(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

jasmine,

how much is the facial? will the chemicals harm bb?

missylan,

jia you! let me know who u used and whether she's good or not.. then i'll make appointment for monday..

blessed,
breaking water bag very painful ah?? That's what my friend told me also. But I check with mommies here, most tell me no feeling leh... So strange... (me scared again!!!)

petrina,
dunno leh...heehee...me still in 2 minds. I scared pain lah (which means I'll most likely ask for epidural...hahaha). My usual underarm waxing, I'll flinch and find it painful. I dun dare leh...

Missylan,
let me know how it went! heehee...

Hi Limko,
You're also under Dr WK Tan? I gave her my birth plan at my last appt. I'd forgotten to pass to her during my consultation, so I passed it to then sister in charge. I was told by the sister that Dr Tan will read the plan but she may not agree with everything and will go ahead with what she thinks is best for you and baby.

But, go ahead and give your plan to her. It's better to let her know your concerns and what you plan to have for your birth, otherwise if she doesn anything you didn't agree with, you just have to go along with it.

petrina,

yup, the outlet at wheelock is called strip. I think the one gloomybear is talking about is another company.

missylan,

let us know how your waxing session went! are you using agnes also??

Csi fan,

dont worry, its not that painful... if you can do underarm waxing... sure can do waxing down there!

Hee if you scared pain, just think of the positive end result! YOu will be nice, bare and clean!!

missylan,
i personally like the facial... o u can buy a scrub n use it prefably 2 days after... honey pot @ pacific plaza do sell the scrub.

petrina,
i don't dink there is much chemical in the facial... is snthing like a cooling gel to sooth the area after we have waz it... if didn't rmb wrongly, dink it cost $35. plus strip r pretty careful when they r selling their products esp to preggie ladies. i koe they don't sell one of the product which is use to prevent in-grown to preggie ladies.

CSI fan,
i totally agree wif botanist... u b thrilled wif the post result. plus i think is much better off then shaving.

how hv u girls been doing? it's been some 4 days since i delivered and yar, i hardly hv time to log on anymore. any free time i had was used to catch up on my zzz, which has been nothg but heavenly.

was readg e abv postings on bringing the breast pump to e hospital? personally, it will b ideal if u can hv a direct latch on instead of expressing. i doubt u can stimulate ur breasts better wif e pump - let ur baby do it! just inform e nurses that u want to total BF n they will bring ur baby to u every 2-3 hrs throughout e day n nite. with consistency, ur milk will come in sooner n u cld even b overproducing. for me, i think my milk has started to come in already n breasts often feel hard n uncomfy. e only thing is i find it v hard to express e excess milk out. i just hope i dun get an infectn or somethg. =(

oh, on e day of my discharge, my PD also said that my baby has a mild case of jaundice n i had to sunbathe her till Wed, which is tmr. i hv an appt wif him in e morning n i really really hope she doesnt need to b admitted for e photolight thing. =((

i will try to post a pic of alexis soon. till then, take care n rest well.

Anyone experiencing oily face .. Now in my 36 weeks .. Find my face getting more and more oily especially in 3rd trimester .. My facial foam for mild skin seems to be out of the way .. Hate the greasy feeling after 2-3hours after i washed my face ..

Ginger, they only use hard wax.

Patrina, Wax Affair is located @ Holland V (above Subway). and Yes.. it was painful. Good thing is, it lasted only 10 mins. Diana (the boss) does it real fast!

Heard waxing @ Strip last 45 mins. Is that true?

Higgledy, dun worry, breaking of water bag not pain, juz tat contractions will set in after the water bag burst. so dun worry, the more u're tense the more painful u're. relax lah! haha...

juz went for my 37week check, bb is abt 2.9kg & am glad tat bb head is down oredi!! so i can go for natural birth with epidural! hahaha.. now it's anytime i can deliver liao... so hope i dun get water bag burst, cos am still working, so dun hope to be in a messy state!!

Didn't go to STRIP cos recently just shaved and the lady told me at least need a 0.6mm to be able to wax well. So me got to wait and measure everyday. XD
Luckily gave them a call ah boh waste my trip down.

CSI,

at least u have encountered waxing before.. i pull my armpit hair instead.. but damn tiring to use a pincer and pull one by one.. waxing ex lah..

my friend who has done waxing before told me the pain is short and sharp.. but thats about it.. is this true to those who have done the waxing?

gloomybear,

holland v is too far for me already.. so must probably going to strip instead but thanks for the info..

wah! waxing for 45 mins? *pengzz*

missylan,

oppz.. luckily u didn't waste ur trip down.. i never even shave down there.. so definitely can wax.. but so so scared.. haha..

Etelle,
Missed yr MSN cos me playing game... kekeke

Belle,
You are not alone.... sudden leg cramp also... hubby massage the back muscle for me, now abit limping! Haiz... how long how long? The waiting game...

Haha..i also just woke up cos kena bad cramp on my calf...at least today i didnt wake up at 3 am like the previous nights. Hmmm...now a bit tempted to go to Strip after reading all the postings but am only 35 weeks now so maybe tong until end of next week so can last longer.

Went to cut hair today already in case I pop anytime and next week must do pedicure cos can't reach my toes anymore! probably last one until post-confinement. Today lunch maybe i will go to stock up on my confinement herbs at Chinese medicine shop so that will be ready lah. Must go get all those sesame oil, black vinegar, etc also.

quite exciting leh, feel like setting up the cot already to test whether can move between rooms, dunno yet cos bought second hand from Yahoo auctions.

anyone with No. 1 kids experiencing some acting up? my No. 1 girl has been crying at the drop of a hat recently, even her playgroup teacher says she's been emotional recently, can only think that she's expressing some anxiety about the birth that she can't otherwise express. It's not the usual terrible two cry + tantrum but real sobbing, very poor thing, almost like toddler version of PMS!

Petrina,
wah, you pull your armpit hair ah...so tiring! My arms will probably cramp up manz. Hmm...I'm a little bit more inspired to do the waxing now. heehee...but I'm coming to week 38 liao (see lah, "tu" until like that...hahaha). Dunno if it's too close?

harh? waxing at Strip takes 45 min?? That's loong...

pretty,
I'm from the Jan 08 MTB, my colleague who gave birth in Aug is also a hep B carrier, her baby's PD advise her not to breastfeed leh...so I think you better don't breastfeed too.

janmom
i'm also planning to go n buy the herbs & tonic for confinement. Do you know if we need bird nest for our confinement??? And also we will need to buy Dang Gui right??? How is this purchased? as in a tael or tell them we need $30 of it??

any1 already stock up one the tonic?? share what have u bought?

amyab,

i bought some herbs already... got dang gui, dang shen, birds nest, also ingredients required for the logan tea. That's the basic.

Heard that birds nest helps with healing of the wound. For Dang gui, i asked medical hall how much is required (cos we can use in soups and also in logan tea), they will recommend. Dont have to buy too much first, in case you dont use finish. Can always get your mum/hubby to buy more if necessary.

For Dangshen, the medical hall recommended at least half a kg, which cost $240 i think. But I haven't bought yet, i just ask them for a quotation first.

They also told me that if i want to 'bu' then must get quite a lot of other stuff. I can't remember all the herb names but they provide service to pre-pack the herbs in individual packs which you can use to boil soup. Ie., one pack of mixed herbs for 2 servings of soup. To eat one at lunch, and reboil again for dinner.

They have different type of formulation, cost ranging from $38 for normal type to almost $100 for those with cordyceps.

botanist
did u buy the bai feng pills? the other time my mil bought some from eu ran seng for boiling with chicken..supposed to be very good, but i can stand the bitter taste......

Al
My gal has been behaving differently these few days as well....refused to sleep at night, wakes up several times during the nite for milk etc...guess will just have to tahan ...older folks say cannot scold/beat them at this stage or they will 'hate' #2 even more....

botanist
Was also planning to buy the basic ones 1st. lucku ytd I checked my fridge still have some cordyceps & pao shen so dun need to buy.
I need to buy bird nest and Dang Gui, how much u pay for the Bird Nest & the price???
I will be going to buy so want to at least know the price dun want to become a 'big carrot'. Tot of going to Bugis (Guan Yin temple there to buy)
Wah the DangShen so expensive? is for what??
didn't know that medical hall can prepack the herbal soup for confinement, must check it out.

botanist,
i oso bought the basics i.e. reddates/longan/blackdates/wolfberries. havne't bought dangshen yet. Where did u get the quote from? My CL told me that danggui won't be used so soon. so, i haven't buy yet coz that one can buy later.

did you ladies buy herbs from hockhua b4? can anyone recommend any chinese medical hall ard tampines are?

belle,
you poor gal... did you try drinking warm milk or take some comfort food to try to sleep? Is it because it's uncomfortable to find a suitable sleeping position or is it anxiety? take care, hope you'd have enough rest today onwards...

Jeelo: Tks.. i abt to break down in tears alreadi.. can slp during the day but not at night.. the feeling is terrible...

Last night cried alreadi also not tired.. so pek chek...

belle,
probably because you sleep too much during the day that's why cannot sleep at nite? hmm... maybe try to control your sleep during the day, say just have a power nap of half hour or so. Then, at night, i am very sure you'll be so tired that you'll turn in by 10pm!

Amy, steffi, jeelomeelo

Bai feng pills - Yup I have one pack of that...guess I will use it during confinement. Can cook with chicken? Gee.. I'm afraid of herbal bitter taste... that's why haven't decided whether to get more herbs or not. Scully buy already then, dont dare to eat!! Sure kenna scolding from my grandmother!

Hmm ok let's see what I remember...

Birds Nest - I think I bought just over 3 taels, cost me about $580. Packed it all in one container (you know, the type you get when you ta bao yong tau fu or soup noodles from food court).

Dang Gui - This one quite cheap, I can't remember how much.

Dang Shen - Per kg is $480, that's why they quoted me $240 per half kg. The thingy looks quite big but lady at medical hall said they can cut for me.

I went to a few medical halls to racce so far:

1. Hock Hua : not bad, people quite helpful but I was there to buy the herbal bath packs ($2 each) so didn't enquire too much into the other herbs. However, they did inform me that we (preggies) should do the basic confinement, the extras like the cordycepts and herbal soups is optional.

2. Forgot the name, medical hall in serangoon gardens (next to pow sing chicken rice):
This one supposed to be quite good, I spoke to woman at the counter who is a qualified TCM physician. She advised to do full confinement.

For them, the bathing herbs is a different formulation, she claim is better than the hock hua one (but I still bot the hock hua one). Its $60 per 22 packets (so its $2.70 each).

They have additional service which packs a mixture of herbs (diff formulation) which u can use for your chicken/fish/meat soups. Can boil twice per pack. They also provide service to store the herbs, in case you dont have enough storage space at home.. just pick up once a week etc. This costly lah, cos her formulation has alot of good herbs so anything from $38 which is basic, to $38 + 58 which has the cordyceps.

So if you drink herbal soup everyday, its at least $38 x 30!! Alamak...

Her cordyceps damn expensive!! Quoted me $1500 - $2300 per tael! Can die...

Okay.. heehe I very lor soh. let me go back to Dang shen...

Lady at medical hall advised for logan drink, add the following ingredients:
- logan
- seedless red dates
- black dates
- wolfberries
- dang shen
- dang gui

That's why I figured need to get at least all the above items for the logan tea.

botanist,
cordyceps are very very expensive now, better to buy from reputable medical halls coz there are alot of fake cordyceps in the market. i only get them from Eu Yan Sang.

as for the red date tea, red dates + black dates + dried longan is enuff. if not mistaken, we can only take dang gui after 12 days or 2 weeks after delivery. dang shen + dang gui is more for the herbal chicken soups, usually not put in the red date tea.

Hi Racheal,

Thanks, I think I will show her my birthplan during my next appt. If she dun agree, then no choice. Hehehe, but I trust her lah, its just when there is a choice without endangering baby and mother, I prefer it done my way.

cookiemz,

thanks for the tip.. i dont think i will buy cordyceps anyway. too expensive! Plus i dont know if I will enjoy taking herbal stuff, cos I traditionally dont like it. So might be wasting money.

Logan tea: actually, heard from my cousin's confinement lady that can put all the items. She started drinking from day one, but I haven't decided yet. Will how it goes

hmmm, the recipes I got for the red dates / logan tea all have dang shen in it leh...

Dang gui, I heard it's after 2 weeks. Not sure. hehs...

hey,

for those looking for waxing place. I have another place to recommend. Face Bristo at HV, along the stretch where Subway is.
Used to go Strip at both Wheelock and HV, but find service at Face Bristo good and slightly cheaper at $40/brazilian wax. They dun try to sell you anything, be it prds or packages which I like. Not sure if they have hard/soft wax, but I just did it on Monday and it was relatively pain free. The girl is good! Named Nicole if you guys are keen to try out.
Dun think I'll be gg Strip again.

For mummies who is delivering at Mt A, you can request for the Red Dates Logan tea from day 1 after delivery instead of drinking the normal plain water. Last year was $6 per flask. Not sure abt other hospitals thou.

Have you guys heard abt this discount card called The Family Card? Entitles you 5% off for 1st birth package at Mt A, and 10% off for subsequent birth. I just got mine. Else you can also use Safra Card for the same kinda discount too.

logan tea
we are not supposed to take normal boiled water during confinement, can only drink logan tea and milo etc...so previously, my confinement lady will boil one whole pot in the morning and put inside the flask for me to drink during the day..only when the flask is empty, then she will boil somemore...

baked bean
the herbs are supposed to prevent wind from entering our bodies during bathing..also we can only bath with boiled water, not those directly from the tap

hi Higgledy,

to me beasking of waterbag is very painful for both my previous delivery, after that contractions will be very intense... but i must admit i hv very very low threshold for pain.

tt's y i m very tempted to do waxing but very fearful of the pain... n its something new i hv nvr tried... so in the end dont dare.

wah u gals really very ready for confinement. i have nvr taken any herbs for my past 2 confinement. I just take soup/fish/veg/pork/kidney for lunch/dinner everyday ... very boring huh

Oh we cant bathe with normal tap water? Oh dear! I din realise that... I'm not getting a CL and will have my mummy do it for me instead. Thanks Steffi! Will note this together with the tea (I tot can drink water).

hehs...baked bean, water has no additional nutrients mah. kekeke. the tea has more nutritional value...

There's another drink, not sure if any of you have heard of it before. Brown rice + normal rice + fried ginger slices. Mix together, then boil them. Then drink. Think it's similar to the tea? Heard from my MIL...

Confinement - Bathing

actually it depends how traditional you want to get with your confinement. The medical halls advised to bathe using herbs (boil herbs and add boiling hot water to bathe), but it can be troublesome...

For me, I also got no helpers except my grandmother who is very old, so cannot expect her to be boiling hot water and helping me carry to toilet... so I will be using water heater lor.