(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

i just gained 1.6kg, it a good improvement compared to the last 3kg i gained, mmm, in total for now, i only gained 7.6kg. But bb is growing well and my placenta is continue to shift up, saw my gynae written NOT LOW on my placenta in the ultrasound card, but she need to make sure again in my next checkup as my bb is hidding part of my placenta.

check with u all mtbs, do u feel a stretching pain like dat in your lower abdomen?

deerdeer
mine is 1.47 at 28 wks and 2.5kg at 32 wks =p quite big hor but gynae said good weight le...hee

Hi deerdeer,

mine 1.2kg at 28week. Think all the wt goes to myself.. i think pretty small for mine.. rather he gain a little more...

Deerdeer,
my baby weighs ard 1kg at 27 week..

Linda,
Good news tat your placenta is continuing to shift up, and not much weight gained too, so good!

deerdeer
urs about the same mine lor...haha as long as ur gynae never sya anything alright one la dun think 2 much

linda
yeah good to hear that from you...

deerdeer,

my friend's bb also weigh about 1.3kg. her gynea said its slightly above average but ok, not overweight or anything
. So dont worry, you are ok!

alamak ... my hubby so worried I cant push
I put on 8kg leh!! gosh.. and my baby 1.4kg. so worried. I am a nurse myself.. yet I am so worried.

Belle,
I used Nepia for my NB and ok eh, butt very adaptable but I have a friend, her NB cannot leh... cause him rashes.

This morning, just went did some goceries, bought 2 pack of Mamy Poko NB diaper. Dunno good or not. Trying MP's cos last time tried Nepia. Later going to clear out clothings that my son can't wear then going to pack washed NB clothings into new wardrobe. Haiz... very lazy.
Beginning to feel the numbness and cramp, insomnia and urgness to pee. Got any cramp, will trigger my thoughts of early labour. Sianz.... cannot sleep well or uncomfortably. Dunno why got 2 patches of rashes on my thighs. Haiz... moody again...

BBnGG,
Me also... Pubis area like blue black feeling. Will have the feeling when getting up from floor and on my fours. Aiyoh... my 1st pregnancy not so troublesome one!

deerdeer,

dont worry! i also put on 8kg already at my previous checkup at 27 weeks. now already 30 weeks, am sure put on more weight!

Am sure you can push the baby out... dont worry too much!

any mummies taking Enfamama? I have the milk samples. pls pm me if interested.
pls send me SAE for return.

etelle
the maternity panty u got from MIM, u mention is comfy, is it tight as well? u know those from watsons etc, all very loose kind?

slings
ohhh i love slings! but i haven master the art of Bfing inside. mamaash, next time u teach me ok?

mama_ash,
Wa, you used the sling till 2 yrs old! Don't your shoulder ache? I cannot you know... I stopped after 9th mth old. Cannot aching shoulder!

ginger,
Me just ordered online from MIM the cotton disposable. Getting them to post it to me.

hi missylan,
are the patches from PUPPPS or birthmark looking patches? coz my birthmark looking patches are still with me for months liao... gynae said after birth only would go away

long time no post.. busy clearing work and handing over ..
i'm starting my maternity leave 1 mth before EDD... yayy!!

deerdeer,

my bb is abt 1.5kg at 29 wks.. my gynae says that bb is big and definitely bigger than my #1. my #1 was 3.32kg at birth (39 wks), so #2 will be bigger than that.. *shudder* .. maybe coz i'm short, so bb is big in comparison.

etelle,

wow, your bb is quite big leh.. was your #1 big also? natural delivery?

re : newborn diapers
mamypoko is also quite good.. i'm not buying any yet coz KKH will give us a pack upon discharge and if bb gets warded for jaundice.. will get another pack.

jeelomeelo,
I did some reading and "diagnose" by Dr. Missylan that it is PUPPPS. But why mine come after "expected" weeks of pregnancy. Then I didn't gain more than 2kg where got "skin distension"(stretching). Mine no itch just red rashes lor. They are one spotty patch in front of my upper thighs. Weird...

cookiemz,
Wa... planned ahead liao aah, bb gets jaundice! Anyway MP diaper comes in 20 pcs only, hospital should be sellling more x, if really kenna jaundice, you can buy 2 packs and place over in yr child's bed. By the way, now hor the jaundice machine can rent back home liao. My friend did that and cost ard $300 for 3 days. That time mine cannot, admitted TMC for one and a half day costed me $600. You can check with the hospital whether they do rental.

missylan,
hehee... yours is on front upper thigh, mine are two red patches from backside to middle of the back thigh. some more symmetrical one.. doc said it's capillaries expansion that's why like that... cannot wear shorts out of the house, only bermudas and beyond... :p

ginger
yeah its nicely fit le not loose loose one hee...

cookiez
my #1 is 3.67kg and natural delivery with epidural
so this #2 should be around the same bah...hee

wow, just a few days didn't log in and talks of hospital bag, maternity pads, pumps etc etc are flying!

Disposable panties/nursing bras/maternity pads

Etelle, because you say MIM disposable panties are comfy, I'm going down to take a look on Tuesday.. maybe can get their nursing bras too..
But hor, how come I can't find maternity pads in Watson or Guardian? Where to buy them?

Went for my 30th week check up today, everything's fine.. My placenta still low and doc says no worries coz will move up??!! She says still early so don't worry.. how not to?

Weight gain / BB's weight at 30th week
BB is 1.63kg at 30th week. He gained 300g but his mother lost 500g in the last 2 weeks. Doc says BB is on the bigger side..hmm, now kinda worry, I'm rather small, 1.6m only..if BB gets too big, scared labour will cause more pain (of coz will rely on the ever-powerful epidural) but worry of tear also..

Missyland, hope your rashes will be fine soon.. I hate it when I got my rashes before I got preggie.. now preggie, rashes reduce.. I shudder at the thought of it coming back to haunt me

eh cannot find ah i bought mine from a shop in chinatown le...aybe major supermarkets will have kotex brand but kiddy palace has madam pureme or something which is said to be good too...hee
wow phy dun wait blame me if not good ah personally i find good

i also only 1.6 le..haha but my bb 2.5 at 32 wks le...

phy, thk can try from NTUC for the kotex brand of pads. I bought mine from a medical hall in serangoon gardens. but i remembered seeing those in NTUC before.

linda, congrats on ur placenta moving upwards!

missylan,
no la... not say plan ahead.. my #1 was also warded for jaundice for 1.5 days (but not as expensive as yours leh)..came back with the diapers.. lasted her very long coz she only poo once a wk and confinement nanny put her on cloth diapers in the day. by the time she finished the 2 packs of NB diapers, she can upgrade to S size liao.. keke

eh.. I'm confused. What's the diff btw baby carrier and baby sling?

Julie, me too. Every few wks kena sore throat n flu. Sianzz.. think too heaty.

My gynae will be away when I'm in my 38th wk leh.

deerdeer, mine even bigger loh. 1.5kg at 29wks. My gynae will say normal. Oh no.. think it's considered big from what I see here. Looks like I'm going to have a hard time pushing!

bluelily, thk some say sling is for the first few mths when the bb still small. closer to the mummy like cradling it. sling if im not wrong is carrying the baby in front but may not be so close. u cann oso Bf with a sling.

bluelily
baby sling is those sarong sling like momsinmind sell one..baby carrier is like those u carry like haversack like that haha like ergo carrier....

missylan, i so used to sling, if i didn't bring one along, am like handicap! hahaha... think by 9th mth, i oredi carry my gal in the sling in the upright position liao, so no issue on the shoulder.

bluelily, sling is normally refer to those sold in moms in mind or bayb website, u can go & take a look, like those indo maids does when they cradle babies, but i still not so smart enuf to convert a pc of cloth into a sling! hahaha...

for carrier, it's those where u carry the baby in front of u, for eg bjorn carrier, etc... it's different from sling lor...

went for my 32nd week checkup yesterday, bb weighs 2kg... gynae say it's normal. but hope mummies note that the weight of the BB is only approx. cos the gynae got the weight of BB based on the circumference of the BB's head. my #1, gynae told me bb abt 3.2kg, but when comes to actual delivery, my gal weighs 3.54 kg, cos she's very tall, so dun be frightened or worried abt the weight of the BB now. there'll certainly be some diff comes to delivery lor.

cookiemz, yr #1 only poo once a week ah?? for me, my gal poo everytime after breastfeeding!! so the consumption of the diapers is quite high. mummies do take note, esp for breastfeeding babies, they'll poo either right after feeding or DURING feeding! haha...

ginger, dun say teach lah, we can exchange pointers lor... i love sling so much tat i can't do w/o 1, i had 2, so will always have 1 on hand to use if the other is send for washing! :D

Oh.. so wat i bought is a sling. haha. Think bb too big I cant carry him like tt too.. I'm v weak.. no energy.. maybe have to use pram by then. :p Had to train my muscles after bb out liao. hahaha!

Haha Estelle, no lah, read from many threads that MIMs nursing bras good and cheap so will go take a look.. This week pretty relaxing for me.. only need to delegate work.. haha, then I hide in my cubicle to clear some easy work and check emails, pack shelves and of coz, now chit chatting with the wonderful women here!

Wow, Estelle, we are the same height but your BB is definitely bigger.. haha, now I can feel better
Aiyah, just want kiddo to be healthy lah.

Thanks the rest of mummies for telling me where to get maternity pads.. was wondering where on Earth they can be found

*Yawn* nice weather today.. cooling.. not many colleagues around so I'm so very the at ease.. no one to rush me to do work
But big boss around.

Sling or bb carrier?

I asked dear huband (hubby+husband).. he says bb carrier for him to carry.. good lor, he shall carry the kid while I walk hands-free! haha

IMO, sling looks comfy for kid and mummies can breast feed discreetly too..
So most probably will get both!

phy
haha i see.cuz i scared purposely go there and see the disposable wait ur expectation and mien diff then cham wasted trip but i bought the very basic nursing bra i find alright lor hee...they got good nursing bras also if u intend to BF for long and even BF when u go shopping or what can invest in that lor...

for me i got carrier buz ah hubby can carry as well and not so girlish hee sing hubby also can but my hubby wouldn't want to haha

bluelily,
hehee i think you can do it. baby weight compare to your weight gain over the pregnancy, is peanuts heheeee afterall babies gain weight gradually, not overnite...ekkekeee

I'm sure maternal instinct will take over when carrying bbs..no matter how heavy, the mother will sure carry the kiddo.. My friend's 3 year old is 14kg, can you imagine his mother got to carry him to rock him to sleep? I really marvel at her strength.

Cookiemz, my baby was 1.37kg at 29 weeks when I last went to Dr and Dr said that's a bit above average. And because I'm only 1.56m and 41kg before preggie (so far put on 7 kg), she doesnt want baby to get too big for me. I think she's worried labour may be difficult so she says will most likely induce me at week 37-38. I'm week 32 now and seeing my Dr again tomrrw. Can't wait! Really look forward to these sessions when I can see baby.

Where can I buy stuff from MIM?

Estelle, never mind lah, I don't mind be on my own once a while.. today's a great day to just spend time alone with kiddo still in tummy
Be at peace with surroundings yeah!!

It's getting fun to look at kids' and mommy's stuff.. so many variation..an area where I've not ventured before so quite fun exploring lor

Even thinking about going Marina Square later JL, mothercare, kiddy palace etc etc... next week hectic week.. better live this rare week well

So good for you hor, at home .. you older kid leeh?

Can I check with u all. Normally at which wk do u need to do the strep b test? I dunno my gynae will auto do for me anot... Have to see which wk to ask him.

phy, i bought the nursing bras too from MIM during one of the open houses on Sat coz no time to go during wkdays, have been wearing them now since very comfy.

bluelily, for the strep b test,thk from what i read was 35 wk onwards??

Pads
Mdm Pureen pads are abit thick, but i think is good for the first week when ur flow is very heavy? I tired kotex and Mothercare brands before, good!

baby carrier vs baby sling
I have one MIM sling, one lucky baby sling and recently i just bought an Ergo carrier. My verdict:
MIM sling is very good for me now cuz i can adjust it round my big tummy. but the rings can be a bit tricky for first timers. but the good part is u can adjust it higher, lower closer, looser to whatever u fancy. good as a blanket for ur baby too!

lucky baby:
i love it! i bought it when my baby was nearly 1 yrs old. i stop using MIM sling when i bought this. absolutely fuss free, downside is no one else can use it unless they are about the same size as u. its very compact n can be folded up into a tiny cloth to slot into ur diaper bag

Ergo carrier
seriously i haven tried it. i bought it for my hubby cuz carrying my baby when she wants a nap is killing our backs. hahaha! but according to my friend, its very good as the weight is distributed on ur waist n not on one side of ur shoulder like the sling.

wow all ur babies are so big. so envy! mine is only 1.1kg at 28 wks

pierced, thanks
Think must be comfortable lah if endorsed by mummies here

Ciao, me going off work!! All mummies take care!

bluelily
i did my strep b test on the 32n d week le...

phy
yeah stay at home mum with my toddler whose 20 mths hee
yeah lor sometimes ah have time shop alone also a kinda relaxation hor but for me i cannot le i need companion one hee :p

pierced
which type u buy with padding one?

vonn,
For bb bed, I saw a few at kiddy palace. will be getting mine from there too.

the bb hyperstore is carrying the mclaren brand of strollers.
u can oso go there to look for the beds. hey have a few there.

vonn
go chiantown one shop CHEONG SHOON to get the mcclaren stroller...their price are much cheaper le...can call them for price enquiry. The sell all baby stuff.

Cheong Choon Store
34 Up Cross St #03-132 Singapore 058340
Tel : 6532-3855