(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

alien,

you got your bblegs from bbtinz already! bblegs can be worn with socks too, in fact it can help to keep the socks on (especially those socks that always fall off). my bb wears the legs in the same way as malcolm but without socks, ie covering half of his feet.

Botanist,
Wow, you're really tall manz!! Envy Evny

Thanks for advice regarding Ergo.. will try again later.. but must be when boy is in good mood.. if not when he gets frustrated he'll get real cranky..

Alien,
We're the same height
I'm 1.6m and hubby is 1.78m.. So poor us got to bear the weight of BBs right?

Noelle,
Ya lor, yesterday I was at ikea with Hubby then I went to use washroom.. it just dawned on me that if I am alone with bb, how to visit washroom when nature calls?

Yohoo, those who took BB out alone, share your tips leh...

North Mummies
Linda - Sembawang
Bluelily - Woodlands
Lynzi - Woodlands
Alien - Toa Payoh
Dinut - Toa Payoh
Slimz - Ang Mo Kio
Elaine - Ang Mo Kio
ankh - Whampoa
tub - Yishun
fairylander - Yishun

North East Mummies
Missylan - Rivervale Link
Cocoangel - Hougang
Stary78 - Punggol
Petrina - Seletar now (Buangkok in June 08)
Constancet - Punggol
ankh - Whampoa
joanne - Hougang
Slimz - Buangkok

East Mummies
Hazel - Bedok
Jeelomeelo - Tampines
Noelle - Kambangan
Steffietan - Katong
Belle_08 - Tampines Ave 8

West Mummies
CSI - hume park
ginger - hillview
zu - teckwhye
etelle - Jurong West
BBnGG - CCK
cloverluv - Jurong West
claire_liu - West Coast
T&P - Jurong West
kokopooh - Ghim Moh
Happi - Bt Batok

Moms of Moms
CSI - clementi ave 2
ginger - clementi ave 2
Linda - Clementi ave 3
missylan - Jurong East St. 31
Constancet - Tampines St 22
tub - Yishun St 81
fairylander - Yishun St 22

CSI Fan
I agree with all of you that access to yahoo group should be moderated and at discretion too. It contains privy information about us and I think we would all like to protect ourselves and our children.

Even for moms who are already in the network, pls do not treat the yahoo group as a means soley for BP. Its a network to bring us closer together and keep in touch. Currently, we have over 60members! Moms, pls update your info in the database so we know who is who.

Toilet Break
I used to sling my baby alot, still can go toilet. When I use pram, I just push the pram plus her into the handicap toilet!

Botanist
Wow you baby's weight gain is good! Ask you, Ergo carrier can use without infant carrier? My baby feet dangle out sometimes, sometimes inside.

Naf
3kg weight gain in 3 months is good. As a guideline, babies are supposed to gain about 200g per week, which works out to be roughly 800g in a month. Your baby's birthweight is less than 2.5kg is it? Correct me if I am wrong. I think 3kg is good leh. My #1 is less than 5kg at 3 months!! PD still give me the go ahead to TBF.

ankh,

yah lor. maybe he inherited my greedy & fatty genes.. Hahah

alien,

yes, correct way of wearing! I got the same pair of babylegs too!! hehe except my son got thunder thighs so look really chubby with them on.

phy,

yah tall but when fat...really can look like giant...gorilla! haha

CSI fan

yup! u are our gatekeeper so keep up the good work in creating a safe haven for us shopping siao mummies...

ginger,

yup can use without infanr carrier if yr bb size is big enough.... i havent used my ergo when going out cos still thinking of selling. but abit heart pain cos got a good deal for it n print is nice too... plus although i dun like how it feels, the size is perfect for my hubby to use. ...see how lor. will sell if price is right, cos i got too many carriers liao :p

Hi mummies i've uploaded Isaiah's photos in yahoo grp too ..

Botanist, u can sell me ur extra carrier ..

I very scared to spend money to buy one and end up putting it aside .. I feel that the money can do alot of stuff ..

mel,

its the black one with green retro lining... will sell for $164. do you need the infant insert? got sucking pads too for bb (those are also brand new in box)... if you keen I will send u photos.. let me know

North Mummies
Linda - Sembawang
Bluelily - Woodlands
Lynzi - Woodlands
Alien - Toa Payoh
Dinut - Toa Payoh
Slimz - Ang Mo Kio
Elaine - Ang Mo Kio
ankh - Whampoa
tub - Yishun
fairylander - Yishun

North East Mummies
Cocoangel - Hougang
Stary78 - Punggol
Constancet - Punggol
ankh - Whampoa
joanne - Hougang
Slimz - Buangkok

East Mummies
Hazel - Bedok
Jeelomeelo - Tampines
Noelle - Kambangan
Steffietan - Katong

West Mummies
CSI - hume park
ginger - hillview
zu - teckwhye
etelle - Jurong West
BBnGG - CCK
cloverluv - Jurong West
claire_liu - West Coast
T&P - Jurong West
kokopooh - Ghim Moh
Happi - Bt Batok
hentang - Toh Yi Drive

Moms of Moms
CSI - clementi ave 2
ginger - clementi ave 2
Linda - Clementi ave 3
tub - Yishun St 81

North Mummies
Linda - Sembawang
Bluelily - Woodlands
Lynzi - Woodlands
Alien - Toa Payoh
Dinut - Toa Payoh
Slimz - Ang Mo Kio
Elaine - Ang Mo Kio
ankh - Whampoa
tub - Yishun
fairylander - Yishun

North East Mummies
Cocoangel - Hougang
Stary78 - Punggol
Constancet - Punggol
ankh - Whampoa
joanne - Hougang
Slimz - Buangkok

East Mummies
Hazel - Bedok
Jeelomeelo - Tampines
Noelle - Kambangan
Steffietan - Katong
ah_bie - Bedok

West Mummies
CSI - hume park
ginger - hillview
zu - teckwhye
etelle - Jurong West
BBnGG - CCK
cloverluv - Jurong West
claire_liu - West Coast
T&P - Jurong West
kokopooh - Ghim Moh
Happi - Bt Batok

Moms of Moms
CSI - clementi ave 2
ginger - clementi ave 2
Linda - Clementi ave 3
tub - Yishun St 81

cookiemz,

for the bbleg, i jus receive the ones i ordered from mummysmilk (huggalugs) and i must say I prefer the huggalugs fabric. thinner than babylegs! too bad they have limited prints..

i need to rant.

i really don't what's wif my MIL. For the past 3 mths +, she has been askg me to feed my bb more. "increase e oz, feed more frequently etc etc" i've been keepg quiet (ie, not answerg her) because i know she doesnt really understd BF. now n then i will try my utmost best to explain to her but i seriously doubt she understands. each time e bb cries, it will def be she's hungry. nvr becz her diaper is wet or she just wants to sleep..always 'chiak buay bak'. my hb tells me to turn a deaf ear becz she doesnt understand. fine, being a patient n respectful person, i just take all w a pinch of salt.

but today..she started preachg again.

MIL: "can u feed her every 2 hrs instead? i always see u feed every 3..sometimes 4 hrs".

Me: "if she sleeps how? you were the one who said dont wake her up."

MIL: "But she's so mini- mini (i hate it when she says that) leh...

Me: "mom, increasing e freq n quantity is not e way..BM ain't fatteng to begin wif..the composite of e milk changes w the growth of the baby, ensuring tt e bb gets e right nutrients for her age."

MIL: *confirm catch no ball* .."Errrr, she so small sized lehhh (again)"

Me: *silence* walked away but cursing under my breath.

WHAT IS THIS?????????? my hb n i aint e biggest sized ppl on earth..does she bloody expect a big bb? e most ironical part is, she has been tellg me how small sized her daughters were last time too..n how ppl used to comment they dun seem to grow..

yes, my bb is small sized...she was borne 3 weeks early so what does she expect?????? her chkup is on monday. if her birth weight is doubled fr 2.5kg, i'll b happy already.

sorry to disrupt those who r BPing.

steffietan,
Hahaha... don't mind me laughing but I understand your situation cos I am in your shoes too. I am a DIL whose MIL stays overnight during the weekdays, she goes back during the weekends. She came over to take care of my #1 since he was 4th month old. In fact, I regretted her coming over. Now also cannot chase her back liao.

"She is the main caregiver, yet she do not discipline my eldest"

"Bad eating habit" - 1) carried my then over 1 yr old son while feeding him porridge. So big liao, how to carry... 2) when feeding my NB hide inside the room or carry him walk here and there while drinking the milk. Now he is like 8kg liao, how to carry while feeding? When I feed him, I either place him on my lap or him inside his cot.

"Messiness" - She is a very messy and untidy person. Cooking a dinner like fighting a war in my kitchen. My helper and CL also cannot tahan her.

"Unpleasant towards my helper" - My helper is very WOOD one, she will scold and nag nag nag nag nag at her. Rmb the helper abusing the 2 mths old NB, I told her that cos ex-employer was the NB's grandma. Helper was unhappy with how the grandma was treating her, so she abused her grandchild lor. Now at least the nagging REDUCED!

Not easy to live together lah... But how I wish I can turn back the clock so that she will not come stay in my house. I rather bring my son to her house than her coming. Haiz... So mummies, please consider well enough, cos once they come to your houseand become the caregiver... it is damn difficult to "fired" them. My hubby scolded his mom few times because of my eldest's ill-mannered behaviour. Though should correct my son, MIL should be the one educating him good manners also mah. She faces him almost 24hours... me less than 6 hours daily. She will say, "Scare of mummy only" every time!

Hi steffietan,

I totally understand what you are going thru. That's what my mum! comment about too, saying how underfed my baby is, crying = milk.

sigh, i wld say its hard to change their way of thinking, tried explaining to her so many times too. also it doesn't help that my girl is only 25percentile in terms of weight. PD says its alright, babies on BF is sometimes slower.

So what I did when anyone says such comments is to just ignore, and believed in what you are doing, we can't be torturing our precious little angels right?

my bb was borne 3 weeks earlier too, though smaller in terms of size, but as long as she's drinking well and happy, i dun see that there's any problem in feeding on demand

Just go along with our maternal instincts

Naf,
Dr Ho mentioned his weight is good for 2.5mth old baby. Gained 2kg fr birth then. Also mentioned that his neck muscles are v strong for his age. She also checked his body n commented that his skin a bit sensitive cos got tiny red spots on his body which i thought was due to the heat. I think shd be abt it.

I'll be going back to SBCC for his 3rd mth assessment. See what they say. Ur boy is 3 mths old n gained 3kg. A pretty good gain. Don't hv to worry. In fact Dr Ho said if bb gain 1kg every mth, we'll hv a v heavy baby to carry when he's 1 yr old. Also said their weight gain will start to slow down gradually soon.

steffin & missylan,

mine is a different case .. When ever my son crys, my mom will say thirsty must give water .. I told her alot of times that BF babies don't need to take water .. Even my PD says so ..

At first i do give water but i stopped cause my mom can't understand that BF babies don't need water like FM fed babies ..

missylan:

i receive MIL-ism not only during e weekdays. i actually stay with her. cool right? i shock myself at times as i can actually swallow every thing she says.

esthert:

at least e person who says its ur own mom. i feel its easier to speak to ur mom than someone else's mom (ie ur hb's mom). hvg said tt, i honestly feel that there shld b some form of education for PEOPLE-WHO-KNOW-SHIT-ABOUT-BREASTFEEDING-BUT-YET-THINK-THEY-KNOW-IT-ALL kind of seminar, specially catered to MILs/CLs/Moms of moms.

i think i will explode soon.

North Mummies
Linda - Sembawang
Bluelily - Woodlands
Lynzi - Woodlands
Alien - Toa Payoh
Dinut - Toa Payoh
Slimz - Ang Mo Kio
Elaine - Ang Mo Kio
ankh - Whampoa
tub - Yishun
fairylander - Yishun

North East Mummies
Cocoangel - Hougang
Stary78 - Punggol
Constancet - Punggol
ankh - Whampoa
joanne - Hougang
Slimz - Buangkok
Baby12 - Sengkang

East Mummies
Hazel - Bedok
Jeelomeelo - Tampines
Noelle - Kambangan
Steffietan - Katong
ah_bie - Bedok
Baby12 - Simei (currently staying in parent's hse)

West Mummies
CSI - hume park
ginger - hillview
zu - teckwhye
etelle - Jurong West
BBnGG - CCK
cloverluv - Jurong West
claire_liu - West Coast
T&P - Jurong West
kokopooh - Ghim Moh
Happi - Bt Batok

Moms of Moms
CSI - clementi ave 2
ginger - clementi ave 2
Linda - Clementi ave 3
tub - Yishun St 81

beco
wah, so fast i got offer for my 2nd beco already.

Mine is cacoa butterfly, 4th gen
Sekali nicer than metropolis. haha
anyway, both not here yet. will definitely post in this thread if i wanna sell.

CSI
I totally agree with wat u r doing. thks for protectin dec mums' privacy.

steffietan

agree that it is difficult to "say" hb's mom (aka MIL)
for such situation, hb gotta step in...

sometimes, I myself find it difficult to talk to my mum as she always thinks she is doing the right thing... super sian!

My MIL came to my place the next day aft I discharged frm hospital. I was trying to latch my bb on n she was crying badly, my MIL straightaway said bb didn't hv enuf milk, thatz why cry n cry. Then she keeps walking in n out of the room while I'm bfing. So irritating.

My own mum also commented that BM not enuf, thatz why bb every 2hr cry for milk. But I told her I feed her every 2hr, so how can be not enuf. Since my bb has grown quite a lot in size (her weight is 90 percentile n whoever saw her wld say she's big for 3mth old), my mum stops saying that bf is no good. Also, after my 1st kid incident (I quarrelled wz her abt bf n not able to eat ginger/herbal/alcohol stuff), she knows I'm adamant to feed my kid wz BM.

my boy jus went to kk to see doc. Was concerned cos he was coughing for 1 week plus alreadi Glad everything was fine. normal GP wont give bb medicine. Glad KK gave some cough medicine. And my boy loves it.. funny...

Just weight him, now at 7kg. Not 3 month yet. Big boy!! hahaha

Oh ya, he also outgrow his pamper alreadi. Think his diaper too small for him tt he got red rashes on his tummy.. rubbing until red red.. so poor thing..

Gng to buy L size diaper for him later...

hen,
Hahaha... me also understand the "spying" thingy. I was coaxing my NB to sleep then she like following me and like her whole head stretch to the bb's face, meaning my head, MIL's head in btw and my NB's... walao aah... need to bethat close or not!?! KNS, I am a 2nd time mama liao, I'm not so new bird liao. Anyway, I took care of my #1 after the CL left... got a maid but my FIL using... whole house just me and bb. I still got to do laundry etc... Haiz, a bit angry when talked about last time... got maid I cannot use!

Belle,
Mine also got to use Pampers size M fast cos the thighs area pretty tight liao. Luckily, the Goo.N ones still can use cos Goo.N is longer, makes more area for the thighs.

Constance,
Want Goo.N M size? Sell you same price $13.80 each. I stock up quite a few packets on 29th Feb(last min). =P
Now scared in another month cannot use liao leh.

Can really empathise wif u gerls who's having probs wif mil. For me its always my own mum that's giving me problems. To her, what she does is always correct. Even if i did do what she told me to but not in the way she wants me to do it then i'm still wrong. Sigh...mothers.

cookiemz,
how much u selling off your beco? Have u tried using the butterfly? Any porbs in ensuring bb doesn't fall out?

Mel,

I m in the same situation as you. Sometimes my bb hipcup after feeding or cried, my MIL will say "hey y u nv give bb water to drink". Though i explain BM no need to drink water but she dun understand & insist to force the bottle into my gal mouth. In the end, my gal cried & the whole bib is wet. All i can do is angry in my heart cant say anything.

As i going back to work the following mon, bb will be taken care by my own mum & i told my mum i will bring over the warmer for warming of BM. t my mum comment jux give bb drink FM cos muz easier. Warming BM so troublesome etc. I so angry when hear tat i jux explain to her nicely that FM not as nutrition as BM & BM can build up bb immune system. U guess what she jux tell me tat last time i oso drink FM also grow up well etc. If bb wan to be sick, she will no even she drink BM.

I nearly flare up when hearing tat but i ctrl cos dun wan to lose my temper over my mum. But i really wonder why so difficult to communicate wif them tat times have changed & their method of feeding is different etc.

Hi Botanist,

i finally received your email on the baby busywrap. i will atm transfer the $ to you by tonite, if possible. Thanks for your help.

re : application to Dec mummy yahoo group.
Technically, i'm a dec mummy as my son is born on 27Dec07.
But i could understand why my "application" wasn't approved when i requested the previously in this thread as i'm a new member & also didn't "participate" much in this thread. If i am one of the regulars here, i would also want to protect the group's interests. So, i understand the regulars' concerns.

At times i wanted to join in the discussion but back off as i do not know i'm welcome or not. Based on this fact, i choose to be a "reader" rather a "participant".

But i must say, I learn quite abit thru this thread, especially about our babies from the mummies here (although i'm a 2nd time mummy but doesn't mean I'm more experience!).

hope i did not offend any regulars here with my views on above.

cheers!

Joanne,
Aiyoh, it is NEVER good to force watever to the bb. Luckily, my MIL dare not... if she dares to force, I will tell her off or simply carry the bb into my room. This is my child, I will not harm them but I will not allow others to harm them. Sorry, not asking you to behave like me, I am a bad DIL! X \
How old is your mom? My MIL is 60yrs old and my mom is 53. At least my mom is more moral civilised, have better understanding and UNDERSTOOD that we must change with the time... Last time... last time... last time police wearing shorts as uniform leh.

Btw, i managed to buy huggies frm those convenient stores at $15 for 84 pieces.

Also got the milk powder ar $32.90. Super market selling from $34.90 to $36.90

You can ask for 1 piece to try out... try it onli the night... see whether yr kiddo can sleep through without changing.

ok... now he got diaper rash.. for now, using nappy to prevent those rashes... prob the diaper too small for him.. rash onli at his tummy area when abrasions for him and the dipaers..

I guess alot of ppl having problems with breastfeeding ..

Actually at first my mum told me BM not full enough .. till now my Aunties always give me a look when they asked 'u are still breastfeeding ah?'

I knew these problems will come cuz they are so uneducated abt bfing so during pregnancy i research alot n prepare myself on how to shoot back when ppl asked abt bfing or even make comment s..

After i deliver i latch in front of my mom, CL aunt .. During engorement i pump right in front of my mom .. First let down she was there too .. I always tell her bb cry n fuss cuz my milk too much and flow very fast .. So from then on she stopped saying milk not enough, FM blah blah blah .. To other ppl that i can't show them my breast, whenever they ask or make comment on bfing, i will shoot back 10 sentence about truth of bfing .. And they will shut up and won't ask anymore cuz i will nag more at them abt bfing .. And i will keep telling those ladies that is planning to have bbs to bf ..

Amazingly this trick works .. More thick skin method .. haha .. But it train me to bfing in public and be proud of it .. And i'm so proud that i'm still bfing and bonds so well with my baby ..

As for CL, when she first came, she found my pacifier n stuff into my bb's mouth .. Well i don't really mind giving him but i find that there's no need cause he is not a fussy baby and seldom cry .. She also give water when he hipcupps .. No matter how i say she dun understand so whenever he hipcupps i'll latch him .. I rather latch then give water .. See how they force water down .. Aiyo .. My CL even say give honey .. Going to faint .. i believe that one day bb will learn to drink water one .. If force them now i'm afraid bbs will develope phobia towards water which is worse right ..

Any mummies using Baby Bjorn air ?

How much it cost and is it heavy to use ?

I'm looking for a carrier that can be able to carry for long ..

This is better or butterfly ?

Now so siong to sling my bb ..

North Mummies
Linda - Sembawang
Bluelily - Woodlands
Lynzi - Woodlands
Alien - Toa Payoh
Dinut - Toa Payoh
Slimz - Ang Mo Kio
Elaine - Ang Mo Kio
ankh - Whampoa
tub - Yishun
fairylander - Yishun

North East Mummies
Cocoangel - Hougang
Stary78 - Punggol
Constancet - Punggol
ankh - Whampoa
joanne - Hougang
Slimz - Buangkok
Baby12 - Sengkang

East Mummies
Hazel - Bedok
Jeelomeelo - Tampines
Noelle - Kambangan
Steffietan - Katong
ah_bie - Bedok
Baby12 - Simei (currently staying in parent's hse)
momo32 - Kembangan

West Mummies
CSI - hume park
ginger - hillview
zu - teckwhye
etelle - Jurong West
BBnGG - CCK
cloverluv - Jurong West
claire_liu - West Coast
T&P - Jurong West
kokopooh - Ghim Moh
Happi - Bt Batok