(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

missylan,

yup! i also v.kiasu..already reminded my PD about the jab liao. Lucky, my infant care centre only have 3 babies there so far... really scared to send my son to infant care with 20 over babies...

dinut,

yup, hopefully the BP price is good then we can all get it.. Hehe..

linda,

good idea! i think i'll bring him soon...will try the synery one cos can take up to 12 kg.
thanks for the info

diapers:
i've oso jux registered .. tanks hazel .. act am still using nappies (day) and nite (pampers NB).. but pampers running out soon n i dun intend buy more coz too ex..shall wait for the Goon sample..

weight:
i stil ve ard 4kg to lose..n cant fit into old tops dat used fit .. will burst @ the bust .. bottoms too.. i agree hips do seems wider liaozz.. coz wen i tried old bottoms, harder to pull up @ the hips although can button @ the waist.. haizzz

maternity leave:
me on ML all the way till mid march .. coz i took all 12weeks, 2007's annual leave & OT leave (i'm in audit line.. dat's y got OT leave)

BF in public:
haven tried tat leh..coz i sty wif MIL, she dun allow me bring bb out .. so sad .. so far my girl oni been to my parents place, doc and notin le..

mittens:
i oso wan to remove bb mittens but my MIL says cold .. etc etc .. and my girl ever scratch her face ..

binder:
din bother 2 wear @ all aft my massage coz uncomfy, hot n i tink it restricts my daily activities .. carry bb oso tougher

BM carrier:
i'm using avent cooler bag n ice packs .. the ice packs supposedly can last 6hrs but i realised aft 2hrs its no longer cold le.. so i act put ice cubes instead ..

storing EBM:
so upset over tis issue.. as i sty wif IL, wil ve to use MIL freezer to store EBM .. but she is ULTRA agst freezing EBM.. guess wen i start wk.. will latch wenever i'm wif bb, day time pump @ wk for bb 2 consume nxt day..

jaz - I bought 1 extra bottle of fenugreek to standby in case I need more. Can let go to you if you need it. Btw, price went up again. Now before disc is $29.50!

nursing in public:
I'm using my MIM sling. For my elder one, I always rush to nursing rooms or wear nursing tops but for now realised the sling can cover me and I carry baby and walk while feedin at same time...actually got a nursing cover but only used a few times..

CSI_Fan - my elder n bb drinks Nan HA 1. It is recommended and I chose this in hospital to give baby FM. I also can get it cheaper from East Shore at 10% disc off $35.50. Let me know if u need help to get. Can pass to you if meet u for the milk bags. Btw, can try to express when latch on baby on the other side? that is what i do currently...

weight:
i duno how much i weigh now but still got the bulge tummy abv my wound. will shake my head each time i see myself in the mirror...cant tahan! When gave birth to my elder one, at least no bulgin tummy, just flabby...now somemore cant do any stomach exercise and CNY coming...my hubby relatives sure got a lot of things to say abt me...

hazel - thx for the info on babycare..think 21 Mar is public holiday? any1 going? then we can meet up too
btw u stay near bedok?

oh my pd charge $150 for the jab...any1 knows how much polyclinic charge?

missylan
tumbletots has a programme called Right Start, similar to those 2-3 hrs programme attended by kids in normal childcare, presch.

missylan
yeah, agreed pnuemoccocal jab is impt! remember i told you my son's classmate has the pnuem disease? Just out of hospital earlier this year, but still recovering at home. Had been sick since Last Aug i think. Really dreaded illness

Naf
re bfeeding in public
still dun dare to do it. So far for all my kids, i only bfed in nursing rooms or in the car. How does mim sling cover us? If we dun wear nursing tops, then when we nurse, our back will be exposed rite? I have one, but always tie the excess fabric round the ring when in use.

Naf,
I m staying at bedok.
Not sure if I will be going...
Dun think polyclinic has these jabs.
If I rem correctly, polyclinic doesnt provide rota & pnue jabs.

fanny,
I forgotten how I got it...think I search on bb fair.

oh yes, Goon has passed the 8hrs test. REally comparable to pampers.

Constance - eh I will not let baby rest inside the sling cuz am usin sling to cover up and tie the sling loosely and it will be quite big to cover front n back le

I wan to go expo too but scare too many pple then hubby will nag esp if on Ph! Cookiez you stayin at simei?

heeee...
Though I m the one who post the info..
but what's in the fair?
Will it be something like motherhood fair? where we can find those diapers & milk powder co as exhibitors?

Re: Diapers
My #1 used to use Drypers n was good. But this time round, found quality not so good liao. My bb's thigh also got red cos too tight. Can't afford to use too expensive diapers cos bb pee n poo a lot. Almost every 2-3hrs change once. Very shiong. So far, bought PetPet frm NTUC cos got offer last week.

Re: Weight
Am 1.64m tall, pre-pregnancy was ard 58kg. Hit 67kg when full term. After delivery, down to ard 62kg. Now I think its abt 59kg. Overall, I lost weight eversince I became a homemaker, even before I got pregnant.

Went shopping a few times liao, always ended up buying stuff for hb n the kids but not myself. Can't find anything that looks good on me. Sigh... getting old n ugly. Also, my hunchback gonna get worse from carrying baby. She's getting heavier n heavier each day.

Re: Mittens
I can't remember when did I start to remove the mittens for #1 (see how much hands off I was for #1 that I don't remember much). I haven't remove mittens for bb. Will wait till some old folks tell me to remove I guess.

Re: Yaolan/pacifier/bouncer
We finaly gave in n use the yaolan. Last nite, hb came back frm work n decided to put up the yaolan to use. I think its bcos he sees me looked really very tired frm carrying the bb. Tried putting bb inside, she's not used to it yet, keeps waking up frm her sleep. Only use this when desparate.

She also doesn't like pacifier. When I put into her mouth, she cries even more. Only once in a while it works to calm her down n put her to sleep.

My friends gave me the Fisher Price bouncer as a gift. So far, its the best. Bb practically sleeping on it as if its a bed, even at nite. Mine is the one wz the bird sound n rattle hanging mobile. She doesn't like that though, so we removed it.

phy,

I remember u are using the papasan chair..where to get it ah/ didn't see it in baby kingdom leh..My son loves to sleep in the car seat but I think he is outgrowing it liao cos now like very cramp..Bought the traditional "netted" bouncer for him but he dun like it leh..so thinking of buying the papasan chair..By the way how much is it?

mittens
i also removed it after baby turned 1 mth. And now i can see baby exploring his fingers and sucking them from time to time.

Sound
my baby also make those ah goo ah...sound when you talk to him play with him or sometimes when he quietly lies there and "entertains" himself with these sound very cute.

Head
can your babies hold the head steadily le? My baby seem to hold his head quite steadily. I was wondering when can i start using the baby carrier...wait till he clocked 3rd mth?

Shopping for clothes
haven't slim down to pre pregnant yet end up clothes that i buy its 1 size bigger than my usual very demoralising...buy clothes time alwys have to tae the most bottom piece from the stack.*sigh*

hihi, long time din post on forum.
Went shopping for clothes yest... ya.. it's indeed demoralizing. I feel like my soul is trapped inside n auntie body. Gotta buy 1 size bigger than usual.. n have to look for those that are loose at the tummy area ones. Hai.. Weight-wise i only left 1 or 2 kg to loose.. but still got tummy n fats. I squeeze into my old top like bao ba zang! But I like my wider hips now.. hahaha cos last time i got no butts. But my low waist pants n jeans cant fit liao.

Constance,
Aiyoh... so scary. Last time, son's ex classmate kenna and need to operate. The mom said that the illness totally changed her dd's character. Last time very active, now very reserved. When she told me her incident, I faster faster made appt for my #1.

Oh, they also got those lesson aah... Xie Xie

btw.. anyone on Similac? Wat colour n texture is ur bb's poo? My bb was on fm n bm.. but few days ago.. I stop my bm liao. Then today his poo is watery n very dark green! Is it normal?

bluelily
my bb is on similac. its dark yellow the poo.....

missylan
my #2 injected his pneumococcal jab when he went for his 6-in-1. din knw its so scary this virus.

bluelily,
last time, my bb on similac
his poo is normal yellow.
But I read somewhere if the poo is yellow or greenish is ok

how to keep the pacifier inside bb's mouth?..the paci can soothe my bb to sleep, but he will become agitated and wake up each time it's detached from his mouth..somehow he hasnt learn how to suck it tight....

baby fair:
i'm stying AMK leh.. abit far .. and oso dun ve car .. plus my HB mite b gg overseas assignment in march - april.. guess mite ve to give it a miss.. unless can get my sis or frens go wif me ..

pacifier:
haven start using .. cant advise u steffi

Head:
my girl's head still not steady leh ..

PD:
i'm bringing my girl to PD for 2nd mth chkup..anyine has any general questions wich i can try ask wen c the PD tmr?

mittens
I cut the nails but still abit sharp. So dare not remove the mittens, scare she scratch her face. Can give pacifier to prevent her from sucking her thumb? Maybe i will try paci soon.

Upsize!!!
I also very sad.. new clothes gotta upsize to "L", no more M or S. Still got 7kg to shed.... sob sob. But i think can no longer go back to pre-pregancy weight cos our breast & hips already enlarged. Not forgeting the flabby tummy.....

Sound
Yaya... they seems to response when u talk to them. Coo coo, ga ga... so cute eh.

Poo
Greenish poo is normal... guess it's due to development of the organs.

bluelily, my boy is on similac, i always call his poo "mustard cream" hehee! so u know the colour of his poo! Regarding the diapers, maybe u use nepia for day, goon for nite? :p

happi, after cutting the nails u can use a file to file so that the nails are not that sharp.

slimz, i stay sembawang!

Clothings - I can easily find the top but nt the bottom, ugghh!! so end up i bgt those baby doll dress.

linda,
heehhe.. act i tink baby doll dresses bring out the best in us le... hide the unsightly waist n bums .. highlight the bust .. HAHHA

naf,

yup, m in simei.. are u staying in kembangan or bedok area? can go siglap and lim kopi.. ;)

linda,

early morning is better.. not so crowded.. but looks like not many interested leh..

i'm a SAHM officially from today..

happi, so far i got mine from pepperplus, south haven, og.

The file u can use the normal one for adult, mine is come in a box of nail cutter, nail scissor, etc. i think u can get the file very easily from kiddypalace, those children dept if u want for kids one, but the file meant for adult can be used on them.

cookiemz, early morning no problem for me (good to avoid traffic)

bluelily,
my boy is on similac too. his will be more dark yellow if the no. of FM feeds is more. If not, it's bright yellow.

hen,
Is the bouncer that u r talking abt this one?
http://www.rent-that-toy.com/ToysInfo.php?id=67
Just rented that bouncer. Hopes my boy likes it and can sleep in it on his own.

Slimz,
Is there a 2nd mth checkup? thought i saw only 3rd mth assessment in the health booklet.

Re baby fair,
i'm staying in the east. i might be able to join if i'm not starting work that week yet.

linda,
og got nice dress? u went to which og? i must go take a look over the weekend liao. i went pepperplus.. but always no stock. so sad.

i will try to file her nails with my file.

My next checkup is 3rd month too.

i went to chinatown one, happi, but i don really like most of the clothes cos to much of tops there rather than bottoms! I only bgt one top and one babydoll dress from there. U may consider going to south haven in bugis junction or wisma, i bgt a few from the boutique.

Linda,
oh ya.. u use pigeon wipes? there is a shop at the people park ctr selling the wipes at $8.80 only. South haven dresses are expensive leh.. but they are nice.

mummies, what time ur bb go to bed in the night? how to make them go to bed earlier? mine sleep at 1am plus....

re: mitten,
It's good to remove the mittens after 1 mth when we can cut their nails. that was what my PD told us for our #1. she scolded us for not removing the mittens because it hinders their development to learn to grab things. I remove the mittens for my #2 after 1 mth. I also feel that her palms are always sweaty and smelly inside the mittens so it's better to remove and air their palms.

For mommies who express their breastmilk exclusively, how long does it take for BM supply to stabilize? I am so tired of pumping every 2-3 hours.

eve,
there's none.. but i jux converted to total latch BM for my girl 2weeks back, so wanna bring bb chkup.. c she got gain wt anot...scared she not feeding enuf.. and oso chk out her poo and some neck rashes wich refuse 2 go away .. so its juz a consultation lor..

dresses:
i find pepperplus items abit small cutting leh.. pre preg i oni own 1 top from there.. and its bursting @ the bustline.. =P
mabbe can consider southhaven .. there's one at my wkplace too.. heheeee..

hi eve, i bought the same bouncer as shown in the link. wow it's a amazing chair, yesterday i let my darling sit on it for the first time. before that, she was very cranky and usually we will pop in the paci, but yesterday was amazing. you should see how much she likes it...she is so quiet in it and very happy in it. enjoying herself...

eve,

i've read baby whisperer.. but not gina ford. getting my HB to buy the gina ford book for me...

am stuck on getting my son to sleep thru the night. baby whisperer suggests a dream feed at 11, but i can't seem to get my son to do this because he poops like 3 times a night! so no way i can get him to sleep thru.. sigh. now thinking of trying out gina ford method after i read the book.

naf,
ahh...okie. thanks for the offer. Will consider it. heehee...now still checking out various FM brands. Then there's also the worry of "what if baby doesn't like that brand? Or not suitable, eg. constipation. Then wasted whole tin leh..." hehs.

Aiyoh, I haven't bought any CNY clothes yet!!
dunno how also. Like cannot find anything suitable. Sianz...

happi,
I bought some nursing bras from MIM. I like the padded drop cup ones (I think that's how it's called on the website...kekeke)

pretty
really? now waiting for them to deliver. hopes he find comfort in it. v tiring for me to always rock him to sleep.

botanist
other than the dream feed, the rest of the contents useful? hope to establish a pattern for my son soon. he used to sleep quite soundly lately waking up once or twice only until last night. he refused to b put into cot last night totally. end up got to carry him the whole night. so tiring...

any mummies who's thinking of buying yao lan, pls let me know. i want to sell off mine as bb doesnt like to be in it. n i cant seem to get the hang of making him drift to dreamland. always end up making him more awake.

eve,
I've read Baby Whisperer. Haven't read Gina Ford though. So can't compare. At the end of the day, gotta remember and understand the context in which these books were written (eg. author is from which country etc). Generally the tips are very helpful. But of course, their suggestions are not the only way kinda thing lah. heehee...HB and I love the Baby Whisperer. It helped us a lot. But we have not managed to get baby on the routine suggested by the book. kekeke...

hazel,

dream feed is when u feed bb abt 10 - 11pm... feed when he/she is asleep. becos bb is totally relaxed, no need to burp.. just feed and put them down to sleep. also, dont change diaper as that will wake bb up.

based on baby whisperer suggestions, to cluster feed earlier in the evening and then, dream feed at around 11pm to tank up your bb. then, they can sleep thru the night.

so far, my bb can't drink so much at one go.. plus, cannot do dream feed cos he always poop around that time so must change diaper and he will wake up! alamak....

eve,

yup, the other contents are useful. i have used it to establish a routine for my son and so far, so good. occasionally he does not follow routine and fights sleep, esp in the day... but for night time, he sleeps quite well.

i think its normal for babies to occasionally stray from their routine, we just need to be flexible also. they also have mood swings.. .so we got to manage them accordingly .

Basically, the baby whisperer has helped me establish a simple routine, which in turn helps me identify bb's problem when he cries... but i heard that the gina ford book is also really good so can't wait to get my hands on it so i can try out her suggestions.