(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Steffi, the conversion kit is $25.40, but when i bought the PIS, am entitled to their VIP card, so i got 10% off tat price.. but if u're KKH Junior club membership, u're also entitled to 5% off... i dun see those hands-free kit there.. tot normally need to import from the states, dun think the sell here...

twiggy, ya, i had been eyeing tat set when i know am preggie!! so glad they having sale now, juz in time for me! hahaha... well, was thinking to go for #3 since i got PIS advance... hahaha...

oh yes, polyclinic nurses administer those jabs may not be very gentle lor! cos my gal had blueblack after her 3rd mth jab & till now the blue black still there!! & according to the PD, it's cos they like burst the blood vessel when they jab my gal or they may had pressed too hard after the jab, the blueblack is abit lighten lah, but still have like a big patch there lor... so now am thinking abt gg PD for #2 liao...

mama ash,
how do we get the KKH junior club membership? i also bought the PIS for 599 last year.. very good pump indeed! so u going to chiong for #3 also? Keke..

missylan,
the PIS is a heavy duty dual electric pump, similar to the one used in hospital, so more expensive, but very lasting

agnes,
my girl took her 6-in-1 at KKH private children clinic, if i remember correctly, cost abt $450-500 for the 3 shots. pneumoccocal cost abt 180 per jab. rotarix vaccine was cheaper than the pneumococal jab..but cannot recall the cost. my fren was sharing with me that some of the compulsory shots are available at the polyclinics FOC, but of coz not the 6-in-1 kind, if you don't mind the waiting time.

Thanks Etelle.

Wow, 200g per week. Baby's growing real fast!

I also bought the medela PIS. HOpefully it'll work for me. From what I heard, not all pumps are suitable for all mummys. It's like some pumps work better for some breasts. Weird, but I hope the medela's good for me. Otherwise, it'll be such a waste of $$.

tks mama_ash, etelle, missylan and cookiemz..

hmm...gotta to crack my head and decide to go PD or polyclinic..if tell hb, he sure say go polyclinic...

aso i must keep a lookout of wat are the non-compulsory jabs bb may missed...haizzzz...

is rotarix jabs = to pneumococal jab? compulsory?

hahaha... cookiemz, i like to have more kids leh... but scare on time for them only lor... esp when i saw tat my hb's grandma got cancer beginning of this year & lucky she got 5 daughters & 1 son, so lots of pple look after her... i won't want only my eldest gal look after me if something happened to me, if have more siblings, at least they got someone to talk to lor... me optimistic hor! hahaha...

u can sign up for KK Junior's club membership from the link... http://www.kkh.com.sg/ForPatientsnVisitors/KKJuniorsClub/

oh ya, my #1 i only got Avent manual, it was hell for me, esp when she dun like direct latch, so from 2mth onwards i was expressing till 9mths!! god!! so terrible, so hopefully with the PIS, i can feed #2 till he's 1YO! esp in office, heard the time to express will reduced by 1/2 esp with the dual pump!

yes, the compulsory jabs from polyclinics are FOC, but if go during weekdays, no tat long wait, so i normally take leave for my gal's jab lor!

hi eve,

i'm thinking of going for waxing too.. but scared of the pain coz never done it before..

since botanist says that strip will ask for the gynae's approval.. i'll ask my gynae this sat at my check up and if she approves.. i'll go and get it done next week or the week after.. rather have a clean below than have ingrown hair after delivery..

botanist,

can i check with u roughly how long does the pubic hair grow back again after being waxed? my edd is 14/12 only and is it too early if i do it next week or the week after?

will the waxing trigger off contractions? keep thinking that if i suddenly got a shock from the wax.. bb will think that its time to come out and trigger off contractions..

agnes,
Alamak... rotavirus jab is the diarrhea/vomit jab... pneumcoccal is the virus(lung) jab. Two different jabs. But Pneumococcal most important though both also not compulsory. Just like chicken pox and flu jabs also not compulsory.

Tuberculosis
Diphtheria / Pertussis / Tetanus
Poliomyelitis
Measles / Mumps / Rubella
Hepatitis B
These are all the complulsory jabs.

mama ash,
same thinking!! i also want #3 if i can.. the more the merrier.. coz my kids are the only grandchildren for both sides of the family, when we all grow old, the burden on them is not so heavy if there are a few of them.. haha...

i'm stopping work after #2 to spend more time with the kids...until #3 comes or when childcare arrangements are more settled, then i will go back to work.

wah, u survived 9 mths on the avent manual pump!! i used that pump until almost wanted to give up bf-ing, then my colleagues recommended the PIS.. it was like godsend.. can even surf net while pumping. yes, can usually finish pumping in 15-20 mins.

petrina,

strip said re-growth in abt 4 weeks. by then, shld be long enough for another waxing session. the re-growth is also much less than the original so that's good lor!

no lah, i think if you do it next week, should be fine... cos your first time leh, you might not be used to the feeling. I dont think waxing will trigger contractions but if your pain threshold is low, better not to do the full wax first.

Dont worry, just tell them its your first time and they will be extra gentle!

hahaha... ya, the Avent manual can be quite noisy.. but the PIS when i test it, not as noisy leh... dunno... hahaha...

but dun u ladies miss those days when u can breastfeed your babies?? i do leh... hahaha... though i know during those times can feel quite frustrated cos need to sit down & breastfeed them & can't do other things.. but it's the feeling of satisfaction & glad tat we can actually feed our babies with the best??

opps..missylan...

sori..

u veri detailed...all the names of the jabs at ur fingertips..

it realli helps!! i've copied them dwn

Tks!!

Nowadays feel like a punch bag for the little one residing inside me...
Do you ladies agree?

Botanists and Eve, I think I'll check with gynae about waxing also...

thanks for your explanation botanist..

will give strip and call and request for agnes too..

maybe next time if many of us sign up for their package.. they can give us a better discount.. haha

phy,

me too.. bb getting lesser and lesser space to move around.. and everytime kick on 1 spot only.. painful.. hahahaha..

twiggy,
I'm seeing my gynae next Tuesday. That will be my 36th week visit. Will discuss with her about induction. Of coz must see how big bb is at that time.

BTW, after inserting the pill, will the waterbag burst by itself? I was told by my friend that if the gynae/midwife burst the waterbag, it is very very painful. And also, if induction, at what point will they offer epidural?

higgledy
i also dun knoe for my case, whether the bag burst by itself or the midwife burst it..all i know was that i was still happily sleeping though experiencing the 'passing motion' feeling...and the next thing was, something was passed out...then the nurses say baby already crowning.....

Hi all MTBs,

Been quite busy so have not logged on for a long time. Anyway went to visit gynae and she is saying that I am having irregular contractions and might be deliver in 37 or 38 weeks.

Now am coming to 36 weeks and bb is 2.5kg. Looks like I might be the 1st one to deliver.

Hi MTBs!

Hi Higgledy, some people waterbag burst by itself. But mine was burst by gynae, no problem one, just a plastic stick to burst it, the waterbag have no nerves, so no pain. You can take epidural at anytime after you admitted.

For breastpump, I bought the Ameda Purely Yours. It is also a dual pump, but half the price of PIS. I ordered it from USA, paid only about USD170. I heard it is also available at Robinsons.

I very kiasu, also bought a bottle of fenugreek tablets. I was advised to pack it into the hospital bag, can start taking during labor or immediately after delivery. Will make milk supply come faster. Otherwise, milk usually comes on 3rd-4th day and if you insist no fm, bb will have to starve during this time. So milk comes sooner, bb less suffering.

mama_ash,
i've got the PIS advanced too! and will be using Avent bottles too! err.. you mention about some Avent conversion kit that you bought? what does it comprise of and what do we use it for?

also, regarding Avent bottles, do we need to buy special teats for newborns? cos the set that I have is a brand new set of 6 bottles passed over to me by my sil so I am not sure if the teats are suitable for newborns or not lei...

Florence,
waterbag no nerves, that's what I thought also. But my friend told me, after she was given epidural, everything was quite painless, even the episiotomy and the sewing. EXCEPT for the bursting of the bag, made her scream out in pain. So strange hor...

Ladies who have been through induction:
When the Dr insert the pill, are you at the normal ward or the delivery room? After the pill is inserted, how long it takes for the contractions to start? And how long is the entire labor process?

(Sorry ah, very lor so, but I'm very curious about how it is like.)

hee..

my bro was induced too...my mum said wen doc burst her waterbag, she dun feel any pain....

so dun worri la...

Hi Higgledy
This is my xperience. After the pill is inserted, actually for me i didnt feel much pain at all. However, the contractions will start when your gyane burst your waterbag. They will tell you by then for you to get ready. Sad to say for me after induced for two times, my cervix only dilated think 2 - 3 cm after more than 12 hours for my 1st delivery. As a result I hv opt for C-section coz too tired already! Oh yes i was at the delivery room after the pill was inserted.

dodo, if u intend to express the milk directly into the Avent bottles, u would need the Avent Conversion kit, cos the Medela can't fit Avent bottles as they have wider neck. so the conversion kit is an adapter to fit the medela pump direct to the Avent bottles... here's the link to the Avent Conversion set, u can get from First Few Years if u need. http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/detail.htm?ProductID=BTF%2D14

As for the Avent teats, u can check on the teats itself, if it's for newborn, it would have the no. '0' printed on the bottom of the teats... & i guess for new sets, it would come with either the newborn teats or for 3mths onwards, or some may come with the variable teats...

my water bag was burst by my gynae, it's not painful when she burst it, juz a gush of water coming out lor...

Hi Higgledy, really no pain lah, don't worry...

For me, the first pill was inserted at 9:30am at my gynae's clinic. Then CTG for a while. Went for lunch, then back for the second pill. CTG again, only then the contractions really started.

bbtree,
oh dear... this is what I dread will happen. Were you overdue at that time already? You said you didn't feel much pain, is it coz you had epidural?

In the end, is yours considered elective c-sec or emergency c-sec? I heard emergency c-sec is more expensive.

dodo,
the conversion kit looks like that... http://www.breastmilk.com/avent_breast_pump_conversion_kit.htm
the PIS advanced uses medela bottles which are narrow necked, while avent bottles are wide necked. the conversion kit is juz a connector which fits the narrow neck of the breast pump funnel to the wide neck of the avent bottles.

as for the avent teats, there will be a number printed on the teat, indicating the flow speed/teat holes, 1 being the slowest and more suitable for newborns to 4 being the fastest. 1 and 2 are more suitable for the first few mths.

I was just thinking of the $$ aspect of it...

If opt for induction (how much $?), pill inserted in delivery room, meaning admitted to hospital liao. Depending on time of day, but if past midnight still not successful, means billed one extra day. Then if normal delivery cannot, go for c-sec, gotta stay for 3 more nights PLUS c-sec charges. Then all add up must be very very ex lor?? **GULP**

mama ash,
u type bery fast.. haha.. got a question for u, how old is your #1? what kind of bottles and teats is she using? my daughter is 17 mths now and she finds the avent teats too slow for her. dunno what kind of bottles i shd switch to.. or will punching additional holes in the teat solve the problem?

Florence,
wow! The step by step process was so exciting!! And the photos very well taken. Usually newborns look so shrivelled like prune, but your girl is very fair and her lips red red like put on lipstick! So cute!

I read that you were admitted at 11:30pm. Does that mean you were charged one extra day?

I heard of mommies who RENNNN.... until past midnight to be admitted so that they can save one day's fees leh.

And I suppose, if baby is engaged already then have induction, the success rate should be higher? Luckily your girl pop out just in time, so no need c-sec!

Hi Higgledy, no leh, the hospital charges me from 12 midnite onwards. So I save one day. Yes, if baby already engaged, then very high chances that it will be short and successful.

Actually, I prayed... then a miracle happened...

on breastpumps
Anyone use 2 nos Avent Manual Pump to pump con-currently? Does it work?
I used 1 Avent Pump for 8mths for my no 2. Thinking of shortening my pumping time this time round by using 2 pumps together.
Never thought of changing to electric pump cos very comfortable with the Avent Manual.

cookiemz, no lah, i type normal only juz tat i check this forum very often, it's open as a window on my desktop! hahaha, so will juz press F5 like every few mins! hahaha... crazy me...

anyway, my gal is 28mths old, still using the Avent bottle, with the biggest size they have. so far no issue, if not u can juz change to other normal bottles & use those L/XL size teats, those holes are bigger, i find lah, cos unlike Avent, Avent is having like 4 small holes, but those XL size is having 1 big hole! hahaha...

Constance, i also agree Avent is very efficient, but it's very tiring on the hand lor, esp when i need to pump in office, the time taken is really too long. of cos u can use 2 pumps con-currently, but it'll be very tiring & my friend actually got cramp after every session of her expression from Avent manual pump! hahaha.. so funny.

can I check when your bbs upgrade from NB diapers to S diapers? After how many weeks?

I just went to NTUC, realise that pampers NB costs $16+ for 36 pieces. In comparison, ordering from Nepia supplier only $14+ for 60 pieces! I didn't realise the price difference is so great leh! No wonder Nepia is selling like hot cakes...

But you see, I will be in Singapore for only 6-7 weeks after delivery. You think I can finish 4 packs of Nepia? Also, should I order 2xNB + 2xS or just 1xNB + 3xS?

Oh, btw, I realise the breastpump that I bought is known as the Ameda Lactaline here in Singapore.

It took me quite a while to decide whether to buy this or the Medela PIS. Eventually, I decided to go for the cheaper option. Medela costs about 50% more...

So far both got good reviews, worth considering. I believe having a good pump helps to make breastfeeding successful.

Here's a comparison chart for the pumps (Purely Yours = Lactaline)
http://www.healthchecksystems.com/breastpumps_compare.htm

higgledy
NB changes diaper like 7-8 pc a day basically is eveyr feed le...so hor you can roughly do ur sums lor...and if in between feeds got poo poo then more be used le..think after 1st mth onwards then will change to size S diaper...

Haha mama ash
so funny
cramp after each pumping session.
I hope i dun get it...
I ever brought the Avent electric pump, but doesn't work for me at all. so still stick back to manual pump.

hi Higgledy
i just opened up the box of Ameda. Was trying to figure out the instructions manual and fumbling with the parts. After awhile, i tot, hhhmm it's not so chim after all. I was thinking if we were to sterilise the tube, i don't think it'll be fully sterlised coz it's long tube. Anyway, i think a wash would do so right?!

jeelomeelo,
I read the manual also, it's not too complicated to use. But it says no need to wash the tube leh, coz it will not come in contact with the milk at all. Only need to wash and sterilize from the diaphram downwards.

Remember to prepare milk bags, too expensive to use bottles as storage.

but then 1st time i think better wash...
ya, milk bags, i have them ready. tot want to kop from hospital some glasses to store also, but i am not very sure if glenE does give out glasses for milk storage. hope that i don't need to use them that soon , coz would want to latch on bb at least for 1st month to establish milk supply.

Higgledy,
I think the water bag could burst on its own or if not you might need help to burst it. My Dr only said come back next morning after insertion of the pill unless water bag bursts before hand, then come in straight away. I also hope water bag can burst on its own. Can ask for epidural anytime, she said.

Steffi, wah, how come your labour sounds really blissful? So envious, hope mine can be like that.

Jeelo, Higgledy, I bought the Ameda lactaline too. Got it from Mums in Mind and they deliver to your house for free. Costs $320 only, the cheapest I've seen compared to other places that sell it. I think the tube needs to be sterilzed too but just pump hot water through it maybe? I haven't opened mine yet. Will do so this weekend.

Florence, thanks for sharing your blog. REally detailed so it gives me a better idea of what to expect. So glad you managed to dilate and baby engaged just in time!