steffietan,
Hahaha... don't mind me laughing but I understand your situation cos I am in your shoes too. I am a DIL whose MIL stays overnight during the weekdays, she goes back during the weekends. She came over to take care of my #1 since he was 4th month old. In fact, I regretted her coming over. Now also cannot chase her back liao.
"She is the main caregiver, yet she do not discipline my eldest"
"Bad eating habit" - 1) carried my then over 1 yr old son while feeding him porridge. So big liao, how to carry... 2) when feeding my NB hide inside the room or carry him walk here and there while drinking the milk. Now he is like 8kg liao, how to carry while feeding? When I feed him, I either place him on my lap or him inside his cot.
"Messiness" - She is a very messy and untidy person. Cooking a dinner like fighting a war in my kitchen. My helper and CL also cannot tahan her.
"Unpleasant towards my helper" - My helper is very WOOD one, she will scold and nag nag nag nag nag at her. Rmb the helper abusing the 2 mths old NB, I told her that cos ex-employer was the NB's grandma. Helper was unhappy with how the grandma was treating her, so she abused her grandchild lor. Now at least the nagging REDUCED!
Not easy to live together lah... But how I wish I can turn back the clock so that she will not come stay in my house. I rather bring my son to her house than her coming. Haiz... So mummies, please consider well enough, cos once they come to your houseand become the caregiver... it is damn difficult to "fired" them. My hubby scolded his mom few times because of my eldest's ill-mannered behaviour. Though should correct my son, MIL should be the one educating him good manners also mah. She faces him almost 24hours... me less than 6 hours daily. She will say, "Scare of mummy only" every time!