(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

higgledy,

Are we allowd to pre-book anestetist? i heard my gynea prefers to use dicky tay (also heard from others that he is v.good) so if need be, will try to get him. But i still have not decided on epidural yet so see how lor...

hi botanist, if yr gynae prefer him u just let yr gynae knows that u wanted hom to be. yr gynae will arrange for u. my c section ga anestetist like shit. in operation room, i request can put more painkillers n he just tells me off that u know ga is more painful when u awake. instead of calmimg u down making u more paranoid.

hi Linda, Dodo, Mioeri, Florence, Mel
Can I link up your blog sites to mine? I finally set up mine, still in the process of managing the minor details...

hi cookiemz,

do hang in there. hope you're ok.

how did u know those were preterm contractns and not BH before e check? my contractns are gettg stronger now n e pain actually spreads to e base of my spine now. however, there have not been a bloody show nor a waterbag leak; just an irritable increase in discharge. not sure if its psychological but i kinda have a feelg that effacement has begun.

botanist
i think u can speak to your gynae and let him know u prefer dr dicky tay. I used him as my anesthetist. If you hvaing c section can arrnage but if natural then have to subject to his availability on ur D day,,,

i'm trying to start packing my hospital bag & thought of the following. Anything else to add?

3 sets of pj (too much?)
3 sets of nursing bra
2 packs of disposable panties (enough?)
Nipple cream
Set of baby clothings for going home
Receiving blanket
Set of mittens & booties
1 pack of maternity pad
Handphone charger
Jacket for hubby
Cardigan for myself
1 set of clothings for myself for going home

What else??

Btw, i think i asked abt getting cord spirit some time ago but not sure if anyone has replied. Do you gals buy it or will the hospital give? If need to buy, where can we get it?

thks jeelomeelo, now on drips and med to delay the contractions. gynae says bb size is gd, less worry.

steffietan,
u r jan mum rite? so early got contractions? my BH started few weeks ago, but painless. gynae told me to go hospital if the contractions occur in regular intervalfor at least an hr. this morn woke up frm sleep dreaming that i got contractions, then cant sleep liao. the contractions feel like mild menses cramp, came at interval of 5 to 10 mins, decided to go for ctg scan. hb thot i false alarm but turn out is early labour and cervix start to dilate. lucky i ks and went hospital. think u better time ur contractions and go for a ctg scan if u feel it is not rite.

hi eve,
my confinement nanny used boiled water and cotton wool to clean the unbilical cord area. if u really wan to use the cord spirit, can get frm the hospital pharmacy. kkh dun provide, not sure abt other hospitals.

cookiemz,

no, i'm actually due early dec. due to e delivery of my 1st (who was 3.5 weeks early), my gynae was speculatg tt i cld early too for this one.

i actually experienced strong contractns when i was 34 weeks as well n i was put on a ctg scan already. at tt time, cervix was still closed n was deemed as a false alarm.

i'm at tis stage where i am on e verge of breakg down. i cant wait to deliver n start e ball rolling. it doesnt help tt my first is ill n is uncooperatv in takg his medicatn. i'm so worried for him n at e same time, i hv to deal wif my aching body n inability to do more things. i wish i was more mobile.

steffietan,

how does contractions feel like? How is it different from BH? Today, since about 11am, i feel slight cramp in my lower abdomen and near vaginal area. when i walk also feel the slight cramp. jus now i lied down and the pain went away.. and i feel that baby is moving a lot today. I donno if this is contractions or BH?? I am only in 29 weeks... due end Jan08

eve
hospital will give those individually packed cord spirit wipe. Don't have to buy...but that's for Mt A. and what they give is sufficient for use....

remember to bring camera or video cam, breast pads...

etelle, yoko noriko

thanks, think i wont be able to specify anethetist cos targeting natural delivery so probably got to see who is available during that time. plus, i am in two minds about whether to take epidural (my gynea is quite pro-epidural la)... so will decide when the time comes

hi eve, i packed the following... m delivering @ TMC... haha... me a bit KS

2 sets of pj
2 sets of nursing bra
2 packs of disposable panties
8 pairs of disposable breast pads
2 Set of mittens & booties
2 packs of maternity pad
Handphone charger
Jacket for hubby
Cardigan for myself
1 set of clothings for myself for going home
Camera n charger
tissue paper
sme cleanser for facial, body
Loose change
Medicated oil
2 NB Diapers
Admission letter n the pre-natal receipt
a spray medication which my gynae has given me is for the epsiotomy wound.
my breast pump s wanna ask the nurse to show me how to use in case i forgotten about it..
Stemcord - box
A photocopy of my wedding cert

Set of baby clothings for going home n Receiving blanket - TMC will provide.

I thought disposable panties and maternity pads hospital will provide?

I'm bringing my breastpump also in case need to use.

higgledy

it depends.. for Gleneagles, they provide maternity loop pads so must bring your own if you want alternative type (adhesive). Hmm I dont think they provide disposable panties, i went for the tour and they did not mention...

I bought a pack of the Kotex adhesive. So much more ex than the loop type leh! The loop type costs only $1+ per pack, adhesive ones $5+.

I think when in hospital, I will just use the loop ones since the nurses will be doing the changing for us. My friend was telling me they will just keep changing like crazy coz blood flow is A LOT A LOT! (damn gross..)

Then only when discharge then I will use my own adhesive ones.

higgledy,

actually i am very kiasu, I bought Kotex and Pureen maternity pads. Pureen for hospital, Kotex for home..

My friend who just delivered said that she brought her own Pureen maternity pads to the hospital and those were more effective than the KOtex type the hospital provided. she said the nurse also told her Pureen is better.. its wider, thicker than the Kotex one...

Yup.. you're right... we would be bleeding ALOT. They even used 2 Kotex pads for her, until she asked them whether they could use her Pureen ones instead, which was better.

higgledy
the nurse onl put on one time for me that is directly after dleivery le...then subsequent changing i do myself one le....your friend saying which hospital the nurse will keep changing...and the blood one alright le not alot alot la...

for mine they also use 2 pads but is one on top of the other think one is to cushion the wound le and not so much of absorbing the flow..

Anyone got good massage lady to recommend?
I will be delivering next month but have not confirmed my massage yet.

Please help!

hi cookiemz & Etelle,
Thanks... maybe i shd check w the Gleaneagles whether they provide the cord spirit... if not, will use the boiled water water method.

hi botanist,
GlenE does provide the loop type? I was still thinking of buying the Kotex adhesive ones until today i saw the pureen ones at a medical hall & was wondering whether it's good. Where did u get yours? Seems like pureen is a better choice.

How many packs of the maternity pads do we need to buy?

Higgledy,
You're right... the price difference between Kotex adhesive & loop is so great.

My angel,
Think all the popular ones are already fully booked. You may want to try Fatimah (91445744). She's recommended by 2 of my friends who used her. So far didnt hear any complaints from them.

eve
haha lochia flow can be 2 wks to one month depending on individual...so maybe just buy 1-2 packet and if not enough then arrow hb go buy

my angel
i booked Mdm sadiah...you may want to try if she has slot for you 07724579

Hi i went thru c section. My flow of blood is not alot. Just like our meanses blood 1st 2-3 days heavy and after that normal flow. U don't really need to get all maternity. In fact those for nite used oso no prob. TMC Hospital will provide u with a packet wo charging u but i duno if they charge for the next. I too brought my breast pump along at the end of day never even touch it.

My angel, despit that I am did my c section but i am doing my post natal massage during the 8 days onwards. My massage lady charges is $350 for 7days plus binding. I also intro her to my friend and she is nt bad. If you need her no, just pm me.

Disposable panties. I used those cotton disposable type. i think is really gd. Esp those who put binder straight away.cos really cover up yr wound.and more comfy. I bought 4 pkts 1 pack 5pcs for $9.50. Sometimes if my flow nt heavy and i will wear for a day or 2 than change. Paper too thin material already torn easily.

I can't remember if this question was asked earlier and what was the response...

For those planning to bring breast pump to hospital, how do you sterilise the pump? I was thinking of bringing my pump along (the PIS), but then I thought of how to sterilise it...heehee...

About sterilising the funnel etc, i went to a course and they told us that just need to sterilise the funnel once per day. Then just put in the fridge after pumping. Then need to pump, take out from the fridge again. Find this tip quite useful...

Hi CSI I have also brought my pump tp TMC. But they told me they dun sterilise. SO at the end I didn't use it. Cos my milk came after the day that i discharge.

eve, higgledy,

yup its the pureen madame maternity pads. One pack should be more than enough because there's alot in one pack. I got mine at KK hospital but found that it was more expensive than what John Little was selling..

However.. John Little doesn't always have it so you might need to try your luck.

So far, i heard its good, esp for the time when we are having particularly heavy flow. After that, the kotex maternity or your own maternity pads should be good enough.

hi cookiemz, gynae say i don have to bedrest,but i have to monitor the # of contractions every now and then... u oso taking calcigard-10? i hate that med, it give me the side effects of headache whenever i take it, already warned by gynae on that. i actually edd on 20 dec. but gynae estimated i may due earlier. Now dilated at 1cm - cervix still closed.

steff, the cramps are actually all over your tummy, if u just suffer cramps in the lower belly, it shld be BH.

Fairylander, read that baby and you are doing fine. Continue to rest and eat well. Jia you. Hugz.

Missylan, I am like you too, forget about the baby in me, flip and turn like nobody business causing bad cramp on saturday night. DH tot I am having leg cramp and he jump up going straight to my leg but I told him is my stomach this time.

Hiyo, to sterilise the breast pump on the go, I found the easiest way is that you can get a 2.9 L or 3.9 L Lock and Lock rectangular container and fill it up to 2 litres with water (depending on what your sterilising tablets instructions say), make a mark on the water level on the outside of the container with a waterproof market, and bring that Lock and Lock container to the hospital with your sterilising tablets, liquid detergent and brush. You wash out the parts that come into contact with the milk that need to be sterilised with the detergent then soak it in the chemical solution and use when needed. Some people dont like the chlorine smell but you can always wash it out with boiled water and use. I used this when I pumped on the aeroplane and holidays cos it's not like you can carry the whole steriliser everywhere and not everywhere guarantees that the microwave is there and some microwaves havent been cleaned for centuries so I dont feel comfortable using them, even with the microwave steriliser bags...

Good morning. Went for my checkup on last Friday. I confirmed going for delivery via c-section with epidural on 21 Nov, next wed at 9am. Will have to admit to TMC after 11.30pm on Tue. Look like I might b the first one to pop here
My gyane said my boy is about 3.2kg as at last friday & its ready to be delivered. Actually I told him can i delivered on 30 Nov, he said no coz its too near to my estimated due date, there might be complication

Hi Higgledy, my first one was delivered on full term (ie. 40 weeks exactly) via c-section. I should think its considered emergency c-section as i surrender after trying for normal delivery for so many hours. Ya it shd b most costly compared to normal or elective c-section.

linda,
do u feel water coming out?better observe closely or go to ur gynae to check if it is leaking.

BBnGG,
tks u too jia you n take care.

fairylander, i don feel water coming out, just noticed the pantyliner is wet a bit than usual. had called up the gynae and she advised me to monitor these 2 days...

Machiam like very drama, fri one drama, today another drama,

linda,
i think its discharge not water coz if leaking u will feel its like water coming out and will be very wet.dun worry too much.have a good rest.jia you!!

bbtree:
congrats!!

Linda:
my panty liner also soaking recently.. pretty wet.. but i think it's normal.. got to change it more often to prevent infection.

Pierced:
Did u go for any check up? I jus went for mine last Sat. put on few hundreds grams for 2 weeks. Not much gain... gynae again nv check on bb, saying normal. That all lo.. sian.. he onli said prob abt 2kg or less than tt.. Hopefully bb will gain more in next few weeks. 7 more Fridays to go... Heehee...

Realised tt my appetite v good when i am not working... once bk to work, no appetite.. Got to think of ways to work from home...

Yoko:
i finally hired a maid last sat. Waiting for her to come.. Tks much for ur help tt time...

Wanna check with you ladies.. how much u got to put deposit for your gynae's visit in hospital? i was told to put deposit of $500 next visit.. and they will give me a letter for delivery..

jeelmeelo: my nx chkup is this sat. gynae said we'll discuss if i really want to burst e waterbag e followg week.

i dunno if it's just me but my contractns come fast n furious in e nites. wonder if it's becz we dun move much while we sleep. i keep thinkg i'm going to deliver cz e pain can be quite unbearable. however, as e contractns r irregular, i tend to sleep thru them.

in terms of gynae charges, i've already paid for mine last nite n it's e full amt of $1.3, excludg PD's charges.

linda,
i m still warded, on salbutamol drip and endalac pills i think.. contractions came back once drip was removed, so went back on drip. just finished 2nd round of drip. the med made my heart palpitate so hard n hands keep shaking. my bb also v low in my pelvic area, see wat my gynae advises next..

if u feel v wet, better go for a check in case it is waterbag leaking.. best to reduce movement n rest more to prevent inducing contractions.

Hihi! I'm rather new in here. Juz discovered upon this forum last week. My edd is 3 dec, in my 37th week now. Feeling very tired and getting more nervous...hehe.