(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

phy,
i have been experiencing painful finger joints for the last couple of months! it's due to water retention. my gynae says the pain will go off after delivery...

i've just lay the bedding set for the baby cot... so excited that i'll be seeing the twins tomorrow!!

Congrats bbtree & elaine have a smooth delivery

I can't figure out muz frm the scans too. Only can see the gynae measure her head etc to estimated the weight.

Hahaha, more panda mama... I watched TV till 4am also.

Whenever I visit my gynae, I will do a urine test and scanning only. I rmb being "poked" only in the delivery suite. I also felt my pelvis bone expanding, that is why I got pain under and on pubis area. When I press my pubis area that bone, I got a suan suan feeling. I even told my gynae I've got greenish discharge, this time round, he asked me to ignore it cos going to deliver liao. If after delivery still have then he will apply medicine for me. My EDD is 29th... dunno how long am I going to wait!?! Now I scared induce, hope he will pop out naturally before EDD.

I had my VE last sunday, not very painful at that point of time, maybe cos contraction feel more painful.

Congrats BBTREE.

Jiayou Dodo and Elaine, wishing you a smooth and safe delivery.

anyone experiencing pelvic joint pain/pain around groin/inner thighs? i've been having sudden attacks,like cramps...quite painful when it happens i have to freeze,can't move at all.
first it happens mostly when i'm walking,then recently while sitting down i also get it...

dinut,

i also got this problem.. a few other mummies here also mentioned it. Its normal, esp when bb's head is already down and pressing below. My gynea said there's nothing we can do except tolerate it, it will only go away after we bomb!

phy, same like dodo, i have water retention for a few mths so painful joints due to the water retention.

dodo! so fast hor! take care and have a smooth delivery!

belle, VE = vaginal examination. gynae do it to check the cervix whether soft or dilated liao not. like mi gynae said yest, the door still shut very tight! wont expect bb come out so early.

missylan, hee...all suffering insomnia, i only know waking up in the middle of the nite, walking is terrible coz of the ache in the pelvic area. aiyo...

Hi phy and linda
Last time i also love mj. But ever since my 1st kid is born 4 yrs ago, i have not touched a mj tile since....

Make sure you gals r not like me.
hehe

ah bie, dinut and dodo,

Thanks abt info on finger joint pains... it just started a few weeks back... I just kept forgetting 2 ask gynae... hope it's just normal symptom of pregnacy...

Wow, dodo, so soon! Tomorrow leh!! haha, must go eat what you want later!! Imagine laying eyes on your twins for the first time!! wow!! Who will you kiss first? haha

By the way, my FIL got a durian stall in Geylang, yah that famous stretch of fruit stalls.

What I can advice you ladies are to open up all the durians into the foam box if you all going to pack home. Or you can have them at the stall, anything they will at least "refund" you the durians. Durians are like seasonal fruit, though I don't know when is the "real" season. There will be good season, bad season, low season and high. Unless is the "real" season, ah boh difficult to guarantee all seeds to be good. When the season is right, the flesh is thick and yummy. I love Sultan durian, they are the thick thick flesh and very creamy one.

My MIL told me that now the "Mao Wan" durian's cost is very expensive like $20+/kg, that is why Wonderful is selling at $30/kg. MIL said "Mao Wan" durian, the seed is smaller. Later I go to my FIL's stall to try what is so special about Mao Wan. See any difference or not.

Hmm... don't ask me which one is my FIL's stall... hehehe...

pierced, thanks.. think my water retention not too bad.. only swollen ankles and finger joint pain..

Insomia, why insomia? I thought we are mostly tired so should be able to sleep? I only got disturbed sleep coz of needing to pee and when turning, the ligament will be a bit painful which will wake me up..

missycow,

yes! the "mao wan" durian is really good. I always go to Balestier to buy but the store that I frequent does not open if they dont have the durians in stock.

Usually pay anything from $16 (that's cheap liao) per kg to $25 or $28 per kg. But quality is good and this fella from Balestier is quite honest. I try to eat on the spot if there's time, cos if durian no good, can exchange or get discount.

Yum!

dinut,
Me also... cannot lift right feet leh. When seated for too long, I got to stand up first, wait a while then can start walking. If I stood up and walk immediately, I will suffer pain in the right side groin area. Even I want to hug my bolster, I got to lift up the right feet slowly. Got to sit down when dressing my pant/panties. Turn myself slowly while sleeping. Aiyoh... told my gynae about my situation and he told me that some patient even worse got to travel by wheelchair due to the pelvis dyfunctional thingy.

belle
VE is vagina xamination where the gynae will pop his fingers right into your cervix to check for dilation. This will be repeatedly done a few times in the hospital when u admit for delivery as from time to time they need to check how much you have dilated. Once fuly dilated (10cm), then delivery can start

phy,
Not nice lah... like that I no privacy liao... hahaha, sounded like celebrity! Do what botanist said, eat on the spot.

botanist,
Is it the stall just in front of the temple? If now, you are still paying $16, think he is losing money liao. Cos my MIL told me the cost right now is $20. How will he lose money doing business? My FIL has been in this line for more than 30 yrs leh. The pioneer in Geylang. =P

my gf waterbag burst at mahjong table. then the house number where she played mahjong at, came out 4D 1st prize, speaking of coincidence

Missycow,

no more stores in front of temple. Now he is right next to the Quality Hotel, but not open this period lor. Usually if he sells, he has very limited stock but so far, I haven't been disappointed.

Only one time I managed to get it at $16 or $18 per kg! After that always $20+kg but its worth it lor! Really good durian is hard to find, I will be happy to pay if the quality is really there.

But of course, I dun dare to eat durian now.. wait the baby balloon too much, gynea sure scold me. He already warn me NOT to eat durian. Hahahah

Linda,

if all us preggies go down together to missycow's FIL's durian stall to eat, we will certainly be a funny sight at the stall!! Hahahaha

Hi missylan
I believe my hb oso got the "Mao Wan" durians last nite. But even if seeds are small, can accept if got flesh and taste good. But the ones hb got really had misery flesh and dun taste good at all.
Yeah, I was telling hb next time we only buy those 3 for $20 durians. If really buying by kg, then make sure the seller open the durians and put in foam box. Now dun care if not as fresh. At least it beats paying so much for something not worth it.

Constance,
Understand yr feeling! Once I ate a durian and found only 3 seeds inside but damn nice. I was thinking "KNS, if I use money to buy this durian, it cost more than $15, then inside got 3 seeds only". But think back, durian is a natural fruits, difficult to gauge how many seeds inside also. =P

aiyoh, u all talk so much abt durians, i also drooling down here.. cannot eat during confinement hor???

bbtree, congrats!!!!

dodo/elaine, all the best for your deliveries

missylan,

i remember u tried the Gobi desserts sometime back right? are they good? i'm thinking of ordering from them for my boy's first month cakes. which ones did you try? are they very rich and sweet?

Petrina,
Yes, you can write a birth plan for your dr. People in the west do it all the time, but I think S'poreans or Asians mostly lwave it to their drs.
I've read and also was told that if you clamp the cord too early, the baby will lose out on quite a lot of blood. But, when I ask my dr about this, she said it's quite minimal and won't make much of a difference. I think we can only tell our drs so much about how we want our birth to be like, but at the end of it, they will decide. So, if you don't like what your dr does, next round change to another dr.

haha cookiemz
what do you think???

Hey missylan
yeah, if you have to pay $ for that 3 seeded durian, will feel very tl. But we very suay lor, 2 outta 3 durians r like that, and the third one, seeds are big, but watery flesh. Sigh!

Hey mummies
Did anyone of you sign up for stemcord?

cookiemz,
Gobi cakes are yummy! For their full month cake, I rmb the lady told me that there are only 1 flavour which is the Dark Angel. I shall copy and paste her e-mail msg here. I am more interested in her whole cake package, Opera cake which comes with 4 piece of red eggs.

We do not have the First Month Selection off the shelf, however you can select from the Fantasy and Chocolate Factory selection. The First month selection is similiar to the Dark Angel except it is also coated in chocolate to give a crunchy outer coating as well as make it easire to transport for distribution.

I have attached pictures of the selection as well as the sample package and price lists for you. The minimum order for the 1st Month Selection is 10 boxes, however if you are taking the Fantasy or Chocolate Factory ones there is no minimum order.

For the decorated cakes in 1st Month Selection, the inside of the cake is a very rich and moist chocolate cake with a chocolate centre. You
can choose to have the cakes coated in white or dark chocolate, with the designs you see in the attachements named 1stMth-Price List & 1st Month-Print Designs. You can also choose to have your baby's initial/name of your choice of colour on each cake.

The First Month Selection is good at room temperature for approx 5 hours, in an air-conditioned environment they are good for the whole day.
You can also include our Fantasy or Chocolate Factory Selection (also attached) at no additional charge. However these are only good in air-condition for an hour.

Each box comes with it's own carrier as well as gift tags, depending on your quantity we will either print or handwrite messages.

1084679.jpg

1st month package

1084680.jpg

Package K

1084681.jpg

Package T - the whole opera cake

cookiemz,
If you want to try out before confirmation. You can order from phone and they can prepare for you. They got 2 collection point, one at Katong and another dunno where. You got to check their internet. I bought the below 2 for testing;

1084709.jpg

1084710.jpg

Sorry cannot make the pictures clearer.

pierced: the gynae will check when it is nearing our date is it?? how come i nv have any VE before? Hmmmmm....

Etelle: eeeee..poked his fingers? sound horrible... eeeee.... my gynae an old man lo.. eeeeee

Jeelo: Tampines NTUC got durians for sale meh? then i also go get 1 pack.. my bb needs to b bigger man... also hope he puts on wt alot...

dodo,

same to you ...

so you will be admitting tonight? my gynae's nurse just called me and ask me to admit tonight after 11pm.

linda
thanks for updating, think u forget to change the date...

any1 know where we can buy the 'Hong Zhao' that we use to cook "hong Zhao chicken'???

Steffi: Tks .. okie.. will see how then.. still got 6 fridays to go... heehee...sound long...

how come linda can post photo... can i post too? but i dun think i got the function to post the photo leh...