(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

haha, talk about feeding BM........ one time asked my MIL to feed my baby 100ml of BM. Baby that day damn good appetite so nearly finished the whole 100ml. MIL then told me should top up to 4 oz (about 125ml?) for future feeds. I didn't know whether to laugh or cry. How to "top up" if that was all I could squeeze out from myself???? Actually now looking back quite funny.........

Hi, this MIL-DIL thingy will go on forever. For me watever i dun like, i will ask hb to put across. Initially seems like I'm the baddie but as time goes by i tink they'll understand our intention. Cos i told hb once, if in the future, kid is spoilt, ppl wont say, th grandparents spoil them. Instead ppl will comment, 'Parents never teach!!' Now that 1st boy is almost 3yo, whenever i discipline boy in front of them, they will quietly move away. Certain tgs if in the start never put across, then in the future very hard liao!

Bring Baby Out Alone- If i go out alone w my two kids and need the toilet urgently, i bg both into the handicapped toilet. Sarah will be in sling and Adam will be trying to open a toilet door. Next tym if u hear a mom asking her boy to stop playing w the door, that could be me. hehe.. But best way to refrain from gg to toilet is drink less water before i go out. :p Solve all toileting prob!

missylan
thanks 4 the offer. My no 2 hor, dat time the Goo.N diapers u help me to bring to sch, never finish leh. got rashes on her bottom. so i will stick to nepia 4 no 2 n 3 lor.

mil on bfeeding
I am quite lucky that my mil is one of those rare few (during their time!) to bfeed all her 3 kids. so i dun have any problem w her at all on bfeeding.

hi all! i also cannot stand it sometimes when everytime visit my MIL, then baby cries, first thing she will say is , milk not enough ah? like..whatever?! and it's every single time we visit her!!!!!!!! irritating right?
and there was one time where she actually fed my baby girl sweet dates (because of some sort of ritual lah where you introduce sweetness to the baby's palatte..) and can you believe it my hubby was right in front of her and holding my baby!!! Immediately after we left the house I told him off and said Hello? this is MY baby! I think i have a right to say what can or what cannot go into her mouth! can please don't anyhow feed her without asking me first???! plus the other day when we came over for dinner, some relatives keep saying eh..when want to give her solid food? look..she's looking at the food so hungrily (the food was fried kway teow you know!!! crazy ah!!!)
i was telling my hubby no matter what, my girl will only be on BF until we return from our trip to Perth (going in may) because i don't want to have to bring solid food when we travel...
aiyoh i tell you..sometimes can really pull my hair out!!

oh yes mummies, please i advice:

fever medicine after jab:
give as precaution immediately after jab or wait until fever appears??

mamarumi,
for the past 2 jabs i did not give my boy the fever medicine but i will monitor his temp. If increase then i will give him.

My mum told me to just give it to him the moment we reach hm but i refuse as i don't want him to take medicine unnecessarily.

fever med-
wait till fever appears cos not all babies will have fever. Sarah had two jabs so far w/ fever. Thank God!

lynzi, dun worry. only sharena came, plus my two usual playdate kakis.. they stayed till abt 8pm. now my son KO already!

1300357.jpg

My two cheeky monsters!

lynzi, i placed it there cos her head oways till sideways. w snuzzler, at least it hold her head. When she sleep it wont tilt to one side. At least big bro wont tell me tat sister head is crooked.

mamarumi, i only gave meds after fever appeared. supposedly for 3rd mth jab, may/may not have fever. I checked every hour or so for fever. after getting fever and giving meds, i checked about every 4 hours. However my girl's feevr took nearly 1 hr to go down. my meds was 1.2ml of paracetemol suspension 250mg/5ml taken every 4 hrs. Start taking when underarm temperature hits 37.5deg C, or when ear temperature hits 38deg C.

on the other hand, heard my aunt just gave her sons the meds at nite so she didn't need to keep waking up to check for fever. this aunt likes to keep things fuss free...........

hmmmm..so is it ok to just give the meds you think? prevention better than cure??
my hubby did mention that she has NEVER had to take medication so shouldn't introduce medicine into her body unneccesarily...her jab's on monday so i still haven't decided...

also i take her temperature from forehead..should i take from ear instead???

hmmm... ear thermometer take from ear,
got a thermometer tat can take both forehead and ear?
sorry if i'm a bit blur.

i used to give boy boiled barley water before his jab to prevent fever.
maybe u cn try dat too.
its those canned barley seed..

sigh... my bb is coughing... wonder how she caught it.
bringing her to PD tomo...

About MIL:
Mine is the other extreme. she's extrememly BOCHAP! so bochap until she doesn't remember my baby's name!!!!???? She'll carry the baby, then won't play wif her... literally just carry... then when Sumana cries, she'll quickly throw the baby back into my arms! WEIRDO

btw, we only see them once a week. and for that short 2 or 3 hours when we are back, i think she only looked at baby for less than 10 mins.

throughout my pregnancy, confinement and up till now, it's my mum who helps me. my FIL and MIL like non existent! more like strangers to my baby than paternal grandparents. so sad for them.

zu, my thermometer the kind that can swipe on forehead, or take from ear..
thanks for the tips!

tub..haha! so many different kinds of MIL..wonder when our kids grow up what kind of MIL we will be..the best kind?
haha!

mamarumi, got these kind?
mine is swipe the forehead only..
din know got thse 2-in-1. hehe...

hmm.. how we treat our MIL, tats how our DIL gg to treat us?! Cos wat comes ard goes ard. hehe.. So been trying hard to treat her better. Altho a bit hard lar... :p

tub, thanks! when they are good, they are cute.
when they drives me up the wall, they are the ULTIMATE monster!

after reading all e postings, i really guffawed. all MILs are e same (wif the exceptn of constance's - u lucky girl)!!!!!!!

my hb actually wanted to 'confront' his mom but i stopped him. pointless laaa. in e end, i'm e one who needs to face her in e day, not him. i will just tolerate as much as i can. no pt fightg agst a battle i'll nvr win. i always remind my hb that he's heng i'm quite cordial when it comes to his mom. but dun wake up a sleepg tiger. *wahh, he's damn scared*

oh btw, i forgot to mention that i'm not allowed to lock e door when i BF. why? becz they want to hv access to see e kids as n when they want. can u believe such monstrosity?? i just did a mental count..all e folks in e hse hv seen my breasts except for my FIL n BIL. wat e hell lor..i'm actually waitg for them to barge in one day n see me BFg. then perhaps, my MIL n SIL will ask me to lock e door. muahhaaa..n e womenfolk, when they come in, they literally stand beside me n watch how e baby suckles n tug e nipple. sometimes, i just wish i had a hole to hide. so nice to see meh? my guess is they r just curious as they've nvr breastfed in their lives (so stop pretending that u know it all, MIL!)

Missylan,

Haha, tat brave of u if i do tat i think my hubby will kanna my MIL nagging. So no choice i tried to tolerate......

My MIL is 65yrs old & my mum 51. Somtimes i reali feel very difficult to tok sense into their head. tok till pek chey

hello,

toking bt thermometer. I went to KK jus now also consulted the doc bt thermometer.

Best for infant under 6 mths:
- Use those put under armpit, more accurate than those swipping forehead and ear

I also wanted to buy those ear thermometer kind.. any suggestion?

Tub: my boy also coughing badly. Glad nw medicine for him.

Went to GP last week but doc there said nothing much can be given.

Those staying in the east, any PD ard this area? Tink i got to stand by 1 in case he fall sicks.. else need to go kk, v troublesome without car...

zu, ur babies soooo adorable. The snuzzler is very very comfy. I used on Shawn and he loved it.. except that it's a little tight for him on the p3 stroller but he slept well on it!

aiya.. speaking of moms of moms... i oso needed to re-educate my mom on bf-ing, not feeding baby any water/FM, what's hiccup and bla bla bla. I passed that stage that I get sooo worked up when she ask me to do this n that (that she had done that 30years ago!). Sometimes quite tired explaining things to her. so I tell her to go online to read up then ask me question. One thing i couldn't tahan was my mom, during my confinement walked in and out of the master room, to tidy up my wardrobe, put dry/clean clothes inthe wardrobe and talk to me & ask me how much is baby drinking (i'll answer her, why don't you ask Shawn)! I was totally pissed off, then i decided to lock the door while i breastfeed the baby. Wahlau... buay tahan

Tub, think u shld b glad tt ur MIL dun bother much.. think we prefers those MIL dun bother than to tok a lot..

i also gald that yy MIL also dun tok much. But she loves my boy a lot.. just tt she dun know how to handle bb. My hubby wasn't taken care by her... So she is jus super blur in handling bb.. she jus try her best to help...

Tt time they tok a lot.. if they tok a lot, my face naturally will turn "color".. then they will know wad not to do... hahah...

Wow! I haven't had much time to come into this thread the last 2 days and things moved so FAST.

MILs
All MILs are the same. I totally agree that it's sooooo annoying to hear them go 'hungry already lah?'or 'is it time to feed?' everytime baby cries. The most recent one being 'how come your baby doesn't increase the amt he drinks huh?' ... 1st time, I ignored, 2nd time, I just replied with a straight face 'other babies drink 3-4 hourly, my son drinks every 2 hrly, so in fact, he's drinking more than average already!'

Recently, my son developed quite a serious case of heat rash (face, body, everywhere) ... first it was 'did you apply lotion for him?' ... then it became 'I think you're heaty, you need to drink cooling stuff so that your milk will not be so heaty, then baby will not have heat rash ... you ate too much heaty food during your confinement' (ROLL EYEBALLS! hello! my confinement was a good 2 moooons ago!!!!!)

Tub
Your ILs are ultimate leh. Can forget your baby's name. My MIL will carry my baby for no more than 10mins ... then she'll shout for the maid to take over. And this is the same MIL I will be relying on to babysit my kid when I start work next week. Like that how? Sure end up the maid will be the one taking care of my kid.

The other day, I said matter of factly to my MIL and FIL (hb not around) that they have to supervise the maid very closely because I don't trust her. They just looked at me ... I hope they got my message.

My relationship with my ILs have always been good. I hope this babysitting business will not sour the relationship. But if I have to be firm, I will ... good relationship or not I don't care.

Goo.N
Anyone interested to share the purchase? I think we need to get a total of 5 packs to enjoy free delivery. I can take 2 packs. PM me if you're interested. Oh, I live in Bishan ... good if you're staying nearby so it's easier to collect / pick-up.

for me i can BF freely at my mom's no prob but at my MIL, forget it..! baby cry a bit only during feeding..just being fussy lah..she will go..aiyah..too slow latching her on..aiyah..she never get enough milk..aiyah this..aiyah that..IRRITATING!! that's why go her house i hide in one of the rooms to BF rather than feed baby in living room under the wrap..some more her house can get very warm (low floor)! i sometimes cannot tahan..baby also cannot tahan...haahaa..sorry i know sound very pampered..but i think sometimes when these MIL of ours give out negative vibes, in return they will also get negative vibes from us lor..karma what..

jeelomeelo. yup. the Snuzzler is very comfy. sarah can sleep thru out if i put her in the stroller. can understand why shawn loves it too. Cos p3 without the snuzzler very hard as the padding not thick enuf. dats y i sold it off liao. :p

actually, its my mom who irritate me when i tried to bf sarah last tym. i feel find my mil better than own mom. at least she'll encourage and tried to give sarah the ebm i pumped earlier. my mom only give her FM all the way. so angry, i send her back home after 3 days! now whenever i'm tired, i get mil to come over and help.

haha...listen to us..can complain into the wee hours of the morning..ok lah girls..time to zzzzz..will log in again tomorrow..night! (fun lah to post like this..it's like chatting eh?) haha! night!

Heat Rash:

For those mums whose bb got heat rash. My boy been using Hazeline Snow Cream. It works on his face.. Now pretty smooth..

After each feed, clean his face, hands.. then apply Hazeline snow cream on his face. It works as a cool cream and also smoothen his face.

U might wanna try..Hope it helps.

Hear u gerls complain about mils like they are mils from hell..haha. For me my mil is very nice and considerate as HER own mil treated her reali badly during her confinement.
My hubby's grandma made my mil do housework and wash clothes by hands when she just came back fr hosp. She also never give her any food to eat. But when my fil and my hubby's grandpa came home she will pretend in front of them and persuade my mil to eat. Horrible!!

haaa..really v funny. i keep refreshg e page to see if there r any more funny MIL stories. damn classic lor. i wonder if we will be talked abt some 20 yrs from now by our DILs..haa..

pls keep e stories coming. i'm tickled immensely. i just told my hb that ALL MILs ARE THE SAME. he just pursed his lips. irritating.

If there is ICQ tt will b cool. Jus press enter.. at a same time, all will b toking.. no need to refresh the pg tt b great..

i am waiting for my boy to wk up for his late feed. He drank at 8pm. Tot he will get up at 12am to drink so i can slp thru the nite.. till now he is still happily slping.. haha..

guess what i found out on my own? I took out the health book and was checking the chart when I realised that my pd plotted the wrong measurement for the height, that is why the height percentile is in the 25% when it should be at 3%...was so upset...but glad that baby weight and height is actually same at 3%...to begin with, my son birth weight is 2.145kg and born at 37+ wks....small baby, nothing I can do much...

thanks for all the reply abt baby weight gain....I wont wan to feed baby with FM when he is growin well with my BM...however, will feed him with the multivitamin that pd gave...

eve - i realised that Dr Ho sometimes say different things at time...now will monitor since I have been with her for my elder one till now...sometimes she very sarcastics one...cant tahan, I liked their nurses though...or probably I will try Dr Loke and see how..

regarding MIL:
when I had my #1, I got a lot of issues with her and also post natal blues becuz of her...arguement with my hubby as well and he was not supportive then...side his mum...

she will come into my room when I bfeeding and she knows it too and will kept staring...then din encourage me to bfeed but kept asking when to feed FM...surprisinly is that she will encourage her own niece and others to bfeed....wierd right? then I told her I will give up to 2 yrs and she kept quiet...only when she realised that my elder one health is much better compared to my hubby cousins childrens then she start to tell others that bfeeding good but never ever said in front of me...

Lucky never ask her to take care of baby as well cuz she said so troublesome to use warm water to heat up EBM. Why not use hot hot water? Faster and baby must drink very hot one...funny right? wont it scald baby?

hopefully now with 2nd baby, she wont get on my nerve, else I think I may explode since I got to take care of 2 children plus working plus doing housework and also my hormones! haha

Anyway, are we going to baby fair next Friday together?

oh ya, i notice my boy farts a lot when i eat curry or cili padi or some spicy food. and he gets more rashes on his face oso.. might be the food, causing him to be heaty. I apply sebamed on him and it'll go away after 1-2days.

I consider myself lucky. When my mum is back in M'sia i get less questions asked. My MIL/FIL also in M'sia. So i get calls from them asking me about baby may be once a month. And I am thankful for a nice MIL... so no funny questions asked, rather she gives me good advise coz she's a nurse in NCU in hospital!

don't we all just love our MILs???? haaaaa..i love mine to bits. honestly, i do! haaahaa..

orite, going to crash now. hv a great sunday ahead ladies. we deserve it. *sorry, MILs not invited*.

i tink we need sex la girls. too much MIL n bb talk ain't improving our sex lives.

dun get me wrong, i'm not going to get laid. i'm way too tired. moreover, there's football. tamade. haaaaaaa...nights!

no SEX life since baby came along coz no time n too tired! wait till the day i put him in the cot in the next room and let him sleep alone...

Belle, tamade is 'his mother' in chinese - TA-MA-DE. hehee..must slang abit.

my hb damn pissed ManU won. Now he's watchg his arsenal game.

no sex life huh...v funny la..i also hv v little to no sex BUT i'm determined to spice it up. must la..if not v boring to just take care of bbs n talk abt MILs. =P

ok, really going to zz now. but must pump milk first. darn.

till then.

i don't know whether shawn is realy having a cough or he's just playing with us. When he coughs once or twice, then he'd smile at us. It's not very often.. so we told ourselves he probably cough on his own saliva.

yalor no desire oso le.. probably so tired after the whole day... hhhmm,.... may be should spend a weekend away without the baby.. but then hor no heart to do so oso le and i need to find a nanny for the nite haha if we're going to drop him off somewhere.