(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Jaime,

For car seat, can consider Britax from Australia. Safe-n-sound also part of same company. Australia very safety conscious. But make sure the material is cooling. i got a safe-n-sound seat and the material is velvety type, which is too hot for Singapore weather. But very very safe. Oh yeah, also try to get one where baby itchy fingers cannot undo the safety harness when they get older

Jaime
i am also using Safe n sound since no 1 >4 yrs liao. I find it very good too. For my 2nd carseat, I bought Nania brand. havent open up to use yet. waiting for my car to come end May.

zu, phy,
Sorry I MIA. Got running nose, body aching all over. But still got to be up n running to take care of the kids. So scared I spread to the kids. Thu is fine.

crystalz, lynzi, wanna join in the fun?

gloomybear,

My elder gal *envy* *envy* leh... she saw the pic n asked me where were u n bb, I said in Tokyo, then she said,"see mummy, baby so small also go Tokyo, why can't we go back wz mei mei now?" She has been telling us she loves Japan (esp Tokyo Disneyland) n wants to go back there, I keep telling her mei mei too young, wait a few years lor. She kenna poison by u liao.

gloomybear,
I've been trained to eat like this for long long time liao. These days, Kaylen refused to sit in stroller, so I always got to carry her n eat at the same time.

Btw, we just went on a car trip to Port Dickson & Malacca. Now planning for a plane trip, probably going to Australia for winter.

hen
yours graduate to sumo club liao la, can join missylan and etelle's boys

ankh,
I resorted to bringing her to shopping malls too. Juz went for the sales @ Bugis with her yest, and to my expectation, she slept soundly n longer in the stroller while I shopped!

Claire,
How high is her fever? My Chloe has slight fever after her 2nd jab. I juz latch her on more often to make sure she has sufficient fluid. Keep her cool, too, as the weather is getting hotter. Bath her at least twice to keep her cool.

tub,
Chloe also likes to put anything in hand into her mouth, even our fingers! Now I put on bib for her (she salivates alot!) n give her a napkin to 'chew' on.

ange,
Tks for the site. My hb also found it n we got a sample from goon diapers.

claire, my girl also gets fever after jabs. At first sign of fever i'll give her prescribed dose of fever med, then when it's time for the effects to wear off, i'll take temp every hour. When it's nite time, your call as to whether to continue giving her the fever med or wake up every hour (or every few hours) to take temp. Keep in mind temp goes higher at nite, esp around midnite, and that temp can suddenly escalate for babies. Fevers after jabs should be quite mild, but still be careful not to let temp hit too high

Ankh,
what temp is considered bb having fever? PD told me it is 37.5 if taken under the armpit..

any other signs? Like lethargy? Crying?

Hey, any of you had to deal with heat rash? Noelle has some on her waist at the back where the diaper band is. Have tried using desitin on it for the past couple of days but to no avail.

Yvonne, Noelle loves to chew on stuff as well and salivates a lot. At first i thought she was teething, but i guess its a phase that babies go thru at this age.

Constance, do let us know how u find the Nania car seat as compared to Safe n Sound. Am also looking ard for car seats.

ange
Me! me!! My boy was down with very bad rash last month ... I suspect it is due to heat because it acts up badly when he is hot. After a round of skin prick test + allergy control + steroid cream, skin is under control but we try to keep him as cool as possible. These few days with the terribly hot weather, I can see some rashes surfacing again.

Try to keep your baby cool. As for the rash on the back of the diaper, try to change her as often as possible, don't let her soak in wetness or it'll aggravate the rash. Wiping her down and dusting with powder or cream will help too.

ange,
Chloe also has heat rash. Try to 'air' her for the next few days by putting on nappy cloth instead of diapers during the day. I also apply some BM n vaseline on her. Bath her more regularly if u think she needs it, as the weather is getting so warm. Hope it helps!

phy
yep, > 37.5deg at armpit is fever. my fever med (liquid paracetomol) is to be taken every 4 hourly, so i base effect of med to last 4 hrs. so far my girl still active even with fever,but appetite will drop.

long time didnt log in already.

Wow... allerhand poison around. Actually before i saw u mummy's postings. I was already tempted to get one cos I once saw a mummy carrying a rather nice looking tote. But have not seen it being sold anywhere before. I only know Robinsons sell their bags but never saw that design.

Claire/Phy,
my boy just had his jab today. came back n play for a while. Knocked out at 1.30pm... had been sleeeping since then. Got to wake him up to have his milk cos already 5hrs since last feed. And he still wants to sleep... a bit cranky. Luckily he finished almost the whole bottle while sleeping. Now still zzz.... must be the panadol effect.

The first time, he also sleeps a lot after the jab. i think the fever med wear off after 6hrs. And they cry a bit more than usual.

Ange,
my boy also had a rash outbreak last week. His whole face was full of rash. THink it should be the heat plus my milk i think... cos I had too much biscuits. N the heat makes it worse cause can see it gets v red when he sweat. I applied the calendula cream once in a while and keep him cool. It cleared up within the week.

missylan,
yr boy really sumo leh. think my boy really hei bi compared to yours. PD just mentioned today that he's a bit small and was told to pump him up with more milk & also given mulitvits. He's only 6.4kg. Only gain 0.4kg in a mth.

Any mummies already starting yr baby on solids?

ankh - thanks for reserving for me...

gloombear - let us know of your trip experience when u r back! me also wanted to bring my elder n baby yr end to tokyo cuz sil jio me to go with her n my brother. but my dad naggin dun let us bring children along. scare air pressure will harm their ears, etc

mothercare:
if u all need mothercare disc, let me know. I will ask my sil for her member card. think 10%?

btw, any1 know roughly how much will shipping fee cost if ship back a bag from states? me aiming for a Kate Spade bag for myself n hubby sister...hehe

eve - dr ho also gave ur boy multvit too? ur boy considered bigger than my super tiny hei bi! she also said no solid food yet and to wait till 5th month (for 5-in-1 jab) then review and see how...

#1 is driving me crazy! put mei mei to sleep, then she'll come in and jabber away and wake her sistr up again. Then tell her that the bottle is mei mei's she'll purposely take and drink and bite the teat. Argh! Now I'm timing myself out befroe I scream at her. Some more hb hurt his back so he cant carry #1, and my maid just went back this morning. Wah lau, like everything condense into 1 day man!

Gave bb the liquid para at 1.50, went down then started to climb again. Now she's sleeping in aircon rm. later on 7.50 will give again. Wanna give her water and latch her on, both also dun want. Then her saliva like switch on tap like that, keep flowing and flowing. also dunno how to force her to drink.

Naf
i didnt see dr ho today. Saw dr loke. yes... told to give him the multivit and see if his weight gain will improve by the time due for his 6mth jab. Mine was born big @ almost 3.8kg. That's why she said his weight gain not a lot. She said can start solid... start with rice cereal and only a bit first. but not sure to start or wait later when his digestive system is stronger.

heat rash-
Sarah have that esp with the hot weather now. Ard her neck esp. Agnesia powder helps a lot. haha.. The one that we used when we were kids. The red bottle ones.

Hot weather-
i'm gg crazy w the hot weather too... even after a cold shower, i still come out from toilet v sticky after 5mins! Its too hot that the tap water is warm too. haha.. I showered my gal on the sink these few days. :p

hen
that bcos i have more than one kid mah.
i have 3!!!
seriously, all the carriers are due to the poison imbedded here!!!
for carseats, it's a must for us lah. so each car must have at least one lor.

ange
my nania havent Kai Zhang yet. will let you know once i start using.

gloomybear,
I also don't think Takashimaya will be selling formula milk and diapers leh. Once, I went to Chiba station SOGO, they are selling only clothings, no FM or diapers! You got to go to those place that only sell Children's stuff, something like Kiddy Palace, then can find milk or diapers for NB. Scary... that time hor, find the FM until my and hubby going mad. 9pm+ liao, scared alot of shop closing.

おむつ - diaper
パンパース - Pamper
グーン - Goo.N
ドレミ - Nepia (new packaging!)
ミルク 新生児用 - FM for newborn

Yvonne,
You soak your bb into the pool? Swimming pool? You don't scared of HFMD? Now so many cases of HFMD, can spread thru water you know.

Ange,
Hahaha... I stock up Goo.N... I got their M & L size diaper, pull up pants & the penguin wet wipes+cover. Kiasu...

Jaime,
Nope and yes, I am a SAHM living in North area, a place where birds don't even want to come to this district to lay their eggs, this district call SengKang... Hahhaaa..

hi ankh,

i am going for cruise this afternooon and will be back next week.will pick up d bottles fr u wen i m back. will sms u ! thanks!

How do the cruise companies charge for babies and children? My uncle asked us to go, but it seems like 2yrs n above is full price, infant is 25% of full price? Is that true? That's why I didnt want to go. If just me and my 2 kiddoes is already $1300, might as well fly somewhere!

claire.

it s true ... they charges 25% of the full price.
this yr end me gonna bring my gal to cruise too. we gonna spend $3000+ just my hb, myself & my gal

eve,

i have started abit solid for my gal liaoz just that currently we only give her 1 tablespoon of cereal & add it in her BM. She like it. currently she s 5th mth & 2 weeks liaoz.

Finally found diapers! Was so happy when the "dooorman" @ Taka told me that therer's a supermarket @ basement 1... but... when we went there,s it only sells fresh meat and fruits! Nothing like our cold storage and NTUC! So we went to the baby department, and they sell only clothings! Desperate, we went to as the customer service counter @ the baby's department and ask for diapers. Hehehe. The lady was really helpful, and brought us to a section where they sell some baby toys, and ask the sales person there to get us some diapers. Appearently, they don't display diapers out on the shelves in departmental stores as there's not enough space. Was told by the customer serivce lady that it's hard to find diapers in Shinjuku area as people come here to shop, but not for diapers. So it's harder to find in shopping areas like Shinjuku. we were expecting it to be real expensive, but it cost only 1386yen (about $18). Never thought i would be so happy buying DIAPERS!. lol
1396588.jpg

gloomybear,
I understand how you feel, that type of joy to be able to buy back d tin of FM or diaper back to home. Hahaha...

Sumo is on milk strike!!! He thinks it is time to slim down liao... Last feed was 2pm, he drank 80ml after he cried for milk then till 11am+ he drank his first 180ml. Now he asks for milk every 4 hours, no more 3 hours liao. This is the period when PD said that they are rebooting their system. =)

SIGH...think sumana is rebooting system too but she's not sumo... she's little heibi... simply refused to drink milk again! HELP!

tub,
No choice... rmb don't force drink. Best is dream feeds her. Mine will only complete his milk when dream feeding. I must coax him to zzz liao then can feed.

cocoangel, u also planning aussie trip in july? mi too, i gg in end june till 12 jul. dunno how mi gal will take the plane ride though.

gloomybear can share with me too the experience on board the plane and cold weather? [email protected]

missylan, yeah even when dream feeding can oni drink 80-90ml every 3 hours. i dun force her already. she's now sleeping. aiyo... she'll SCREAM when i place the teats (both human or latex) into her mouth. SIGH.

talking about the heat,
yes i oso cannot tahan it.

as for sleeping,
we don't practice using aircon even though we have one in every room.
my hubby wants to conserve electricity and do the earth more good.
so yes, we use the fan.
my boy will sleep in his sleeveless romper.
now not even using the dreambag i bought from petrina.
too hot for him.
the fan will be switch on to no.2
first 1 hour of his sleep fan will directly face him.
after that we will oscillate it.

eve,

i add onto her usual milk feed. I add 1 tablespoon to her normal milk supply of 180ml of BM. I used avent teat 3 cos previously introduce the cereal to her using teat 2 the flow is very very slow.

i will do these till she s 6 mth when can introduce a bigger portion to her.

deerdeer,
My bb wld wear long sleeve pj to sleep, n we all sleep in aircon room. We hv a small baby blanket to cover her but these days, she very good at kicking it away.

re: fever
Hi, just thot i share my experience...

My elder girl kenna high fever a couple of times. Usually her fever starts at 37.5, then it goes up n down for few days. Once, she went up to 40deg on the 3rd day, we rushed her to TMC in the middle of the nite. The nurses asked if we hv been giving her panadol every 4hrly. We told her that middle of the nite, we'll not wake her up for medication. The nurses then told us that we shd give her panadol every 4hrs, regardless if she is running fever n including middle of the nite, for 2 consecutive days, in order for faster recovery. We did that afterwards n it worked.

Recently, my elder gal got fever again. This time, the fever took longer to recover, even wz antibiotics. Her temp taken by the ear is often lower than the temp taken under the tongue. We consulted a fren who is a doctor, who then told us that the temp under the tongue is usually higher but doctor usually based on the ear. Also, taking antibiotics may not mean faster recovery. Most imptly, must give medication regularly (the panadol 4hrly practice).

Fever aft immunisation jab is pretty common. Old pple usually said to let bb drink pao shen b4 the jab. It seems to work cos bb's fever wld not be so high (prob ard 37.5 n I dun give any panadol in this case, unless it hits 38). Also, I think give bb lots of water to drink helps too.

jasmine,
u need to get a lawyer to do a deed poll name change (if market rate has not change, it prob cost ard $150-200).