(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

eve, alot of diff! Self-grid ones need to cook... cos it's uncook rice. N my grandma adds alot of good stuff, si shen, barley, pao shen, brown rice. My mum says my boy appetite better.. maybe cos of the si shen. I dunno leh.. :p

Yest my bb knock into the edge of the table when I was playing with him in his walker. 1st time I see him hurt till cry so loud.. heart pain. He hit the corner of his eye... dunno will have baluku anot.

bluelily,
what is si shen and pao shen?
what are they for?
and where can i get them?
your granny grinds all of them toegther with the brown rice then cook or wat?
sorry ah i got so many questions...hehe

so sorry to hear about your boy's mishap.
hopefully he's ok.

lynzi, wah you got me this time. I dunno how to explain. They are all chinese herbs.. can get from traditional medicine halls or bigger ones like Eu Ren Seng.

Pao shen = something like ginseng? haha.. Need some help from other mummies to explain.. I also blur.

Si shen consist of 4 types of herbs.. I dunno wat also. :p

Sorry ah.. I also know nuts abt all these.. Luckily got my grandma. Ya.. she bought all these stuff from medicine hall.. then get ppl to grind all to powder form. Need those big big grinder outside to grind till v fine powder. Then I just keep the powder form in a container.. everyday scoop some, add water, some fm (more nutrituous), then boil over fire for a while. Jr loves it! hehe

does any one of your babies experience what my gal is experiencing now?
For the past few nights, she has been waking up a few times and each time, she will cry till she's picked up and soothed. She didn't use to cry whenever she wakes up during in her sleep. But, now she cries every time and on one occasion, cried all night and couldn't sleep.

HELP!

bluelily,
erm, just wondering ah...if add FM and then boil over fire...wun the nutrients in the FM be destroyed? Coz even for FM, the temp is not supposed to be above 40-degrees right? otherwise, nutrients all gone coz too hot? *scratch head*

CSI_Fan, izzit? I dunno leh.. Cos my boy drinks v little fm. So I tot anywhere I can add in fm.. I just add in to let him have as much fm as possible. :p Din thought abt the killing nutrients part leh..

Lynzi,
Power la u... crave for durians till that extend. Hahaha... By the way, Pao Shen looks like ginseng but ginseng is for cooling effect. Like we normally can find in Chicken ginseng soup. I also dunno how good it is for babies but for me and hubby, after drinking Pao Shen, the next morning our minds will be very refreshed, good for those who use alot of brain work. Si(means 4) Shen consist of 4 Chinese herbs, to increase the babies appetite. But if you are not into chinese soup, think you might not like it.

bluelily...

heehee...I dunno lah. My gal also drink little FM. just that I read on the milk tin, that temp of water for making the FM is 40-degrees. Then i know EBM, cannot heat beyond 40-degrees, else nutrients killed. So, thot FM she be the same reasoning too bah...heehee...

Anyone's bb got rashes near the mouth area before. Mine got alot mostly on the chin.. 2 wks already.. still like tt. Dunno wanna bring him see doc anot.

CSI_Fan, alamak.. then like tt I add in the fm for nothing ah. :p

missy, pao shen also cooling leh. My col taught be to give bb pao shen b4 injection to prevent fever.. sort of works for my son. He still got fever.. but much better than before n recover faster. But also dunno izzit cos he already got some immunity after the 1st jab?

ok.. got photos from my photographer liaoz... so here's clearer pics of the march-in
1566637.jpg
1566638.jpg

Very cute pic of arielle with her uncle:
1566639.jpg

with mummy
1566640.jpg

Cake Cutting
1566641.jpg

Rachel, she maybe teething. Does she cry with her eyes close? Mine does that when he is teething.

Bluelily, hope jr is alright.

Thks for the concern! Jr's bump shd be ok ah.. my mum din call n complain. I just hope it wont get swollen.
As for the rashes.. dunno wanna see doc anot.

bluelily,

does jr has the habit of eating his fingers?

saliva will also cause rashes around the mouth & face area if baby has the habit of rubbing their face.

bluelily,
My mom told me that there are 3 types of "Shen". Ye Shan Pao Shen not counted as cooling, it is more like tonic, for health well being. It is not too heaty so basically you can take daily if you have cash to burn. Those American ginseng roots is not meant for people with "Yin"(cool) body. The most expensive is Ren Sen, which sells from few thousands and above, that is real tonic(heaty) which you cannot take daily, wait your nose bled and yr hubby's pocket too!

Basically I drink Pao Shen when I am feeling fine, not sick. My hubby loves the after effect when he took Pao Shen, he said very clear minded.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panax_ginseng

oh...eh, where to buy pao shen ah? Eu Yan Sang? Just tell them, "I want to buy pao shen?" haha. sorry. I never buy before lah.

Eu Yan Shen over priced!!! Even their cordycep, Ling Yang, bird nest etc. Now normal normal one Yi Liang also above $100 liao. The thing is need to know to choose. I normally patronise Horse Brand. Just say you are looking for Pao4 Shen1. I will drop in 2-3 slice into my #1 soup weekly. Haven't start on #2.

ooo missy is the expert. I only know it's pao shen.. my mum/grandma buy. That's it. :p

Ah bie... YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. My notti boy loves to bite his fingers, rub here n there, so hor.. keep having the rashes. But this time 2 wks still got.. tt's y dunno need to see doc anot. His face so kelian now.. with the rashes at mouth area, then eyes dunno still got the bump anot.

Where exactly is Combat and Sindy? Even my hubby also said he is craving for durian after the news article. I told him about the discussion here and he asked me to check with you mummies where the shops are.

Someone let me know can? Tks!

aiya, mine rashes all over the body. think it's bcoz he's emitting lotsa heat! he's one HOT boy!!! he has to wear think t-shirts/shorts/no socks in school now. his tummy there, like sandpaper, very rough! heart pain... now everyday i'm putting the gaia soothing lotion at his skinfolds/back/tummy area.

bluelily,

my boy oso hv this problem. i hv to clean his hands n face every now n then so that they r free from his drool. when he dun rub his face, the rashes will subside. so i reckon its due to his drool lah.

hi jeelomeelo n ah bie,

my bb had probs wif rash too.. we thot heat / milk dribble rash. we tried to self medicate then still nv go.. brought to pead.. she said mild case of ezcema.. so maybe u guys wanna chck..

aft e episode i'v stopped self medicating anything to do wif him.. better chck if dunno..

hai... i think so too. Already keep wiping his face. In the morn when he just wake up.. will get better. Then by night time.. the rashes will be v red.

how come ah bieeeeeeeee not like ah bieeeeeeeeeeee anymore? Not used to it leh... izzit the same ah bieeeeeeeeeeee?

mimeole, really ah. Maybe I monitor over the weekends.. still like tt then I bring him go see pd liao. Cos when he's newborn, he have baby acne too. His skin v lousy like mine.

bluelily, i juz got my fingers fixed! HAHAHAHAHA

mimeole,

my boy's case is like bluelily wan. in the morning his face will be swee swee. as the day goes, his rash will come bk due to his drool.

so far he is doing fine with CB cream. so we didn't bring him to pd lah.

jeelomeelo,
Yours flare up due to dry skin or heat? Will you see patches of dry skin first then the eczema flare up?

bluelily,
No lah, not expert. Cos that time there is a news saying pregnant women cannot take ginseng. Wa, so worried so checked it out. Pregnant should avoid American Ginseng, those for herbal soup one loh. So me R&D from there... =)

My #1 tried GAIA, useless leh. So far, QV cream(got paraben leh) and Cetaphil with shea butter(no paraben) are the richest. CB also uselss.

thanks for the info on pao shen and si shen.
btw, just now i bought the Eu Yan Sang brown rice powder with si shen.
the one at causeway point having sale.
now selling for $10.45

i'm wondering how do i go about making it?
the back of the tin stated that i have to add water to the amount of rice powder i want then i still have to cook it over the fire.
still need to cook it is it??
its not like those ang moh cereal where we can just add milk or water to it?

bluelily,
really ah? can improve appetite? i just bought the si shen powder fr EYS. will add to the HT brown rice for him to try. i think i'm too lazy to cook the brown rice before feeding.

CSI
bm cannot heat beyond 40 degrees? i always on my bottle warmer to 45 degrees leh. like that all the nutrients gone? i know cannot be too hot. but 40 degrees take ages to warm up. so i increase it to 45. only at times when bb cannot wait, then i put the bottle into hot water to warm.

my boy is having a runny nose for 1 week. no fever. initially was coughing but now no more. noticed that his nose only gets watery when fan blows directly at him. need to see doc or ok to leave it alone?

missylan,
mine is due to heat. they appear red like after mosquito bites, with red outline. wahlau, the patches like lobster. confirmed with doc its a type eczema. he oso got the pimply looking rashes of eczema..

lynzi,

Yes, the brown rice powder frm Eu Yan Sang needs to be cooked, unlike the ang moh cereal or the Rabbit brand brown rice cereal which u just need to add milk/water.

jeelomeelo,
Wa, 2 different types of eczema leh like mine! That red outline one hor, when going to recover liao hor, it will become drier. The pimply ones are easier to heal right? Hahaha... most of the time mine is the red outline ones.

EYS's brown rice with Si Shen, hahhaa... I am not very good at cooking that... scared overcook or under cook... I will continue my Yuan Hao's Brown rice. My sumo loves it!

<font size="+1">How is the rest of the babies who bought the YuanHao's brown rice?</font>

jeelomeelo,
Now red red, next time he knows how to scratch then that will be a problem liao.

Beng'sMa,
Good luck, don't burnt it!

eve,

yah...that's what I read...and it also says the same on my Pigeon bottle warmer - 40-degrees. So, I think must be cannot be above 40-degrees bah...

hi jeelomeelo, ah bie n missy lan..

my bb stays mostly at my mum's whenever he cms ovr to ovr hs he strts flaring up.. we'v super dusted e place sunned everything possible but still like tt.. then pead say maybe also becoz e hs is rarely ventilated as noone hm for so longperiods.. so we'v strtd opening up all e windows once we cm back n things seem better.. e othr day we had frens ovr n e nxt day his whole eyes got big reddish patch arnd.. v v scared.. look like panda bear.. rush to pead.. she say cld hv been anything.. new gel.. perfume.. sm shirt.. ??!! then she prescribe e orange flu med.. supposedly it helps ease itchiness.. n little bit of desowen..

haiz.. everyday bb only using cetaphil to wash n then physiogel.. dunno hw long he's gonna be sooo sensitive..

beng'sMa.. r u trying the EYS brown rice? mine's still not used.. dun really noe hw to 'cook' it sm more e othr cereals easier.. just add water.. heheh.. well gotta strt..

mimeole,

try to keep baby cool at all times will help to prevent eczema from flaring up as sweat will trigger the itch. v impt to keep the skin moisturize.

ah bie.. yup yup.. tks.. cool clothes always...

missylan.. will add u in.. thnks.. however i am rarely on msn.. things soo far undr control.. bb's on fm.. 2x a day on bm.. strtd on cereals n purees.. nothing adventurous yet..

just now for durian at geylang. 6 of use ate a dozen. smeared a bit at shawn's lips, he smacked abit and gave us a smirked face. later when i tried to smear more, his hand push my hand away. then went to eat frog leg porridge and then ate herbal jelly. now i feel very heaty already...