(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

zu,

wah your kids sounds guai leh. my #1 is very easy, independent and not sticky, happy go lucky gal. but #2 wahliao.....

Ya i agree ERGO is bulkier...hehe i bot it without looking at the real stuff! when i saw the site i imagine it to be so bulky and hesitated but i had comments that its not so bulky. when i rec the actual carrier, i tot its acceptable. the shoulder straps are more padded, comfortable but looks a bit bulky on my thin frame la. n the waist strap too bulky for my frame also.. no choice bah, bot liao...but i must say its very comfortable to use coz of the padding
except at the waist too bulky so i cant really sit down comfortably when i using it loh...till now i still not experience it to be "hot" coz i use it in shopping ctr only n i m super scared cold one :p

I saw the patapum on the website, it does look less bulky then ERGO!

Hi constance,

Your #2 cries coz she want u is it? mine cries coz "want mummy to carry, want mummy to feed milk etc etc"...everything want mummy, b4 #3 arrived #2 was not like that..so i think is middle child syndrom, n jealousy... jialat. me like u loh, beh tahan man when #2 keep crying..drives my whole fam (parents n my sis n bil) nuts coz we'r there everyday from morning till night haha

hi botanist,

pls add me to ur list too! btw i need your opinion, of all the carriers which is the one which has the smallest waist strap? the ERGO one so bulky leh, my waist n hip rather small so hor wah doesnt fit so well loh, n sit down not comfortable coz too bulky for me. if there's one carrier that's significantly less bulky, i seriously i want to get another one.

constance, my photograher for my ROM was excellent with a great album book. Maybe you want to contact him? I think he did a great job...

his location at Gallery Hotel. Jayce

Flash Cards :

i got a set ytd at Giant with nice pictures, onli at $4.90. Expensive? Not sure what you ladies have bought...
They got ABC, Fruits, Animals, occuptions etc sets...

blessed, eave them alone mor eoften then not sticky liao. if bb cry, i let her cry a bit longer than come. if cry then i straightaway attend to her, then sh etink i m so free. :p

Zu, i saw the sucking equipment. Can let mi know where to buy? PM?

Gloomybear, i wanted to hold a "party" function over there... we will see how.. cos i haven hold my Traditional Wedding yet. I love the place.. but i held my ROM in a Bungalow Chalet at NSRCC. We had a simple one..

Will see if i got the time and money, provided tt i m slim first.. ROM shortly then my boy came alone.. so haven got chance to take wedding photo.. got to reverse the whole thing.. hahaa

blessed,

pikkolo has smallest waist strap because it doesnt have padding that beco and ergo has. if you want something that is even thinner and has less padding, u might wana consider the mei-tai's. ellaroo as well as catbirdbaby have beautiful mei-tais.

in terms of wearing, its the same sort of look as the ergo/beco/pikkolo carriers, just that those have buckles and for mei-tai its just all fabric - u just need to know how to tie it.

Belle,

in fact pigeon have a similar function one

mayb u wanna check it out. So far I have one
but of course e suction not as good as those at the
PD which using motor to suck out the mucus

Belle guess not leh ... :p
probably you might wanna get the one zu mentioning

zu where do you get that ar? probably would want to get one hahahaha

constance,
both dphotofolio and foto-u have 1hr promos (outdoor and studio respectively). You can check them out at the business thread. Tried both and both are gd
Up to you what style u prefer

Re: Tracy Hogg the Baby Whisperer method

I bought 2 of her books but now they're collecting dust...before I started it out on my son he suddenly changed,less cranky than before and started to have some kind of routine and sleep more at nite (without me training him)...
I agree on routine but I'm flexible and I also mix different methods together according to what I believe in n what suits my son...coz I also believe as babies develop they will be able to do things without training (i've talked to many mums who don't have probs although their babies were nursed to sleep or never trained to sleep thru the nite,but they eventually did on their own).
I don't agree with some of the things Tracy said in her book so I search around and came across some articles in other books and also online that suits me better like these:
Regarding nursing baby to sleep http://www.kellymom.com/parenting/sleep/comfortnursing.html
Regarding sleeping thru the nite
http://www.kellymom.com/parenting/sleep/sleep.html

i have been doing EASY since my bb turn 2nd month. I would say its really good routine. And my ger actually slept through since i start the rountine. But lately she have been waking up cos she milk strike lah.. haiz so keep waking up for nothing (not for milk) at nite and need to pat to sleep. Baby whisperer have a forum... mummies who are interested can check it out.
http://www.babywhisperer.com/babywhisperer.html

constance,
i think only 1 photographer, called alvin. You can have a look at the pictures he took for my girls

http://claire.dphotofolio.com/

She's not very cooperative (even with the foto-u pg Ben) so i think he did a pretty gd job. And though our appt was 9am, he stayed and took til 1030 when both girls got cranky.

HI botanist,

I was lookinga t the mei tais and I tot to myself if kancheong want to remove bb from carrier, wah sure fumble at the knots hehe.

ooh so Pikkolo doesnt hv the waist belt, so is it still comfortable to wear like the Beco n Ergo? I mean the weight is not supported at the waist so if bb grows real heavy will it b very taxing on our shoulders.

Ay i trying to "cheat" myself la, was hoping you'll tell me "beco has smaller wasit belt then ERGO" coz yday night i sell this idea to my hb say the wasit belt too large for me, if Beco smaller i'll change n showed him beautoiful pics of Beco and he din complain hehe. Ya so is the Beco wasit belt any smaller then Ergo? coz i look at the pic, Beco wasit belt looks thick also...i m keen on Pikkolo but not sure no waist belt will still b as comfy not? Thanks!

hi Dinut,

I hv this "bad" habit of nursing all my kids to sleep! I tried very hard to try them sleep on their own, but fail la. but like wat u say, once they wean off, auto they'll learn how to sleep by themselves.. i tell myself, how long can i hold them n nurse them to sleep? max 2 yrs each..so i went ahead coz time will come they dont need us to hold them anymore

Talking about weight. I stil have another 4kg to lose before i can go back to my pre-preg weight. I can wear back some of my pre-preg clothes but not tight fitting shirt or blouse cos cup increase by 1 size so abit tight. As for pants, some cant wear le think hip increase also. Juz wonder will the hip size decrease?

Mummies giving BM, how do u set up a routine for ur bb cos i cant really monitor how muz my gal drink & if she cry i will feed her. But i hope to set up a routine for her so that when i back to work, it muz easier for my mum.

1308354.jpg

Etelle, the book cost about $13+, I bought it at Kinukunia.

My baby starts to be cranky at night, day time she is fine, but at night dunno why.
Sleeps at around 9+pm
wakes up 2am - so I feed her 150ml of milk
2;45am - sleep
5am - wakes up again, gives her pacifier but didn;t go back to sleep
5;30am starts screaming, so thought she is hungry and make milk, but she refused to drink
pacify her until 6am then fall back to sleep
wakes up 6:30am.....

why why?

blessed

no, the pikkolo has a wasit belt but its not the padded type like the ergo or beco.. so not so bulky..

noelle,

i have same problem as u.. my son sleeps at 7pm wakes up around 10plus, 2 plus and then 5am for feed. but after 5am.. he must be carried so i bring him into bed with me until 7am when he wakes up for morning feed... very tiring!!

blessed,
i agree with you about nursing to sleep...at first i also thought abt this as a 'bad' habit but after doing some reading i'm assured that it's not bad,but natural! especially now my baby is only 2mths+...but of course not all the time,only when he needs it.
i also want him to be independent (at this age meaning he can find other ways to comfort and entertain himself not totally dependent on mum).
so far i notice he only needs to be nursed to sleep when he's overtired or overstimulated,otherwise can sleep on his own or with help of some other ways like being carried for a while just to comfort him.so at least he can sleep in many ways lah not just one way.
at first i also dunno whether to feed him on demand or on schedule...but in the end decided to feed on demand but coz he also got some kind of routine (flexible),i can guess roughly when he'll get hungry before he cries for it.

mummies, at first I was so looking forward to her turning 3 months old, coz heard lots of pple saying tat after 3 months bb will "AUTOMATICALLY" sleep thru the night. But mine like reverse, she wakes up more frequently than when she is in 2nd month. Oh she is turning 3 months tomorrow.

Botanist,
I also wonder how can we make bb go without changing diaper, milk for the next 12 hours. Tracy Hogg makes it sound so easy.

Morning mummies, wah 1 day never come in so many thread to catch up.

Re: Pikkolo
Yesterday finally got my appletine pikkolo from Missylan and try out on my son, he seems to like it. I try him on front carry facing inward (toward my chest)position, with the strap crossing over my back.

Verdict: Thumbs up, easy to use and ease on my back.

Do you know if it's alright for the baby to have the fan blowing close to her or at the top of her head? Cos I put my gal under mosquito net and it's quite stuffy in there, so I have to put the fan closer.

Weight:
My recommendations for back to bikini tummies:
1. Swim
2. Do abdominal exercises

It works wonders, I tell you. Need help on exercise tips, you can ask me.

Alien:
Sigh! I've wanted the Cocoa butterfly right from the start. Shd not have delayed purchasing it. I can't wear my tops cos I don't like to make my breasts look so obvious. Very shy la.

Noelle,
oh yes, my girl slept through the night when she turned 3 mths. But only for one night. After that, she's now waking up more often than usual.

I super tired. Baby giving me headache cos she tends to cry a lot in the afternoon n I dunno what she wants.

These days, she wants to be carried to sleep every time and she'll suck my t-shirt as if she's sucking my nipple. Tried to latch her on but she refuses n wld cry (she's been bottle fed all along). Tried giving her pacifier, same thing she doesn't want n cry even louder. Even the yaolan doesn't work. My arms aching lor.

My bb is an early bird lor. She wakes up at 5am for feed n then dun want to go back to sleep. Must talk n play wz her for an hr or so b4 she goes back to sleep. By then, I can't sleep liao cos got to prepare my nbr1 for sch n walk her to sch.

Wah is it due to the Transition period? Maybe our babies are going into a new phase and that's why they get confused with their own routine. Maybe that's why they becomes fussy and cranky, I am also facing problems too. I wonder if I should increase her milk intake or not. Pump up her calories intake.

noelle,

i try to take on a relaxed attitude about getting my son to sleep through the night. i feel that if babies are physically ready to sleep through the night, it will happen...

i've tried both gina ford's and tracy hogg's methods and although my son sleeps longer in the evenings, he stll wakes up for a few feeds at night.

so i try to be positive lor.. after all, if he is really hungry i will definitely feed him, and since i'm a SAHM, if tired, can always sleep with baby the next day so just go with the flow

with that being said, i found one tip useful: to make my son sleep longer, I will usually make him quite awake when feeding him so he will drink as much as possible. so feed, let him lie down, feed again, change diaper, feed again, lie down and stretch, and feed again... once he drinks more, he doesn't wake up so fast..

i know... i also some damn confused with my son's behaviour.. guess bb's are always changing! two nights ago, he didn't wake up at the usual 5am to traumatise me.. i was so happy..

but last night! he woke up again at 5am and refuse to go back to sleep... alamak!!

been wanting to ask around - is anyone else also reading to their baby already? Can you share what titles you are reading? I would like to buy more books for my son but not sure what other authors/titles I should explore..

So far I'm reading him Karen Katz and Nina Laden and it seems to work very very well.. his responses are so cute that I ordered more of their books, but wonder if any other authors to get..

Rachel,
i oso told myself ve to do crunches for tummy to subside..haha..but.... too tired, lazy n backaches.. haizzz

botanist,
i wan read to my girl too, haven start leh..so guilty. last nite went library borrowed 2 cardboard touch n feel books, gg to read to her tis weekend. Cant rem wat author liao. oso saw Mother Goose's books, tot of borrowing but too big liaoz..
saw in the BP Eric Carle's books like not bad..
oh ya and the librarian suggested lady bird series.. she said she read to her dotter lady bird's n dotter likes dem

hi botanist and slimz... kowtow to both of ya. hv not start reading to my boy yet. He rashes is bad. will bring him to see pd tonite.

botanist,
i have't tried reading yet. waitinf for my books to arrive! i got some sandra boynton ones... reviews say her books r not bad

i got sandra boynton too but read to him, he got no reaction, maybe too advanced for him right now...

i also ordered another author, Leslie Patricelli.hope her books will be good. hmmm the picture only books are great too but i feel the lifespan is shorter, i.e my first cot book, look! look!

sigh..finding choosing books v hard cos wat works for us might not work for bb!

jeelomeelo,

i ordered directly from amazon, didn't join spree cos i find pick ups quite troublesome for me... u leh??

hven't tried ordering used books before... have u?

re-the mucus sucker
hb bot that at meidi-ya pharmacy at Liang Court. it seems to work for me. cos when adam wa sypunger, we din know gt this thing, so bg to doc. seemd like not so much diff. this thing-instant relief. but of cos after some tym mucus will come again. so u suck again lor. normally its hb who does the sucking. got no power to suck for them la.. :p

books- i read books to both boy and now my gal. ericcarle is great for kids too. maybe can start w the very busy spider, panada bear, panda bear, brown bear brown bear.. its mostly repetition. kids love it. i get my books mostly from this bookstore at Bras Basah. Cheap and good.

hi girls,
my little one likes the sesame street board books (one set had 3 books in a "bag"). got it from borders..Marks and Spencer baby books are also nice for her..i bought one titled "big smile baby!" but she really likes to see the pics in the sesame street board books lah..she will open her eyes big big and start "talking" to big bird and elmo and cookie monster..hahah! so cute!

zu,

which shop at bras basah?
hehe thanks for recommending the titles! been wanting to get eric carle but blur..dunno which one suitable for young babies...

botanist, i ordered via amazon. haven't tried ordering the used ones though. one thing is that you can't get many books from one supplier at one go. so, order new ones. waiting for them to arrive. btw, have u got msn?

zu, the brasbasah book store is 2nd one or 1st hand? cheaper than elsewhere?

jeelomeelo,

yes got msn.. [email protected]

etelle,

i checked wif a friend who bought before, she said if got 4 for 3 offer, plus free shipping - works out to be the same. Except i couldn't find those titles here in s'pore (either sold out or not available)>. so no choice lor, order from amazon..

the bookstore at Bras Basah is 1st hand books. all new.
Yup, i see the same books selling a Popular cost like $2 to $3 more. They have a wide variety of titles. Can go there and see. I'm sure u will spend like crazy. hehe.. Anyway, the name is Children BookStore. Cnt recall wic floor lei. Sorie. Shld be either 3rd or 4th. If u take the delivery lift, turn left. its close on sunday. mon-fri until 6pm. sat timing not sure.

brown bear brown bear gt 3 diff titles in the same series if nt wrong. forgotten wat they are. my boy enjoy reading them.