(2007/11) November MTBs

ASHM, good to have a gentleman son leh... Means he will give in to his mei mei... and got more mkt value!! Hahaha!!

Like my bro, he dun really fight back lah... but with training from 2 elder sis.. His female frens all said he is a gentleman!! Makes him hv more mkt value!!! Hhaa

Kitty: The fact that you are trying to learn more about discipline techniques and how to communicate better with Chloe is testament to how great a mummy you are and are trying to me. Its a learning process so I'm glad I can share what works for me though not all may be effective in Chloe's context so its really trial and error.

Oh, and I forgot to mention, after you tell them what is naughty or bad about the action, I reinforce by saying "So can we draw on the wall/spit in future?" and I want to hear him reply himself "No." If not, I explain again. Then at the end, I tell E I love him very much and ask him not to do it again.

ASHM: E is like Ash. Will let everyone snatch his toys and look at me sadly and say "Mummy, boy take Ethan's ball". So I just tell him to take it back, then he walked to the boy and said "Excuse me, ball please." haha...the boy was so surprised that he gave the ball back.

Thanks Grace and Michviv!! Ya, that was a good one! I cannot forget....he is just too chilled sometimes...heeheehee

By the way, no class this Sat at PDS ah, lao shi has some doctor appt to go to. So they will make it up on July 25... See you ladies next week

michviv
yes, lots of trials and error in the process indeed. and E is a fast learner, he can catch up fast - plus his gentle nature makes it easier to discipline as he will LISTEN while C is still at the 'heck care! i want it and i want it NOW NOW NOW NOW NOW NOW' stage... so it really takes LOADS of patience and sanity to discipline her at the moment.

funny thing is, both me & HB kept saying in front of her that we're going to buy the CANE liao coz she's sooooo... notti! but we have NOT taken that drastic step yet. but i will not spare the CANE if she really is behaving badly - so for now, the 'CANE' is my spanking palm! ahaaa...

re: gentle(man)boy
wah, seems like the piglets (boys) are more gentle than the spicy garang gals! ahahaa... yes yes, indeed gentle ones have higher market value!

ASHM
still waiting for more bios to come in coz the ones i received are not really that experienced; mostly worked as helper in their home country so i dun think that counts lah...
glad you found yours so soon!

ASHM, ya A is so kuai zai! My H cant even sit still and listen total opposites - she's Ms sum seng po.

Kitty- phew good to hear its not HFMD. Anyway I guess its tough time to have 2 kids who need u at the same time hope things will work out... My colleague also like you after she gave birth in the end she succumb to having maid and told me she's so much happier, no need to worry abt housework.

Smile, u so cute... wanna sell ur J by 30!

Kitty, i already used the cane liao.... but Claire bo chap....

Somehow, i feel that majority of the piggy gals here quite garung....

ashm,
OMG... thanks for telling me no class this week. I was all prepared to bring her to class.
Had to skip last week cos I was running 40deg fever and doc say to quarantine myself so that be safe. so never bring A to PDS class and swim class...

Grace - I got a voicemail from Chel, did she not call you? No wonder, me and Weishy were wandering how come you were not there last week. And Michviv was attending a wedding so was not there with E too.....

Ashm,
no leh, chel didnt call me. maybe she was going to tell me at the same time cos i called earlier to her regarding makeup class.

Me half dead loh...that's why decided to keep everyone safe so never send A to class. Hubb wanted to send since he was home...
haahaa, had a jab on my butt to bring fever down.
and some very strong antibiotics..if fever did not come down, i was told to go TTSH on Monday. Phew it came down...it was horrible!!

kittybride: Aiyo, Matt not scared. We have this wooden rod look alike thingie that we go after him with to "scare" him. He thinks we are playing wiht him, he runs away when we go after him and then comes back and redo his mischievous acts. Haiz...

Grace: Wow, hope u are feekling much better now. Do take care. Weather's really bad.

re: gentle(man)boy / girl
kittybride, i think my gal not so garang. she loves the fun of play but is quite powerless when some kid snatches her stuff or she wants it but the kid won't want to give her. at most she'll run away form the kid who wants to take her stuff.

mums,
i'm wondering whether to send my gal to playgroup, those 2-3hrs a day kind, to interact with other kids and learn stuff. my in-laws takes care of her at home and i'm not sure whether letting her go playgroup earlier or later is better.

Grace - Take care ah, must drink loades of water everyday. The weather is TERRIBLE!

Ash has his first shot of measles today, did not cry! Hopefully no fever after one week. Next shot will be mumps in a month's time....

kitty, i like the HK bag too, it looks durable. You can wait for sale to buy it then more worth. I saw it when Kiddy Palace has 20% off. The Elmo bag I got abt $35, it's a bit flimsy but I wanted Elmo so no choice lo. The lady at the shop told the HK bag is ergonomic that's why more ex.

ASHM,
you mean you have splitted the MMR jab into 3 different jabs? G is also due for his MMR next week and I kinda dread it..

k@ye & tinkabell,
hmm... then i thk i keep the 'cane' purchase for a later time when C knows what PAIN is... muahahaa...

ASHM
i receive another batch of 4 bios today from another agency, but doesn't seem to be suitable. will have to wait for another batch tmr. hopefully there will be a few suitable one!

oh ya, how come A takes his MM shots separately? i thot there is a MMR due at 18M leh. C took hers back then and cried big time!

missA,
ya i saw the HK trolley bag at Kiddy Palace last week but find the price over rated leh. will wait n see lah

skye2
lucky u to have a mild mannered gal - mine drives me n hb up the wall every nite as she whines super loud for ME to accompany her to sleep and rejects hb!! end up my poor boy have to sleep alone in the other room till my gal zzz then will bring him over, else he too wont have a good nite's rest! grrr....

missA:i think i missed her posting of reserving if there's any...better chka gain :p

K@ye:think hayley also belongs to the garang type

ASHM:heee A is not only cool but cool with cuteness kekekkekekkeke

Grace:wah lao......jap on the butt...u must be feelign terrible too 40 degrees le.........take care ar.vit c ar.

kittybride:hee hayley also hv a elmo trolley :p mommy very hiao ma.......bought in jpn......its like a x mas combo with goodies inside when i bought it......

Weishy, Hayley is lucky to have a well travelled Mama who knows all the good bargains in different parts of the world!

missA,
today is A's turn to welcome J
J shouted A's name when he saw her run to the door to welcome him. then they gave each other a big hug. so sweet! too bad i left my hp in the car else i can video this. oh ya, A seems to be taller than J although she's only 1 week older.
y r u changing cc? issit b/c A keep falling sick? when i sent J to this cc at 10 months old, he was "sickness-free" for 3 months. then there was this sudden increase of infants & teachers. from then on, he keep falling sick almost every month. i feel v sad whenever he wakes up at nite due to bad coughing.

grace,
u r the first mummy in our thread to send ur kid to cc. how is A coping at the cc? can share with me ur experience on how to keep A free from illness? does she take supplements? when she falls sick, she go to GP / PD / chinese doc?

All,
thanks for concern. Me better now. I think i lao lu ming. Stay at home like wanna die liao but once go back to work like all's good. so sianzz...haahaa..

catherine,
A went to infant care since she was 5.5 mths. i would say after that she kept falling sick till around 1 yr. each time, i will bring her to PD/GP. I did try Sinseh the first time but kena scold by GP cos she got bronchitis. After which... she is sick like once in 2-3 months.

i dont think i can keep her free from sickness. its immunity system building up. even if u dont send them to school now, when they are bigger, they will also be sick once you send to school.

occasionally eat cod liver oil. then weekly i give her pearl powder...

cactus: Wanted to ask u. has ur E started sleeping through the night yet? Mine has dropped to 1 milk feed and it's still manageable. But I intend to be hard hearted for no. 2. Just force the routine... sigh... i am so scared it will be for the next 26 months... or more!

Catherine: I've heard people giving colostrum and claims that it works. I intend to give colostrum and multivits (which J has been taking) starting next week. Crossing my fingers hoping he doesnt fall sick too often. if not, really heartache.

smilemum,
another alternative is to bring J to sinseh and "tiao" his system. I juz started G yday, he wailed the moment he saw the sinseh wearing mask..must pacify him with little treats.

grace,
pearl powder is good for building immunity? i always tot it's for beauty only =P

smilemum,
the sales at pharmacies also sugguest colostrum but i heard it's heaty? so far, J's sickness are usually caused by "heatiness" in TCM terms.

poissons,
can let me know which sinseh is G seeing? the sinseh give massage / satchets (to stick to tummy) / C med in powder form / C med to cook? i brought J to my regular sinseh. i'm having problem coaxing J to drink the C med tat the sinseh prescribed.

ASHM: Yup, no PDS class this week. Suits me just fine since I've an appt to check out Mindchamps at Tanglin so it will be less of a rush.

Did you ladies hear about the death of Michael Jackson? I'm so saddened. His music really touched me. RIP Michael...=( Ok, I better start teaching E his songs...as a tribute...sob!

Michviv, i got a shock too... My Mum even more cartoon.. She said, "Aiyah, so much plastic surgery... will die faster. That day i was just telling ur Sis, i shd hv stayed in London longer then i can catch his concert in Jul."

michviv, i thought my hb was joking this morning but it's true, he asked me to watch CNA.

catherine, so sweet of A & J. A likes to hug other toddlers, no wonder she always get bitten haha. I find A is short & stout, she is half a head shorter than michviv's E. We chg the cc due to curriculum not that she fall sick easily. MC is running roadshows you may want to go chk out if you are keen. fyi, we brought her to the chinese sinseh at Guo Yi (east side),they give med and the tummy thingy but we hv stopped going liao cos it's a hassle and she cry during the massage session.

smilemum/catherine,
i bring G to the one at Jurong East, it's called Shan Dong. they will massage the hand and body, then sniff some steam (some herbal water) and paste some herbal sticky thing on his chest and back. I was given powder to feed him, one pack one day (for 6 days), to be dissolved in warm water..I feed by syringe but G hates it and usually struggle, but I have my own tactic to hold him down..hahaha. This is a recommendation from a friend, he brings his 2 sons there since they were young to tiao and till date, they rarely fall sick. Must be consistent to see results lah..no point hopping from pd to pd or sinseh sinseh cos' they all have their own practice. Just my 2 cents worth la.

MissA, A where got short lah? She is just fleshy!! Will lose all these baby fats soon & u will miss her baby fats!

Oh, just some tips to share.. When Claire was sick & full of phelgm last week, she cant really sleep at nite. What i did was to rub her back and it helps her to sleep better... Now, she wants me to do it EVERYNITE!

kaye, u sooo funny.. yah once they sick and u give some benefits, it gets stuck.

i also have to sleep with her now after the last few times she sick. now have to wait for her to sleep already then get out of the room. last time i can just put her in her room and I walk out to do my own things.

Grace,
u so good, i am destined to keep her company till she is almost sleeping every nite, to the extent that i fall asleep too!

Kat, same here lor... hv to accompany Claire till she falls asleep and most of the time, i fell asleep together with her!

Grace, so now its back rubbing everynite! Haha... Okie lah, good for them also... helps their blood circulation!

kaye...haahaaha for me now is story book reading everynite. she will scream "read, read" and she has a pile of books on her bed which she will choose and give me.

missA,
A is not short lah. michviv's E is tall. ur A is ok. my J is the shortie...

missA/grace,
i used to bring J to Yu Guo too. But i also find it too far away.

poissons,
can let me know Shan Dong's addrress? our regular sinseh is at Jurong too. yah i know must be consistent to see results. i have been seeing my sinseh for yrs already. i'm just trying to find better ways to "tiao" J's body coz he refused to drink C med. i managed to bluff him into drinking the first dose of 3 packets. now he refuse to drink the 2nd dose leh. wat's ur tactic to hold G down? he's such a strong boy, must be quite difficult.

lazykat/K@ye,
we have the same fate. hi-5! i also hv to accompany J till he sleeps. sometimes i feel so sleepy & tired but he is still "monkeying" ard on the bed

catherine,
i PM you the details liao, go check it out. Basically the key to pin him down is to be hard hearted, just hold him tight and dun give in to his struggles..haha. it's a tough fight, but I win everytime..hehe. evil mummy me.

kitty: u mentioned before chloe wants u to carry her everytime. Have you succeeded not to carry her often? Now cailyn keeps bugging me to carry her leh.. wow biang.. she is not small size anymore.. my hand numbed after carrying her awhile.

Mummies, any solution anot? I keep telling her she is big girl now and needs to walk by herself, but she keep crying to me to carry her leh.. how??? help pls...

k@ye: Cailyn wants me to rub her WHOLE BODY to make her sleep lor.. not becoz she is sick arh~.. sigh.. she used to want me to rub her fingers only.. then later her toes.. then up to her whole legs.. then butt.. then BACK!!!.. sigh.. have to rub here rub there till she shiok shiok fall asleep..

hey mambobb, managed to update myself with the postings....and realised you r confirmed to be expecting....congrats!!!!!

take care of yourself.

i am a hardhearted mum -- kaira goes to sleep on her own... have to go through a period of crying...then she got used to it.

recently weaned her off the pacifier, again crying before she sleeps...she's been doing that every day for one whole week liao! but i do the let her cry 5 mins, go and carry and pat her, come out, if she cries again, let her cry longer say 5mins+2 mins, then go in and carry and pat her again. and the cycle continues. initial 2 days, she can cry like for 45 mins before she falls asleep (think too tired liao). these 2 days she still cries, but usually within 5 mins, she's asleep. so i hope she will stop crying soon...and let peace be restored. hehehe....

can anyone adivse me on the electric dual breastpump, still not sure which one to buy. I use to have a medela PIS but find it too big and bulky, so thinking of getting a ameda Lactaline, any mummies using ameda, can give some feedback. I am the type that got not much breastmilk :-(

mambobb,
no change leh, now like getting worst coz she rejects daddy liao - so everything she do must be with ME and yes, the carrying has not stopped yet (i no choice coz just wana stop her LOUD whining which drives everyone up the wall!!!).

wah piangz, your C also got that fetish ah?! hee heee... mine too but we limit to rubbing her toes only (she will bring my hand to her toes to rub every nite!!! else will be using the corner of her beanie pillow).

past 2 weeks she has started to use the beanie pillow to rub rub her tummy liao (in aircon room she oso lift up her top n sleep half naked like dat! sigh...)

anyway, by the time u deliver #2, C will be much older so easier to understand (hopefully!) that you can't carry her. i just hope my gal grows out of this stage soon coz its breaking my back carrying her every evening leh...

Grace,
ZY can hi-5 A too, haha.. so night time ritual begins with a bath, milk, teeth brushing, read (yar man muz go thru all her fav books), and accompany her till she zzz.. imagine its that long! And she also start to reject daddy, prefers mummy to do this and that.. piangz!

lazykat, grace, k@ye,
Eliza can also hi-5 to all too....need mummy or ah-ma in the room with her to zzz. must turn on air-con, put cream, read not so cos if i dun hav time we'll juz go to bed w/o reading cos she tend to drag reading time. went thru a period where i told her 'mummy not gonna patpat u to sleep but i'll be here' cos she roll all over the playpen i arms not long enough.
only problem is, she'll scratch and scratch...dunno whether it's cos it's itchy or it's a habit. sigh...every night must wake up to do some mega scratching activity and wake me up cos she so fed up scratching.

couldn't do the crying stuff cos it drives my mil nuts so can't seem to persist in it, might as well not.