(2007/11) November MTBs

michviv, i am a little worried that A is violent. I saw her push other kids away if they try to come near and grab her toys. She even bite one boy when I was thr. She is attending fullday. We bought 3 sets of morning uniform (polo dress & tights) & 3 sets of PE uniform which she'll put on after bath. Met zzz at Polliwog, her A already started MC in July. She only bought the PE uniform since boys no need to wear dress ma. I paid abt $114 for the 6 sets.

missA: Don't worry too much. Am sure the teachers will gradually correct her after awhile. I think its because in her previous school you have to behave this way to play with toys so she developed this defensive behaviour. But with the lower ratios are MC, she should realise that there is no need for that anymore.

I'm trying out E for full day. He starts in Nov after he turns 2 yrs old. Am getting a little worried for him that he will get bullied cos he is so soft spoken but I realise that I have to let go at some point. Thanks for the info on school uniform. =)

Dreamer: I read about your potty training blues on your blog. Hang in there! Its the same with E. He was getting a little tramautised by us insisting that he pooped in his potty so much so that he would rather not eat so that he will not poo. So sad right? We're on a break now for a month and I'll try asking him about it soon. Hang in there!

hihi mummies, I just came back from my detailed scan... baby's doing fine and it's another boy... no luck with girls.. hee.. but so long as he's healthy and happy, then i guess I can't complain.
Javier still doesn't know though we bring him for the scans. He doesn't like the doc to do u/s on me... keeps asking for me to carry him when I am lying down.

As for food, JJ hs been eating rice since after 15 months, i think... now he eats everything. hahaha... of course not char kway teow, but if we go jap rest, i'll just feed him udon or rice.. so, it's everything lor.

haircuts: jj also hates them... i dunno what to do too... now, the auntie who charges me just $3 for his haircut is asking mee if there's any other alternative if she doesn't cut his hair.. sigh... i had to reason and plead with her... poor mummy. any suggestions?? and, the thing about his hair... it's a lot and grows fast FAST FAST!! headache.

Hi Mummies, so long never post here! Hope everyone is well and fine.

Re: Polliwogs
Sounds funHope I have time to bring my son down to have some fun!

Re: Rice
He have been having rice when he was 13/14 mths for dinner sometimes. And I think he prefer rice/ Kway tiao more than porridge.

Re: Brown Rice
Which type do you give? With or without the husk one?

Congrats Smilemum! Now JJ have a brother to play ball with.

missA,
I share the same sentiments as you. G also juz bite his classmate last Fri and left a deep teeth mark on her hand. My MIL had to apologise profusely to the mother and I had to buy some biscuits and a card to apologise too. Sigh. So now every morning before he goes to school, we will remind him that he has to love his classmates and friends and ask if it is right of him to bite them and if he wants to be bitten by his friends also...

smilemum,
congrats! never mind that it's a boy, can always try for the 3rd one..hehe. good that JJ has lots of hair..G has so little!!

poissons, I hope it's a phase that will pass soon. last Sunday she also bite her older cousin. If she if miss, her teeth will land on any nearby object. In her previous cc, she got bitten almost every week and now i's the other way round...

re: haircut
i do same as weishy, cut C's hair only when she's sleeping n i only cut her fringe coz the rest of her hair grows so slowly! now she likes us to tie her hair up in ponytails

michviv,
glad bb's growing well. nvr mind lah, maternity wear also very nice mah

smilemum,
bb boy oso good lah, playmate for J and save $ on bb clothings!

missA,
A is being protective of herself coz of previous experience. i'm sure things will get beta after she gets used to the new environment. sometimes i wish my C is a little 'brave', she still shows me the 'wana cry liao' face every morning i drop her off CC - thank goodness the teacher bring along her classmate to 'hold her hand' back to class, else sure cry big time...

re: need advice for FDW's home leave
my helper wants to return Phil this dec for 2 wks. as she has not completed her 2-year contract, she will bear her own air-tix, etc. but what about the home leave application & charges, are we (as employer) suppose to pay? and during her 2 wks no pay leave, do we still need to pay levy?

kittybride"so good can tie pny tail!!!!hayley's hair still no no le....

Hayley's on rice pretty early too,she prefers rice than porridge too but sometimes siao siao one....my fren's mom cook she eats loooo we cook she dun
think we didnt put nice stuffs inside.

LEVY:u can apply onlin ei think ,btu must keep borading pass etc la

weishy,
thx will go n chk. my maid agency a bit hopeless, ask oso dun really know - previous lady who handle my case left n now the new one keep saying will chk n call back but never! argh!

C is on porridge since 6 months, rice since she turned 1. now she prefers pasta over porridge and rice! and getting more picky at the food we give her, always wana eat from OUR rice bowl even when the food are all the same! sigh... so many pattern this girl...

Pig: 11.7kg is still ok lah, dun worry. E started on rice when he was 15 months. He has tasted almost everything we eat, including seafood and he is ok so far. And dislikes porridge now, in fact he doesnt like anything too soft now. He used to like everything but nw he starts to become choosey.

Michviv: Welcome bk from yr long trip. Gd to hear tat bb is growing well. Yeah, it's abt time to transit to maternity wear.

Smilemum: Congrats! 2 boys also ok, they can be playmates. Didi will be another handsome boy.

Potty Train - My MIL's been trying to train E to urine in the potty since last wk. He was ok for the past 2 days but this afternoon when i called home my MIL said E urinated on the sofa when my MIL was feeding him papaya. She asked him why din he notify her and his reply to her was "Eagan eating cannot move. Eagan shh shh here" Ha ha...my MIL said dunno to laugh or to cry.

Cactus,
I burst out laughing when I read your post! E is so cute!I can't imagine G telling me that..hehe. For G, he will say he wants to poo poo when actually he only wants to pee, so sometimes he made us really confused, trying to correct him now. When I tried to let him only wear briefs, I think he is not used to it (the "coolness"..haha), and will keep on touching the penis and sometimes force pee out and wet his briefs. Aye..slowly lah..he will be fully potty trained when the time comes, no point forcing him and traumatised him.

Kittybride: I was on the line with my maid agency and asked them abt yr questions. First of all, they said if yr maid is still on loan, it is advisable not to let her go bk coz from their experience, the maid will not return. Another thing is if she really needs to go bk, u've to go to the Philipines embassy to apply and endorse on the bk of her passport, there's no online application for the process, so u need to be there personally. As for the levy, like wat Weishy mentioned, u gotta keep the boarding pass and upon her return, u can apply thru' MOM for the waiver during her absence in Spore. Hope the above help.

Poissons: Ha ha...coz my MIL will scold him if he moves abt during meal. My MIL nw calls him the "excuse king". Btw, did u get any training pants for him? My MIL said it'll be dangerous if they wear only brief/shorts coz if they pee on the floor, they/others may slip on the urine and it'll be dangerous. I bght 3 trainig pants for him but it is still not enough to contain his pee lei. Maybe not thick enuff.

smilemum:: congrats! boy also good la. like kitty said, can share clothings, no need build up another wardrobe.

missA:: I also think it's a passing phase, hope she gets used to the new environment quickly!! JIA YOU!!

polliwogs:: i also want to bring travis down there!! maybe this sat.. see how.

cactus,
where did you get the training pants? i bought one from BHG and misplaced it, cost me abt $10. Checking out if there's any cheaper ones around. Thanks.

Hi Kitty,
one of our maids is going back in october..by then she would hve completed her 2 years with her loan cleared and we will pay for her air tic. she will be returning back to sgp after 10-14days leave(with no pay for this period). she has savings of abt $1k which she will withdraw too.

before her departure, we will be renewing her passport and work permit and application of home leave. a total of $500 flat by my agent.in event that she does that return, we will be spending this $500 for nothing.

actually your maid arrived in sgp not too long right? or direct from another household? can you stop her from going back? even if she shld bear her own air tic, and home leave application fees blah blah, it's still not safe to let her leave. whatsmore will she ask for home leave every year? very disruptive one lei.

Kitty,
one more thing about philippines embassy. the staff are very laid back.. you will be wasting lots of time to and fro..
if anything, get it done through your maid agency until the final whereby bo bian need you to show face. they will charge service fee. let your maid bear all the costs if she insist on going back. maybe letting her know the costs will deter her from going back.

high chance that they will not return though they say they will. esp for those whom arrived not too long and they miss their family too much.

michviv, thanks for sharing
this potty training phase is really very challenging! hope the break will be good for E and when u restart the process it will be easier.

tks too poissons, kitty for your message

just to share that today was a better day for us as i had a "heart to heart" talk with kaira in the morning.... hahaha...i not sure if she understood what i was trying to say ... anywayz, after that, i can see that she was trying her best to use the potty, unlike the last week! thank God! and she did poo in the potty today and pee 2x in the toilet bowl (with the help of the childseat). so happy. of course she still wets her pants, but at least the power struggle is not there today and we are helping one another!

hopefully tmr will be a better day indeed!!

Cindy: I'll be at Polliwogs with some friends this Saturday PM around 3pm. Hope to catch you there! =)

dreamer: that's an achievement! For E, we are just talking about trying to poo in the potty. Not even pee yet. haha. Think boys are slower though...aw well...

Poissons, Cactus: Looks like I have to check out those training pants soon...

poissons, cactus, michviv:: i got some training pants from the BP section. CUTE and CUTE! haha don't kwno good or not cause haven't tried them. Cheaper than what I can find in dept stores.

michviv:: HEY! you'll also be there? okies i shall see how.
cause dinner time have to meet parentsinlaw to celebrate my FIL bday haha. If not too rushed, i think i can get hubby to go haha.see if we're fated to meet. HAHAH! miss Ethan! and i wanna see your tummy! haha!!!!

Poissons: I got the training pants from the First Few Years at my wkplace. Set of 3 for abt $15+ aft discount. Most imptly the material is really soft & comfy. I bght the Gerber training pants. Can help u buy if u want.
2907880.jpg
I bght the boys' set which is in blue.

Dreamer: Yr "heart to heart" talk works! Well done for u and Kaira.

cactusnah,
3 for $15 is really cheap, can you help me buy 1 set to try first? I can pick up from you over the wkend at your convenience. Thanks!

Poissons: Okie, no problem. Will get the same size as E hor coz the sales girl said tat's the size for their age range. Size 3, fits E well.

Cindy: Yes, i saw the BP on the training pants. Some has it in 3 layers and others has it in 4 layers. I lazy to order and impatient to wait for the stock lah. Let me know once u've tried it, see whether it is thick enuff to contain the urine. Will order from BP if feedbk from u is gd

ZY was down with her first high fever, 39.6 over the wkend, followed by diarrhoea too, finally stop LS.

She is also beginning to be fussy abt what we put into her mouth, ASHM, I finally know how exasperating the food spitting can be! Trying not to fuss too much else she will keep repeating her acts.

As for hair-cutting, ha, I hv not laid my hands on ZY's hair yet, cos they seem to grow out pretty evenly... but I doubt she will sit still too.

Potty-training:
Hvnt tried to potty train, merely ask her to sit on the potty to poo, now she treats the potty more like a chair or stool, but I think I shld start to source for some training pants too for the bigger battle!

catus:me n warti also tried potty training her but......need alot of patience n we dun allow her to sit on sofa etc....so very restricted....so far no results yet.....also she's in CC now so....lagi cannot train her....hope the CC will train her soon la....cos i saw some already can go pee pee themselves in there.

Lazykat:ZY oki?????better???? issit also teething????hayley was....

Re: Potty Training

I m very lucky to hv my Mum to train Claire. So far, at home its diaperless for Claire. We will watch out for her signals to pee or poo and put her on the potty.

Also, Claire will sometimes indicate tt she wants to poo or pee when she is in a good mood.

k@ye,
so good, can save on diaper leh.
i tried C w/out diaper once (some weeks back) but she only told me she wana 'shee shee' after she had WET her panties/floor. so it was back with diapers again.

and she got one very bad habit... she poo standing up! and she will keep refusing the potty whenever we ask her to sit on it... end up will scream and ran away! sigh... dun know when will she go diaperless if continue to be afraid of potty...

Weishy,
dun think its teething leh.. cos incisor abt to erupt since 1-2 wks ago, cant think of any reason maybe its really teething! But scared the hell out of us as her cheeks r visbly flushed, and super lethargic, luckily went down right after 1 dose of fever medi + nap. (Else we r thinking where to go to see doc on a wkend nite!) Then next day diarrhoea, what goes in, all came out and she poos until she screams out pain. Finally better as we switch to soy based milk and cut back on all fibre and dairy pdts.

How is Hayley settling in the CC? Is she on full day currently?

K@ye,
ZY tried to tell me when she is abt to poo, but within 2 sec, she poo-ed liao, dun even hv time to go to potty. Also, i will be too sian to clean up the mess (imagine if were to pee and poo on sofa or worse bed!) So gonna take my own sweet time when it comes to potty training..

Poissons: Paisei, the size 3 no more stock liao.

Weishy: My MIL let E pee before letting him sit on the sofa, but he pee again minutes aft tat. Bo bian, just have to keep trying.

Lazykat: Hugs to ZY. Hope she recovers soon. And on spitting, recently E also have same habit of spitting his food esp the fish. He'll chew the fish and keep it at a corner of his mouth then spit all out at one go aft a few mouthful. Dunno hw lei

Kitty & Kat, I also got hits & misses one... Sometimes she will also tell us when she pee liao! But we will "lecture" her and remind her to tell us if she wants to pee or poo...

In my case, Hubby & i cleaned up her puke more than urine or poo.... So we re seasoned but still sianz if she does that to us!

Cactus,
Thanks, she is much better now, but appetite drops quite a bit. Same here, she likes to spit out fish and meat esp, sometimes I make her eat back by simply scooping it back! (I wonder if its also becos she ever spit out fish bones before.. so more sensitive if certain parts is a bit more hard) Another bad habit is, if she wants to eat something else (cos she may see us holding some other food), she will simply pui out whatever she is eating and demands she wants that! *piangz*

K@ye,
did the PD say C's puking is normal? (as in its really due to certain food allergy?) That must hv been painful for both..

Kat, her merlion situation is there since young. I hv to watch wat she eats and ensures that she dun overeat either...

Especially, oily or hard to digest stuff.. Ppl who dunno abt this will think i m very fussy..

If its food allergy, she will break out in rashes.

k@ye, does Claire has the habbit to overeat?

When it comes to eaing, do you mummies use a pair of scissors to cut the food into smaller pcs? I don't do it and wonder if it is because of that A will pick out food she dun like from her mouth. She can pick out the pc of leafy veg and leave the rice in her mouth!

lazykat, hope ZY a speedy recovery.

missA:: how is A in her new school? hope she adjusts soon and quick and off load your worries.

Kaye, lazykat:: hugs to both C and ZY!! aiyooo!! poor things.

lazykat:: I ALSO make travis eat back when he spits out the food. serves him right. it came out from his mouth anyway, just not chewed and not digested. ahahaha..

MissA, not really overeat but if things she love.. she will overeat. Coz usually if she is full, she wont eat anything else... except to play with it.

For me, I will bring a scissors out whenever we go out to eat... Coz of her problem, i will cut the food into small pieces and i will tell her to chew them too.

Potty train:hayley too ...sh eused to be able to tell us :hayley poo poo or gives signal...now she dun liao haiz....

Cactusnah:can try teriyaki salmon?grill n put cheese on top????works for hayley kakakkak

lazykat: hayley's doing good in CC...but every time hse comes back dirty looo. n they dun change the diaper so regularly....then sometimes her privates red red loooo....then again so many children.....i also see them non stop....so....hv to tahan abit. maybe thinking of shifting them back to hkg......thinking :p but warti says very cold in hk when winter time.....without her i cannto manage n start all over to look for another helper dun think it'll be of the same :p

hey is ZY havign stomach flu???friend's gal hv...terrrible!!!!!eat vomit...eat vomit le.....

MissA;think hayley opp :p she eats her greens but dun really like fruits....

lazykat, hope ZY is feeling better!

tink kaira needs heart to heart talk everyday! =P

one day no talk, and she forgets all abt the potty business.... *pengz* ....

actually if i have a choice, i wouldn't mind delaying the potty training... but i want to retain the option of sending her to the int'l nursery here, whose main requirement is that the child must be potty-trained!! aiyo. admission age is 2.5 years old. i hope she will be fully trained by then! if not, then i no choice, have to send her to dutch nursery school. which i actually don't mind, just that i want to have the options! ;p this mummy ah .... kiasu lah!

dreamer,

dun worry, if u keep training K on a daily basis, she will get the hang of it fast.

my colig's dotter was toilet trained within 2 months, she said initial stage oso very jialat, hv to keep reminding/scold/etc n clean up the pee/poo but all was worth it lah.

Dreamer, not kiasu lah. Its always good to have options!

Not an easy task to toilet train toddlers but heng my Mum is a sucker for toilet training. Hehe..

I will praise her if she poo/pee successfully in the potty. Like what Kitty says, during the initial stage, her resistance is so strong tt she has constipation problem and will cry when placed on the potty.

Furthermore, there was this phrase where she will pee in any container except her potty! For us, the next stage is to progress her to toilet seat but not very successful.

MissA: Yes, i always bring along a pair of scissors to cut E's food. But still, he'll pull out the leafy greens.

Weishy: Recently we've been adding teriyaki/oyster sauce for his food. He'll chew and suck all the juices out and then pui out the meat lei.

And u mean Warti doesnt want to go bk HK? Then hw? She also cannot handle the kids alone here. Aiyo, my maid is going bk next month and nw we're debating whether or not to get a replacement since E will most likely be going to CC in mid 2010.

Thanks mommies, thank goodness ZY did not vomit at all, and her LS went fr 4 times to 1 time now.. she will still complain her tummy pain pain (gosh i can hear the rumbling sound), and request us to massage with ruyi oil. Thereafter, she poos all the stuffs out.. Weishy, after reading today's paper, i think she might hv caught a virus bug somewhere. How else do u explain 50% more cases of diarrhoes @ the polyclinic! But more importantly, she is back to her playful self.

Has it been yr plan to let them stay here in SG? HK's winter also not that cold bah... maybe cos she finds friends here?

MissA,
i will also "process" ZY's food when we dine outside, but some leafy vege are still quite "fibrous" compared to the ones she eat at home so she also tends to pui out things she reject. Or if its a new taste, she might take to it as fast. Worse, sometimes i realise she seems to want to see what she is eating and even tell me its fish! Pengz..

Dreamer,
jia you! Our todd's are still easily distracted, so keep up with yr gal's talk and all the praise/reward. You wouldnt want all your efforts to go down the drain if she started to regress - toilet training is a big thing.

weishy: so change of plans and bringing ur kids back to HK? Why the sudden change in plans? I already inform Sparkletots of Matt's withdrawl end of this mth. We are leaving for Shanghai 12 Oct... Think HK winter shd be ok, it's really not that harsh, of course as compared to us in Shanghai. Try to convince her la. It's like air con room neh...

Lazykat:no la i know all her friends which is my friends helpers :p

cos i dun like to catch flights.....wastign my time n no garantee of going on board..... imagine after 5 days us trip i hv to fly back to sin again......i sure will lose weight loooo plus eye bags...u name it i will hv it..... air tixs also not so cheap even though discounted. i hv to swap for my own off days which is paying others to do my flts......1 off day can be $400 sometimes....

tinkabel"ya she afraid of cold le

Weishy,
best is yr helper can continue, else will be difficult for Hayley to go thru another one, how abt Lucas then? All going back together? Really gonna think thru man..

k@ye, lazykat, A loves chicken so sometimes when I give her pork or beef, I just say it's chicken and she'll eat.

cindy, these 2 days A stopped crying once we are out of sight so I guess load off my mind liao
The teacher called to reassure us that she's adjusting, sleeping well and eating well. When it comes to eating, her even asked for 3rd helping

catherine, I emailed u liao.

I'm also thinking of potty training JJ; so planning to try it out over the weekend... hopefully, it will work out..

greens: JJ will eat most greens. He's a fussy eater for fish and meat... hahaha...

weishy: Ya i think best to have your kids around with u la. The flying ard can suck, esp for seeing ur own kids when u are already flying so often. Try to convince ur maid la. HK really isnt that cold. It;s comfortable.