(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

bluelily
use straw to feed jr. can try to drink from drinking cup too. though abit messy but mal likes it. he likes to copy us. *copypig*

thanks moms, ya, he's ok liao. funni how fever came n went away (i hope it's gone for good!!!) went to see him just now, can scream at me already for taking away stuff.

hope all other babies recover soon too!!

oic.....38.7 indeed quite high for teething fever.
Like what ah bie said....must drink more water ya.

haiyo...last night i just found out kayden had 2 more teeth sprouting...scary.
Now total got 8 teeth le.
Also drooling king now and the bad thing is he doesnt like to wear bib anymore.
Put on him, he so angry and keep pulling it until the neck red red....sighz

jeelo, shawn is strong ah. Recover so fast... maybe it's ur aitibodies from ur bm. Poor jr dun have my antibodies already.

We tried to syringe feed water loh.. but only managed to get abit in.. he scream till so kelian. Training cup, he dun like. Spoon... he shake his head. Straw.. tried just now.. he dunno how to suck! Hai... We give him fruits as well... but my col say will cause phglem?

bluelily,

for straw hor...this is what i learnt from my friend.
When u give straw hor, they will only bite it. In order to make him suck, you need to make the 'shuuushuu' sound with your 'o' mouth.
Then they will 'copycat' and start sucking.

Not too sure if it works for all babies but can give it a try though.
It sure works on kayden....hehe

bluelily, sumana is having a cough so i avoided fruits, or rather, i was forced by my mum not to give fruits in the mean time. dunno if that will really cause phglem.
anyway, i cheated and put tomatoes into her porridge. hopefully that'll give her some vit c. not so good but better than nothing.

aiyo.. silly me jr got cough last week i still give him chicken.. will cause phglem.. and now we still give fruits. Looks like gotta cut down..

thks for the tip shryn! Will try doing that. He loves to imitate.. just now I kiss now good bye.. he imitate my muack sound! lol

gee, seems like there is really a virus going round.
Clarene had fever last thur at 39.2degC. at first I thought it's teething fever. She refuses her milk from the bottle and when she latched, she will cry. The PD says that she has throat ulcers and she said that teething fever is very low grade fever. Luckily the fever went away very fast. She is not so fussy on sat.
But I got her virus and had fever for 2 days from Mon to Tue. I also got throat ulcers which is so painful that I almost teared when I drink water. I still have the ulcers now. Now I really understand what other kids are going through when they have HFMD. No, I dun have HFMD.

re: water,
yes, I also do the same thing. force feed using the syringe. no choice, very kelian and at times a lot of air will go in so have to periodically carry the baby upright so that he/she can burp but still have to do it. I will give abt 10-15ml everytime, 3-5 syringe full of water.

tub,
those thawed apple also cannot give? how about avocado? tot fruits like citrus/mango are the ones which would cause phelgm but tink apple and avocado should ok ma... make them thaw to room temp then onli serve lor...

jeelo, if u ask mi, i think it's perfectly fine. but prob is my mum is always around when we feed su fruits in the evening so i can't escape lor...

aiyo so many bb having the similar case as mine. the virus is very scary ya. jia you mummies.

early oct my gal also down wif fever from 38 - 39 degree + running nose & cough which lasted for 1 week. after fever subside she develop very bad rashes all over her body. she also refuse milk for 1 whole week only want to drink water. her appetite only recover abt 2 weeks later. she lost abt 1 kg during this period of time. sob sob

aiya, last nite shawn got slight fever again at 4am... gave him para then milk.. this morning runni nose...
looks like the bug is still there...

aiyo poor thing ... i understand how it feels cos my gal got 6 types of medication after her fever din subside after 3 days. so heart pain cos she got to take stronger dose due to the stupid virus.

i think if still dun subside then got to bring him to see doc again.

alien,
can drop me an email on the avail stocks for the bumper mat? pm you a few days ago but have not heard from you lei...

my email is [email protected]... thanks ya!

wa, so many babies sick! do give them lots of water and rest! and the mummies need to take care too so that can take good care of them.

both my gals running nose n cough with phlegm
but luckily still active, esp #2. Every time they catch the bug, always stressful coz they take a while before they recover.

Kaylen's schedule:

8.30am - get a taste of whatever mummy is eating for breakfast (bao, chwee kueh, zhu chang fen, fried bee hoon, ...) or slice of white bread or biscuits, followed by 150ml of FM

======== usually nap for 1hr at abt 10am ========

12noon - fish/minced pork/minced chicken + veg porridge or pasta or cereal

2pm - 150ml of FM

========= usually nap for 1 to 2 hrs ===========

4pm - snack time, biscuits or slice of white bread or fruits or cereal

6pm - fish/minced pork/minced chicken + veg porridge or rice or pasta

9pm - 150ml of FM

========= usually goes to bed after this ========

Betw 9.30pm till next morning, she may wake up for 1 or 2 feeds.

Kaylen at times wld reject her porridge, I suspect cos she tasted hawker food n fast food and they r more tastier than the porridge we cook at home.

boooohooohoooo, shawn's having cough! very chesty, wheezy cough according to the pd. still got waterfall coming out from the nose, no fever (touchwood) and cough like old man.. so poor thing.. 5am this morning he cried softly like no energy like that.. hear already oso heard pain... now am at home with him... poor baby

aiyo... looks like this virus is damn strong! Jr still got cough n running nose. Sat his fever gone.. we tot ok liao. Then he started coughing v bad.. even vomitted phlegm alot of times.. then Sun low grade fever below 38deg came back again. Yest still fever n public hol no pd to see. Wanted to bring him go see pd but so far no fever today. Hope it's gone for good. He finished a whole bottle of fever med! N still got cough med, med for phlegm, and 2 more for running nose. Every 6hrs gotta force him eat med.. he scream like mad. I see liao v heart pain. His hamburger cheeks gone le.
Now hb is down with fever too. I v stressed ah!!

bluelily, dunno if u dare to try but dun give him solids, just give milk feeds and fruit juices. vomit phlegm is actually good as it expels the toxins in his body. it means jr is on his way to recovery.

tub, y solids no gd har? We gave him v plain porridge.. just fish n some vegy.. nothing else. Fruit juices dun dare to give.. scared got phlegm. Milk he also drink v little. So kelian. But this afternoon hb told me he finish a bowl of porridge.. his normal amt. Hope his appetite is coming back!

bluelily, it's called the milk / juice fast. this is to let the body rest and have time to recover but if jr is finishing his porridge means he should be on his way to recovery. no worries. when sumana was sick, we cut down on her solids too. only gave 1/2 a bowl of plain porridge (actually din want to give at all but my mum nagged so no choice), no cereals, no fruits, only milk. seems to work.

think can reduce the medication liao. take too much also no good for the body. try not to suppress the illnesses too much unless the fever is too high then no choice.

<font color="aa00aa">tub,
so quiet here cos we all busy going goo goo gaa gaa over the jjb.
hehehe...

jeelo, bluelily,
oh dear...your boys so poor thing.
hope they recover fast!!!
btw bluelily, hubby said the date u gave should be fine.
just beep me again 1 week before the mentioned date yah!</font>

oh dear so many babies are sick....hope all babies get well soon...

my mil always say when teething.. babies will hv cough n runny nose and also fever.. its like so coincident... cos this 2 months my baby's teeth popped out 1 by 1 le... now she has 6 teeth liao

my baby also jus recover.. over past 1 month she was suffering from cough, runny nose.. having lots of phelgm too... but i also worried so i bought her to PD la... jus in case old wives tales cannot be trusted.... haiz....

tub, i also wanna reduce the med... din give him cold med.. then now his running nose back.
So guai guai give loh.. cough also.. skip 1 session cough worsen.

krist, if cough/cold/fever too serious.. cant be caused by teething lor. I dun believe.. better to bring pd.

lynzi thks! Will remind u again closer to date.

hi bluelily... ya i did bring her to PD...gave lots of medicine...sob sob....

btw mummies.. can i ask wat kind of baby biscuits did u give? I want to buy baby biscuits but duno wat brand/kind to buy... can advise? thanks.

Wa, so many bbs kenna aah... Luckily, mine recovered liao and also dun dare to bring him out scared will spread to others.

bluelily,
Poor thing. Just give more fluid. If the intake is really terrible like less than 80ml(not very sure, better to ask PD) per feed, maybe you got to bring him to PD, see a need to admit or not cos rejecting fluid. Mine sicked for 3 days and after that 3 days of fake measles. Continue with the fever medicine. Remember when a kiddo got fever, he got to continue his fever medication for at least 3-4 days even you measured that the fever has recovered. If you stop, it might come back. If fever medicine is been taking for over 3 days, you can stop when there is no more fever.

I understand from elderlys that when bb is having fever, don't give porridge but I still give. Don't think it is relevent. I don't give meat when he is sick, I will give him plain porridge with sweet potato.

Poor babies ... hope they all recover quickly.

My boy has been waking up crying since last Monday. He will cry as if he's been bullied / badly scolded, and cannot fall back to sleep. By the time he falls into deep sleep again, an hour would have gone by.

For the whole weekend, he was rejecting his porridge ... but would want to eat bread.

Is anyone / Has anyone experienced this with your baby? I sure hope it is a passing phase that will go away soon.

I am so zombie-fied.

thanks mummies, i hope he recovers soon too...

oooo... din know not supposed to give porridge. just nowo dinner i cooked poh chye/pumpkin/white rice porridge (now come to think of it, it's too much in one bowl! dang!!!!)- anyway, he has had good appetite whole day. then after dinner my mum carried him around but he couldn't sit still, fly horizontal then climb here n there. when i fed him medic, he puke out his dinner!!! then later when i had to feed him more medic, he saw the syringe he screamed and squirmed his way. but somewhat we managed to force them into him... sigh.... was sooo sooo heart pain!

tink tomolo i would ask the school to give diluted porridge and more milk. would cook onli plain porridge tomolo nite sigh...

wow.. so many bbs sick .. my shirui thou not sick but she's been cranky lately ..
val, shirui has been hard to feed lately, she oni wan latch on.. like every 2 hrs, sometimes aft solids she oso wan latch .. den i realise she got 2 teeth trying to come out... hopefully its due to teething..

Krist,

I gave PIGEON biscuits to my boy..But now, inorder to save a bit of money, me trying to give him the "Gerber stars" cheaper..hehehe

hi jean/tub

i saw Gerber stars at ntuc.. but din buy cos duno whether ok for baby anot... ya also bcos i saw sugar content... okie dokie then i shall try gerber star.

Nowadays, when baby saw us eating.. she will wan to eat also... thought of buying biscuits to keep her occupied if we makan outside... heehee...

btw how many "stars" will u give in a day? heeheehee twinkle twinkle little stars :p

Krist,

I give Pigeon biscuits, Earth's Best teething biscuits (oh, these ones last a while...haha. it helps to keep my gal quite for a while...the pigeon ones, she eats them quite fast. then I got to give her another one again.) and now I'm starting to give her Cheerios. Quite a huge box (can't remember weight) but it's like $10.xx per box.

hi CSI_Fan

Pigeon bicuits can oni get it at departmental stores and kiddy palace right? I never hear of Earth's Best and cheerios leh.. where to get huh? thanks.

i limit to less than 5 a day. but think i wouldn't give long term la. prob switch around cos i'm uncomfortable wif the sugar content too.
Cheerios sounds good. where can i buy them?

<font color="aa00aa">valerie,
maybe he is teething.
cos that time when faiq was teething he kept waking up at nite crying.
maybe becos the gums are uncomfortable.

re: biscuits
i'm giving faiq HT bisuits...cannot remember its name..its the one that is either in original or apple cinnamon..
also giving him cheerios whole wheat grain type.</font>

I'm interested to know where to buy Cheerios too. Haven't seen it in NTUC, Cold Storage or Giant.

My son has finished 2 bottles of Gerber stars already. He loves them! Next change is Healthy Times Teddy Puffs (original).

re: biscuits

wat i worried is tat, are the biscuits too hard for baby to bite/chew? or isit all baby's biscuits are those will melt in the mouth?

paiseh hor so far din try any baby biscuits before.

yaya im also wan to know where to buy... TIA

<font color="aa00aa">valerie,
i always get cheerios from marketplace.

krist,
i always eat my boy's biscuits to know whether its sweet or hard, etc...</font>

cheerios can b found among adults breakfast cereals dept. cold storage should have it. it's in a big yellow box pkg. havent seen in ntuc tamp for awhile liao. btw cheerios does not melt in the mouth. ur baby need to chew it.

yup yup. cheerios can be found at cold storage. Yellow box (that's whold grain oats). It doesn't melt in the mouth, but with some saliva, it does soften up. hehs...