(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

cocoangel, i also hope my gynae gives mi that.. i tried hinting him 2 weeks ago.. but he nv say anything.. i asked him, he asked mi to ask my boss lo.. sian

Just checking with those hiring confinement lady .. Do u give deposit after confirming hiring her ? Any black and white written or something ? Cause a confinement lady ask $300 deposit from me .. If after interview i'm unhappy with her i can just drop her right ?

Thanks Florence. Hope everything goes smoothly. I dont mind whatever it takes, as long as baby comes out safe, sound and healthy.

Mel,
I did not place any deposit or sign any agreement with my CL...she was recommended by my SIL and i hve seen her too, so i guess its mutual trust. Do you still need to interview her? is your CL from spore or msia?

Check something with you, if doc says bb's head is quite big, is there a cause for alarm? Also, any implications?

She is from malaysia .. She is recommend by a CL ..

She said if i confirm her, got to pay $300 deposit to this CL first ..

Then i asked if i can interview her she say can but sound like if she travel all the way down n die die must take her leh ..

Maybe they know i need a CL urgently den wanna rip me off -_-!! Who knows .. I know nuts about all this haha

Hi phy,

Erm, I dun think it's any cause for alarm. Doc also says my bb's head is a bit big. At first I was worried, but doc says no big deal. If worried about delivery, bb's head size is not the way to assess. BB's head may be bigger than average. But who knows? Our pelvis might be able to accomodate that size. BB's head size is just a measurement against the average. Average is not necessarily THE correct size kinda thing.

Usually head big means difficult delivery or most likely c-sect. But my gynae says that you can't just look at one factor to assess whether c-sect or difficult delivery. Have to assess it together with other factors e.g. size of pelvis, dilation etc...

Dun worry too much lah.
Now it's impt to rest well, eat well and stay happy!

For my #1 labour, I wasn't given anything to soften the cervix, just drip I think also dun quite rmb liao. My tummy wrapped with the device to monitor the heartbeat and contraction's frequency. My labour was a 12 hours after the waterbag burst. So doesn't mean long labour will have c-sec, not to worry. Got a friend 24hours, NO EPIDURAL(hero) for both her children, also need not c-sec. Onli c-sec when bb shows distress! =P Don't worry too much, think most things we worry are unnecessary. When the time comes, the only thing you will think of is contraction pain! XD

mel,
My #1 CL asked for $200 deposit, #2 one don't need deposit cos she did a few of my relatives liao. She maybe she trusts me. If you too last min, no CL will have time to arrange to meet you for an interview. Unless, she is presently working in Singapore and leaving soon. CL very heng sway kind of thing like hiring maid. but CL more "kuai lan"... Kekeke...

Twiggy,
Sorry aah, abit kpo here. Why you wanna induce earlier? Any reason like auspicious date?

Ok thanks CSI and missylan..

haha, I'm darn scared of labour pain!! Althought already made up mind to take epidural, but still scared like crazy!!! My threshold for pain is super duper low!!! Did you ladies also realise our immunity seems to be low in third trimester? keep getting flu bugs

Hi Linda,

Haha, the yawning clip is so cute! I had mine videoed also using hp when gynae scanned me.. only a short glimpse of my kiddo yawning in black and white.. yours is so clear and cute!!

Twiggy,
thanks for the explanation. I think you are right. Dr knows best, will discuss with her next time I see her. When are you having the induction?

thanks belle, you take care oso. have enough rest. i was resting at home today, slept in the hall, no aircon. just use fan. but i still perspire for the whole day.

Just went for my gyane checkup today too.. Baby is now 2.4kg at 34 wks. Doc commented he gained a lot over 2 wks... half a kg. Me also gained a scary 4kg over 2 wks. I was opening my eyes wide when i saw the weighing machine. This made me gain a total of 15kg already.... exceed my target liao.

My legs are swollen like pig trotters now... seems like there's no way to reduce it. Every night also wake up to go toilet...so tiring.

eve,

i went for waxing at strip (wheelock place outlet), took up package with them too. the lady who served me was very good, although it was my first time, it wasn't really painful.

where were you thinking of going to?

want to check w u all, how many packets of da fong chao do we need to prepare? Then use the herbal thing to bath for the whole confinement month?

phy,

actually i heard from a friend who attended some gynea talk that it really depends on how 'hairy' you are down there..

if you do a c-section, heard they will definitely shave you.

if its a natural delivery, sometimes they shave, sometimes they dont, cos it depends how much hair you have down there.

the thought of the nurse shaving me and the crappy aftergrowth really made me take the step to do waxing, heehee

Botanist,

IC IC... I hate the shaving too.. last time went for Laparoscopy..the aftergrowth pricked me so much.. Furthermore I have skin condition and thus the pricky hair cause me to have rashes!!

Maybe should consider waxing then..

phy,

aiyo! rashes.. that's bad. Yeah, should try waxing. FYI: when I went for waxing, they used hard wax cos they said pregnant women have lower threshold of pain. Paid extra for hard wax, cos normal brazilian wax is $49.

but strip quite 'cautious', must sign documents releasing them from responsibility and they asked me to check with gynea to make sure can do brazilian wax.

botanist,
can share the name of the lady who did the waxing for you? I'm considering doing waxing also. Did they mention how long it takes for the hair to grow back? No point being hairy again before delivery yeah...? :p

this may be a little kiasu lah... But I'm gonna give my boy 6-in-1 jab together with pneumococcal and rotavirus (when around 6-8 weeks old). Any mommies have any idea how much these jabs cost?

I heard nowadays polyclinic provides 6-in-1 jab. But do they offer the other 2 also?

hi botanist,
Heard many gd reviews abt strip. Was thinking of trying out. I've never done it before, a bit afraid of the pain. Can share with me the lady's name too? Any idea if there's any good ones at raffles city branch? how much more will the hard wax be?

phy,
yes... like what botanist said, i dont want to be shaved by the nurses. The aftergrowth is a torture... Furthermore we r going to hv some form of pain & the recovery process + bleeding. That's more than enough to take of already.

eve, phy

Yup! plus, if no hair... its cleaner so it will be more hygienic! esp when we are bleeding (quite a bit) after delivery.

phy, higgledy

The lady that did my waxing is called Agnes. When you call up the wheelock branch, just request to use her for your appointment... they will check her schedule and slot you in.

I can't remember the full cost but the hardwax cost about $14 more...so i must have paid $49 + $14. Dont need to request for the hard wax, they will give it to you, esp if its your first time and preggers...

ps: maybe you should try to go for one session soon. I went for mine almost 4 weeks ago, kiasu, because wanted to make sure there was no bad skin reaction or ingrowns etc... will be going back for another session next week and possibly a touch up session before i pop!

regarding the pain of brazilian wax...

Ehrm.. really depends on your threshold la. When I first went in, the lady (Agnes) suggested that she will do the XX only (not completely bare), and if I can take the 'pain', then she will continue to do full brazilian wax... maybe you want to opt for something like that too? So if your pain threshold is low, then dont go all the way.

Can do XX for first session, then perhaps next time do full brazilian wax.

My threshold quite ok so felt ok most of the time. It did sting slightly at certain points but Agnes did warn me in advance if it was going to hurt and she did a good job of chatting and distracting me as well. All in all, i felt it was tolerable.

hhaa, coco and phy, my boy is still very active even now the tummy space is limited, really have hard time scanning him but it quite fun to see him doing all these actions, hopefully he will still remain active throughtout *just don't burst the water bag early can liao, lol*

morning MTBs!! went for my 35th week check yesterday, BB is 2.7kg liao! he put on 0.7kg in 3weeks!! OMG... can't imagine him to hit the 4kg mark comes 40weeks!!

Anyway, BB very notty, instead of moving his head downwards, he's now sitting in my tummy!! now in breech position! aiyo... i dun wanna have a c-sect leh... had ask my gynae if she can help to turn bb around, but she advised not, better to let bb turn by himself cos they had cases whereby gynae turn bb, the next day, bb not moving, reasons can be the placenta may not be suitable for such turning & also some ambilical cord may be shorter, so better to go natural... aiyo... had been telling bb to be good & turn down by himself leh.. but he dun listen! argh...

oh yes, dunno if any mummies interested in getting the Medela PIS Advanced breastpump, cos I went to the First Few Years in KKH & they have a sale for tat model, selling only $599!! which i find is a good buy, so had bought my set yesterday, very happy!! & also got the Avent conversion kit, so i can use Medela pump with Avent milk bottles, cos i've like half a doz of Avent milk bottles, my eldest gal using it & i find it better also!

ehm, as for shaving, wat i know is KKH dun shave them for u, cos my #1 they also didn't do anything. so think no need to go for waxing lah...

mamaash
how much are they selling the conversion kit? do they have 'hand-free' kit as well?....heard from some mummies that there is this kit such that we can do our other things like surfing the net while pumping.

steffi
the handsfree kit, they have a thread at the business side.

juz went to JL marina sq last nite and bought the karmy pjs, eternity nursing bras and disposable cotton panties. No discount for the pjs
but there was 20% off for nursing bras. Bought 2 at $9.90, 2 at $12.90, so after discount the more ex one abt $10. Panties also no discount.

Is the 6 in 1 jab compulsory?
$600+ for jabs done at polyclinics or PD?
done at wat age ar??

aso the pneumococcal jab done at wat age ar?

i went to clementi polyclinic but took the 5-in-1 instead, was abt $280. the 1st TB jab was given to my girl when still at Mt A.

agnes,
I talked to the nurse, the difference btw 6in1 and 5in1 is less jabs = less fever. TB jab is tuberculosis. Think in hospital, they will be given 1-2 jabs which is compulsory. Chicken pox, pneumococcal jab, flu jab these which are not stated in the health booklet aren't complusory. But I have given all to my son... hahaha
Don't worry, when time comes, you will know naturally which jab to be taken cos the PD nurse will tell you so.

tks claire and missylan..

missylan, ur 6 in 1 done in private clinic??

cos urs like close to $600 whereas in polyclinics like wat claire said is $280...

the price diff is so great hor..but duno if the jabs done at private clinic or polyclinc the same...

duno to brg my gal to private clinc or polyclinic for jabs..

so the TB jab is compulsory??

Close to $600 is all private PD. Polyclinic is ard $200 cheaper for 6in1, cos I heard my friend said so. Polyclinic got to queue... she waited for 2 hours. TB is compulsory, we had that just that we dun rmb. Hahaha

wow...difference in $ is veri great wo...

so, can i say tat the jabs are the same no matter when bb does the jabs? jus tat waiting time?

Had a really bad sleep !!! Feel like giving up at times .. I dunno why i'm having contractions .. And those contraction are painful one .. Seems like labour pain .. Had 4 times contraction at about 5 am lasting 30 secs every few mins .. Rather irregular but so painful that i can't move or even scream for hb ..

had leg cramps first time throughout my pregnancy this morning from 7am till 10am .. Somemore is 3 times!! Now the back of my small thigh is still hurting .. Limping right now .. Any idea what can ease the pain ? Hot or cold towel ?

hmmm...mel, ice cold towel did the trick for me. Helped make the muscles less achy. wear socks to sleep at night. It helped lessen my chances of leg cramps.

According to my cousin, her gynae told her, if u feel the leg cramps coming...curl up ur feet (to ur side lah...easier esp if lying down). It worked for her. For me, by the time I feel the painful cramps, brain doesn't remember to curl up feet liaoz. hahaha...

agnes
personally i feel ah pd is pay for the service and also when they inject ah they seem to have a way to make it less painful for my baby that's what i have seen in my #1....compared to other friends of mine who did in polyclinic they said the way they handle bb more rough and like anyhow do...so it really depends la..not all are bad though... so ur choice
waiting time sometimes good pd also long long waiting time...

Mel, massaging ur legs also help. I did tt before i slp to loose the muscles...

Usually if i feel the cramp coming, i will move my legs or massging it before it start attacking...

agnes,
Hahaha... you know government hospital vs private hospital sure got difference in treatment one. My friend go to KKH for her #1 delivery(6yrs ago) and now TMC... she told me heaven and hell. PD more careful and gentle.

Mel,
You do some stretching of muscle before sleep.

Missylan,
My Dr says that once it's full term, there's no real advantage to waiting it out. And between 26-32 weeks check up, baby seemed quite big and I'm very petite. So she's worried that baby will be big for me and labour may be more difficult. But it seems now baby's growth has slowed. So I don't know whether she will still go ahead with induction. I'm seeing her again next Wed and should know then.

Higgledy, mine tentatively on 22 Nov. When are you seeing your Dr again?

Botanist, haha! so funny! Good to know I'm not the only "hiao" one still waxing legs. I was telling my hubby too i need to wax my legs before I deliver. Don't want my furry legs put up in stirrups in case the anaesthetist is cute. ;) Hubby rolled his eyes and says I'm vain.

Mama-ash, $599 for the PIS is a great deal! Too bad I bought my Ameda Lactaline already. I've been eyeing the PIS but decided not to spend so much.