(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

hi CSI_Fan,

I have been doing this since day 1. very convenient and more cost effective and environmental friendly. I have abt 20+ bottles to rotate. So everyday, what i expressed at work (using bottles), I'll leave it at my in laws place, collect the empty bottles and so on.
Only use milk bag for excess milk to be frozen.

CSI
i have been doing that all these while. i hv abt 15pcs of avent milk storage bottles to rotate. but i dun keep with teat on. avent has own milk storage bottle. just change to teat cap when feeding baby.

fairylander:

goodness, she looks so easy to love..wat a beauty. it must be v hard on u n family. but keep on e positv side always. everythg will b ok and over soon.

Hope the babies who are not well, get well soon! Its really tough when babies fall sick. Wish all mummies and babies healthy and happy.

Thankfully, my gal is ok after her jab on Thu. It is her elder sis who came down wz fever. Today is 3rd day liao, the fever still come and go. Am thinking if I shd bring her to the clinic again or to the hospital.

Hi dinut,

I'm also interested in the FP Jumperoo. If u hve any lobang, pls count me it ya..

fairylander,
Pls be strong & ur cute little girl needs u.. dun worry.. both of u r in our prayers.. Take care

Thanks witty, T&P, alien...

ahh...suddenly I feel like "where have I been living on all these while...?" hahahaha...

But horh, is it a must to use the sealing disc? For avent, it's called the sealing disc right? I was thinking of just using the teat+cap. Alien, if use the sealing disc, how do you keep the teat?

Can ask you something?
1. How long is your baby's nap each time?
2. How many times does your baby nap in a day?
3. How many hours does your baby sleep at night?

My gal tends to sleep for only 1-2hr during each nap, wakes up for abt an hr, then nap again. She goes to bed ard 9/10pm, waking up at 2 and 5am. At nite, she lies on her back to sleep but sometimes wld turn to sleep on her side or on her tummy. She even sleeps sideways in the yaolan. Its the nite that I'm afraid that she faced down n can't breathe.

Like some of the babies here, her milk intake also not fixed. Sometimes 150ml, sometimes 180ml. Sometimes 3hr, sometimes 4hr. I don't force her, usually feed on demand (her demand is damn solid, she wld cry so loud n so long that sometimes I worried if neighbours think I'm torturing her). She now weighs abt 8kg at 4mths.

oh dear.. hope jovan/dwayne would recover soon. mummies oso take care, we can't afford to fall sick either.

fairlylander, Cathrina is such a sweetie pie. be strong & take care

my ergo arrived! Shawn almost fell asleep while i was tryign on the carrier on him. he like very shiok inside.

hen: dun worry...i'm facing similar probs with u! My son oni sleep abt 30mins to 1 hrs for AM nap, then 1 to 2 hrs for PM nap. Nite time will knock off abt 8/9pm then will wake up at abt 1/2am for feeding and changing of sleeping area. Then abt 5/6am will wake up again to be transferred to yaolan. Abt 8am then i will ve to wake him up as need to bring him over to my brother place as i go work. Since he can flip, sometimes he oso like to sleep on his tummy, but i will not let him sleep for long in such postition as like wat u say is prone to some danger....now his feeding oso not fixed. from 90 to 180ml! Very drastic hor...now we feed him based on hours...tat is if he call for milk less than 3hrs we will give him from 90 to 120ml. If more than 3hrs then 150 to 180ml. Usually the feed at 8/9pm we will tends to give him 180ml to tank him up so that he can sleep thru longer. :p My boy oso will scream at top of his voice and we already immune to it!
My neighbour told me she can hear my bb cry lor from her bedroom, and she can tell me ur son grow up liao hor! The crying sound diff leh...hahaha

CSI_fan,

Oops..i meant to say i store my EBM in bottles with seal, not teat.
Re. teat, my MIL will use hot water to sterilise each time before a feed and fix it to the bottle come feeding time. so u only need 1 teat.

I would like to find out more about the Positive Infant class at Babybreeze. Can mummies who attended kindly give some feedback?
what activities are included in the class?

T&P,

Oh....okie. heehee...

hmmm, but for my case, it's my parents' maid helping out. Think I'd better give her something straight forward so the chances of making a mistake is minimised. hehs.

fairylander,
ur girl is such a beauty.. mux b realy heartaching.. hope everyting goes well for her .. =D

CSI_Fan,
i'm using avent bottle + teat + DOM caps for some bottles .. coz dat time i run out of avenet bottles + sealing discs and i bot bottles @ taka baby fair .. got home den realise they dun come with the sealing discs..
the Dom caps fit the bottle to the tip of the teat.. no leakage so far leh ..

witty,
no la, i've been on leave last thrus/fri (but still kinda working from home also), on leave including today oso. went to run errands in the morning, leaving him at home with my mum for a few hours. this whole afternoon had to work from home, sianz.... tomolo he's going back to school liao. hopefully no more new cases.

hi can i have some feedback on beco carrier cos i need to change my babybjorn soon as my son is about 9kg+ now and babybjorn can carry up to 10kg.. & the purchase is only thru online? thanks..

witty.. no need envy me lah. U come take care of my naughty boy can slim down liao. Me, my hb, my mum and dad.. all slim down like dunno wat liao. hahaha. Think I can open a slimming center liao. Who wants? I lend u my boy for 1 wk. Results guarenteed! :p

Btw, updates from Linda. Her boy will be discharged tmr.. still can play n laugh. Heng!

fairylander,
your little princess is so lovable....me too feel the pain for you. anyway i m sure she will be fine after the surgery **Take Care**

ask you ladies, should i not feed > 1month old milk in the freezer? i'm just asking coz i dunno whether should i still just keep it in the freezer up to 3months or should i throw away. so far my baby is ok with 1month old frozen milk. i smell the milk, no sour sour smell ar...

1. My boy sleep around half to 1 hr each time.
2. My boy nap abt 2 to 3 times in a day.
3. Nite time: he will sleep at about 10.30pm and then wake up in the morning between 6.30 to 7am...a good boy indeed and seldom wake up for nite feed.

His milk intake also not fixed. Its between 120ml to 150ml. Sometimes 3hr, sometimes 4hr n i also feed him on demand. He now weighs abt 7.5kg at 41/2mths.

jeelo: personally i think it's fine la..1 mth is ok. some ppl keep up to 6 mths in freezer, some prefer not to.

sidetrack abit..i bathed alexis in BM today! dunno whether if its psychological, but her skin really feels so much smoother (not that it isn't already)..there's like a film of gloss on her skin. like so cool. mayb must just wash my face with it. oh, this packet of milk (10oz) has a slight tear at e corner..so i din want to keep it.. T&P, idea? =)

CSI
you gonna believe i hv more than 2 dozen of bottles. after sterilised, i placed all teat+cap with bottle and "seal" up. those storage bottles will go with sealing disc. after warm up the milk, switch sealing disc with teat+cap. means will hv extra clean/sterilised bottle fr teat+cap. you get wat i mean? abit luan to explain

t&p,

ok, i didnt rinse off - i thot tt wld hv defeated e purpose of bathg in it then. n yes, there was a smell..not smelly smelly but BM smell.. i let her soak in it n towel dried her. n by then there was no smell already! i din even apply any lotion... n e skin already felt supple to e touch!! tts why i swear its psychological. heh..

i'm going to try it on my cellulite-laden butt n see how it goes. i'm going to use all e 'older' milk. beats throwg them away. =)

T&P
haha.. ok i try to explain the best i can

a) storage bottle + sealing disc = ebm in fridge
b) teat + cap + storage bottle = empty sterilised bottle

feeding:
warm up a)
switch a) to b)
just switch the sealing disc to teat+cap
clean/sterilised bottle from b) will go for another round of sterilising

clearer boh?

alien,
Had to re-read a few times....think I get what you mean.

You have so many bottles....some come with teat+cap, some is with sealing discs.

So, after sterilizing, you'll seal them all up. Bottle + teat + cap (set A) and bottle + sealing disc (set B). So you'll probably have a few of each set. Then you only put your EBM in those bottles with sealing discs. Then when it's time to drink, you'll swap sealing disc with the teat + cap from set A. So will end up with clean sterilized bottle + sealing disc. In other words, bottle from set A will now become like set B. Tio boh? (think I lagi luan)....

steffietan
recently i threw away a pack of frozen milk cuz of tear too, aft tt then realise i should have bath my baby in it! no need to rinse ah? i wonder if ants will find the baby yummy?

hentang
my baby's schedule:
730-8am wake up and bath
8-830am milk (120ml)
9-930am milk (60ml)
945am-1015/1030 nap
11am milk 150ml
12/1230- 1-130pm nap
2pm milk (haven tried bottles on this feed so not too sure how much he drinks
230/3pm - 5-6pm nap
5-6pm milk (haven tried bottles too)
730pm milk (60-100ml depending)
8pm sleep
1030/11pm dream feed (150-180ml)

If he wakes up at 5am, i will let him take a 30mins nap aft his feed.

demand feeding did not work for me. aft i schdeule routine feeding, i managed to cut off his night feeds. i followed Gina ford's napping time, din work for him, in the end he set his own nap himself which is better since his long nap coincides with my #1's nap.

jeelomeelo,

if u got extra milk, then i feel that u can throw the milk away or use it for bathing etc. Cos our milk changes to suit their growth. So last month milk might not be the same as what u produce for this month.

crystalz/steffie,
ya. was thinking of bathing bb or myself with the milk. hahaa... my fridge's freezer is almost full liao (coz not very big ma). my mum is in town and she buys the raw food and keep them in the freezer. Even though she keeps them in ziplock and containers, i still dun feel safe. and no place to put a tub of icecream either..

alien
just saw ur post on sm. how come suddenly intake full? last 2 times when i enrolled my kids, no such problem leh. must b due to that tv show...
mayb enroll for nxt term instead? flash cards to bb at home in the meantime?

constance,

did the shicida method really helped your 2 kids in learning faster?

really dilema if i should spend the $$ for my girl to attend it..

constance,

pls share with us ! i am still contemplating whether to send my boy to shichida or teach him based on glenn doman method since i m a sahm,

i just started Alonzo and Alena on Healthy Times brown rice cereal last Fri. Alonzo is taking it well and it seems to help in his digestion cos he used to pooh once in 2/3 days. ever since he started on cereal, he poohs everyday!

Alena does not seem so interested and always spit out the feed, haha... anyway, before she started the cereals, her pooh schedule is very regular and she poohs everyday. However, she poohs 3 times today and its kinda watery. I am wondering if its anything to do with the recent cereal intake? I will stop her cereal intake for now and monitor first.

any mummies here have similar experience or any advice? ai yo... wonder if need to see doc or not.

petrina / miraclebaby
i think for SM, most important is patience and consistency in home practice lor. I also have friends whose kids enrol in SM, but dun do home practice. in the end, they think their kids not learning anything, so they pull out lor.
For my case, my no 2 start SM at 10mth old. Compared to no 1, her development is much faster. She is coming to 2 yrs old next month, but can already speak in full sentences and can count up to 15 already. She picks up foreign language songs very fast too, maybe due to early exposure.

miraclebaby
i went for the GD workshop before, but i find SM's activities more comprehensive, hence chose SM.

Actually you all shld go for their preview before you decide.

CSI
BINGO! well explained but i think only i know what you mean. haha... yes i have many many sets for both A and B. i do sterilising 24/7. nvr stop one...