(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

CSI Fan, was me about the Lock and Lock, either 2.9 L or 3.9 L rectangular Lock and Lock will do, most chemical steriliser tablets (like Boots, Pureen) use about 2 to 2.3 L of water, so if you think you will be putting in more bottles at one go, get the bigger one but if you want a small one for travel on the go, the 2.9 L fits nicely into my carryon luggage trolley bag. I can sterilise my avent manual breast pump and one storage bottle in the 2.9 L size. You can test at home, fill it with 2.3 L or 2 L of water (depending on your tablet's instructions) and use a waterproof marker to mark that level on the outside of the container so you wont be using too much or too little liquid each time.

Just woke up and had a gush of discharge flowing out .. Not alot i can say but throughout my undies about 7cm long .. Feeling jsut like mens coming .. Abit whitish no smell .. any problem ? Should i call my gynae .. Dun wan to be so kan cheong leh ..

Anyone experience that before?

tks etelle..

so can i say tat though now i eat a lot of seafood, i wont cause bb to have allergy...though b4 pregnancy allergy to seafood but during pregnancy im not allergic...

anyway, any idea on my doubt on if i hv enzymes b4 pregnancy but no during pregnanancy, how high are the chances of my bb getting it too? hb no enzymes...

aso, our pumps can be sterilzed using our sterlizer for sterilizing bottles one rte? no need tablets or wat to sterilize pumps rte?

wow, mummy popped already!

Congrats cookiemz
Do share your birth story and prince's pic when you've settled down.

Could hardly go online the last 2 days coz had to bring my girl to school with me. caregivers are both out of town, and dun really trust the maid with her alone at home now that she's a bit chua hong.

Last official day of school! Still gotta come back and settle some stuff, but at least no more need to clock hours; can juz finish n zao

Seems like quite a lot of mummies born in nov? me too! 1911
bb will be 2911 unless she decides to emerge earlier...hope not! Next fri will be the last gynae appt before popping, hope everything will be well.

To the mummies popping in the next few days, jia you!

I just booked the massage lady, Susi. Anyone used her before? Just wondering...

Like some of you, I'm getting confused between BH and contractions... but i guess when it's just too painful to tahan, I'll just head down to the clinic.

By the way, anyone having aching calves???

mel
better plays afe and call gynae cuz 7cm seemed quite a lot ah...

Agnes
not sure about enzymes le....may want to check internet for more infor?? But think why peanut is listed out cuz even after b deliver its a high allergnat food so can only let them eat after 2 years old so le....

baked bean
Susi i have tried her before her massage service is good....
but you have to be able to complement her time schedule.

Baked bean,
Aching calves, back, neck ... I've got it all haha but i tink its norm since we are putting on weight + baby's pressure etc, a few more wks to go, i guess we just hve to bear it till baby pops
walk less and rest more bah

Ok looks like I shouldnt complain about my calves then, since some of u are having it worse.

Thanks for the confirmation on Susi's service Etelle. I was a lil worried coz everyone was talking about Rokiah and she din have any available slots for me.

Another week or so, we'll see more ppl popping! Cant wait for my next check-up!

I have snesitive nose and hubby got asthma when young, heard from skin specialist saying that that increased the possibility of eczema. My #1 got eczema...
So if any mummies here got cases like ours, try not to bath yr newborn for too long, use non-bubbles bath shampoo and tap dry not wipe dry. After that, apply non-fragance cream to moisterize the skin. My son's eczema happens during his 8th mth old, my SIL's less than 2nd mth old. Some eczema triggers by cow's milk also. Eczema is a problematic skin problem... Singapore's weather made it worse.

Next time this thread is going to change to parenting... kekeke

Oh and Eczema is hereditary as well. My cousin had a mild case when he was younger and now his baby girl has it too...

I'm semi waiting for my turn - 1/2 wanna see baby, 1/2 dunno whether can cope. *sigh*

Whoa...only 2 days I did not log in there's so many stuff posted here. Me having pain at my lower tummy where the tummy meets the legs. So hard to wear my pants...sigh.

I did experience swollen feet last few weeks but now went down. My mum and MIL said its due to water retention so must drink more water, wear socks to bed and prop up the legs whenever u can.

baked bean and missylan...

so i guess, my bb most likely to have enzymes too wo.....cham lo....

mine was veri bad prior my pregnancy...to think adults like me cant tahan..wats more a poor baby....sobzzzzz

praying hard tat bb dun inherit my enzymes...aso keeping my fingers crossed tat i dun get it back after pregnancy

missylan: u dun have enzymes la..but its ur sensitive nose which increase possibiity of bb getting it??

missylan,
I also have sensitive nose and childhood asthma. hehs. quite cham horh. hahaha. My siblings have sensitive nose and eczema. All 3 are hereditery esp asthma and eczema (and made worse by SG's weather...). And last time when we were younger, the doc did tell us before...asthma and eczema is like either or kinda thing. I got asthma but no eczema. Siblings have eczema but no asthma....that kind of thing. heehee...

but you are right, must use non-fragrance moisturiser and bath gel.

any recommendation on nonfragrance moisturizer and bath gel and shampoo w/o bubbles...affordable type....hee

realli worried bb will kena it...

agnes,
sometimes, the onset of eczema etc wun occur at infant stage. It can occur at toddler stage or early childhood. But yah, we have to take precautions lah...Hmmm...I think SebaMed or Latacyd is quite good. But not sure of the pricing.

ladies, i didnt book a massage lady as my hb dun approve of it. more like not comfortable abt it. wld it b too late if i do the wraps after confinement? i.e. i go to the massage place to do instead. in the meantime, i wear those corset thingy. any advice wld be appreciated?

lynzi,
i know how it feels, feels like your whole leg socket is coming off and the groin stings/aches like mad. when wearing pants, sit down on bed to wear. don't balance on one feet, would make it worse. try not to walk on stairs too much oso.

coco et al
your backpain could it be because of your posture when walking, standing? try not to arch your back too much. try to keep your spine straight.. there was one time my neck ache coz i think it's because of my kinda arch my back too much and didn't 'tuck' my chin the way i should have...

dodo,
me 42" liao.. dunno if it's got to do with bb shifting down bo???

miorei
think after dleivery do ah more efective le...cuz hor after 1 mth ah maybe can still try but probably the effect will not be as good as when after dleivery u do le...my 2 cents worth of opinion though

Jeelomeelo,
I have back pain before pregnancy liao, now even worst, tink due to the weight and probably sleep and sitting posture lor. But my neck pain is even more unbearable, must be due to long hrs of staring at pc (long working hrs mah)

Linda,
I thought givign birth in cars etc only happens in movies! Wonder how it is that it's possible they have contractions and yet not know they are going into labour? Was your hubby's fren having his first child?

I'm trying not to get too kan cheong so I'm still going about my normal routine, going out w friends and family for dinner etc.

Ive not been feeling well these few days. Having headache, cough(dry) and running nose. The worse part is the dry cough. very sore and painful. do u have any remedy to soothe my throat?

miorei
BF think definitely can help lose weight fast
hee all my BF did...dun worrie 2 much..sometimes effortlessly also the weight be gone one

twiggy
i know one mum from the forum she gave birth at home le...2nd bb...no time to go hospital....i also thought such scenarios only happen in movies...

Linda / Etelle,
I was telling hubby about these stories and we actually discussed wat to do if halfway on the way to hospital I need to deliver in the car! He said the correct thing to do is stop by the road and park the car, and call ambulance. Can't believe we're even discussing the possiblity! Haha.. hope it wont happen. Wish I dont live so far from hospital.

Twiggy
actualy one of my hb friend after the wife water bag burst she gave birth in 2 hour le...so i think it really depends lor..but its good to have back up plan and like talk about the possibilities mah u never know right...for me house to Mt A about 20 mins le...should be able to la as long as once witness the symtoms then rush to hospital no deay.

I read from babycentre first child normally average 14 hours and 2nd child average 8 hours...

This is a rather bimbotic question. When the water bag burst, let's say at home on the bed/sofa or in the car..will it stain the bed covers or even my precious car seat??

lynzi
the water form water bag is odourless and colourless one it will WET wherever u r on lor...but not stain la...so hor advise is place a disaposable sheet over where u sleep or sit during your final weeks to come lor to prevent any damage if u r scared....

lynzi
me also le...haha sunday be 38 wks le..haha cnanot wait to deliver...for my #1 is water bag burst lor..it burst while i was sleeping so whole undie wet and bed alittle la cuz wore shorts also so bed not badly affected...

etelle, i think for us 2nd bb, better go hospital once we know it's contractions, water bag leak, etc, juz to be sure mah, if wrong then come back home lor! hahaha... tat's wat i tot lah... but my house to KKH also takes like 30-40mins during daytime, my #1 bb, we went hospital @ 3.30am, so no cars, very fast! abt 20mins reach liao! hahahaha.. but now i think it's better for me to go KKH from my office, cos only like 5mins reach liao! hahaha... so i'll need to pack my shampoo & towel in office, so can shower b4 i go to KKH! then hb will go home & bring my hospital bag over! since he work near home!

linda, u dun worry, 1st baby not so fast one, they say need abt 10hrs to have 10cm dilation, average 1hr 1cm!!

but does anyone know the # to call for KKH ambulance ah?? i check everywhere also can't find leh... juz in case lah... hahaha... when i ask my hb if he knows, he told me faster to go by cab! hahaha... of cos i know, but the thing is if can't find cab how??

dodo, i think my waist abt the same as u, i measure abt 2-3weeks back was 43", but i can see my tummy grows... yesterday my colleg was saying, wow, yr tummy so big, like having twins! haiz... i also wished!! it's so heavy now, very hard to walk & worst when i can't get seat on trains... so cham...

miorei, true, BF will help in reducing the weight, but if u have massage done during confinement i would say the effect is like double! of cos u'll lose weight when u BF, but the tummy will still be saggy lor... i remember for my #1, during my bb's full mth party, alot of pple comment tat my massage lady very good, my weight was only 1-2kg more then my pregnancy weight, so it's very effective if u do it during confinement, so they can push all yr internal organs back! hahaha... even my mum see the diff after my 1st massage, cos the wrap was so tight & effective, she say all my sagginess like gone! but painful lah... not trying to stress u here, but it's really more effective to do during yr confinement lor... :D

mama_ash
true lor now any sign or symtom even if wrong lso better go hor dun wanna risk having it at wrong place hee :p my #1 also le 3+am like that so no cars breeze all the way 10 mins or so reach le i think....

linda
yeah gynae was telling me 1 cm every hr for first child...so dun need worrie 2 much...

These 2 days i found that i have difficulty walking cos i feel that the area below my tummy is so painful whenever i stand up. Walking slowly juz like a penguin.

At nite, cant even have a good & proper sleep too. Is it becos bb head pressing on it? I now coming to 35wks already feel so painful wonder how to tahan till my bb out.

Anyone facing the same problem as me? Will we have any feeling of bb engaging?

agnes,
I think Watsons, Guardian, NTUC shd have...heehee..but for Latacyd, I remember seeing 2 different types (diff PH levels). Once is white box with pink and blue stripes. The other is white box with blue stripes. I've seen the blue stripes one at KKH's pharmacy...so I guess that's more suitable for kids...

joanne
me too felt that le below the tummy there pain and yes u r right cuz bb's head is there ah so definitely have some sort of a strain there lo...be slower in your changing of position...i also cannot have a good proper sleep part and parcel of being preggie le ...no choice....tahan abit okie...

hmmm bb engaged or not cannot only see through scan le..dun think will hve feeling one..

joanne, it's quite common cos i'm suffering the same plight, have difficulties in walking too, even i turn sides to sleep, i feel the pain on the lower area. so whole nite, i don turn side, just sleep on my left.
I have a frd who told me if ur legs cant cross mean ur bb's head is engaged, not sure if it is true or nt...

linda
really ah..my legs canot crossed le..haha like got something blocked...haha if forcefully crossed very uncomfy...hee

linda
haha yeah lor...even at night sleeping when sleep to one side ah if never kiap bolster ah try to cross leg like hv the feeng i squashing bb head in the end give up haha :p

oh ya.. if our waterbag burst / having contraction, shld we call ambulance or shld i take cab to MT A directly?

My hubby v advised the idea tt i take cab... saying if water bag burst, he will call ambulance...cos he said later anything happen...
but sound pretty stupid to call ambulance...

linda, isit? hee...didnt know that cannot cross legs means bb head engaged. but i have trouble crossing legs already coz tummy so big and pelvic area there is painful.