(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Yeah bbtree
your son is very cute looking and alert!

Hey dodo
do let me know how the collection service for stemcord is like. I also signed up for stemcord. Heard some complaints abt cordlife collection. Hope stemcord will be better.

Aiyo... I see you mommies popping one by one, I so envious! I want to pop too!!!

All your darlings so cute some more. I can't wait to see my boy!

Anyway already suffering from insomnia, so having bb to look after at night doesn't seem much difference. In fact, it's much more meaningful that just tossing and turning.

I'm on leave today. to rest (but ended up clearing my home a bit more. hahaha...but at least I didn't have to wake up early to go to work. kekekeke...)

Petrina,
my 1st wedding anniversary was last weekend.
I got hb a handheld massager (similar to the Osim iPamper - then next time I also can use! hahaha...) He didn't get me anything though. Then again, he's been buying me good meals (those restaurant types), buying my maternity stuff (clothes, shoes, accessories) etc, so ok lah. Dun want him to spend too much also. Better to save for BB. Hehs. We ended up spending the day celebrating a fren's wedding. haha. We wanted to go out for dinner the following day, but being in my week 37, it's tough lorh. 1stly, lots of things cannot eat. 2ndly, feel so heavy and tired, go out and walk around also sian...Ended up cooking at home. hehs. But we did sort of have an early celebration during my 2nd trimester. We went Krabi for a week.
Maybe you can cook a yummy meal for him? Or is there anything else he might need? Now I need to rack my brains for a x'mas present for hb...hahaha...

Wow, talking abt durians... salivating now!!

Jeelo, water bag burst at MJ table? hmm, haha, maybe will happen to me? haha, coz I play weekly leh... so bored to just stay at home.. play PC games, then surf net...

Finally after one week of sleepless night, able to fall asleep just now since 11am till 3pm .. Kinda knocked out .. End up with headache .. Still having so many BH ..

Higgledy, i've checked about placenta .. An uncle from medical shop advised me not to do it cause is very difficult to get it dry completely .. Got to but the oven etc to do it properly .. My auntie went to malaysia and check for me that there is places selling placenta in pill form .. With zhen zhu fen and everything inside .. costing about RM 700 .. Also mention that SG is selling too ..

bbtree, your baby so cute and alert!! mine is a sleepyhead.. still trying to catch up on the lost time in mummy's tummy

missylan,
thanks for the details... are you ordering the whole cake then? it looks very yummy to me *drool*... but afraid it will be wasted on the older generation.. i'm going to try the Dark Angel and most likely ordering those for my friends and colleagues.

constancet,
i love durians.. if confinement can eat, i sure eat.. haha.. it's BU right.. keke.. then baby can have durian flavoured BM :p

re: placenta
the midwife actually held up my whole placenta after delivery and asked me if i wanted to bring it home.. urrghhh... really grossed me out.. such a big red slab.

Bbtree,
Congrats to you, your boy look so alert!

Dodo,
You are delivering tmr right? have a smooth delivery and keep us posted
finally can see your twinnies!!

Rachel,
I believed we are having the same gynae - Dr WK Tan - do we give her the birth plan during our appointment or only when we deliver?

I have a nice babysitter here. However, coming Jan08 I'll be sending my gals to childcare.

Anyone looking for a babysitter to care for newborn or toddler? her charge is about $650 neg. she is 40+ chinese speaking, have 2 children in sec sch. She only do daycare for 5-day week.

mummies, if you know of anyone interested in looking for a babysitter in toa payoh pls pm me.

Thank you for your help.

belle, think we have the same gynae-dr tb lim right? i asked him about VE and he said he won't do it cos it's a "traumatic" experience for the mummies.

congrats to all mummies who have popped! i am counting down as this is my 39th week. :p

missylan,

i also wanna eat durians.. dun worry lah.. won't die one.. ur fil's store is the first one along the geylang stretch is it? i always see ppl sitting down eating it there.. hehe

csi,

opps! ur wedding is on 18/11 is it? paiseh ah.. forgot the date.. my hubby yesterday so funny.. saw a fullerton ad for a 1 night romantic stay with dinner for $478 i think.. and asked me if i want to do that for our anniversary.. then i asked him how to enjoy the stay when 1'm so big now? then he said when bb is out then we go and enjoy.. leave bb with grandparents.. hehe..

bbtree,

ur baby is really cute.. and he open his eyes so fast already.. very handsome boy..

dodo,

all the best in your delivery tomorrow.. i think i'll be super excited too if i'm having twins.. 2 come out at the same time.. just endure one time pain only.. hehe..

rachel,

thanks for the advice.. will ask my gynae about my birth plan when i see her this sat..

higgledy,

i saw what the plancenta looked like in Mrs Wong's book and it was so grossed.. i dun think i wanna keep it already.. its disgusting.. maybe see what my hubby says lah.. he's the chinese physician so will ask him about it..

tub,

39 weeks already? u must be super excited.. i'm only in my 37 weeks but cannot tahan already.. keep asking my gal if she is ready to come out or not.. hahaha..

How big is the placenta huh? Everybody says it's so gross. I haven't seen it before lah, but I thought it would look something like a big slab of pork liver.

tub,
one more wk and you'll get to see your little one liao! are u still working now or staying home liao?

missylan,
so during confinement can take durian right? coz durian is heaty stuff... thought we should be eating heaty stuff.

higgledy,
i read in the forum b4 that there are ppl who has contacts to process the placenta into pill form. Now that the threads are all messed up, dunno where's the posting liao. anyway, i think i'll pass that too! :p

i'm now staying at home liao. i would wake up everyday thinking if it'll be her birthday. :p
39 weeks really big manz... i also tot my ger would be early but she seems REALLY comfy in me leh.. no signs of impending labour yet. wondering if i would need to be induced. :x

for the placenta, think it looks kindda gross from mrs wong's book. there's a picture of it in her book. hehheh...

Heard from a daddy he told me never look at the placenta cause when it first come out it's still moving .. Very freaky .. One big piece of blood .. Can be as heavy as 3kg ..

constance,
for stemcord, their method of storing is better than cordlife. that's wat i understand from my other friends who had signed up with stemcord too. they stored the cord blood into a few compartments so it can be used more than once. as for cordlife, i heard that the cord blood is stored into one compartment so can only be used once cos once thawed, it cannot be re-frozen.

thanks all for your well-wishes!! getting excited man.. hope i can sleep tonight.. keke.. btw, i will be going early tomorrow morning, gotta reach by 6.30pm.... zzzzzzzzzz

belle
it's a must go through thing la haha dun think otherwise of it then haha it be fine....when i first went in didn't even know to expect VE le..wah when the midwife and gynae did the VE i was like wah pain le...thankfully for epidural haha

dodo
congrats in advance...!!!!! think sure cannot sleep but better sleep hee...rest while you can
hen darlings are born then sleep be deprived le...

Hi dodo
I was actually refering to the promptness of their collection from the time we call them up to the time they collect. Cos got one mummy complaining that cordlife actually delayed in the collection and the cord blood was left in the ward for a few hours after cordlife was informed of the delivery. In the end, the cord blood couldn't be harvested, cos contaminated. Hope it won't hope for stemcord.

constance,
i am not too sure about that. have not heard of any negative feedback on this aspect. i just know that we just need to pass over the collection kit to our gynae and they will do the rest. ;)

Dear mummies...

See u all have been toking abt VE and it seems so scary....
when is VE done? and how is it done? issit gynae use her whole hand to go into the vagina??
so far, i duno if my gynae has done VE on me....maybe she has, i duno....
today went for weekly checkup, im at 37 wks...bb weighing 2.9kg but my weight went dwn (Hooray)...
she said my cervix is not opened yet but gg to be engaged soon...she said something which i didnt realli catch it...she said duno wat is moving toward the pelvis...is she referring to bb is moving towards pelvis (means bb gg to be engaged)??

btw, there are 3 scenerios which mean tat we are gg into labor soon, namely, regular contraction pain, water bag burst, "show"...
which one warrants immediate attention...issit if "show" or contraction pain, still can wait (go and take a bath, take own sweet time to go hospital) but if waterbag burst, must go immediately?

Congrats bbtree! the bb is so cute....

constance,
me sign up wif stemcord.

missycow,
the cakes looks interesting... u got their website add?

Dodo n elaine,
hve a smooth delivery and keep us posted.

missycow,
indeed the cakes look beri "class'...but hor...must be expensive...
can share how much it is...
i tot normal practice is gif the benganwan solo voucher to redeem a cake....

Is the VE check similar to the vaginal check we had when we were only abt 6wks pregnant & still unable to see the sac from ultrasound scan?

Also do all get BH? Heard u gals mentioning abt the frequency & the discomfort. But so far, i think i don't have. Maybe only 1 or 2 occasions only. Is it normal?

Petrina,
heehee...no need to pai seh lah. kekeke. Wah, your HB so nice. Suggest u go for that stay. It's a good suggestion. hehs. The hotel we had our banquet also gave us an anniversary voucher for 1 night stay and buffet for 2, which we utilised earlier liaoz. haha. Will the promo still be on after your EDD and confinement? I find it a bit sad lah, hehs...our 1st anni, and yet we can't celebrate it the way we want to, on the actual day...but can't be helped. Hehs. There are more impt things than that.

hi all mummies,
been a long time since i last posted. Finally our day of delivery is arriving!
Good luck and wishing everyone a safe, quick and painless delivery!

Linda,
Please help me update on the list (I am No. 12 Mrs Tan). My elective c-section is 25 Nov. Thanks!

eve, i think it's slightly different, this VE check is to check if ur cervix is open or nt and check how many cm u have dilated or nt.
I think it's normal to have 1 or 2 times of BH. But if it is becoming too frequent, i will suggest u call ur gynae for advise.

agnes, the thing shift toward pelvis, is she referring placenta or ? maybe u can check with ur gynea abt it.
Abt ve, i think for my case, it was done as i was having crampy feeling the whole morning 2 weeks ago and i called up gynea and she ask me to go to her immediately and put on ctg. That when the ctg done, she did a ve on me and that i know i was 1cm dilated. then the following checkup this week, she did the ve again to see if i had dilated further or nt.
the 3 things u have mentioned may require immediate action:

1. regular contraction, if it contracts 4 times within an hr, call gynea. Or if you encounter once in 5 min.

2. Water bag burst/show - i think missylan had mentioned that we able to have a quick bath before going to hospital.

agnes, no la, not all practice of getting benganwan solo voucher. it's either that or give cakes. but I wont give voucher or those traditional cakes and I had been given "go ahead" approval by my mum and mother in law that I don't have to get those traditonal ones to give frds or relatives.

Gobi is too ex, so i will go for sweetest moments to get more modern full mth ones -http://www.sweetestmoments.com.sg/fmpackages.aspx
Best part is if you have TMC fbi/sbi card, u can get 10% off from them if i can recall,

o btw, i think if u have those books written by Ms Wong BB, one the books "childbirth", there is a pix in that book show how the placenta looks like. Quite gross, look like a big piece of pig liver to me!! eeek!

Linda,

juz wan to know how the gynae carry out the VE check? cos till now my gynae yet to carry out such check on me. Is it a muz??? Seems that it quite painful to do such check.

constance/dodo
i signed up with cordlife for my #1 and with stemcord for #2. STemcord sales was telling me that after the collection of the cord blood it can actually be kept at room temperature for 36 hours before it should be stored le. So think it shd applies for the cordlife as well.

Agnes
VE is not whole hand la...haha whole hand sound so impossibily painful le...haha about 2 fingers i think....

Joanne
it's not a must for gynae to do VE during your normal gynae visits. For me when i delivered #1, the VE was done only when i admit for delivery, so no cause for worry if gynae don't do. But it's definitely painful no matter how high your threshold is but of course still tahanable.

Gynae will poked 2 fingers i think right up into your cervix (though V) then measure the dilation lor....gauging using their fingers

yup yup, Etelle, the gynae just poked 2 fingers into the cervix to measure. I think the bit painful part is the fingers touches the cervix.
Normally gynae wont check unless u have cases like me and coco, then they will perform the check.

Congras bbtree.

Went for a scan yest at TMC and went back to gynae in the evening at Bedok.

Baby weighin only abt 1.6kg at wk 34+, below small curve. Got to rest and given another 2 wks HL.

Asked gynae any food to boost baby weight but she said actually rest is more impt. Even if eat durian, I may end up gainin weight but not baby.

Kinda of worried baby will be ultra small when born.

Last night couldnt sleep well, woke up 4+ then went back to sleep at 6+am then woke up at 8am again.

Anyone ard 34wks and how heavy is baby?

Naf,

my last check up was at 34 weeks, baby was 2.34kg. Doctor said he was just slightly above average.

Did the VE at my last check up also, but gynea did not use his hand. He used the same instrument used during initial visits. Based on that, he measured the cevix and told me that I'm not yet dilated so no need to worry, wont be delivering too soon.

tks cookiemz, etelle and linda..

linda, i duno gynae said placenta or bb....
maybe chk w her during next visit....

Etelle

Thanks for your clarification. Oh no... i'm a low pain threshold person dun know how to tahan the pain.

Hi Naf,

My bb weighs 2.3kg @ 35weeks.

jasmine,
Their webby is www.gobi.com.sg

agnes,
Ya, they are quite x. Price range start from $9.50-$20. I ordered Choc for my #1 and I don't find them fanastic. Maybe you can try buying Sweet Secrets voucher, better than Bengawan Solo's. Sweet Secrets got better tasting cakes. =P
I prepared to give away sweet secrets voucher($10) for distant relatives and friends. Close ones then give them Gobi cakes. =P
http://www.gobi.com.sg/1st_month_Packages.htm

Naf,
Your gynae's thinking is the same as mine. Cos think I am a living proof. I myself gained 4-5kg but bb is estimated a weight of 3.3kg(last mon). Think no matter what you eat, your bb will still grow. Most important is rest and nutrious food. =)

Hi Etelle
how come you diversify the storage of cord blood for both your kids?

Hi Naf
dun worry too much. Right now, bb's wt is only an estimate. I have a friend whose gynae told her bb is below 2kg at week 38. End up when she deliver, bb is 2.95kg.
So dun worry and have a good rest.

Estelle,

Any major diff b/w cord life and stem cord? why different for both your kids? I'm abt to sign up with cordlife... fees abt the same right?

Naf, my BB weighs 2.6kg@wk35. I remember I fell ill for 2 weeks when bb was 31 to 33 wks.. then his weight gain slowed down alot.. only weighed 1.9kg @wk33.. So I ate plenty of protein and drank lots of HL strawberry milk and ate oranges, guava and apples... So BB gained 700g in 2wks..

Dunno if that will help or not...

dodo and elaine
think you are already cuddling your darlings
Hope the delivery was smooth!

bbtree
ur boy is so cute! and all alert already.

last nite kept tossing n turning, want to sleep but cannot sleep. then this morning gotta send dd and hb to sch/work, feel like a panda. somemore kena traffic jam for 1 hr on the way back. sianz. this trailer truck probably drove too fast and turned on its side so blocked off 2 exits of the roundabout :S luckily looked like no one was injured.
now thinking whether to go to holland v n get waxed. do they open at 11 or later?

hey phy,
you're thinking of signing up with cordlife?
My colleague gave me a $150 discount voucher for cordlife, but I'm not signing up with cordlife. You have a voucher like that already? You interested in it?

Wah, Claire, you still can drive ah? Good leh...

Hi phy
I did a price comparison before i signed up with stemcord 3 mths back. Stemcord initial registration was cheaper then. I paid $800. But annual fee of $250 is the same for both.

CSI, thanks.. but I'm using First Born Incentive Card from TMC 2 get more discounts

You're signing up with stemcord is it? Maybe can enlighten me the diff b/2 cordlife n stemcord? Thanks ya

Constance, thanks.. think I'd better call stemcord up to check pricing.. Trying to cut costs here n there haha.. spend alot on kiddo already..

I will get $450discount using the FBI card.. so it works out 2B slightly more expensive than stemcord if its pricing remains the same..