(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Steffi, yalah, i got no heart to scold her anyway cos she cries like her boyfriend just dumped her those kind of heartrending type, how to scold? Poor things lah..they have had all the attention so long.

For confinement herbs, I got a list of stuff which i jotted down to get, today maybe go to Bugis to get some and then next day some more..not sure whether i will get herb bath packs cos i tend to get a lot of skin allergies after i give birth, my skin will react to anything so will stick with cetaphil!

Wah, didnt know dangshen + birds nest so expensive, may pass lah...this is my list so far, includes basic cooking stuff as well that my CL used the last time:

2 weeks before:
1. 1 big bottle of Chee Seng Black Sesame Oil
2. Normal Cooking Oil
3. 1 big bottle of Black Vinegar (Chan Kong Thye/Square Bottle Brand)
4. 1 big bottle of Rice Wine
5. Black Beans
6. Red Dates
7. Black Dates
8. Dried Longans
9. Brown Sugar
10. Mok Yee (Wood Fungus)
11. 1 bag Raw Peanuts
12. Kei Chi (Wolf Berries)
13. Kum Chum (Lily Buds)
14. Puk Kay (Astralagus) (the Long Long White Strips one)
15. Dong Sum/Dang Shen ($$$)
16. Dong Kwai
17. Soy Sauce (Teen Siong Teen brand)
18. Tangerine Peel (not much)
A few days before pop date:
1. Old Ginger (1 kg)
2. Garlic (not much)
3. Eggs
4. Chicken (1) Chicken Breast Meat
5. Pork Fillet meat (Mui Yoke)
6. Kai Lan
7. Snow Peas
8. White Fish Fillets/Steaks
9. Look around for Green Papaya Sources
10. Carrots
11. Back up veges for normal cooking for hubby etc. (spinach, cabbage, broccoli)
12. Minced Pork and Chicken for Older Kid

For my 1st one, normally the pail of herbal water is not enough for bathing...So will add real hot water from the water heater. If need to wash hair definitly will not be enuff...I remember when I really cannot stand it liao and decided to wash my hair on the 10th day, once in the bathroom can do whatevver u want, I even use the normal water to wash my hair (on the temp to super hot) before coming out use the herbal water to rinse last round so that mum & hubby will not find out....

Oh and btw, i started out last time listening to my CL and drinking only the longan/red date tea and after a while my urine became damn dark and black! eyuh...so maybe dont over do it or try and dilute a bit more, in the end i thought ah heck, just drink water as well lah, better than getting a urinary tract infection along with all the blocked ducts etc etc no need to add to probs.

Al
Ya lor, just got to make sure we dun overdo things...was told can only use boiled water to wash face / brush teeth etc.....then i realise that smetimes i need to chip in to help to wash and sterilise milk bottles / pumps etc, how not to touch tap water?

My #1 is gonna be 3 in January lah, on paper there is a two year diff cos this one will be due in December but actually the gap is 3 years. I will probably buy the rice wine off the shelf but have no idea which brand is good, the last time, my CL used my hubby's home brew (he very enthusiastic about experimenting with the rice cakes from the Chinese drug store and made a big bottle of rice wine which we kept in the fridge til i popped). Didnt die from it, so I guess it was okay

This time we both too tired hahah looking after No.1 lah...not so boh liau already. Any one out there got any rice wine brands to recommend?

Al
Gd for u, mine is only 18mths gap.....

My sil will be making the rice wine for me...have provided her with rice cake and 5kg of glutinous rice.

Al
me too, after few days of drinking the tea, when u see the urine colour really scarie. I also nvr drink alot of the longan tea. Normally when i have a cup of the tea, I will add & add hot water again to dilute it, Basically is like oni drink 2 cups a day oni. Can't even finish a small pot a day.
That is also why this 2nd time(also e last confinement) must really do a good confinement and be a gd gal follow the rules. Hopefully I can do it.

haha..yalah, that's why I also feel a bit more on this time than last time cos last time I still very blurrr didnt prepare anything at all, lucky mil took over this part, but figured better try, next time when we are grandmas haaa, at least we can act big and say "Last time ah, i do this this this" and watch them roll their eyes at us heheh...but i draw the line at the dark urine lah, everything in moderation...

gonna pick up some el cheapo towels and bats from the Bugis corner shop as well, gonna bring my backpack to carry back
quite fun lah, these last few weeks...

Have you all started to drink coconut. Better to start now if you are in your 34 weeks. I missed tahtout the last time now better drink more.

As for longan drink, maybe can try blue dates. Is more exp but i feel that is does not taste so sweet and not so heaty. i drank quite a fair bit of that during my 1st one.

Amy/Al/Steffi,
thanks for sharing your experiences. din know the urine is going to yucky orr orr! is it because the longan tea is like very thick type? don't know whether i can swallow that for 28days bo... btw, what's the use of the brown sugar? for the longan tea??

wah.. all talking about herbs during confinement liao ah?

my grandma only gave me a list of things that i can eat.. then ask my mum cook using only those ingredients.. other things all cannot..

blessed,

if u can tahan contraction pains.. i think waxing is a piece of cake right?
al,

i also cut my hair already.. cut it short so its not so hot during confinement.. but coz my face round round.. now look like a ball.. HAHAHA...

CSI,

actually still can wax.. coz week 38 already.. if.. IF.. suddenly kana contractions because of waxing.. then go to the hospital directly lor..

i think tmr and i'm week 37.. then going on monday.. so okie lah.. my gynae also say if bb comes out now.. its fine..

csi...same like you i'm also scared of waxing pain!
wax leg olredi painful...can't imagine 'down there'...although i also dun like the idea of being shaved by nurse but no choice lah if gynae ordered what to do.
by the way for those who's been shaved before for delivery...how the nurse did it? i mean wouldn't it be scary the blade may cut the skin? will they put some cream or what? *how uncomfortable imagining me laying on delivery bed being shaved by a total stranger down there*

Al,
My son "seems" fine with the new addition, I kept telling him there is a DiDi in my tummy. I kept reminding him to take care of DiDi when crossing the street, got to hold hand etc. Once, I ask him to look at my tummy when DiDi is doing the wave(big movement) and he finds it funny. Though, must really monitor again when the truth is out! Mine don't have terrible 2, maybe maybe will be terrible 3(coming 3). Kekekeke...

Amy,
I heard from BB Wong(TMC) that we shouldn't take Dang Gui as it will stop breastmilk... If I didn't rmb wrongly lah...

Belle,
Really no sleep at all aah? I slept till 11am+ today... 4am then can zzz... What did you do, eat and drink before you sleep? Try watching TV till you very tired, play games till your eyes start drying up.

<font size="+1">Herbs</font>
I didn't buy anything but think I have lots liao cos it is my MIL who bought them. Kekeke... Usually she patronise Horse Brand, most of her things from there, think she trusts them. She bought bird nest in their big packaging! Often their cordyceps are out of stock pretty fast. I have few bad experiences with Hock Hua, most doing hard sale. Once I went to their Hougang outlet, I asked for cooling herbal tea cos was heaty, the lady recommended me BIRD NEST! -.-"

<font size="+1">Soup and Tea</font>,
We should use slow cooker to brew tea and tonic soup to make them more aromatic. Before sleep, throw in everything into the slow cooker then morning got those longan tea to drink liao. My mom bought me the big size dang shen which she said is very sweet.

hi Patrina,

i think its coz i have nvr done it, so dont know what to expect, n the idea of being so bare below just feels strange to me.. but of coz if i can sleep n wake up with bare bottom i wont mind haaha.

HI Dinut,

i delivered at TMC, n for both times, the nurse shaved me after i change n clear my bowel. no cream la, no svc one, just use a blade to shave, not comfortable loh, but no choice for pp like us who dont dare to try waxing.
actually i think its good to wax leh, just that i m lazy to take that first step of chking w gynae can wax, then call to make appt, then travel there etc etc.... n to let the nurse shave is just a matter of convenience.

oh abt the red date drink. i actually love it :D..i brew it myself for my confinement. my mil will get the ingredients for me: red dates, black dates and longan (get the better grade one so tea will taste fragrant) and ginger is optional.

i just dump everything into a pot early in the morning, no need sugar coz longan very sweet already. ginger i put a very tiny pc coz i BF. so the taste can be adjusted to my liking. then i will pour all into thermal flasks n drink the tea for the full confinement everyday... yummy

Limko,
Yeah..it's better to show her your birth plan and discuss the options. Even if she doesn't agree to some, at least you've discussed and come to a consensus rather than not knowing what she'll do and then if u don't agree, it's too late to do anything.

But, I think she knows what's best and can trust her.

What do you plan to have in your birth plan? Care to share? Mine is mostly gearing towards natural birth procedures.

Linda - If I were you, I'd also go for Dr Low, only because she's female. Keep fingers crossed that your bb will not arrive when Dr Sim is away. Talk to him everyday.

Blessed - Is it true that TMC nurses will shave everyone? This is post-deliver? What's the reason for doing so?

hi mtbs...

Seeing u all talking abt confinement now...
Seems like all of you so strict...whereas I m like super bochap...

I also will be doing my own confinement...
Got natal essentials for catering - lunch only.
maybe dinner will get another caterer...

As for bath, think I will jux shower as normal...of cos using hot water as I m already used to take hot water for shower.

As for the longan red date tea, I will drink fr the caterer...+ plain water too....very hard not to drink plain water..else very thirsty.

As for those Ʒ, I never buy any. My MIL & mother also never....
So, u can see how bochap we are...
Everything is just as per normal

valeriet, ya, will most likely go for Dr Low,
. Tot of inducing before dr sim go away, but hor after reading the stories abt inducing from some forums, i scare liao. Now hv to talk to my boy that he either pop before dr sim go or after dr sim is back everyday...

any 1 noe where to custom made bb cot mattress?roughly how much?cos got a hand me down cot,but cant find the mattress

goodbabyb,

maybe u wanna try baby hypermart at kaki bukit. If i dont remember wrongly, my friend went to ask them before and they can customise to the size u need..

hi valeriet,

it depends on if your gynae needs u to be shaved, my gyane request for her patient to be shaved at the "birth area" only. so the nurse will shave to prepare us for birth.. i think its gynae preference n it mayb easier for him/her with the birthing process (see where to cut and sew?)

hi Hazel,

Me is bochap abt confinement too and I will b doing my own except my ml will cook my lunch/dinner and bring to me. the only thing i bothered to do is make the red date tea, coz i like to drink it haaa.

as for shower, i also shower as per normal though my mil n mother both nag i CANNOT bath, i cannot this i must this. but well they are not doing confinement for me, so i dont need their comments :p

Linda - I think better let things take its natural course. The only way you can 'interfere' is to talk to your baby. Don't be too worried, I'm sure everything will turn out fine. Chin up!

hazel and blessed,

me too...i didnt buy the stuff needded for confinement...

coz getting natal essentials too for lunch (like wat hazel is doing)...coz they dun cater for dinner for bedok...

hazel: i understand tt their portion suff for 2 pple leh..so i tot of splitting the servings into 2, one for lunch, one for dinner...

goodbabyb,
I also got a hand me down cot (in fact, it's hb's and his brothers' cot 30+ yrs ago!)...dunno where he go and find one thick sponge, cut to size and then make own bedsheet. hahaha. It's just normal sponge lorh. Shd be ok I guess...hehs.

Gina,
yah, I've heard of the blue dates...but I dunno what it is called in chinese. Lan2 Zao3 ah? So go to the shop, I dunno how to tell them I want blue dates. hahaha.

Btw, how to tell if the herbs are of good quality or not? You know lah, some shops will sell not so good quality, and then say it's very good quality etc...so how we tell? Some stuff I guess can smell lah...the stronger the smell, the better?

haha...found 2 bochap mothers here...
Agnes,
I ve tried their catering...
ya...can split 2 portions if you are a normal eater...
I tried to split during the trial...but I sort of eat N eat....wanted to share with my hb..but he worked late that night..
Rice & tea still left..but dishes left abit...
I tried my very best to control not to eat so much...yet cannot leh..

I dunno how to choose herbs...
but I guessed buy from reputable ones r the best assurance...

hazel,

like u, i'm oso doing my own confinement. got catering from newbaby n intend to tk baths (with hot water from heater la) too. at most, i will use the chinese herbs lor. :p

oso i love drinking water so water is still on my to-drink list confinement or no confinement. :p

pretty & fellow mtbs,

my MIL is a hepB carrier too. am not sure if i can let her tk care of my bb for me cos i think my hb dun wanna use a bb sitter. sigh.

any advice wld be welcomed!! m(_)m

blessed...aiyoh sounds very uncomfy...or maybe i shld shave myself before i go down to hospital for delivery (ahahaha as if i wld have time or care enough to do by then).
i was hoping gynae won't order shaving but when i saw doc's admission assessment form given to me,i read a list of things she wants to be done by nurse when i admit myself for delivery,including shaving.

crystalz,
from my experience waxing leg D.I.Y way the hair that grow afterwards isn't rough,it's just like my hair before waxing...(i've got superfine hair).
funny thing is i was actually 'hairless' all my life n never had to wax til i stayed in a colder place for few years than i started to grow hair on my hands and legs...maybe got something to do with cold weather then the brain ordered more hair to grow heeheehee

So sleepy.. yest woke up at 4am due to blocked nose.. then cant zz liao. Just fall asleep n alarm rang.. gotta work. Feel like taking mc.

Coconut
How often can we eat? I'm 35wks now. Haven't start eating yet. Must be those big ones har.. thai small ones no gd? What abt those selling in food courts? What type are those.. I dunno how to recognize.

Herbs
My CL also give me a list to buy. I havent buy yet, wait till Dec then ask my mum to buy for me.

zzzzzzz

Hi Racheal,

My birthplan also mostly pro natural like no epidural, no episiotomy, no induction, no cutting of umbilical cord until it stops pulsing and no breaking of water bag prematurely. But everything is if there is no complications.

dinut,

how to shave urself? cannot even see with such a big tummy liao.. heheheh.. i can only imagine..

ur assessment form is so detailed ah? mine only says.. 'to admit if in labour!'

bluelily,

maybe u should take an mc.. but actually 3/4 of the day gone liao.. save your mc for tmr then.. hehe.. go to doc tonight and say not feeling well and get one for tmr to rest at home..

then at least u can sleep as long as u want..

heard that we should be taking the young thai coconuts.. but i also take the big one and the small one..

talking about it.. haven't had one this week.. gotta go coconut hunting liao.. hehe

haiz, keep thinking when will i start to feel contractions coming.. the wait is killing me.. got a feeling that she's coming out but dunno when..

i cannot wait! i cannot wait! i cannot wait!!!

hahaha...good point petrina! forgot abt my tummy! reminds me of problem with cutting my own nails...tummy's in the way!
i'm at the mercy of the nurse then :p

your gynae never wrote anything else on the form? mine wrote few things including shaving,enema,pethidine and epidural when labour established...

hahah.. or alternatively can go for waxing then..

my friend was just teasing me.. say i wanna try natural birth without epi but scared to go for waxing.. like that how to tahan without epi..??!

then i also went.. yah hor.. silly me.. haha

she never write anything else leh.. oh.. but under relevant history got write, 'A/N well. U/S N, XX' dunno what that is anyway.. alien language to me.. maybe XX means shave botak bah... hahahahaha..

Actually, my friend just delivered her baby last week. At first, they shaved her below, just near birth area. But due to complications, she had to do a c-section, so suddenly, they asked her "How? Wanna do bikini shave or shave everything off?"

Cos already shave below, my friend ask them to shave everything off lor! It's funny how the nurse also give option to her - whether want to do bikini or shave 100% ! hahaha, like paid service like that...

I wonder if the nurses will do a good job with the shaving... with all the talk about waxing, i think i wanna try as well after I check with my gynae.

Actually, i got ask my friend how was the shaving... she said... "Dunno!". After give birth already, stomach still big, still can't see herself down there... Hahahahahah!!

hahaha these shaving talks quite funny...but i still rather be shaved than waxed...maybe by the time i'm getting regular contractions i couldn't care less abt the nurse shaving me.
although must admit rather gross to imagine being botak down there...on top of that some people say can get quite itchy after that...oh dear...

I'm just trying to imagine myself filled with pain from contractions and the nurse concentrating on shaving me. Hmmm... what if I fidget? Then cham lah!

hehe well, she was still in hospital bed when I asked her so cannot see lor. But i haven't spoken to her since she left the hospital so i dont know!
heehee

Dinut - heard that it gets itchy cos the after growth with shaving is usually pricky. Because shaving only cuts off the hair, but not pulls out the roots. Re-growth also faster.

For waxing, the roots are being pulled out. That's why more painful lah. But re-growth is slower and hair not so coarse... so got pros and cons lor.

Ultimately, if wax liao dont maintain, hair still will grow out... :p

i would suggest that if u gals are intending to be shaved 'botak' or gg to shave urself, its better to do it before u actually deliver.
coz its going to be very itchy when the hair starts to grow again, can't imagine below is bleeding then so itchy....wow bianzzz