(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

higgledy
it's really tough when hb isnt around. Like phy suggested, if he can come over earlier, that'd be best. otherwise the phone is really convenient nowadays. n no worries, the forum is for everyone to vent and share; we're all here to support each other through this journey.

Thanks phy and claire,
my hubby is planning to come over on 25th Nov, that will be the start of my 38th week. But things are so tough now, I'm seriously considering induction in 37th week, of coz need to check with gynae first.

I may be extra stressed up these few days coz very troublesome applying visa for hubby to come over. Can you imagine? I'm a SINGAPORE CITIZEN, applying for my HUSBAND to come over to witness the birth of our BABY, and to take care of me during confinement. And ICA makes it so troublesome for us... And I know of other mainland Chinese, just because they are born in big cities like Beijing and Shanghai, ICA grant them 1 year visa with just a snap of a finger. They don't even have any Singaporean relatives or anything!

higgledy,
cheer up. don't feel sad coz it'll affect baby oso. otherwise use webcam if your husband could install one back in china, at least you both can look at each other 'live'.
take it easy okay? i'm sure your close/loved ones won't want you to feel down too..

if you like milk, try to drink warm milk before going to bed, or just some comfort food; may be it'd help.. I just realised that if i overexert (walking/shopping) during the day, i get quite grouchy at night due to tiredness. in fact sometimes can't fall asleep even though i feel very tired.. don't know why oso...

higgledy,
try to do some reading or listen to music or watch tv then u wont think too much.remember happy mum = happy baby.cheers!!

Hi Higgledy,
I'm sure you are not the only one feeling the blues lately, with the heavy tummy, anxiety of baby coming any time soon and hormones acting up, some of us might be in same shoes as you! Think positively and cheer up! Talk to your gynae abt the idea of induction, if it does not harm the baby then maybe you can go ahead with it? About the visa thingy, wats the reason of the delay??
I'm also feeling very emotional lately, from lack of sleep & work stress... cried alot of times liao but indeed felt better after you cried it out.
Alternatively, you are always welcome to vent your frustrations out here

*hugz*

Hi blessed
I will still be working full time. Dun think i can stand facing 3 kids all day long.
Currently my 4 yr old son is in full day childcare. 18mth gal will join him next Jan, half day first. My mum will take care of my new bb. My maid is solely helping out with the housework now. Yeah, i think kinda difficult to do w/o maid if you have 3 kids. But privacy is compromised with a stranger around your hse.

Sigh. Difficult to strike a balance.

Hi claire

For my 2nd preg, we left my elder boy with my inlaws during the time i was hospitalised, cos hb stayed over with me in hospital. Mine was a scheduled c-section, so had sufficient time to plan.

For this delivery, both my kids will be at home with my mum and maid also.

My op also scheduled early in the morning at 7.45am. That means you have to be at hospital ard 5am rite? Why dun you try leaving your elder kid with your parents or inlaws?

hi Agnes,
If you do see the NB Nepia in Tampines, do let me know ok? I'm also thinking of trying it out without ordering 4 packs first.

Higgledy,
I'm taking Prolacta from the gynae. Only started this wk. Gynae said it's recommended to take fish at least 3 times a wk which i dont do so. That's why he ask me to try the fish oil instead. It costs $1 per capsule.

Hi all, thanks for all the concern, i still have the crampy feeling every now and then, tmr when i go back for my 2nd jab, will ks and ks check with gynae again.

Dodo, my cramps is all over the tummy and i don like that crampy feeling, sometime i feel like crying cos of the crampy feeling...

jeelo, I at home la... the jab is done on the arm, have to jab twice and they are done one day apart.

rach, i now at 34weeks and bb weight is 2.2kg. mmm, gynae did check my cervix, but it's not open yet though it's 1cm dilated. have to monitor over the weekend and see how. Lucky i got everything prepared 95% now from my hosp. bag to the baby stuffs.

Florence, is it? hehee hub say 11 and 17 nov are auspicious days, so he was hoping for 11 nov delivery, but got to see my notty boy want to come out on that day or others, i was hoping he will come out on 16 nov which is our wedding anniversary. Actually gynae say my bb born now is able to withstand the complications, still i a bit worried. It's still best to carry to full term if not 38weeks at least.

Missylan, my ctg cost $40. come to think of it, i really paiseh just dozed off while doing ctg, hehee! Ya mine oso, move more often than usual while doing ctg, imagine the heartbeat can be loud or soft depend how he move ard...

Valeriet, ya, no harm checking with Dr Sim, we are in good hands, u know! ;)

baked beans, mine is cfm contractions. At first i was hoping i just scaring myself maybe it's just BH, but ctg results show otherwise,

Fairylander, all the beat ya? Eat and rest well and prepare for the big day!!

Linda .. I have the same EDD as u .. Saw ur post yesterday and freaks me out .. Cause now and then i get BH and is painful ones .. Really can't move when the pain comes .. My bdae is on 11 nov ! Haha .. But i don't wan my bb to come on that day .. My bdae have to go through labour pain ..

Endure 3 more weeks to week 37 and is full term already .. As i saw some mummies give birth way earlier so count yourself luckly to have a few more weeks left .. Maybe this will make u feel better ..

About emotional wise, i guess everyone is going through the same thing .. Sometimes i find myself crying at night, seriously for no reasons .. Been asking myself why am i crying but still at the same time the tears just flow like nobody business .. Can't sleep at night .. Quite torturing .. Tired and end up being so cranky sigh .. Can't eat too .. Feeling bloated and heart burn in the middle of the night .. 3rd trimester is so difficult to get through ..

Higgledy: just to tell u i'm thinking of inducing on week 37 or 38 ! Can't imagine carrying for another 2 more weeks to week 40 .. Hope bb will come dring that time so i don't have to induce!

missylan,

my gyne ask me to take fish oil when given birth leh... cos if breastfeed, the DHA will pass to the bb. He say taken during pregnancy not much use as its not proven that it will help in bbs brain development in the womb. And its just the market gimmick. Anyway different gyne got different thinking...

linda,
tks linda.u rest more n dun think too much jia you.11nov n 17 nov is good day ar?if ur bb come out on 17nov is same as mine liao.

juz came back from regular check up.hurray bb weight increse from 1628g on wed to 1768g today.wat a relief phew!!gynae said everything looks fine on me n bb.really made my day

wish u all have a happy weekend

Hi Eve

Yes.Nepia can be found at NTUC Tampines Mall. The other time i saw, only 1 pack left. I guess it's selling like hotcakes.hehhe.Maybe u can check it out.

Crystal,
Yup, after delivery taking fish oil will benefit during breastfeeding. My gynae asked me to stop fish oil during pregnancy think scared of the EPA which is also in fish oil that will cause excessive bleeding.

My pubis getting more serious... especially in the middle of the night climbing up to pee pee. I got to move very slow. haiz... The day before yesterday, forgot that I am pregnant and flipped myself so roughly that caused cramp. =P
Also got to find a suitable sleeping position, though it is either left or right side else the tummy felt weird. We have to ren ren ren after the big ball gone, we can sleep and flip like mad.

missylan,

i oso ah... during sleeping time turn body oso pain.. wake up and get up oso pain.. haiyo.. gotta endure for the bb kekeke

Hi MTBs!

Hi dinut, my gal's blog is http://baby-edlynne.blogspot.com/ but I find it difficult to update as I'm busy in the shop and tired when I reached home...

Hi mummies, I'm different from most of you. I've got very (as in VERY) good appetite. I also have problem sleeping but I think its okay, no major cramps, unlike my first baby. In fact, I'm telling my boy to stay longer, hopefully until full terms as I'm now shortage of workers in the shop. My staffs left two weeks ago after they were being robbed on their way home, they ran back to their hometown without even taking their belongings and salaries...

I remember with my first one, we were always traveling to KL to look for business opportunities and I enjoyed the feelings that I could "carried" her around, but after she was borned, she was such a fussy baby that I missed the days when I was pregnant... With this one, I'm just going to enjoy these moments...

i just got back from tampines mall, they don't have NB nepia diapers liao. Don't waste your trip. only left L and M sizes. din even see S size

Blessed, yeah, my jabs were once a week too. I stopped at week 34. Now still on meds till next week. No worries, you didnt scare me. I knew labour pain will be far worse, that's why I really don't think I'll last without an epidural. :p

Higgledy, dont feel bad just because you are considering induction. Some people might be very anti any form of intervention or anything "unnatural". But my personal point of view is that once it's full-term and you are causing no harm to baby, then it can't be bad. Even my Dr recommended induction for me because I've had a very difficult pregnancy I suppose. Discuss with your doctor and find out what he recommends, based on baby's weight etc. Whatever you decide, dont feel that you're being a bad mum! It's like BF vs FM. Although BF is natural, some pple have legit reasons not to BF and should not be made to feel they are bad mothers.

Linda, hope your contractions go away. But don't worry too much, babies born at week 34 onwards are very healthy. I've been reading a lot of premature labour because mine was a high risk pregnancy since week 14 when I almost miscarried. My Dr and I were really taking each step at a time, giving ourselves a milestone to cross at a time. She said first critical stage is to hang in there till past week 28. Then after that at least wait till week 32. I'm just amazed and immensely thankful I've carried this baby to week 36 now. So my perspective is a little different from most other mothers. Even if my baby comes tomorrow before week 37, I'll be very thankful we made it.
I think we're all very fortunate to have come this far and our babies will be born well and healthy. So hang in there mummies, it'll all be worth it!

Not to worry too much, recently read an article about a mama who broke her waterbag in her 24th weeks and bb survived. =)

Twiggy
i agree with you as long as bb is born healthy its doesn't matter whether full term yet or not. My friend gave birth at 32 wks and bb only 1.8kg but now growing so healthily and drinking lots of milk

just came back fr my chkup as well. accd'g to gynae, my water level n placenta are still good but she commented that my stomach looked really 'tight' n asked if i've been doing alot of walkg. haa..

anyway, she cld tell that i was gettg really tired. i told her tt i am contemplating burstg my waterbag as i wld hv carried e baby to its full term of 37 weeks by end of nx week anyway.

she told me to see her again nx week n will decide by then.

fyi, our waterbags can actually start leakg w/o e mucuous plug coming out so pls be mindful of it.

i honestly cant wait to celebrate xmas. =P

Hi missylan, crystalz,
i think i am experiencing pain at the pubic area too! It started yesterday and now, i walk like a tortise! When getting up from a sitting position, have to do it slowly and stand for a while before starting to move! If I had been sitting for too long, the pain would be worse! I called my gynae this morning and the nurse told me tat one of the babies could be pressing on some ligament near the pelvic area, that's why the pain.

ai yo.. ladies, like all of you, i also can't wait for my twins to be out! Now, sleeping is also a problem with the expanding tummy, and on top of this, the pain at the pubic area! Just a little movement when sitting or sleeping also painful...

let's all jia you together! I had been talking to my babies not to pressing so hard on mummy's ligaments... keke...

I am from Jan08 thread. Steffietan, you mentioned that our waterbags can start leaking w/o the mucuous plug coming out? Then how? Coz I feel that I am getting more discharge lately and I am really worried scarli it is the waterbag leaking but I still blur blur donno anything!

I read the article mentioned by missylan- this woman's waterbag also leaked at 24 weeks but she hanged in there and carried the baby till 8 mths. All along I thought once waterbag leaks means critical already, need to deliver the baby. Will we feel any contractions or anything when waterbag leaks?

guess it's more like value for money and convinience.

anyway, some of my gf swear by pampers. it's really up to one to decide what brand to buy.

hi itok,
im having waterbag leaking since im 32weeks.i was admitted for observation for abt 10 days.fyi,water bag leaking is different from discharge.u will notice water coming like urine but the different is white color n no smell.if the leaking not serious normally u can carried bb to full term then deliver.but main concern is dun get urself infected coz water bag leaking is very likely to cause infection which will cause complication for mum n bb.some ppl wil stop leaking may be after a few days.so its very depend on individual.for my case i still have leaking till now but not much and im quite lucky coz the water lvl still sufficient.juz have to be cautious not to get infection b4 delivery.hope i answer ur question.

fairylander,

thanks for your input. so u mean when the waterbag leak, the water will sort of like auto flow out like urine?

waterbag leak:

doc said if e waterbag leaks, it will be able to soak up e pantyliner, whereas if its just discharge, e pantyliner will not be soaked/heavy.

for my SIL, she thot that e leakage was incontinence and hence did not really pay much attention to it until she went for a chk and realise that her water level had dropped to a dangerous low.

i guess for mothers who will be experiencing labour soon, all these are signs of impending labour.

itok, u still hv abt 2 more mths to go so do not worry too much yet. =)

hey MTBs,
Been sometimes that I actauli post anything on this thread.Started reading from the posts u ladies posted,really learnt so much from here.

BTW Mel,
I wish you an advance HAPPY BIRTHDAY!May the blessing be with you,your bb and ur hb always!Anyways,ur blogskin is very nice!Enjoy!

thanks for the concern. Instead of coming over on the 25th, my hubby will try to come one week earlier. But that is only if our apartment renovation in China can complete in time. I guess it's too many things cramped together at one time, so adding to the stress...

As for ICA, they are just @#$%^&*(! For mainland Chinese, duration of visa granted depends on the CITY in which you are born. You may be a CHAO AH BENG born in Beijing and you'll be granted 1 year visa. But my hubby, working for a Fortune 500 MNC, but born in Dongguan, can only get a 30 days visa even if sponsored by Singaporean wife. What the crap right??

Anyway, my next gynae visit is Tuesday. Very anxious, wanna know bb's weight and whether it is advisable to induce. Now, everyday I ask bb to be good boy and get engaged. Else mommy don't dare to induce, scared kena c-sec.

Mommies who are giving birth at GlenE, may I know which PD you are using? My gyane recommended YY Yip, but I read some negative feedback about him, so thinking of changing.

Missylan, I remember you once posted some instructions on how to apply nappy cream on bb boys. May I know if we need to apply like that every single time we change diapers or only after bathing?

hi Higgledy,
Did you check about visa extension with ICA? I remember there's a something in ICA on visa extension. Did they mention this to you during your application? Don't pile up stress on yourself ok? try to take it easy. I'm sure things would work out fine. Well i know it's easier said than done... try not to worry about everything and stress yourself up.

i don't know who's my PD. probably be asking my gynae next saturday when i see her. Have u booked room already?

higgledy,

my PD was recommended by my gynea also... there was a few to choose from but they suggested Dr.Ngiam - i haven't heard anything negative so far but plan to use him for the initial stage only, plan to use another PD that is nearer to my home later on.

Hi jeelomeelo,
yeah, I know about the visa extension. But it is for single trip only. The next time my hubby comes to Singapore, he will need to apply for a new visa and it can only be collected in Guangzhou which is 1.5h from where we stay. It is just extremely troublesome lor. If only ICA can give him a one year visa, makes life a lot easier for us.

I did the pre-admission already. Just need to fill up some forms. No need to pay anything at all. So no harm booking 1st.

Botanist,
I also heard Dr Ngiam is good. Maybe I will switch to him instead.

How about anaestetist huh? My gyane says she has a team working with her, so on the day see who is available. Is this how it's usually arranged? I read in the forum many mommies pre-book anaestetist also leh...

higgledy,
ic... ya, that's very troublesome. geezz that's a lot of hassle. how about those long term social visit pass? i'm not sure about application process/approval & visa stay length though for Chinese nationals. however, i had heard before one of my friends from tian jin (she's a PR) applied for her mum, managed to get it for 5yrs.

regarding baby's clothing in aircon room ~ 23-24degC, during day time, is it sufficient to wear just rompers with muslin cloth for swaddle? what about night time, how should baby be dressed to bed?

After one month, we shouldn't be swaddling our baby right? so day time, rompers with muslin cloth as blanket is suffice or not? how about night time, wearing overalls long sleeves & footcoveralls, are they sufficient to tahan aircon?

thanks for sharing your experience

Hi Dec Mum, I'm from Oct Mum. I have buy extra packets of herbs (about 15pkts) for bathing. I'm not sure any one interested. Selling at $1.50/pkt.
Interested Mum pls call me at 92789982.

jeelomeelo,
thanks for the info. Think I'll enquire about the long term social visit pass. Esp after bb is born, with WIFE and SON as Singapore citizens, I really don't see why ICA should treat his application so harshly.

As for clothing, this is one thing I have headache also. I have to prepare both summer and winter clothing at the same time coz bb will be travelling back and forth every 2 months for his jabs.

No experience, but no choice lor, gotta go by trial and error. Hope bb can tahan the temperature change.

Oh yeah, I also decided to use sleeping bag for my bb rather than blanket. After bb is able to toss and turn, blanket can be easily kicked off. Sleeping bag should be safer coz can prevent suffocation.

mel, if urs is BH, u're still bttr than me, mine is contradiation and it is irregular, really scared me and hub cos we tot bb will come out anytime though gynae say it's less than 50% for it to come now. Hub say now i'm a walking time bomb, anytime bb will pop out, lol!

Twiggy, yup, tat what my gynae told me the same thing, she check bb's weight, my placenta, etc and she say no prob if i going into labour now.. Even though she had given me calcigard (med) to take so as to prevent further contradions, but there is still a chance that i will still deliver early though we all wish it will carry to full term. anyway, after this incident, i more or less 80% prepare and expect bb will pop out anytime (hopefully not anywhere!!)

Can feel myself getting excited and nervous!!!

btw, anyone experience getting heavier discharge?

Hi MTB
I have a breastpump AVENT ISIS IQ UNO handheld electric pump to let go. Using less than 1 week. Cos i may invest in a heavy duty pump so decide to forgo this pump. It comes w original box and warranty card and some extra accessories cos my friend gave me her pump but didn't realise the pump is spoilt. So I used the accessories to rotate. usual price 279 now i letting go at 200.
interested part pls sms me or call at 93394040 yoko

hi mummies, i m logging in frm kkh, warded for pre term contractions... at 33 wks plus... sigh. cervix dilated 3cm liao, think i will need to rest till delivery, hope to dong for couple more weeks a least.

cookiemz,
take care ya, rest well.

linda,
the discharge that i am getting is inconsistent. One day have, one day don't have. dunno why oso. would probably ask my gynae when i see her