(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

phy

i still have e bean sprout pillow in e play pen cos that was brought by mother in law. Not very nice to take it out. But i norm dun use it. Cannot take it out now too cos my mother in law is staying over tonite in baby's room. sigh..
m also worried that baby cry will disturb my mother in law. Had not expected her to stay over. WOuld have brought my baby to my room if i had known she stayin

Yea .. I stop swaddling my bb after first mth .. In fact he doesn't like to swaddle since 1 week old but no choice as his hands always so busy moving and unable to get to sleep ..

After first mth i only swaddle his body cause his hands always get stuck while trying to get out and always cry in fustration .. Slowly i stop swaddling him during nap time .. Eventually stop all swaddling ..

But one good thing about swaddling is when bb is fussy at breast, can help alot to hold bb ..

cry baby/mel

When u all stop swaddling baby, won't their hands "fly" around and affect their sleep?

In fact, i stop swaddling during the 2nd week cos of the heat. But he cant sleep in the cot at all cos his hands will move around & he will cry. It's only recently that I swaddle him again & he can sleep for hours. When I don't swaddle him, again his hands will move around and he can't sleep well.

I do not believe in bean sprout pillow leh. But my MIL wants him to have it. So I make him sleep on his side and let him cuddle the pillow instead of placing on chest. Accident might happen. During his 2nd mth, after CL left... he was so sound asleep till I thought he was breathless. Cos he is slepping in a/c room with me, I got startled and like broke into cold sweat. I touched his face(cold man) and shoke him cos he was motionless. But he is too sound asleep then. Really shit the sh*t out of me! Somemore this happened few times, startled during my sleep. So scary!

Botanist, gotta high5 with u le! haha me too thinking of using the BB bjorn for short errands. maybe will put the BECO in my car and BB bjorn at home for my use. Actually my BB bjorn synergy is suppose to be better than the original bb bjorn whereby the weight is also distributed onto the waist rather than jus the shoulder. its comes with a lumbar support. but i somehow still get the shoulder ache aft a while cos my gal is on the heavier side and i m petite. So hopefully the BECO is a different feel then at least i wont feel tt I m wasting money on 2 carriers.

I should be receivin the carrier these few days and let u know the feel aft i got it...hehehe...urs will come in MAY right?

Before he is first mth he always has his hands flying ard .. But swaddling him makes him very pek che and tries to get his hands out .. I slowly stop swaddle during nap time .. When he stop having his hands flying ard den at night i also nv swaddle .. Now after last feed i put him in his cot and he will fall asleep .. I guess too tired already haha ..

i haven't started to use any pillow on my baby. i think i'll use pillow only when he's 1yr old. in fact safest way to use a pillow is to place the pillow below the bedsheet. am also not using any beansprout pillow. my boi sleeps on nappy cloth separating the bedsheet and his head. i also have stopped swaddling/wearing mittens baby when he's 3wks old (only swaddle lower body). he wears his bottees then and now socks to bed everynite. day time no socks oso.. the hands are free to move ard. now for the blanket, i tuck in tight ard the mid of his torso at the side of his body.

i think i'm geting separation anxiety. tomolo i'm sending him to infant care trial coz next wk i'm going to start work! even thou the infant care ctr is about 10min walk from my opit, i think i still can't bear to separate from him boooohooohoooo

eve,

i read that to prevent the baby from sliding down into the swaddle cloth or blanket, we shd place baby right at the bottom of the cot/crib...

however, my bb moves upwards when he kicks and he knocked his head against the cot rails a couple of times. i stopped swaddling him eversince he outgrew the swaddle, so he sleeps on his back in the cactus pose with blanket tucked under his armpits.. i'm also using the babysafe latex pillow with a hole in the middle for him coz one side of his head is abit flat from sleeping too much on that side.

missylan,

i also have this kind of phobia since #1 time.. every now and then i will check that bb is breathing.. my hb thinks i too paranoid

S@L,

hehe *High five back*. Yah I think yr Baby Bjorn definitely have better support! Furthermore, mine is a hand me down - very well used so the straps have been carried until very flat liao!! My HB uses the Baby Bjorn at home to carry my son when he is fussy ... so he can work and carry at the same time.

Ya let me know how your BECO carrier works out! I just told my HB that i bought the BECO and he *shake head* and told me to decide which carrier I want - BECO or ERGO.. dont keep both cos we wont end up using both anyway. Heehe Looks like I really gotta sell one lor.

Swaddling
I have to swaddle my boy coz he likes it.. Whenever he wants to sleep, I'll swaddle him with the nappy cloth and within 10 minutes, he will fall asleep... sometimes if he managed to get his hands free, he will wake up and cry... I also wonder when I can stop swaddling him...

Was told by PD to let baby sleep without blanket. However, wear long sleeves and long pants with mittens and booties/socks.. So I don't use blanket on him anymore. Furthermore, he is being swaddled.. Air con is set at 26 degree celcius...

Missylan,
Can imagine your fear man!! I'm also very paranoid nowadays.. Don't even dare to let bb sleep beside me on bed.. Yesterday was at my mum's place and I fell asleep on my mum's bed.. she was carrying my boy then.. didn't know she also placed boy down to sleep beside me.. I coughed and my left hand hit my boy!! Luckily it was not too hard...

When bb's sleeping at night, I dun use a blanket. I just let him wear a long sleeve top.. like jacket from front to back. Then can cover his hands too.. so that he cant eat them. :p Then wear long pants loh.. gd enough. Cos we din zzz aircon. I also scared.. take away all the pillow n booster. In the day time I let him zzz sideways then can hug the booster.. or he zz in the sarong yao lan.

jeelomeelo, it's like tt. At least u can get to see him during ur lunch hr! I 1st day of work also miss bb alot alot. Now more used to it liao.. though still miss. hehe. Will rush home after work everyday to see him.

Eve,
I also use sleep positioner on my boy.. he lies on it so he can't move much when he sleeps.. his body weight holds down the swaddle cloth so it doesn't move up to his face.. though at times my boy got his hands freed and the cloth would be around his neck.. I am also worried about the cloth actually... But I think the sleep positioner helps to prevent too much sliding from my boy..

Constance,
Going to complain to you again about the school!

Do you know that childcare teachers got exam one? Wed, the examiner should be coming over to the childcare to test and review on one of the teacher. Then the examiner forgot and didn't come. My son's classroom is quite large, ard 18 children now so his class is larger and has a divider to be able to make into another room. Then since Wed, the another classroom turns to that teacher "exam room". Children cannot go into that room cos there are materials for examination etc. Then yesterday also, children cannot go into that room. So yesterday lesson is Mandarin storytelling and play dough only! Think very unfair for children leh!

slimz
i just realised my son able to grab his toy and put onto his mouth this AM! very impressive! he is 12weeks today

bb carrier
i have baby bjorn synergy and MIM sling with ring. my hb is using baby bjorn while i use MIM. saw the BP on Beco too and the prints are super nice! can we organise our own bp instead? at our lobang group. any suggestion?

linda
do you have a list of stuff to get in Taka Bby Fair? i have no time to draft my shopping list. anyone want to contribute? i shall start the ball rolling then.

Things can get from Taka Baby Fair (just a suggestion):
1) high chair (going to use it soon)
2) toys

2nd Gathering for Dec 2007 Mummies

Date: 2nd March 2008, Sunday
Time: 12pm
Venue: Macdonalds at Kallang Stadium

Mummies, pls PM or email me and Linda your contact#, and pls do indicate your nick. I'll sms you my hp# once rec your email. So on that day we will contact via HP.

My email: [email protected]
Linda email: [email protected]
1.Witty+hb+BB+helper
2.alien+hb+baby - I've ur contact#
3.fanny+hb+baby
4.Slimz+HB+BB
5.missylan+baby+son+helper
6.Linda+hb+bb - I've ur contact#
7.rachel+hub+bb (rachel cheng or rachel wee? Awy, ve both contact#)
8.petrina+bb
9.cocoangel+hb+bb -I've ur contact#
10.jeelomeelo+hb+bb -I've ur contact# - unable to meet
11.ankh+hb+bb -I've ur contact#
12.naf+hb+elder+bb
13.steffietan+hb+bb+son
14.cookiemz+bb+#1+helper
15.bbtree+baby+daughter+helper - I've ur contact#
16.eve+bb

phy
ya, next week! i am placing order next week too before bp closes. what design she looking for? i can add in to my list.

lynzi,

u can try odering from US but the 4th generation is being discontinued so u better grab it from the US sites soon as stocks all running out. If not, gotta settle for Butterfly or Ergo 4th Generation.

Alien,

I checked the BECO website, I think u will need to apply to be wholesaler/retailer with proper company website/name in order to enjoy the lower prices so not so easy to simply do BP for this carrier.

Steriliser
Any mummy has the problem of bottles turning yellow and teats cracked after using steriliser for quite some time?

Hair Loss
Any of u here has this prob? Me been losing lots of hair after confinement. The hair is everywhere. Its driving me crazy!!!!

Beco
Yah can our lobangs group do our own bp for this? Me really wanna get one.

cookiemz, sorry, didn't know have to transfer money already. will do so this afternoon. waiting for my mum to rescue me so i can step out of house and find ATM. Forgot my internet banking id!

lynzi, yeah, some of my latex teats and some bottles already changed colour. throw away already. and i also don't sterilise all the time.

botanist
i much prefer getting beco than ergo. Beco has very nice designs. Saw oprah the other day, she was having baby shower for the preggy mothers in the audience. Everyone got to bring home a beco for FREE!!!!

Hopefully i will feel better carrying my baby in the beco compared to my baby bjorn.

missylan,

i guess that teacher is having her practicum. If taking dipolma or certificate in presch teaching, have to go through this practicum. The lecturer will see how the teacher conduct lesson, class management etc.

alien:
boohoo.. my girl still cant .. she oso cant hold her head leh.. nxt thurs gg for her 3rd mth chk-up
shall ask PD .. hmmmm...
*so worried* .. =[

Lynzi, the 4th gen has stopped production, i think even US stocks once sold, cannot get anymore. Someone mentioned some issues with Ergo, nt sure how true. So preorder is only for the Butterfly range.

but if u keen can check out Ebay cos i saw some ppl selling 4th gen, but very limited designs.

I dun think can do a BP ourselves either cos the cutrrent BECO herself for the Spore market. I tried contacting other US websites, they are selling much more exp even before shipping charge. Unless someone u know stays in the States, maybe can try to get wholesale price there and ship bk...but a bit troublesome.

Botanist, i suppose u will sell off ur Ergo bah...since it serves the same purpose, but much much nicer! For me maybe i will still keep bb bjorn since its a totally diff thing
excuses, excuses....hopefully no more other BP with nicer better slings/carriers....otherwise i think we both go MAD again!

2nd Gathering for Dec 2007 Mummies

Date: 2nd March 2008, Sunday
Time: 12pm
Venue: Macdonalds at Kallang Stadium

Sorry, cannot make it if gathering is on Sunday. Me aiming buffet! =P

Hair loss
Me having hair loss since this week. Hahaha, #1 time, I had it during his 4th mth. Think duration ard 1 month +. Since last trimester, me applying hair tonic. Just finished one bottle, bought another different one from Guardian. Scary, got to clear the drain everyday.

CryStalZ,
But very unfair if my son's lesson is affected. You see hor, last time our Pri-Sec times, prinicpial or whoever will come to view how the teacher is conducting the lesson, no students will be affected. But my school not same leh, they chose those more responsive students into the class and the rest left outside for boring lessons. Yesterday was like waiting for the examinor to leave like that.

Swaddling
I stopped swaddling my boy since he was 2 weeks or so. He's always feeling hot and breaking out in sweat.

Flying hands
My boy also has his hands flying around, scratching his face, hitting the mattress when he sleeps. Otherwise, he'll be trying to put his fingers into his mouth and when he fails, he gets super frustrated and will cry. I realised from the discussions above that this is very likely the reason why his sleep has been so disturbed recently. I think I shall try to swaddle him again, but must turn on aircon. Let's hope it helps.

Nursing room
FYI - Borders has quite a nice nursing room - 2 arm chairs, changing table, sink with tap, hand towels, hand dryer. Too bad it doesn't have a hot water dispenser.

swaddling
basically my gal still flings her arms in her sleep sometimes. but she will cont to sleep. Think she might have been used to it. in fact sometimes she wake up not bcos of that. She will out of e blue suddenly burst out crying very loudly, as if had a nightmare.

Blanket
I had removed all e loose cloth, such as blanket n nappy cloth. Never know when she do her stunt even if her body is on top of e cloths. I m thinking of getting those blanket suit..dunno wat its called. Those like e Maggie use in e Simpson. Think its safer n can keep baby warm.

btw, issit ok to have baby sleeping directly under e aircon blowing? currently e play pen is rite underneath e aircon. i dun dare to on aircon cos scare she end up getting a cold.

eh.. my baby still cant grab toys. She can onli grab our fingers, hair n clothes when we feed her. but she likes to put her fist / fingers into her mouth n drools ALOT!! anyone with such prob?

Cry baby
My baby smears saliva all over his mouth when he puts his fingers in, but not ALOT ... yet :) Was reading yesterday's discussion about fingers vs pacifier and still undecided whether to succumb to the pacifier or not. The theory about pacifier easier to wean off than fingers sounds quite convincing. Hmmm ......

Crystal
I will try your method later - sleep already than swaddle. Tks!

cry baby, you mean sleeping gown? you could also try to get sleeping bag, those selling in mothercare rite. that should be safe... my baby oso dun really know how to grab toys yet. but h uses his left hand to grab his right hand to put into his mouth la. he doesn't hold the rattle as good though.. haha

tub
i paid US$129. din pay for shipping part leh. i think it is inclusive of shipping already. i received order confirmation stated US$129 for whole transaction

Alien,

I'd like to order the CAR design
My sis saw it at my place and likes it alot
Pls include my order.. Will let you know where to deliver to later on.. thanks ya

jeelomeelo

hee.. ya. i intend to go buy those. hahah.. yr baby sounds so cute, using left hand to grab rite to put into mouth. ahahaha... mayb he trying to multi-task (practise grabbing while sucking / biting)

Valeriet
ya i saw e discussion. I also think pacifier better cos easier to wean off. But my gal is like rejecting pacifier now. She will push it to the side of e mouth or spit it out after awhile.. n her drool is gross cos it will flow down onto her neck. N since she is so young, cannot hold up e neck, e saliva will flow to e crease of neck. so gross. We have to keep wiping when it flows. N sometimes she will play with her saliva forming bubbles of saliva in her mouth.
faint~

hi botanist,

you got the BECO! haha, when i saw the prints, i feel in love with them too, but its my #3 kid liao, cant get 1 more.

my sis got an Ergo Retro print thru our BP, :p..i better shut up abt the BECO, else she'll kill me..coz i think she'll prefer BECO design.

Little bit regret get the Ergo after i see BECO... i was trying to console myself that Ergo is the "real" thing coz it seems like BECO copied ergo design? and Ergo seems to hv small details like the safety band at the buckle (BECO has them?)..no choice got to make myself feel good abt the Ergo loh hahah

btw i notice the BECO shld be smaller at the base (the waist strap and the base where the bb sits), this is something i prefer coz i m small size, smaller waist strap better n the base where bb sits, smaller will be friendly to younger bb. super tempted to get BECO man.... but i got many huddle to pass, my hb , my mum (yes! she loves to ask my sis n me how much our things cost..so we always discount 30-40% for her, haha)

Hi Phy and Botanist
BTW does ur son like the Ergo? mine struggle abit leh, not sure is it he too young to go in. he is abt 13weeks, 7kg. i try the insert style, he seem "bulky" in it...