(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

etelle & mel ... me vote liaoz

etelle, mel - voted too...

linda - most likely late afternoon...also got to depend on my hubby n my elder one...feel like goin alone cuz scare difficult to push pram or carry baby ard in crowded place...

how abt you?

hey ladies,

any hokkiens here?
i wanna ask for the "Opening Ceremony" thing for babies at 4th mth, where u let baby lick chicken, etc...do you perform some religious rites prior to letting baby taste the food?
pls advise!!!

Rachel_wee,
what's your email again ah? Coz if it's through the invite, it shd be auto "enrolled". I dun need to do anything else...so very strange that you are not in lorh, esp since you've replied to the invite...

Are you referring to receiving emails? Did you set your settings as "to receive individual emails"?

expo fair:
me me going!! i wan grab GAIA items @ discounted prices .. =D shld b there ard 11am .. hmmm... mabbe shld borrow car from BIL .. ask my hubby now..

sex:
hehehehe.. my HB veri poor ting one.. coz everytime is he wan .. we haven had it for a long time le .. the last time is i cannot rem too .. hahaha ..
wanted to plan a weekend sty at fullerton for his bdae .. so i told him.. ve a bd surprise for him .. wich is gg cost ard $500.. hahhaa.. and he says he dun wan .. ask me give him the $500 to buy some IT gadget .. faintzzz!

Hi T&P

I'm hokkien, my mum's the one who do the 4th mth thingy for all my kids...there's no religious rites leh, coz i m christian. she just let my kids:
1. sit the rattan chair (yi kio)
2. suck a string of biscuit that my mum "sew together" (so bb wont salivate haha)
3. cook a bowl of seafood, drumstick etc to pretend let bb eat (means start to eat "meat")
4. cut hair if needed

hope this helps

Hello mummies... our <font size="+1">BECO/PIKKOLO</font> order arrived Singapore today! So expecting another 1-2 days to send to me. =)

Any of u SAHM? can I ask your reason for giving up a career for kids? I m temp SAHM, it was planned i be a perm SAHM but these few mths i feel very "useless".. if i go back to work, I can hv alot more $ to spend, save n spend on the kids and also "intouch", have a career/life of my own...but on other hand I feel like spending more time w the kids. can you share your tots? Thanks

thanks for voting for my kids.

missylan
hmm... my metropolis and cocoa butterfly not here yet. dunno what happen.

blessed
i understand your dilemna
I also considered to be a SAHM before. then only got one kid. Ever talked to my boss about working part time first. He agreed, but me last min decided not to.
I think for me now, if i stay at home and face the kids full day, i will go mad. On the other hand, i also desire to spend more time with them. very contradicting hor. In the end, in order for myself to remain sane, i think work is better for me. Furthermore, I know that if i am to stay at home, i will definitely "on the tv" for them the whole day and "rot" with them. So external stimulation from childcare seems a better choice for me.

blessed
actually now the only "me time" i have in my life is when i am working.

very sad hor?

That's Y i really salute SAHM who can stay at home to look after their kids. It is a more difficult job than having a career outside.

Constance,

oh yes, i wanted to tell u that i started the Math cards addition today and it was so funny to see my son's reaction...

he's been enjoying the 1-20 dot cards, everyday will laugh and nod his head when i go thru the cards. Today, when I flash the 3 sets of addition equations during the first session, he gave me a completely mystified expression!! Priceless..haha

By the time I did the 3rd session of equation, he finally got the hang of it and started happily nodding his head and giggling again. Hahaha sooo cute!

blessed,

personally, I think it would be good to have a job. at least, you got some "spare" $ to spend on things that you like &amp; also, not facing your baby 24/7 (otherwise, high chance that you will vent your frustration on your baby one day).

If you want to spend more time with your baby, maybe part-time would be a good option for you...

me time? what's me time? oh rite, the times when i wake up 2 hours of my kid &amp; hubby in the morning and can read newspaper and makan breakfast at leisure.

aiyo go out also not really me time. always so anxious calling home to check with the granny on duty if baby is ok. then rush rush so that quickly go home

SAHM: me became one mainly cos wnat to ensure my bbay gets at least 6 months breastmilk to prevent / reduce her chnaces of getting asthma, eczema &amp; sinus courtesy of her parents genes.

blessed,

i'm a SAHM mum too but can understand how you feel cos sometimes I feel that way. I avoid feeling useless by making an effort to plan my son's day (not just let him roll around playmat all day) and have a routine that gives me time for myself. Perhaps you can consider doing an online biz that u can run from home so you get to earn extra money and yet spend time with the kids...

T&amp;P,

nope, no rites whatsoever. she just offered joss sticks n said a few words of well-being.

blessed,

i gave up a rather promising career to b a SAHM. yes, it was tough. really bloody tough for me to make this quantum leap esp when i was all geared up to 'go all e way', i got preg again. as e job required super long hrs, i knew that i def can't strike a balance between work n family. somehow, one got to go. hence, i chose to give up my job n stay home to take care of my 1st as well as spend time w him before i deliver.

initially, it was v diff for me to adjust. i rem cryg in confusion n even blamed myself for gettg preggers again so quickly. but after a while, things really picked up n i found spending time w my son ultra fulfillg. he grew extremely close to me too.

of cz now when i speak to my workg frens, i cant help but feel 'jealous' or envious of their freedom n lifestyle but when i look at e kids, somehow i know that i will NOT b happier if i went back to work. i think i've engineered my mind to be in sync wif my heart already.

ask urself honestly wat u want. if u hv someone reliable to care for ur kids while u go out n earn some dough, why not? workg helps preserve some of ur sanity as well. but if u cant let go of ur kids (like me), u may want to give urself a couple of years before going back to e workforce.

hi botanist, me from nov thread... can i check with you what maths addition cards are you referring to? can let me know please? i am interested in getting something for baby kaira as well

dreamer@hk,

mine are the glenn doman maths dot cards. i think they are expensive if u buy from GD directly. maybe u can check WTS or post in WTB, sometimes mummies do sell their old sets. OR you can get the GD math book, which teaches u how to make your own math dot cards (its quite do-able!)

constance,

i also had to stop a few days here and there. And sometimes on weekends also never flash... but when i resume, like no problem hahaha.