(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

cocoangel
yah lor got me scratching my head!!

ah bie
yeah! goat's rue or mother's love capsule is available on local webbies. but i bought it thru drugstore, much cheaper lah. think i paid S$30 or so for one bottle bah, i din pay shipping cuz my bil brought it back for me. If urgently need, you can buy fenugeek to try? You have to take 3 capsule every 6 hrs for fenugeek. once ur SS is up, u cut to 2 capsule, then 1 then stop. tt's what my LC taught me, works for me too. Last time dunno how to eat, anyhow eat, so no effect! hahaha!

T&P,

ok, 15 days is a long time for a BFg mom. hmm, totally understd ur concern, worry, anxiety etc. if i dun pump/ feed by 4-5 hrs, i also hv a feelg of explosion tho breasts may feel soft (but heavy). perhaps, in order for u to survive e trip (pumping 3 hrly will zap out all ur energy in 2 days for sure), u shld b lengthening ur interval bit by bit now. pumping every 5hrly is fine - that ain't going to dry u up. dun worry. for eg, my last pump for e nite is 12 n my bb doesnt wake up at 5am or sometimes 6! tts a good 6hr break! tink abt it..ur yield will prob b more even heh..

ya..really shld start planning ur logistics man.

it will work out. for sure.

jeelo,

I use the liners in my avent bottles. I bought the avent converters for the pump. So now I can just pump direct into avent bottles. heehee...

CSI,
okie..i better start practising how to pump in a moving car actually i have done that 3x, very messy and i got car sick cos kept looking down.
Think i'll just dump those i'll express on the flight. I think my barang barang will b very heavy liao, if i still bring a cooler bag, i'll exceed the weight limit.

ginger,
heh..i have a bottle of feungreek at home on standby! bot it b4 i delivered, so KS.

steffietan,
I told my hb worse come to worse, I'll just offer to bf any babies i see on the street!

t&p,

oh, impt thing..bring lithium batteries instead. they last way longer albeit they r more expensive. n bring n international plug too..u nvr know wat kind of sockets some cities hv (just to play safe).

steffietan,
i'm bringing my adaptor leh cos Ameda needs 8 batteries. And when i m on the road, i'll use my avent maunal.
U think i still need batteries as standby?

t&p,

if i were u, i wld. really dun want e Murphy's Law to happen.

ok, if u got to bring a lot of barang just to store ur BM, i wld suggust to dump all la (heart pain la..tt time i used to to wash my face.. hehh).. anyway, ur main objectv is to ensure tat prdtn goes on during these 15 days. moreover when u're on e go, u cant really control e environm tt ur BM will b exposed to so better not take e risk. think ur quality of milk may possibly be affected too as u dunno wat kind of food u eat?

u do wat is best k..

t&p...so far i hang ah no need to travel for No. 2 so have avoided the logistical probs, but for no. 1, i had to travel 3 times for a week each time so here's my two cents lah:

1. Pumping on flights - you can use nursing shawl with a manual, that's the easiest, or lock yourself in the loo (warn the crew beforehand...actually i like to ask them whether there is any spare seat in business or economy where i can cloister myself to pump - it has never worked haha but i dont see any reason for giving up trying until breastfeeding awareness among airline crew increases hehe...then when they say no, then i like very sad face lor and say, then i guess i have to use the toilet, you dont mind ah, very long one! hehe)

2. Checkout the loos, got some planes got an extra diaper changing platform that can lower one, i use as a more comfortable seat than putting down the gross toilet cover and sitting on it for 30 mins!

3. Bring lots of dettol wipes/antibacterial spray, to wipe down the loo before you start pumping and the basin area cos you probably need to put the pump down on it at some point. Got one mom doing BP for hygienic toilet spray at $7, sounds useful for you! last time dont have, i use dettol wipes lor.

4. I took an 18 hour flight to NY and had to pump about 4 times on the plane, then when i got to NY all my optimistic plans to freeze the bm went out the window when i realised that each time i had to call the porter to come up to my room to get the bm , it took 20 mins and a nice big tip! that works out to one very expensive breastmilk. So I decided only to freeze the ice bricks in the hotel freezer and bring back the last batch of bm that pumped on the plane...and you know what happened? someone in the hotel stole my ice bricks and got one left only! ARGHHH! In the end, thank god the SQ ground staff came thru for me cos they saw me frantically asking the NY security whether got any where can buy dry ice at the airport, so they told the cabin crew to pass me all the dry ice after dessert served so i could load up my ice cooler with it...

bottomline, SQ ROCKS for me man...i love them...my bm came back FROZEN with the dry ice after 20+ hours

5. Generally not all the planes have fridges, so for those without, they usually use a box with dry ice so you can "Chop" it with the crew..;.but that was in 2004, nowadays dunno whether got restrictions cos of all these terrorists...so bloody annoying...making life difficult for breastfeeding moms everywhere!

6. I had to take a bus to the place i was working for 45 mins everyday so I would pump on the bus full of male engineers, i sat right at the back and used a haircutting sheet which i bought from salon suppliers at Fook Hai building (much cheaper than my now funky hooter hider lah - $5 only)...it covers a lot more than the nursing wrap but is pretty damn hideous hahah..

7. Pump and dump during lunch breaks and at a long meeting you can sometime just excuse yourself for 20 mins to pump in the loo, get a nice bag that hides your pump and has a handle you can dangle from the back of a toilet cubicle hehe...saves you from stares when you excuse yourself in the middle of a meeting.

8. Medela quick clean wipes that you can use to wipe down pumps seems like a good buy for you. don have to wash and sterilise so many times, just wipe down and can use pump again. I think First Few Years got. Last time I don have so i brought a hand carry lock and lock tupperware and detergent, wash my pump on sterilise with chemical tablets on the plane. Plane got hot water you can rinse your pump with in the plane kitchen, by the end of the flight, the cabin crew knew what i was heading for already...

9. Either practise some hand expressing or bring extra spareparts like valves, membranes cos in case you kena torn valves or membranes then your pump dont work may be hard to find in a foreign country and you stuck man.
all this for a few bottles of BM huh...i remember my boss ask me got my laptop on the plane or not? I show him my carry on bag, whole thing is BM equipment haha...the laptop throw into check in hehe..

yeah, bring your electric oso, very useful to cut down time. hopefully your supply wont be too much affected.

waahhh now this thread is alive again and i haven't been reading...so much to read!
my boy (just turned 4 months few days ago) now can flip from back to tummy and makes me so worried coz he refuses to sleep on his back! the minute i put him on his back he'll flip...he seems to prefer this position to sleep...now i check on him so frequently ,til i can't sleep well coz i'm worried he won;t be able to breathe...worry of SID!

dinut,
my boy sleeps on his tummy at the infant care, usually he'll just doze off on his tummy. but back at home i put him on his back to sleep. I was quite hesitant at first coz the care ctr put him on tummy to sleep. but am ok now coz he's always at the view of some care giver when he's in the playpen sleeping on his tummy. my boi can't flip yet, that's why he'll just sleep in whatever position he's in

my beng like to sleep either on the side or on his back instead zzz on tummy. everytime b4 he zzz, he make sure he will do his homework - flipping!

oh, btw, i just bot e BA WANG shampoo today. everythg on e bottle was written rather impressively. hee..apparently, my hb who just came back fr china, said tt tis prod is super popular there. hee..

yea, i had a good time laffing at e name tho. BA WANG..funny la..

jeelo,at least so many caregivers to keep an eye on your darling
i still can't stay cool about it yet...the irony is,this started to happen shortly after i and hubby decided to finally sleep in separate rooms from our DS haha...
dodo...do your twins keep changing positions in sleep? my son sometime start on his side then he will eventually flip and keep moving his head...at least this gives me some hope coz that means he's able to change positions and won't get stuck...

wah been so long since i catch up in here..busy readin the niang jia mails already enuf to kill..haha

ankh, u wana order too? sure, i havent place order yet leh.

steffie, so that's normal la, coz i still latch on mi gal and am worrying why she drink from one side and so fast only. 5 mins dun want liao and refuse like anything.

and so the estacsy head shaking is oso normal. i still tot why mi gal bef sleeping muz shake her head left and rite like pendulum...so other bbs here oso does the same thing.

mi gal oso likes to flip on her back once she learnt to flip leh. i only let her slp on tummy in the day and nite time on the back. now bef she slp in the nite, muz flip on her tummy. so i keep flipping her back up. hee...

re: funny noise in my ameda pump
finally found the source! one of the valve is abit torn. Already bot spare ones from overseas spree, but still with the organiser, no time to collect. but hor i very bad. told hubby to better go and help me collect, else his darling son wont have enuff milk to drink. (the torn valve affecting supply abit also mah). He promised to help collect over the weekend. hehe. cos hor, usually if i get him to go collect things, he will nag.

pierced,
your gal dun get angry if you flip her back on her back? my boy will leh so i dare not touch him or else i'll make him wake up n he'll be cranky :p
btw you bought oioi diaper bag rite? how? u like it? i'm so happy with mine heeheehee

i just realised - if u all go to google group directly, it's so much neater than to see the emails.

i just realised also that i cant do a abridged email cos it mean u only able to see new activity/tives end of the day, cos it summaries....

haha, jovan mummy, so only end of day den can log on to read..keke

dinut, hee so far still ok. just that she still wana flip back. aft a while, she will give up.
Ya! hee...so nice rite the bag! was showing off the bag the moment i got.

Claire is right, that's where u can buy the stuff.

paisei i bought my stuff from lucky vitamin. i also bought them BEFORE i gave birth! super kiasu! hahah

dinut,
ye... they are now slightly over 5 months and always changes position when sleeping! the boy loves to sleep on his side holding the bolster and sometimes adjusts till he sleeps on his tummy. The girl may start off sleeping vertically and when i check on her later in the night, she'll be in a horizontal position!! haha...

a question for all mummies that had started weaning your babies,
my mil uses some brown rice powder which she adds to the babies' milk. is that ok har? i do not like this approach but wondering how to say to her. already hinted to her that doctor says not recommended to do tat but heard from my maid that she still does that... *faintz*

haha...pierced, same lor my boi is also persistent will keep flipping back (and being angry at the same time) so i'm the one who give up in the end...not my boi :D
really no regret buying the bag,hor...also big enuff for all the things i need and i dun really need to carry around :D

dodo,waaa use bolster some more heehee
since my boi started to grab his pillow and ended up covering his face with it,i've 'thrown' everything that can be grabbed out of his crib coz so scared heehee he can even grab and 'lift' my pillow when i lay him on our bed!

dodo, so cute ur twins, in diff positions. ur boy can use bolster already?
i thk should be ok rite, i heard from mi mum that can use brown rice powder next time when i wean coz very gd for babies. thk the vitamins or something. she say the bb will become very tough.esp when u feel the legs and hands.

dinut, hee..ya, now that they are older, they want their own way. mi gal will get irritated only when she's awake. coz every moment she wants to flip, even during nappy change and bath!

yup yup, no regrets..heh! i like to have a big bag to carry around. keke

constance:

actually ameda parts can b bot fr infantree directly. think they r at tagore lane if i'm not wrong. i just got 2 bottles fr them (but like expensive sia).

pierced,
ya lor ya lor...the bigger they are more headache i'm also having hard time changing,putting on clothes,bathing my boi...everytime wants to flip haha

Curious... Most of your kids seem to be able to just fall asleep on their own? Mine sometimes will cry cry then perform head shaking ritual before he sleeps..

How you guys get your BB to fall asleep at night?

Linda, I like that way your call you son, so endearing
By the way, are you the one with a cat?

phy, u know y i call my son as beng, cos there is one pix i took of him sitting on his daddy lap machiam like ah beng putting up one of his legs up, ka kia!

Linda,
Wow so good, got auto-zzz one.. envious envious.. I'm still training my boy to sleep.. he doesn't want pacifier and bolster. Sure must cry cry then will sleep. Your ah beng is a very good boy
Which picture? Don't recall seeing it leh... Must be really cute with one leg up

Haha,

He sure is a handsome-looking beng
Haha, looks like we are the only ones not asleep yet... Me drinking milo and eating biscuits.. chilling out..

phy, i just put up heree.... hhehe!
actually i didnt really train him lor, i just put him on my bed or his cot, he auto zzz mode liao.....he had been like dat since day 1....

So easy for him to fall asleep? Does he show any signs that he wants to sleep already? Even naps also like that?

hhahaha ... me here also :p

mine need to carry & coax to sleep at night before putting her on the cot ar. worst thing of all is she dun wan my hb to pat her. she will cry till i take over.

Your beng really very guai leh.. does he have fixed time for naps and at night? Haiz, my boy doesn't want pacifier so I keeping having to repeat routine every night. My sister bought another 2 pacifiers for him but he doesn't want pacifier at all.

phy, not so easy la, mi gal need pacifier oso, then do her ding dong ding dong head shaking till she slp!

linda, hee..ur beng really cute lor, now i know why u call him beng.

since phy and linda not sleeping yet, then i join in 2.

I am bringing my gal for swimmin tmr, how to bath her after getting out from the pool? How do u all wash their hair?