave him the flesh inside. I immediately shot back and say, it is fried, the oil went in already! What on earth was she thinking??? Guess what her response was? Maybe because it is fried that's why QJ enjoyed the fish very much.

Ya man, thanks for introducing oil to him at a tender age of <9months!!!

Angry!

gabby's mum, steffie, wah.. u all make me even more worried ah. Ur bbs only had 2.... my bb had 24 biscuits! I just hope there's no melamine in it.. dun think I'll bring to pd just yet.. havent even confirm it's tainted.

i just called my PD's clinic. spoke to e nurse. she also said must b prolonged consumption then will b dangerous. she added that a child went to e clinic for chk yesterday as he has been drinking Dutch Lady's milk for the past 2 yrs daily..after e scan, he was fine. ya, so far, bb bites hasnt been cfmed yet (tho recalled) but i'm really keepg my fingers crossed on this one.

i'm so worried cos my gal has been taking it since she abt 6 mth old &amp; dunno when the milk has been tainted though.

keep u mummies updates this evening

Gabby's mum, yeah.. do keep us updated. Any idea how much ur gal has eaten till date? Jr stopped eating since 3 wks ago.. after his diarrhoea. But already finish 1 box.

val, old people are like tat one.
my mum tried to smear ice cream on su's lips!!!!! ICE CREAM leh... heng i caught in time and chided her. (well, that's wat i see... wat i don't see, i really dunno)

in infant care, they give the infants baby bites provided by the center. i told the teachers specifically CANNOT GIVE her. also dunno if they follow. just have to remind them and then trust them.

Ivay
Ya lah, parents will always try to annoy us. Just have to pretend we don't know and hope nothing bad happens to our precious little ones.

re the tainted milk,
how come those infants in China develop kidney stones so quickly is due to a few reasons: they drink the infant formula EVERYday, and in quite substantial quantities...plus they dun really exercise etc. So, their bodies are not able to breakdown the protein levels (those that are from the foods - natural ones) and the chemicals. This would result in excess uric acid, which would then lead to kidney stones. This is what my colleague, whos father is a renowned doc in SG told us...

Bluelily, from what I understand from friends who have had kidney stones, when one has it, it will be very painful and one may be doubling up in pain. Pain will be in kidney area. Then go for scan...to determine if there's kidney stones.

wat bb bites r u talking abt? i'm confused. wld appreciated if 1 of u can post the full name of the product or pm me. many thks.

the tinted milk scare is making me paranoid. :S

thks for the pic mimeole. i nearly bought tis product leh. :p

hope all babies r ok. these ppl really r unethical!!! #$%@#$%@#